Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School - Did You Enjoy or Despise It?

• 03-02-2022 4:45pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

As the thread title asks, did you enjoy or hate school? Were you a dosser, a swot, or in between? Did you find school dull and boring? Were you bullied or were you a bully to other kids at school?

Do you have any distinct, funny or downright strange memories of your time in school?

I myself enjoyed primary school - a local mixed national school in the Dublin suburb where I grew up - had lots of pals, was very good academically, a bit of a goody two shoes I must admit and a teacher’s pet (the geography teacher - geography was by far my best and favourite subject).

Secondary school - a private Jesuit-run boys school in inner city Dublin - was a very different affair. The first three years were basically hell - especially second year. I was relentlessly bullied by three other boys in second and third year which only ended after an incident that left me in hospital and my parents threatening to sue the school and bring it to the attention of the media. Teachers were excellent in terms of the academic standards but little help with addressing the bullying. It was a rugby school and I hated rugby and team sports. I did excel at swimming, athletics and was on the school tennis team. 

Then my mother died suddenly in my Transition (4th) year in late 1990 - subsequently I was pretty much living independently in the family home (both my older sisters had moved out and my dad worked 5 days a week up in Belfast and did the 100 mile commute every Friday/Sunday) from 15/16 until I did my Leaving Cert in which I did very well and got the points to get the university course I wanted - Geography via Science. 

Looking back, I really don’t know how I managed to get through those years living at home on my own five days a week with such responsibilities but I was determined to prove to everyone at the time that I could. I also had a couple of school mates in my last couple of years in secondary school which was a huge improvement in the bullying and social isolation of 2nd abd 3rd year and in those years I matured fast both physically and mentally. 

College was a complete joy - I let my hair down, literally and figuratively and I thrived there. I’m still very good friends with a couple of old college mates and keep in touch with many others. University was incredibly liberating for me - I went to Trinity College for my undergrad in the 1990s and I could be myself, was accepted by others for who I am and alongside the learning I had an awful lot of partying! Came out as gay in my final year of college and apart from a couple of people who distanced themselves, family and friends were very accepting.

So tell us about your school days... 👨‍🏫 🏫

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭thefallingman

hated it as a kid Jupiter, but now as a much older man I realise it was the best time of my life, not the work or exams or fights obviously but just that time, innocence and youth !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Primary school was fine. Bullied all through secondary school so not so nice

• Registered Users Posts: 33,261 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nope, did nothing for me. I was academically bright and got good grades with minimal effort up until about the junior cert where I unplugged myself from the Matrix and stopped bothering.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭megaten

Think Primary and secondary were fine. Not sure if I could say I enjoyed or hated it because I don't think I understood it in those terms. I just understood that it had to be done

College was terrible though, was poorly suited to my course and probably academia in general. Wasn't able to compartmentalise my course from the time in general so I suffered socially too. I should have quit in retrospect but I didn't have an alternate idea I could realistically present to the folks and wasn't courageous enough to just quit and deal with the consequences.

Ever since my youngest days, to me it was a workplace. “Mamy and Daddy go to work, Kids go to school.” This work from home business woudl have blown my mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Pretty much enjoyed primary school, although it was during the 70s/80s where the Christian Brothers still had a huge influence, and violence from teachers was common. I was never the target of it personally, but some of the stuff that went on was criminal. It's more looking back on it that you realise how fcuked up it was. It just seemed normal at the time.

I liked secondary school until the inter cert. For some reason I hated it for the two years of the leaving cert, but I don't know why. I had plenty of friends, no trouble and did well. But for some reason I really detested it. I think I was bored. The school was very strict, but also educationally closed minded. I had a Physics/Chemistry (the combined subject) teacher who wouldn't let us do any experiments. But we had to pretend we'd done them by writing them up into our lab book, in case an inspector ever came. I went to the career guidance teacher one day just before filling out the CAO form, saying I wasn't sure whether I wanted to do science or art in college. I was doing 3 science subjects for the leaving, and while my school didn't do art, I took it on myself as an extra subject in the leaving, and loved it. His answer was "Science and art are incompatible. You should apply for business courses." I wasn't doing any business subjects at all for the LC, and had no interest in it.

