Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hard Moshing

• 25-06-2003 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭

I am all for people having a jump and a bounce around, but i dont see the point in going to a concert and coming home with your nose broken and your teeth missing.
    what is the appeal of really hard moshing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Deep purple no fun then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

hey doodah
    deep purple/lynard skynard was brilliant, they wer both amazing.
    there was no moshing or surfing at it though, which was odd, (espec the surfing one)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I don't know what is so appealing about moshing, but I love doing it. People jumping up and down does annoy me though.

You're not allowed to breath in the Point or they will throw you out. It was the same when Slayer, COF and Biohazard played there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    You're not allowed to breath in the Point or they will throw you out

they don't seem to mind joints though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I don't really know myself.
    But that said, I ****ing enjoy it. I suppose it's a chance to be violent without it being to dangerous. eg: If you fall down in a pit, chances are someone will wrench you off the ground in a matter of seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

All I can do is quote part of a song :)
    (which descrbies a mosh to a tee)

Everybody's doing the toxic waltz
    Kick your friend in the head and have a ball
    Come on and do the toxic waltz
    And slam your partner against the wall
    Everybody's doing the toxic waltz
    Good friendly violent fun in store for all
    Get up off your ass and toxic waltz
    If you hit the floor
    You can always crawl!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Vlad_Tepes

well, I got a severe brain surgery after having "head-banged" and pogoed too hefty..Stupid idiot that I am, I'll never do that again...but I still got my brains :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Chada

Ya, ive been a few mosh pits, and imho some have been a little rough, i can recall some dude losing his two front teeth :eek:
    but u cant beat jumping around like an idiot to some heavy fcuk off band :D and it usually safe enough if the pit is full of experienced metallers and there will always be some hairy metaller dude to throw u back on yer feet, slap you in the chest and shout "HAIL" as loud as he can before ramming you straight back into the thick of it :p legend ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭BoobeR

Don't like it? Go to a religious concert! :D:p :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Need some help lads go to church!! Not me i sold my soul along time ago baby To ROCK AND ROOOOOLLLLLL! Yea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

a bit of a jump around is always good but I'm not really into really hard moshing:ninja:
    gawd wouldn't it bee funny to see a bunch of heavy rockers break into a christian rock concert and start moshing like crazy:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Theres's different types of moshing, some where everbody basically just jumps around, and proper moshing where you knock into each other and push each other other around the place, if its a good pit its totally non-violent, if you get knocked down about 4 metallers pick you up and push people off you

The best mosh pits i was ever in were in Reading 2 years ago, for fear factory at one point near the front a big circle was made in the middle of a pit, for a slow part of a song, when the heavy part started again everybody charged at each other, i ended up under a pile of moshers but nobody was hurt and it was great fun.

Then you can get complete w*nkers in pits too. At Ozzfest last year during Slayer one guy was being a c*nt and was violently punching people who came near him. Fortunately a Slayer fan built like a brick-sh*thouse was watching him and gave him a dig to the jaw and the guy f**ked off fairly lively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

Yeah, Kaiser i remember that.

I punched Volvagia (from boards.ie, aka Rory Kavanagh) and bust his lip (he was annoyed) during Rain in Blood. It was only during that song though. I cut my arm too and I was covered in blood and some huge cun+ picked me up and told me to calm the **** down, I dont remember getting a dig in the jaw, so it may not have been me, but then again I was a bit "tipsy" and my memory can get a little hazy sometimes.

That song makes people do bad things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

I have never been to a concert. I have seen a few moshes at Raves. But...I never really got into all that pushing and someone once burnt my arm with a ciggie lighter:( It hurt and left a big scar for around a year. I haven't been in a pit since.:mad:

Best pit ever = The Haunted in Whelan's this year. That ****ing rocked. What do you think AW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

most recently killswitch engage was ****ing mental......thats was a briliant gig, and even tho killswitch were the favourites, i think five pointe o stole the show.....

ye i nearly broke my nose (not in the pit tho just by the back of some mongos head:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭sci0x

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Best pit ever = The Haunted in Whelan's this year. That ****ing rocked. What do you think AW?

Yeah I must agree. They put on a great, no-holds-barred, no-expense-spared show that had the crowd moshing ferociously. Even if you're not a fan of the bands, or even metalcore in general, it's amazing to see the kind of energy reguardless, and no-one could put that down.

Originally posted by denis_o_leary
    Yeah I must agree. They put on a great, no-holds-barred, no-expense-spared show that had the crowd moshing ferociously. Even if you're not a fan of the bands, or even metalcore in general, it's amazing to see the kind of energy reguardless, and no-one could put that down.
    Yeah... There were some big fúckers at that gig aswell. I'm big enough myself but some of the guys throwing each other around on that floor were huge. Plus the fact that The Haunted were playing some serious stuff to get the energy going. I thought Revelation went down a bomb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

was in a few ferocious ones, however, after I broke my nose in one, I now seem to run away from them!

