Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That wedding....

• 11-08-2003 5:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

I dunno if this has been discussed elsewhere but I was wondering what eveyone thinks about the Hello sponsered carry-on in France regarding the wedding between some boy band singer and a politicans daughter....my own 2 cent worth is that they look very cheap taking the money and that they really should have married at home and pleased thier "public". That said I'm kind of happy to see the press so pissed off too! :p

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by mike65
    I dunno if this has been discussed elsewhere but I was wondering what eveyone thinks about the Hello sponsered carry-on in France regarding the wedding between some boy band singer and a politicans daughter....my own 2 cent worth is that they look very cheap taking the money and that they really should have married at home and pleased thier "public". That said I'm kind of happy to see the press so pissed off too! :p

Mike.

I was kinda amused at the photo's in the News of the world yesterday. Some security guy doing a roundhouse kick on a reporter. If I was that reporter, I would've fed the fookin' camera to the little git.
    But seriously though, I don't like any of the parties involved in that wedding. Some little jumped up sh1t in a boyband and babbling-berties' daughter - who gives a toss whether they tied the knot???
    As for having it in france - it wasn't nearly half far enough away!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Whats this about? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Call me a silly daft thing, but weddings are lovely. :)
    And if someone was gonna give me 300,000 euro for a few snaps of mine, Id have to seriously consider it.
    That issue of Hello will be one of the best-selling this year, so obviously theres a demand for pictures and a load of spouting about the "beautiful bride" and the "handsome groom" etc. We live in a gossip culture.... thats the whole reason Hello and OK exist in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by embee
    And if someone was gonna give me 300,000 euro for a few snaps of mine, Id have to seriously consider it.

A million euro actually :)
    Fair f*cks to them I say, they managed to really piss off the French! hah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

Originally posted by xx
    Some security guy doing a roundhouse kick on a reporter. If I was that reporter, I would've fed the fookin' camera to the little git
    Might not have been the best idea, the guy was armed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

The whole thing was incredibly tacky. I cringed at newspaper articles describing Ireland's "politics and pop" élite. A bunch of untalented media puppets with no musical ability who will be forgotten in five years' time. Ditto for the politicians involved , I *hope*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by embee
    you silly daft thing!

wedings are a load of bullcrap, just save the money for a house or something & do it all in the registry office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

The reporter deserved to have six shades of sh1te kicked out of him. Whos fcuking business is somebodys wedding to anybody who doesnt know them?
    This wedding has got more media attention than your average British royal wedding. I mean,its not as if the two of them are even particularly famous. When you think of Westlife,you think of the fat arrogant lead man with the annoying wife. Nicky whatshisname is one of the background ones AFAIK. And as for the girl,she is only the daughter of the taoiseach. She isnt famous for anything in her own right. So of what public interest is it? Our mothers and the westlife fans are the only people who care.

I think it was Johnny Vegas who sold his wedding photo rights to Viz magazine for a tenner or something:D Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

It was Johnny Vegas alright. He said on Jonathon Ross that they never actually gave him the tenner tho. How scabby is that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

I don't what to sound like a dick but....

Who cares!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

ME!

nickygeorgina.jpg

uh, sorry hello....
    hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Seriously though I'd be embarrassed pitching a tent in front of the church and going around in a blacked out car on my wedding day.

Not that I would be getting married in a church. But still.

They're rich enough already woudln't you think? It seems a little...common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    So of what public interest is it? Our mothers and the westlife fans are the only people who care.

Who funnily enough count for quite a sizable slice of paper and magazine readership.

When will you EVER EVER EVER learn the laws of supply and demand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Very good article in the Opinion section of todays Irish Times on the Hello sponsorship of the wedding. Though I am most certainly not a Fintan O'Toole fan, he makes some very good points on the inevitable consequences of such crass commercialism and (my paraphrase) how it just shows up what a knacker Bertie is.

Well worth a read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    Whos fcuking business is somebodys wedding to anybody who doesnt know them?
    Marriage is a matter of public record. .... which deserves about 4 lines on the back of the Irish Times on Saturday.