Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holiday with Girlfriend's Family

• 05-08-2003 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

I am going away for 1 week to the Sun with girlfriend but her sister and mother are coming too.........any advice on how I can survive the week, have a good holiday and keep everyone happy........HELP PLEASE!!!:confused:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

are you completely mad?

any advice on how I can survive the week

yup
    kill yourself now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 easygoing724

Yes I have considered that.......felt it was too extreme but now not so sure !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

with a nick like yours, i should'nt be a problem

Originally posted by easygoing724
    Yes I have considered that.......felt it was too extreme but now not so sure !

well, I don't know what possessed you, I'm sure you had a good reason at the time! did you g/f talk you into it??!!

anyways, if it was me, I'd be telling the g/f that her sis and mother can amuse themselves, 'cos I'm on hols and I intend to relax and enjoy them!
    In the past, I have been asked by my b/f if I'd like to have hols in his mothers house in france, bet you know what my answer was!

ah well, you know what they say about mistakes..
    you always learn by them :D:D
    good luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭raphaelS

Maybe a broken leg before leaving?
    "No, you can go without me... I'll be fine here, enjoy and don't worry...!" :D

Seriously, it's too late anyway... you might enjoy it, no?

Next time, plane the holidays yourself, as a surprise.

Raphael

Well I really di like my g/f and wanted to be supportive of her, so when she asked could they go too, felt it would be fine.

We have a good relationship but do not wnat this ruined by a "holiday from hell".........

You are right it might even be fun,

LOL
    that's right easy, look on the bright
    if you survive the event, be sure to come back and tell us how it went! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

put it to ya like this.

the mother ans sister have to eat sometime :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

shag the mother and sister that'll teach your girlfriend to bring them along on your holiday. She wont bring them on holidays with you again*.

granted she probably wont go on holidays with you ever again either

Interesting idea mooman but I do want her as my g/f after the holiday.......

Suppose I could just lose my passport on the day !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

just tell her your not comfortable with going.
    lying will only get you in trouble.

and tbh, what age is yourself and the GF, cause if yee are old enough then there shouldnt be any problems.

JUST TELL!

put it this way neither of us are spring chickens and we are old enough..........

I wont even tell you the sleeping plans.....cringe with the thought of it!!!

It's not that I am uncomfortable and I do get on with her Mother and Sister, just want to make sure don't screw it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

It'll be fine! Im just back from hols today myself and I seen lots of families like that and they seemed to be getting on fine. As long as you's have you're own room it'll be grand.... enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I think what you need to have is some sort of regime where at various times you can all do your own thing.

At one time, the 4 of you should do something (day trips tours are good for this). Another, the two of you should be allowed some privacy. Another the 3 "kids" should go on a night out. Another, you should be allowed go out (alone!) with the lads you met in the bar the previous night, so the girls hcan have a girls night out. Another do lunch with the mother and so on. Few obligatory ins or outs.

Hiring a bicycle can also be good for escaping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Oh god.

/"Weeps for poster"

Next thing you know mate... she'll be expecting a proposal!

Originally posted by Typedef
    Next thing you know mate... she'll be expecting a proposal!

with the sis and mother there to watch of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

I am going away for 1 week to the Sun with girlfriend but her sister and mother are coming too.........any advice on how I can survive the week, have a good holiday and keep everyone happy........HELP PLEASE!!!:confused:

Knob all 3 of 'em....at the same time if poss.....and then go and pick up some local talent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

I bet you, that you will be in charge of all the bags and you shall be the communal donkey!

Just like to thank every one for their advice...........some very useful ideas but don't think will be trying to sleep with her Mother and/or sister !

Planning time alone seems a good plan and maybe a good approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Don't worry about it. I went on hols with my GF and her mother, sister, 2 brothers and 1 granddaughter. My mother also came along. We went to Florida and had a Villa for 2 weeks.

As previously stated so long as you get some time on your own you'll be fine.
    I wont even tell you the sleeping plans.....cringe with the thought of it!!!

However I would be concerned about this. Please dont tell me your sharing a 1 bed apartment or something. Please elaberate if only for our entertainment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

You mad fool you.

Seriously, though, it'll all be fine I'm sure. I admire your bravery/ foolishness

Best o luck:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Introduce a shaving brush and a pot of honey into the foray

It's ok 2 bedroom apt !!!

Honey..interesting...maybe sticky !!

