Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nice things to buy :)

• 12-08-2003 4:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭

Ok i have 400€ of surplus atm and its burning a frikkin hole in my pocket!, so i was wondering if anyone had any ideas of nice things to buy at around that pricerange.

Keeping in ming my pc is top notch, my stereo i wub and dont need to replace, and i have a netmd already, so what do i buy eh? :)

<edit> make that €550 :D </edit>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

if it was me i'd spend it all on clothes, these rags held up with a bit of yarn just don't cut it anymore. oh yeah, i'd put it towards 2 way sattelite broadband...

super slick new phone, mint digital camera... i can't think of anything essential really:rolleyes:
    treat the missus to a slap up feed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

Three words for you: Mail Order Bride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

happiness.

eg.mail order bride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

If you were feeling charitable you could buy me a pair of shiny new knee high Doc Martens that I saw in schuh but cannot buy cos I lost my job today.

Dontcha hear the violins playin a sad song?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Loads and loads of DVDs.

Maybe some new footwear?
    Something stylish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

how about some eh karma man, can do ya a good deal, give us a pm. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

surf-board and wet suit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭wiensta

an Mp3 player.. I just ordered one

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I'm up to my neck in debt, please help me.
    Only today vodafone denied receving a payment of 100 euro from me, and I can't fiind the recept and the post office cannot find the record.
    Phone bill arrived for over 300 euro
    I'm hungry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭nuvolari

lots of shiney things you don't need!

www.thinkgeek.com

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

USB George Foreman Grill jobby! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Buy a round or two for everyone at the next boards beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Comics!

You could buy the whole series of Sandman or Transmetropolitain or whatever series appeals to you!

That's what I'd do neway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

umm .. save it for when you really want something :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

I-pod?
    Keep saving for a laptop...
    Wait until they invent a 3 megapixel camera, 1Gb memory, mp3 playing fm radio phone that u can comfortably fit in a jeans front pocket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Truckle
    :mad:
    bastid!
    you're lucky i don't know the trick for getting around the swear filter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Truckle

Ok...
    Did you know it was my 21st birthday just recently?
    You could get me a nice present?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Buy something really boring. Like a weekend break to the Scottish Highlands or something.

Or a tweed jacket with leather elbow pads.

...or something which you have no use for whatsoever. e.g. A single car wheel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

A pony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'd go for the digital camera - no more buying film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

A hundred euros worth of socks and underwear! You can never have enough clean socks and underwear! :D

A hundred euros worth of pizza, curry, chips, Pringles and peanut M&M's.

DVD box sets of series 1 and 2 of "24."

Then, take the phone off the hook, board up all the doors and windows, flush your mobile down the jacks and sit for 48 hours non-stop on the couch watching your "24" DVD's wearing just your new, fresh, shiny underwear, eating your pizza, curry, chips, Pringles and M&M's.

And whatever is left after all that, you can send to me in the post. Cheque or postal order will be fine, thanks! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    A hundred euros worth of socks and underwear! You can never have enough clean socks and underwear! :D

A hundred euros worth of pizza, curry, chips, Pringles and peanut M&M's.

DVD box sets of series 1 and 2 of "24."

Then, take the phone off the hook, board up all the doors and windows, flush your mobile down the jacks and sit for 48 hours non-stop on the couch watching your "24" DVD's wearing just your new, fresh, shiny underwear, eating your pizza, curry, chips, Pringles and M&M's.

And whatever is left after all that, you can send to me in the post. Cheque or postal order will be fine, thanks! :D

My God - you should be awarded a medal for the sheer brilliance of that idea.

Someday - someday I will make it to that level of sheer luxury (but watching Sopranos instead of 24)

Hey Jeff, you think it's easy being that much of a slob? It's not. Believe me, it actually takes a hell of a lot of hard work to be that much of a slob! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

i would buy an MP3 Player, and then spend the rest on yummy yummy DVD's.
    Fawlty Towers, Beverly Hills Cop, Jackie Chan, Family Guy, Simpsons, Friends, Scrubs Box sets.
    /creams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

get a surround sound system ! got one recently and its just great - one of my best buys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

If u don't have a console get an XboX and about 20 games
    Or a cool mp3 player with loads of memory (20Gb or so)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

A fish Tank. (plus some fish)

Not your usual Idea when you have money to blow but its soooo relaxing and cool to watch when your....... ston....... i mean Tired.

Or

A good bed, a really fancy one, cus you spend a ship loads of time in it!!

If thats not your thing then PORN:

www.buydvdporn.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

A minituare canoe, a purple lava lamp, 356 euro worth of Sour Tongues (nyom), a red carpet tile, a garden gnome, a giant poster of the Berlin Wall in 1978 and a hamster.

Or if you wanted to be testicle tighteningly exciting, put it in a bank! Talk about hardkoer like.

That said you could probaly get in a boyslave fairly cheap from Thailand if you went through the proper channels. Talk to my people, we fix you up, eh?*

*Not that I condone this sort of filth of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

An FF TD....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

or...by €550 worth of penny sweets!! thats like....550,000 or 55,000 or something...still a hell of a lot. or just build a gingerbread house and cook some children. whichever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Same situation myself. Was given a cheque for a grand yesterday. Think I'm going to buy a slimline digital camera. You know the creditcard size ones ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Invest in an off-shore bank account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

What about donating it to a good cause?

That would be 550euro's worth of good feeling that a camera or other material object would never give you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

You should pay for a hair transplant for AW for his 21st :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Or you could pay for me to go scuba-diving in the Skelligs :)
    For my 25th Birthday present!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Save it for when you know what you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Damn you sensible people! i wanna waste it DAMMIT!

/me lodges the money in his bank account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by Wyvern
    What about donating it to a good cause?

That would be 550euro's worth of good feeling that a camera or other material object would never give you.

Lol, funniest suggestion yet.

Im in a slightly similiar situation, I have a fair bit of money in the bank for my age (18) and I dont know whether to blow it on nice stuff I want, or be sensible and save it for my holiday booze money and college booze money...Hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Damn you sensible people! i wanna waste it DAMMIT!

/me lodges the money in his bank account
    You will thank us one day, I promise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I'd have to agree with u Aidan, but make it Sex in the City instead of 24:cool::cool:

Oh jaysus blondie83, not "Sex In The City"! Bunch of 'aul ones moaning and bitching about their "issues." Nah, give me "24" any day. Jack Bauer running around blowing stuff up and killing people. What more could you possibly want?

And, even though she must be the dumbest of the dumb blondes in the entire world (no offence! :D), you've gotta admit Kim sure is nice to look at. Very easy on the eye. Nyom! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Once you get past Carrie ****eing on about whatever comes into her head its really funny! Samantha/Kym is hillarious, she has the exact personality of one of my friends which is scary enough:( The other too are okay as well. I'm not against running around and blowing stuff up either though, that can be highly amusing! maybe there's some happy medium between the two:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Originally posted by Sangre
    Im in a slightly similiar situation, I have a fair bit of money in the bank for my age (18) and I dont know whether to blow it on nice stuff I want, or be sensible and save it for my holiday booze money and college booze money...Hmmm

Buy something you want, and will have for posterity. I have spent a lot of money drinking in college and find that you'll drink as much as you have, and you'll always get by somehow even if the cash isn't bountiful. So, instead of having nothing to show for it, purchase something of tangible benefit..