Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Six Feet Under On E4

• 21-08-2003 11:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭

Anyone see the start of the new season on e4?
    whats the story with nate?

another winner from hbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

No big story with Nate. He's just meandering through life (er, and temporary death in this episode), just like everyone else in the series. The shrinks would say that Nate is the blank slate guy of the series - the one with least idea of where he's going or would like to go, influenced more than any of the other characters by the situation he finds himself in.

He's back or is he?

He's back. You don't dump the blank slate guy in any series without permanently damaging it. The "perhaps he's not" hints are sort of cute but they're only there to get you talking about it at the water cooler the day after. Nate's been developed over the past two seasons as someone who doesn't see the point of anything beyond drifting along. Now he's in a position where he does to some small extent, at least in his own life with the small joys - as if life is boring and pointless but it's OK and enjoyable if you've someone worthwhile to share your journey with. Given that the show does generally have a bleak outlook, I'll be disappointed if that small ray of light doesn't get taken away from Nate by the end of this series or the next one. They have to put Lisa or the child in a wooden box. I'll stake my TV critic hat on it. Otherwise Nate loses his reason for being in the series at all.

I realise I'm overanalysing but that's the kind of thing the series craves. It's not supposed to be simplistic.

Great opening episode I thought. Avoided sentimentality. It's what I like about the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I missed it too (herself wanted to watch sex and the city :rolleyes:). Tis ok though it's repeated on Sunday night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

i dont know, but it didnt seem real to me, it just seems a little too happy families

whats needed is brenda to come along sleep with 19 fellas and make a mess of the whole thing!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Indeed, we need the "cnut from hell" to throw a box of spanners into the work. A readjusted Brenda, who is ready to make peace and finds her ex- married and happy. That sounds right up the show's street.

Does anyone expect Keith to stay calm? You can just see the tiredness in him when he's fishing out the oposum as well as the desire to swing around and hit the old lady on the head with his rod (ohh-err! Not that he'd be into that...)

Ma Fisher is going to end up quite depressed when she realises this baby isn't hers to molly-coddle, isn't meant to be a chance to establish the kind of relationship she failed to get with her current kids. And with no Nikolai she'll once again lack a cornerstone to build her little house around....

Rico? Shut up moaning.

Claire is still... Claire. She's destined to fail isn't she? She's not going to make it... I'm not sure how they'll develop her character tho' beyond the teenage angst stage.

I refused to see the ads for next week so no idea what's coming :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.....loved the opening, very twin peaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I really wish we could see more of David's alter-ego. Thought it was great in the last episode - "clare are you smoking pot?", "yeah you want some", "**** yeah". Or in the season 3 episode - "she just took the most perfect dump", "Who, Lisa?" :D
    That bit where Nate walks into the weird messed up family where he's all fat and chubby and everyone else was all posh looking would have been a perfect time for an ultra-camp David to burst in (those bits were great in the first season).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mad_Patrick

Yes, yes. Probably the most enjoyable piece of television at the moment. A ray of sunshine in an otherwise bare schedule, apart from Teachers of course. I agree with s8n that it was VERY Twin Peaks at the start, excellent. I really think they kill off either Lisa or the baby coz they made Nate a bit less entertaining. But thats just my opinion.

Nate will split up with lisa and go back to brenda but not until the end of the series

being watching the latest season 3 episodes and it has gone to complete ****. I really hope it picks up soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KK

oh me too, they're just all being so wishy washy now, brenda needs to come back, and they need to fill in the gap between the brenda-split-up and the lisa-getting-together. what happened there? if brenda is gone that's ridiculous, that's writing off all the characters that were involved with her, like her brother, mother, and that hooker she was friends with.

but the teaser for next week's episode looks good so maybe it'll pick up.

Don't think that hooker will ever be back. Though Brenda was worth it just for Brenda herself (she may have been a little bit too good for nate, but she's there for us goddammit ;) ).

Frederico's become such a dickhead lately as well.

such a dickhead! and he used to nice too. he just has a lot of issues and he's a crap people person, nate better sort him out (the big fine yoke that he is although the hair is getting dodgy)

sure they all let themselves go to hell once they're married :p

We probably won't see Nate on his little jogs any more either ;) (I used to love watching him jog actually, they shot those scenes very well, fair deuce to any director that can make jogging look interesting).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

What an absolutly fantastic program. Probably the only thing I look forward to watching. I agree though the Nate and the wife (name??) is boring. Brenda coming back will spice it up.

I thought the episode last night was class esp when David was walking by the pool thinking everyone was judging him for being gay....

Class.

oh yes, the mother throwing the towel over the boys head shouting "don't look at them, I thought this was a family resort!!" was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

Originally posted by ixoy

Claire is still... Claire.

I think Claire is the key to the show. Apart from being almost too beautiful to watch, she's also verging on the completely insane. She could be developed in any direction.

If I was the writer, I'd have her murder somebody, perhaps Brenda. Do it in a Lynchian fashion, keep people on tenterhooks and then reveal it was all a dream in Nate's addled brain.

Or something.

hc

i agree that she's really pretty. me fella doesn't concur though.

new episode tonight wahhhhhhhooooooooo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Hip

Love the show, but it's very slow moving, same with last series of the Sopranos. Nice to see a good black comedy on tv, unusual for a mainstream American show.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Hip
    Nice to see a good black comedy on tv, unusual for a mainstream American show.

But it's not a mainstream show as it's on HBO, a subscription channel. In the US you can't see it outside of this channel unless you buy the DVDs...That's why it can adopt a gentler pace and do what it does.