Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin-v-Armagh

• 29-06-2003 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭

This has to be the match of the third round.Hard to know wholl win concidering that neither team has hit top form this season.
    The rest of the draw as follows:
    Fermanagh-v-Meath
    Roscommon-v-Offaly
    Donegal-v-Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I fu*king knew it, as I sat there watching the draw praying for Tipp or offaly cause the dubs still need more games under their belt I could feel the poxy armagh name been drawn against us,
    To be honest them and meath are the only teams in the qualifiers that I fear slightly...But fu*k it...this is what the championship is all about , C'mon the dubs

By the way we spent a thread balsting Jason sherlock some time ago about how crap he is...Im thrilled that those words came back to bite me in the ass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

It is a tough draw but Armagh seemed to start the league season at their peak when they beat several shades of sh*te out of Dublin in Croker. Since that game they seem to get slightly worse with each performance so hopefully the dubs can get revenge for last years semifinal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭namuras

We can only pray I fear, Armagh were beaten in Ulster early this year, The back door may suit them as coming out of the Ulster championsips can be a blessing as the Ulster Championsip is the most physical province Championship and lets face it they have only to beat the left overs from the rest of Ireland.
    As for Dublin Jason looks certain to be in the starting 15 God help us. Unless he develoops a spine and the rest of Dublin can kick between the posts for a change and Armagh give us two players forget going any further this year lads...
    Lets hope Im wrong and I for one will gladly eat some humble pie.

I do hope your wrong...

If things go right we could hammer these boys but what are the chances of brogan, sting ray, jayo and whelan and mulligan all having good days ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭spudulike

I don't know why you were praying for Offaly - don't forget Offaly drew with Laois (a game which they deserved to win) and were unlucky to loose in the replay. Laois then proceeded to mop the floor with Dublin. Dublin are not all-ireland contenders.

spud, in my opinion offaly and tipp are the weakest teams left in the championship. thats whay i wanted them..not cause im sure dublin could beat them..

having said that there is not a reasonable person alive that thinks the dubs performed against Laois and the only way they will ever loose to a team of laois's ability again is if they ever play that bad again....which would be difficult

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭namuras

Have to agree with that.
    Dublin have one of the most waistful forward lines in the league.
    They have improved alot on theie fitness level but forgot or need to learn how to kick the ball.
    lets face facts guys laois kerry Armagh do not waist chances in fronth of goal.
    Our midfield players have no belief in the forward line. They kick the ball from forty yards out for christ sake, Thats fine if you have a good kicker or a tall physical forward line but again something the Dublin selectors have forgotten we dont.

Offaly for Sam and Liam....

excellent reply spudlike....

Might I also suggust offaly abu

spudlike by name
    spudlike by.....

To quote Colm Parkinson at half time during the Laois v Dublin game in an interview with Marty Morrissey (i think) he simply said Dublin are a just a team hyped by the media and with absolute confidence he knew that Laois would win.

Dublin overcame an extremely poor Derry side (only about a half dozen players of any real skill), and only did so through goals - which came about primarily because of an extremely poor full back line.....

Dublin do not even have a free taker. In their last 2 outings their so praised midfield was played off the park.

For a county of well over a million people you can't be happy with the current Dublin team......

hrmmm

first of all how can you say dublins midfiend were played off the field against Derry when Tohill was in homans pocket ?

second Dublin may have well over a million people how many of them play football ? how many of them in top flight are culchies playuing in dublin ?

Third Dublin are hyped up but they are still better than Laois and offaly. One bad day does not make a bad county

Fourth winning a game only by goals isnt such a bad thing...infact its a bloody great thing to win any game by two goals

Well over half the midfield possession was won by the Derry midfield partnership. The Laois midfield pair overwhelmed the Dublin pair.

Secondly the same point applies to every other county with other professional sports proving a more more attractive prospect - particularly soccer and rugby...

Thirdly a good full back line will ensure that no goals are conceded....

And when i was watching the draw I was hoping Offaly would be drawn against Dublin - they are definitely a beatable team...