Well it seems that while there are 4 people and 2 bedrooms...I am forced to sleep on the sofa bed in the living room...............pathetic!!! :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

lest you get up to you "dirty, filthy, heathen business" no doubt. That doesn't sound like a holiday to me!
    I think I'd prefer going with just the mother rather than all three. At least you wouldn't run the risk of being caught with your pants down!
    Seriously though, how would your girlfriend feel if the she was going on holiday with you, your dad and your brother!??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Originally posted by Kananga
    Seriously though, how would your girlfriend feel if the she was going on holiday with you, your dad and your brother!??

Spoiled.... most likely.

Hmm, when was the last time even one woman I'm not related to (tm), one I was 'actually amourously' interested in(tm), invited me on holiday?

Well as I said......just want to make sure holiday goes ok and that I still have g/f at the end!!!!

I am happy with the ideas that have presented so far.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Don't sweat about it, act the same around them as you would while you're at home and don't be of the opinion that they are going to affect your holiday in any way. In fact of there are half decent people at all you will probably have great craic with them. You might just be glad of the company for those hours when you really don't want/need to see your bird. There are plenty of places you can find to have a shag. It's not as if her mother is in any way innocent eh? I'm sure she knows the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

I freak out every time I go down to my bf's house in Biffoland just to stay over. I panic that shes gonna walk in on something innocent and misconstrue things... like kissing.... And at night when I sleep in the spare room, I sometimes toss and turn that shes going to try and turn himself against me "Shes not good enough for you/shes a tramp/I dont like her attitude" etc.... Im not as worried about his dad for some strange reason. Im sure he feels the same when hes in my home town. I cant imagine going on holidays with his parents. (Last time I stayed there I had a nightmare that his mama tried to kill me - I woke up freaking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

A few questions...

1)weres biffoland?

2)have u given her a reason to think u mite b up to mischief

3)if she thinks u r a tramp, is it cos u actually are or is it cos shes threatened ya mite marry her precous son?

4)shouldnt u b more afraid of his father?

5)he prob feels worse in ur home town (dose he have to sleep in a spare room in ur house)

6)do u think its possible that it was not a dream but a preminition (about his ma killin u)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

A few questions...
    1)weres biffoland?

OFFALY

Big
    Ignorant
    F******
    From
    Offaly

apologies to anyone from offaly somebody from laois told me that not my definition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

Originally posted by gonker
    OFFALY

Big
    Ignorant
    F******
    From
    Offaly
    lmao:D

Ok Swaggerz, in answer to your (many) questions

1) Biffoland is Offaly.
    2)She knows hes having sex but she prefers to ignore it... but Im sure she knows and hates my guts.
    3)I am a bit of a tramp but I reckon she thinks Im not good enough for her son. (Which I dont think I am either, btw)
    4)His dad isnt a scary kind of person.
    5)I dont think hes that afraid of my folks, and in my home town we are allowed to share a bed.
    6)Its quite possible she does want to kill me - I want her to like me.... but I dont think she ever will.

Anyone else have trouble with the girlfriends/boyfriends folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

Originally posted by embee
    Ok Swaggerz, in answer to your (many) questions

1) Biffoland is Offaly.
    2)She knows hes having sex but she prefers to ignore it... but Im sure she knows and hates my guts.
    3)I am a bit of a tramp but I reckon she thinks Im not good enough for her son. (Which I dont think I am either, btw)
    4)His dad isnt a scary kind of person.
    5)I dont think hes that afraid of my folks, and in my home town we are allowed to share a bed.
    6)Its quite possible she does want to kill me - I want her to like me.... but I dont think she ever will.

Anyone else have trouble with the girlfriends/boyfriends folks?

lol
    1: and to number 1 := yep its offaly
    2: shes know it for years hated all but 1 of my gf's and i didnt like her much she was a challange and we broke up after a while
    3: yep i think ur right on this one but dont worry she dosnt think anyone is like all moms i guess ..she will like you if we ever break up
    4: ye hes nice but never talks much
    5: nop but ur moms physico and as for yar gran im never getting into a car with her again ill walk !! then theres yar aunt .. like comon nutz i tell ya
    6: what this is flashback of last sunday night ... :p

hehe
    back on the topic ...
    could be a walk in the park if u just relax and dont listen to anything there saying

she hates me. its obvious. why else would she invite me out to dinner with all the family unless she wanted to make me uncomfortable...... or maybe that was just me......
    im not too keen on her either but thats just cos im really afraid of her
    my granny is a terrible driver its true.
    my mama isnt a feckin psycho :|
    my aunt is mad but in a good way.
    When ur dad is drunk he talks loads but he rants about one topic over and over......funny.
    Sunday night - wot happened then?