Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nitemare Start 2 Holiday !!

• 28-08-2003 10:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

(thank You 4 reading all this)

I booked a holiday on TravelSelect.com from Dublin to Alicante via Manchester. This was on the 12/08. We were told we had to pay E45 for DHL delivery of the tickets to my home in Tralee.
    The day before we were to fly out, we still had no tickets. They emailed me and stated the tickets will be in Dublin. We left Tralee that night @3am and we went into departures @730.
    NO TICKETS…….
    We were three hours running around from desk to desk and made 3 phonecalls to the TravelSelect helpline (Costing E30) on payphone. I talked to 3 different representitives who said they’d ring me back with details, they never did.
    It was 1030, our flight was 1100 and we were going back home again. My girlfriend was very,very upset and exhausted. I told her to plead one more time to the Aerlingus staff (preferably a man, because he might be softer on an upset girl) and he finally agreed to print our tickets.
    At this stage we thought this was half the nightmare, as we though we’d have the same problem in Manchester, but they (MonarchAir) had our tickets for that part of the journey..

Now I have emailed TravelSelect on their complaints contacts and they have completely ignored me. Ye have no idea what a mental nightmare this was, and I justed wanted to know what are my rights here? Surely I’m entitled to the delivery charge as I didn’t get the tickets? And why are they ignoring me?
    What would one of you do if this happened to you?

Thank you very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Jeez, thats a pretty bad story. Thats why I hate dealing by phone and internet for stuff like this. You should definitely be entitled to at least the cost of the delivery, if not the phone calls as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Fry

But what can I do if they wont even answer me back? They're an English based site, so they probably dont give a crap !

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Small claims court maybe,
    theres is prob an ombudsman for that sorta stuff too

so everyone BE WARNED

www.travelSelect.com
    (lastminute.com group)

--never again!! that and DELL also!!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well if it helps to restore your faith in buying tickets online, I bought tickets from an Irish company (based in Walkinstown, I think), e-travel.ie, a couple of weeks ago. I booked them on a Wednesday night and they arrived by Swiftpost the following Friday morning. I did look at Travelselect, and while their prices were pretty good, I decided to use an Irish company to avoid the very problems you had, or at least to be in a better position to do something about it if they screwed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Originally posted by zaph
    Well if it helps to restore your faith in buying tickets online, I bought tickets from an Irish company (based in Walkinstown, I think), e-travel.ie, a couple of weeks ago. I booked them on a Wednesday night and they arrived by Swiftpost the following Friday morning. I did look at Travelselect, and while their prices were pretty good, I decided to use an Irish company to avoid the very problems you had, or at least to be in a better position to do something about it if they screwed up.

Excellent site Zaph. Some great bargins....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

thanks for the warning fry!! sorry you had such a ****ty start to yer hols..

im just back from spain, we bought our tickets froim aerlingus.com and had no probs at all... but i was like a bag of nerves cos im a bit sceptical, so my girlfriend was all the while trying to convince me its ok,.. they'll have our tickets lol :)

later
    Macker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭irishguy

you have the same rights on the web as off the web within the EU so take them to small claims court or if you liked you could get a lawyer to write them a letter [nice official one] stating that you will be commencing legal proceedings against them if they do not settle the matter [they will probably settle out of court and try fob you off with a reduced Hol or something like that] also report them to the UK travel authorities sorry I don’t have a link have a google for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

irishguy is right. They will ignore emails till the cows come home. Send them a solicitors letter demanding exactly what you want and you will get a reply fairly sharpish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

God thats is terrible!!!

They probably think that if they just ignore you that you will eventually give up!!

You definitely deserve some reimbursement - good luck with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

You should also write to the parent company lastminute.com
    They may be less than impressed that one of their minion companies is treating customers this way.

Ok everyone, long time no see. Just to let ye know (people who responsed to me aswell) that this shlt is still ongoing. They contacted me in January and said it was getting the highest priority. I emailed them last week for their postal address and they haven't got back to me. Am I flogging a dead horse here ? Or shall I fight on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Travelselect.com can be good for cheap deals, and used to have excellent customer service but their customer service is now little short of attrocious since being bought out by lastminute.com. I avoid using them anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭HarryD

Fry wrote:
    Am I flogging a dead horse here ? Or shall I fight on ?

Fight on d00d, dont give up until you get everything back..
    be sure to keep all receipts, tickets, baggage tags..etc
    It took me nearly 2 years to get money out of my insurance company,
    after some scumbag baggage handler helped himself to the contents of my luggage..
    R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 bleedin'header

Just read ur terrible story, that is so ****ty if i were you, i would never let it go , in fact i'd call up a radio show like gerry ryan or Joe duffy and tell them and see what happens, if that fails id just enter their email address into every free subscription going so their system will clog up and crash (hopefully) but you should keep on going at them till you get a response the feckin' feckers
    Good Luck!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pink Bunny

Fight on!
    If they contacted you in January then you have a name and address to target. If it was by e-mail, then you need to send a real letter this time. Send it registered so you have proof it was read.
    The address is : Customer Services Department at 4 Buckingham Gate, London, SW1E 6JP
    Faxing _ 0870 444 7771
    And telephone- 0871 222 3200 for after-sales enquiries.
    Call first be polite. If the first person can't help , thank them so much for their time anyway, and ask if perhaps there might be someone else that you could at least talk to that might be in a position to help?
    There is no harm in trying, and it will help you feel that at the very least you gave it all you could.
    But def. write the letter if you get no help on the phone. Each contact person should give you their name, this helps when you write your letter.
    Also, be very clear what it is that you expect them to do. Just keep it clean, clear and to the point.
    Please let us know what happens, Fry.

Thank you guys for all the encouragement. Thank you so much Pink Bunny for going to the trouble to do that for me, you're very thoughtful.

I will let ye know.