If anyone was at the Morbid Angel gig a few years ago and heard "Dominate" being played I'm sure they've come home with a few bruises. I did. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by denis_o_leary

Were you even at that gig!?
    Because all I see there is you ripping off a review on the new noise website. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    Were you even at that gig!?
    Because all I see there is you ripping off a review on the new noise website. :mad:

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

or a westlife concert but i hear the swaying can get a bit out of control :) all the confusion, when to go left or right, uproar could break out at any time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

depends on the gig/mood
    Morbid angel was pretty good one alright - although think most vicous[also excellent though] was when Suicidal Tendencies played here last summer!

End of those gigs are best - 2 scangers outside started on 3/4 metal people - then it was 50 metal people and all you heard was "c'mon .. i'll take ye's all on" - at which point cop drags him away and tells him not to be stupid, as he'll get himself killed

Originally posted by Sinnocence
    End of those gigs are best - 2 scangers outside started on 3/4 metal people - then it was 50 metal people and all you heard was "c'mon .. i'll take ye's all on" - at which point cop drags him away and tells him not to be stupid, as he'll get himself killed
    Scangers are the sort of people you would want to throw in a pit. They'd try and throw thumps while everyone is kicking the **** outta them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Conor20

Heavyest pit Ive ever been in

... Feeder at Leeds 2002, they were playing in a tent for some reason and about (Im no good at judgeing crowds) a million people turned up. They had to stop during the set so the bouncers could go into the crowd and pull out the people that had collapsed.

Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭kanurocks

i agree completely.theres no point in getting your nose broken but moshing is compelingly satisfying.the pains all part of the game.everything in moderation i suppose

Originally posted by kanurocks
    i agree completely.theres no point in getting your nose broken but moshing is compelingly satisfying.the pains all part of the game.everything in moderation i suppose

Thats probably the worst thing that could happen you anyway I spose, getting your nose broken. Unless, you fall of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

A discussion on the pro's and cons of moshing?
    Am I to believe this?

Yee must be all nu-metal kiddies- pah!
    (/me risks another volly of derision there)

Personally I never so much moshed as just kinda stood there.
    I'm a great believer in the defensive mosh, just standing there- see I'm tall and broad, so every time someone pogos they're lucky to get to my forehead level.

I used to get my jollies just trying to plant myself rigid and wait for the 1st person to knock me off balance. Then just apply a little drunken master aikido. Or if there's a few people of comparitive size in my group play pinball with some little muppit in a Maryln Manson t-shirt. I'll never forget the time me and echo spun some gangly little gimp 360 after synching our punches into either kidney- pure poetry!

It's agressive music. You're supposed to be agressive.
    To paraphrase Tyler Durden- "How much can you know about youself if you've never been in a mosh!?"

Ironically enough the most damage I ever did in a mosh was actually @ a Frames gig. Some drunken student arsehole careened into me and somehow managed to break the strap on my watch. After getting twenty knees into the side of my head trying to retrieve it from someplacce amidst the sea of shuffling feet I put it back in my pocket, located the perpetrator and proceded to bulldoze everything within a 6 meter radius.

Of course echo's got me beaten hands down- being that he singlehandedly battered his way to safety during that ill-fated smashing pumkins gig a few years back. Some girl got killed, and he may well have been the culprit.

(Perhaps that's why you have trouble sleeping- guilty conscience?)

Thats amazing. How did you manage to get the watch back without someone stepping on it!

I busted some poor guys head open at Slane there last week. Having said that, it was his own fault for deliberately jumping into me after a big run up with his elbow up. I hit him a shoulder and it connected with his elbow which caused his hand to fly back up to his forehead busting it wide open. He just looked at me and ran. I just shrugged because I didn't mean to bust him open, I was only protecting myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Thats amazing. How did you manage to get the watch back without someone stepping on it!

It wasn't easy let me tell you that.
    I kinda located it, then put my hand on it, then got pushed back, keeping my hand cupped over it- as I recall- then I got the heal of a Spice Girl boot down on it and then I got mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

THOUGHT ID DIE IN THE PIT AT METALLICA , JESUS CHRIST!! NEED TO BE TALL , GETTIN MASHED AN KNOCKED , SCAREY VERY SCAREY!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 The Preacher

Ah moshing, what fun.

Many happy memories I have of the late lamented Fibber McGees in Parnell Street. I think that may have been the first place I ever moshed. Many a night I came home black and blue after a particularly frantic mosh during the Beastie Boys "Sabotage" or the Pumpkins "Bullet with Butterfly Wings".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭one-angry-dwarf

whatever happened to dancing?
    *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

What's that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭one-angry-dwarf

you go like this - (/',;..;,'"""....///[];';#,) in time to music.

don't steal my moves.