Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Special Olympics Opening Ceremony

• 23-06-2003 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

Dont know if there is a thread somewhere else on this.. i did not see one..

Anyway who went to it or saw it on TV?
    I watched it on TV and thought it was excellent. Very well done. Except maybe Samantha Mumba's attempt at miming (no not stuck in an invisible glass box:D) And Roy Keane not saying a word and standing around like a lost sheep.

Apart from that it was great stuff!! Riverdance looked amazing.. The group Solstace put on a great show... The drummers were brilliant and Patrick Kielty was a great host.

I hope i get to go to the closing ceremony. Im a volunteer but not at Croke park.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Did anyone notice the overeager security guard with Damien Duff ...

He nearly pushed yer one from RTE over .. Very bad show on his part the poor girl was only trying to have a word with the Duffer ( who looked bemused by it )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Mumba is pathetic and a frickin disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Oh yeah who was that blond girl interviewing athletes? She was pretty good looking :D

And Mumba was a disgrace.. eh "Fair play! In fairness" Ronan Keating at least sang.. he is not very good but he sang and at one point did not even use backing!! "Come on!!!!" :D

Now in fairness to Samantha.. she was late so maybe they did not have time to get set up right so they just put on a cd and she mimed.. Highlight was her doing the Police acadamy thing.. mouth not moving but voice going in the background... :D

Oh yeah BazH!! Your sig... better hope its not This fish! The male starts out the same size as the female... But once he is in there he cant get away and ends up living as a permanent attachment to the bítch! Ends up being so small as to barely be seen.. to make it worse... he may not be the only one there.. might have to share!! :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Louis Walsh is some ****e .. Slates the Special Olympics and then to add insult to injury sends her along ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Taught the ceremony was very good,croke park looked excellent,everyone involved should be very proud.

i taught sam looked really hot,so i didnt care what see sounded like :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

i have to admit that i didnt really care untill i saw the flame in cork and now i have nothing but the full support for the olympics. well done to everyone, it was a great show and you did ireland proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Originally posted by Saruman
    Oh yeah BazH!! Your sig... better hope its not This fish! The male starts out the same size as the female... But once he is in there he cant get away and ends up living as a permanent attachment to the bítch! Ends up being so small as to barely be seen.. to make it worse... he may not be the only one there.. might have to share!! :D

Thanks for the heads up, i should update the sig as i have already completed that task, here fishy fishy, see i lured him back to my place with some fish flakes and..............
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

Originally posted by sharkman
    Did anyone notice the overeager security guard with Damien Duff ...

He nearly pushed yer one from RTE over .. Very bad show on his part the poor girl was only trying to have a word with the Duffer ( who looked bemused by it )

Yeah, same thing happened with Arnie too. Didnt really like the way they where interviewing the celebs as they where walking with the athletes to be honest. Took the attention away from the athletes on a day when they should of been the focus. They didnt bother interviewing any of the atheletes as far as i could see, maybe the celebrities are a little bit more "special"?

they did interview a few athletes. the blonde one was interviewing a coach from el salvador or somewhere close but the coach didnt understand a word she was saying. and the pleasantly plumd guy interviewed and irish athlete and they were singing the fields

What did you think of the Olympics song? I thought it was pretty good! Moving too.. Ronan Tynan was perfect for it.. he is after all dissabled himself and a champion Athlete apparently to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Kathryn Thomas was the blonde girl, she presents No Frontiers

And the plump guy, cann't think of his name, has a talk radio show about sport on Radio 1.

Nice to see that everyone watchs RTE.

The opening ceromony was excellent.

Didn't notice Arnold Swwehsjfkljdflk pushing away Kathryn, there were so many people around him anyway she wouldn't have got an interview.

Damien Duff was disgraseful, he should have done a small interview.

Colin Farell was a bit taken aback by the audience he seemed very nervous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Elmo
    It was his security that caused the problem, not him
    Colin Farell was a bit taken aback by the audience he seemed very nervous.

He seemed more langered to me

Colin Farell did not curse once.. sure its probably all an act anyway but at least he did not slip up.

Yeah Kathryn Thomas Is not too bad at all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

I thought the Riverdance was class, hadn't seen it in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

I think the whole thing is a joke to be honest. but someone has to be the bad guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭LizardKing

And the plump guy, cann't think of his name, has a talk radio show about sport on Radio 1.

Des Cahill , as far as i can remmeber .... Great Show , fair play to organisers and GAA ... Croker looked amazing ... lump in the throat stuff ... proud to be oirish etc...

Originally posted by bombidol
    I think the whole thing is a joke to be honest. but someone has to be the bad guy

Why is that? I mean if you are going to say something like this.. at least back i up with a reason :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

I thought it was brilliant. :)

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Maybe later, if im bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

hopefully the closing ceremony will be as good.

the opening ceremony was the most watched thing on Network 2 this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Saruman
    Oh yeah who was that blond girl interviewing athletes? She was pretty good looking :D
    Kathryn Thomas is pretty cute all right. Good presenter on No Frontiers.

