Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting a telescope?

Options
  • 10-08-2003 9:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭

Hey folks,

A couple of years ago, my mother bought a telescope for my Dad, to see if he'd be into astronomy (he was always talking about the stars and looking at what's up there, but he never devoted the time to really getting into it). It's a Helios 150mm scope, and I don't think it's all that great, unless you're looking at the moon or perhaps a planet (will be using it to look at Mars this month).

I'm still a bit of a rookie, when it comes to scopes, so I'd like to get my hands on a few scopes with tracking units and the like, but obviously they're expensive to buy - is there anywhere in Dublin that would rent out scopes? This would be a very cost effective way of being able to see what's best. I'd love to see if the Meade scopes are any good, and would also like to use a Dobsonian scope of some sort - I've never used one.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Your best bet is to goto one of the star parties listed in the Irish Astronomy Calendar thread.

Those sort of scopes are always there and the owners are, usually, more than happy to let you take a look see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭albertw

Originally posted by tomcosgrave
    It's a Helios 150mm scope, and I don't think it's all that great, unless you're looking at the moon or perhaps a planet (will be using it to look at Mars this month).