Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slane Tips..

• 21-08-2003 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

It's my first one and I swore I would never go but the lineup made me take the plunge!

I want Slane stalwarts to give me tips on surviving the day.

I would like to get to the pit but what time does that mean I would have to arrive?

Any other tips on the day as a whole would be appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

The pits an arrive as early as possible and run venture i'd imagine.

Tips? don't bring any bags... go on the bunjee trampoline.. drink lots of beer... don't buy anything that inflates.. go "whooooo" as much as possible at random ppl.... wear a big red hat so your friends can find you... tips schmips etc. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

I would like to get to the pit but what time does that mean I would have to arrive?

Yeasterday!:D , But no seriously you'd need to camp down there to get there that early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Any ideas roughly when each band will be on?

Chillis are expected around 8.30ish but I want to make sure I'm in time to see the last three bands (would prefer to stay outside drinking before that:D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

To get in to the pit I suggest you grow a pair of breasts and somehow look more like a good looking girl. The 2 times i was there I had reached the pit when they were giving out the wrist things before a lot of people because i am quite fast but each time they still gave them to the good looking girls more than the guys who had been waiting longer. Anyhew it was better outside the pit directly behind it in my opinion, more people seemed to be fans of the bands there rather than the trendies in the pit :)

I wish there was a choice when buying tickets to pay 10 eurons extra and you get pit privledges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

I hear you D-Generate, Pit tickets should be an option when buying tickets first off. Friend of mine saw people camping out today so we're not gonna bother going to for the pit. Gonna turn up about half two and listen to some quality muzak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

ah back in my day the pit is where the fun was... now its full of kids... what's the buzz with that????

if you dont get into the pit i wouldnt worry too much... the best day is when you have a walk around pick a spot, sit down, have a bit of craic and listen to a few of the early bands and then around 5 or 6 o'clock head up to about half-way up pit 2 or the main area...

no matter where you are in slane you have a great view anyway...

my days of worrying about getting a pit armband i think are over....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

One thing you have to think about is the Queue on the way out after the Gig!!!
    I went to the 2 U2 gigs and when you are leaving if you wait for the crowd to leave after the bands and the fireworks (11:30 - 12:00 ish) you can spend over an hour just getting back to the bridge!! then if you are on one of the buses you can be waiting another hour for your bus to get out of the traffic on the way to dublin!!!
    To get in to the pit I suggest you grow a pair of breasts and somehow look more like a good looking girl

Absolutely!! Was there early both days and they said they had no bands left. but you see them giving them to the Hot girls when you walk away.

Bring Shades, Something to sit on, Something for the rain and lots of cash for the beer!!
    Chillis are expected around 8.30ish but I want to make sure I'm in time to see the last three bands (would prefer to stay outside drinking before that )

If you want to drink outside you will be over 2 miles from the stage uphill!! and the Garda and Bouncers check you at least twice for drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

Well I survived it! Got home early too, made my way to the exit with a few songs to go. Got the first bus back home. Excellent timing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Brilliant day, Chilis were fantastic. Totally agree that just behind the pit was the best place to be - that's where I was:D Half the time when we were going nuts the pit seemed a lot more subdued (by comparison that is).