I did laugh when she wished the "little Shrivers" well though. I suppose the reason Schwarzenegger was present didn't make it into the press pack.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I loved when she was talking to that kid from the golf team, and the coach said "blah blah, yeah I'm the golf coach" and the blonde then asks the kid "so what event are you participating in".

she really didn't do her hair colour justice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

I was working at the Opening Ceremony and have to say it was probably the best organised event this country has ever seen - but I mean from the people who organised the show - a lot of the background stuff was a mess - I was checking tickets most of the night - and have to say it was one of the nicer crowds of people I've been involved with........even had people offering to buy me tee and coffee etc......

anyway, spent an awful lot of time trying to direct people to function areas i had no idea where they were - and there were no signs, the GAA people were shutting off the access areas at the top of stairs but leaving the stairs themselves open - creating upset people unable to get to where they should be and being given no advice on how to get there (nothing new)......

the stadium looked amazing (got to see the last half of the show) and the crowd reation, atmosphere and the athletes themselves were amazing - they have so much enthusiasm for what they do it's a joy to watch, and none of them looking for appearance fees or changing their shorts to suit their sponsors - just doing it for the joy of the sport........
    You can buy tickets to the closing ceremony - 30Euro from Ticketmaster, but it I'm afraid won't be the same as the Opening - it's going to be full of Westlife and Blue fans (no offense) and that I think will take away from it I think......

It does make me even more annoyed that the GAA won't open up such a wonderful arena to soccer - Imagine what the European Championships would have looked like there.........

go out and support the Games - even for an hour......

Originally posted by NIBBS
    I'm afraid won't be the same as the Opening - it's going to be full of Westlife and Blue fans (no offense) and that I think will take away from it I think......

i'll see how long i'll last watching it. with that kind of entertainment i don't think i'll last too long. i have to be up early on Sunday anyway :)

A Louis Walshe Fan.

Sorry, his only fan.

Why was this posted in the after hours section, would it not be better in either the Television section or the sports section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭neohoki

that blone woman was so stoopid :d but yeh i thought it was suprisingly well organised i thought it was going to be another eurovision were we screw up on purpose so we dont have to do it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Kathryn Thomas was the blonde girl, she presents No Frontiers
    Damien Duff publicly apologized for what happened as the security guard pushed her aside not him he was embarrassed by the whole incident.

Why was this posted in the after hours section, would it not be better in either the Television section or the sports section.

Why? I thought about putting it in TV but then again it was not ONLY on TV, some people were there in person and it was on the radio too... Also After hours gets more people looking thorugh it.. Why does it bother you that its here? :D:D

On a different note.. im volunteering right now in the call center... My God its busy!!

croke park was shown off to the world and it looked spectacular, can you imagine what it would be like for a european championship final, for the final of the six nations, for any major sporting event in the world. its big enough to hold it and i think that the gaa are being just greedy. open it up lads and have more events on the same scale as the olympics.

I never watch GAA! They are being tossers though... they are probably just waiting for a pay off big enough from the Government. I think all government funding should be stopped till they open up to other sports. They have the largest Stadium in Europe and they play a few hurling matches in the thing.. what a waste!!

hopefully the closing ceremony will be as good.
    I will be there so i will let you know :D

They have the largest Stadium in Europe

is it though? what about the Nou Camp, Bernabau etc. etc.

but it is one very impressive stadium. i will never forget my first time going into Croke Park since they redeveloped it. my jaw hit the floor

that blone woman was so stoopid :d but yeh i thought it was suprisingly well organised i thought it was going to be another eurovision were we screw up on purpose so we dont have to do it again...

RTE usually do a great job at the eurovisions, don't think their has been a good eurovision since the last time they did it. I mean why did the host of the 2002 show insist on rhythming? And the fools that had this year? Now I am thinking about Gerry Ryan:( But other then him we have good ..... no wait no I am thinking of Pat Kenny:mad: Ok so we had a couple of bad presenters including Ronan Keating :eek: **** sake. other then them the rest were good the the set were great.

And Kythryn Thomas is the Woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Originally posted by solice
    croke park was shown off to the world and it looked spectacular, can you imagine what it would be like for a european championship final, for the final of the six nations, for any major sporting event in the world. its big enough to hold it and i think that the gaa are being just greedy. open it up lads and have more events on the same scale as the olympics.
    If they opened it up then they'd want more money to finish it, they should put a tax on GAA tickets to make up all the money that they've been given over the years, mabye then when they can't afford to spend half the time in five star hotels they'll open there doors up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 godnroh

How did yesterday work out for you R sorry Saurman... plenty off food, and a bit of work for you for a change....
    Fare play to you for helping out... this people like yourself that have made the games the success it is...:D

Yes it was good fun. Back again tomorrow. IT was very busy.. I started at 8, supposed to finish at 5 but was asked to stay till 6.. i did. Thats the whole day.. lines open 8 - 6!!

Still i had enough time to post on the boards a few times yesterday.