I agree that there are many players being attracted away from football all over Ireland but you said a county of over a million....
    just cause lots of people live here doesnt mean the base to draw footaballers is all that good here.

lets face it Kerry, Galway, Cork, Antrim ans Meath easily have better supplies of footballers.

Dublins midfield is setteling, and derry won no where near half of midfield posission ...did you only watch the first half ?

the best full backline in the world can not ensure no goals...
    and winning is winning I a team spot a chink in a defence then you exploit and go for goal..

The dubs are beatable ...but then so is anyone on a bad day...

ask Armagh about that

well conceding 3 goals in football is not acceptable by any team - you'll never win a game giving away 3 goals in football......

one thing is for sure - it'll be some game against Armagh...they aren't the team they were last year but you never know....

As for the Championship as a whole I think Galway will be there or thereabouts in September and if your looking for a nice upset then I would say Limerick in the football - could quite easily take the kerry scalp....

well we havent really seen Kerry yet..maybe if their rusty..you never know.

I have also tipped Galway to be there abouts at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Hold on Alany what about fermanagh and roscommon towo teams that offaly are way better than.Offaly ran laois way closer than dublin did we shoukd have won the first match only for a goal that in the lead up to Peter Stringer would have been happy with and as for thoso crap players ye call forwrds what other team has over twenty wides in most of there games

Im afraid I dont place offaly much higher than fermanagh and I think the Rossies would beat Offaly.

Lets not get carried away here with the minnows..
    You cant compare the Dublin v Laois match with anything else.

Do you understand how bad dublin were ? You will not see dublin play like that again in the championship. If you do we will be beaten by about 20 points.

When dublin play to their abilitys and even below they can beat all the the offalys and laois's in the world..some times a team has a really bad day, they get complacent and the wrong team is selected. Thats what happened.

Laois, offaly, Roscommon and Fermanagh are not that good.
    Im sorry, but thats it.

now I also realise that Dublin are not top tier either. If I had to place them I would say they are maybe 5 or 6 below the top team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Al all I am gonna say is that I hope Armagh are understimating the Dubs as much as Spud is.

Don't get me wrong - I don't underestimate the Dubs. They have some good footballers but they do seem to be their own worst enemies sometimes. They don't have a good manager, and they don't prepair properly for matches.

Just look at laois, they always had crap managers, generally Laoismen. With the right man in charge the same panel as last year went all the way to the league final and now to a leinster final.

The gulf between many of the teams is not that big anymore - at least not in football.

Originally posted by Alany

When dublin play to their abilitys and even below they can beat all the the offalys and laois's in the world..some times a team has a really bad day, they get complacent and the wrong team is selected. Thats what happend

I love the way theres allways an excuse.Its great to see someone say that when dublin play to the best of there abilitys they can beat whoever but get back to me when dublin play to they best of their abilitys like they used to a while back

Originally posted by spudulike
    Just look at laois, they always had crap managers, generally Laoismen. With the right man in charge the same panel as last year went all the way to the league final and now to a leinster final.
    Now hold on Spud,true Laois have had crap Laoismen as their managers but since Micko came alot of people who said they would never play for Laois again cause of the state of the county board then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

if only you could see the smyle on my face right now Alany :D:D:D:D

hehehehe...bloody brill!

bye bye Dubs :D

as regards the crap Laois managers...not all crap just didn't have the personal skills Micko has to manage players.

as any Laois person will [or should tell you] is that we have a lot of high maintenance players...a lot of inner fighting and general bull****.

anyway...Laois for SaM :D

Yeah I can imagine you big fecker...

However I am now gogint to support Laois as my second team ( Kerry being my first) I really hope they stick it to Kildare.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Have to hand it to cluxton though at least he shook the lads hand afterwards.

Armagh look like they can do it again. Galway were very average yesterday, Kerry still unknown, Mayo & Donegal do not have it but Laois and Fermanagh could sneak in, would be great if they did.

You forgot about Tyrone. In my opinion they will definitely be there in the shake down....

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

You forgot about Tyrone

Sorry I did!! agree they could but blow hot and cold big time.