Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Invitation to poker tournament

• 24-06-2003 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭

Dear Boards.ie members and guests,
    This is an invitation to poker tournaments in Ireland held by www.poker.ie, please visit the site to find out more information.
    Regards,
    Cormac O'Sheehan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

The link is faulty I'd edit out the comma.

Lads I reckon myself and Lafortezza will be going along to the one on the 8th of July.

Anyone else want to join us? It would make a good precursor to running a big boards poker night with the added bonus of helping these enthusiastic little whippersnappers out.

Great excuse to get pissed on a Tuesday night as well.

Question: How exactly do we book our place in the tournament? Is it express interest and pay at the door or do you have some way of us getting you money before hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

To join you will have to contact Con Ward on 086-1085569, he will direct you as to what to do with the €25 and where to send the Member form to. Monies must be paid before the night as this is the source for the prize money. To ensure we have the funds, we must have each payment before the night. Thank you for pointing out the fault in the link.
    Regards,
    Cormac O'Sheehan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

think I'd prefer a solely boards night b4 swimming wiv da sharkies

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've talked to them behind the scenes... this is the first night and its mostly them and their mates...I'm going to go along too I think. I mean, its 25 notes for a bit of a laugh at least. You cant lose any more in the end of the day and you've only got to win one table to make to the final and be assured of at least your entry cash back.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by DeVore
    I mean, its 25 notes for a bit of a laugh at least.
    DeV.

Don't forget the bar! Pints plus poker, you can't beat it unless there's dancing girls as well....

Its just a pity its not on a weekend, why tuesday night of all times?

The chosen night was tuesday as we thought many people always have plans for the weekend. Also the venue is only available Monday and Tuesday nights. Bare with us, we are only hoping to improve. Any suggestions or comments please don't hesitate to post.
    Regards,
    Cormac O'Sheehan

Please note the tournament takes place next tuesday, July 8th. Please ring for information 0868377190.
    Regards,
    Cormac O'Sheehan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

dont bump topics...

thats one of the things that can make me quite unhappy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Originally posted by Monty - the one and only
    dont bump topics...

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 DevilFish

The merrion (01) 6286246 and fitzwilliam casino (01) 6114677 have tournaments on most days of the week. Good value and some nights arent that expensive, 23 euro buy in Sunday, 18 on Saturday. The merrion is 21s though, fitzwilliam 18s

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Hey DevilFish (yeah, he's my favourite player too ... one stone cold s.o.b!).

Can you give me any more details on those two places?

I'm still trying to see if I can get to Bray to support the poker.ie night but a regular place in town would be fun.

Got addresses/urls for those two? I have no idea what The Merrion is...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

somebody has a gambling problem.....

www.merrioncasinoclub.com.
    Im not too sure if the fitzwilliam casino has a website.

In the fitzwilliam as far as i can remember

mon No Limit Hold Em Freezeout 110
    tue 5 card Draw 20 with rebuys
    wed NLH 20 with rebuys
    thur ?
    fri NLH 50 - 2 rebuys

Give them a ring after 8 or so and usually someone answers

Without trying to sound too much like an alchoholic, are they licensed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by DeVore
    I'm still trying to see if I can get to Bray to support the poker.ie night but a regular place in town would be fun.

DeV.

Myself and DapperGoon are going to the poker.ie thing in Bray on the 8th July, I've lined up 3 others as well.

I think they might be accepting money on the door as well, shich saves hassle, but you mightn't be guaranteed a place if loads of people get ther before you.
    7pm start as far as I can recall

Yeah both casinos are licenced. The merrion is having a 4th of July barbeque tonight, free food and drink, no better time to join.

After that (around 9) theres the usual Friday No Limit Hold Em tournament. 28 euro buy in, 25 to rebuy, with a max 5 rebuys. First prize is usually around 2 grand

Myself and Lafortezza went along to poker.ie night in Bray Sailing club last night.

I must say I had a great time, the event was well organised and the players were nice. Everyone took it pretty seriously without getting anal or anything. The beer was cheap (€3.50 a pint), the place was nigh on full (40 out of 42 seats) and it was all going swimmingly until that cheeky fecker bluffed me. Wasn't as bad as getting dealt pocket aces on a bum deal though.

Only minor grumble would be the lack of provision for side games when people were knocked out or waiting for their punk of a mate to get embarrassed on the final table. Though the lads said that they would have something sorted out for the next one.

All in all I'd highly recommend popping along to the next one they organise, I certainly will.

Two thumbs up from Dapper.