Got accepted into Trinity to do science, which I was really looking forward to, but at the very last minute (like a week before I was due to start), I decided I'd like to give art a try. Did a portfolio preparation course in a PLC and loved every minute of it (I'm luck that my parents were very supportive of my change-of-mind and the non-refundable deposit they lost). That got me into NCAD the next year, which I also loved, specialising in Fine Art Painting. Except for the first 3 months of 3rd year, during which I suffered awful creative block - which isn't much fun when you're expected to be creative for your qualification. I managed to get over that by forcing myself to take a chance with the type of art that I was really into, rather than what the rest were doing, and it worked out. I really enjoyed 4th year. People knock "arts degrees", and Fine Art Painting is even worse than a regular Arts degree, but I found it absolutely amazing, and I learned so much about problem solving and creative thinking that has stood to me thought my career. It's one of the few formal undergraduate educations where you're not learning facts at all - you're having to formulate and create and research your own body of unique work.

Obviously unemployable with a Degree in Fine Art, I ended up doing a FAS course in web and multimedia design, which was amazing. I learned so much. I really loved that. Got working in that field, then the company closed down, so I took the opportunity to do a full-time Masters in digital media, which I also loved. That was 17 years ago, I'm a manager in a technology company now, and I haven't felt the desire to go back to any formal education since.

All in all I've been pretty lucky that I've been very happy in any school or college I've been to.

Post edited by Gregor Samsa on

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭NiceFella

Looking back, primary school was mostly good craic and must say I learned far more useful stuff here than secondary. One of our teachers thought us chess in fifth class and devoted an hour each day to games between students. Another organised football matches between classes. It was great way to have play time with focus. The plays put together were good fun too.

Secondary was shite mostly, prepping for exams you had no interest in whatsoever. I was very passive to the whole experience, kept my head down and said nothing most the time. I have to say I think I liked some of the teachers more than the students. I was academic enough, but probably went to the wrong school. It was just survival really. I have no friends from it really.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,343 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Primary school: I was a swot and good at everything except PE. I wouldn't say I loved school but neither did I hate it. I wasn't bullied in primary school. Single sex school.

Secondary: started off like a continuation of primary but got more confusing and less enjoyable as time went on. I was still a swot and did very well in the LC but not well enough. There was bullying but it was never physical in my case. Mixed school. Bad teachers. I cut off contact with everyone from school when we finished as was unhappy at what went on.

College undergrad: A great time, I was fairly swotty and did very well in a difficult major, I also enjoyed it thoroughly, had friends and used to look forward to returning after the summer break and after being home for weekend.

So, secondary was definitely the worst for me as I'd say it is for most people. I'd still pick my secondary school life over my current life (mid 40s) though.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,267 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Did I enjoy my time in school? Well looking back on it now, I have to say the sex was great.

The negative side is that think you are flying and then suddenly the no-craic Principal comes along and starts going on about ethics and law blah blah and takes your all-girls-sixth-class history teaching duties away from you and has you fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

I enjoyed school i have to say, secondary school we played a lot of sport, got on well academically, had good friends.

It was an all boys school so there was the standard physical confrontations and aggro but nothing life threatening, the teachers werent afraid to give us a clip either (this was in the 90s) but cant say it was any harm.

Definitely look back on it fondly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

School was grand but I have still yet to meet a teacher I like.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,429 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was generally a well behaved student and didn't cause much hassle apart from talking. I wasn't the brightest tough.

I generally had friends and could mix with the booky kid or the rugby lad.

I found primary school fine. Teachers were generally grand also.

Secondary school was okay. There was the odd teacher I wasn't keen on and I got tired of it in 5th year and 6th mainly due to studying subjects that I felt were pointless. To much time was spent on the school uniform code and there was no real activities if you weren't into GAA.

There was the odd bit of bullying over the years but nothing major. I found I sometimes could sort of befriend guys who were trying to bully me.

College wasn't a nice experience. Some of the lectures were fairly sour and nasty and there was a good bit of bullying from the students also. It really turned me off the course I was studying.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭blade1

The school was alright, a couple of teachers were right pr*cks though.

One especially, I said to myself if I ever met him outside the school I'd slap the head off him.

I never met him and he died a long time ago.

Good riddance to the sadistic c*nt.

I'm not religious but I'd love if there really is a hell.

Elementary school (primary) is a bit of a blur. High school I liked due to subjects I love like science, biology, etc. But I loved college aside from the parties and certain hot professors.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Let's see as a young protestant lad going to a rural school in 'holy catholic 'ireland back in the day during the troubles I felt about as welcome as a bastard at a family reunion - in short I despised it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Funnily enough I would have had the opposite experience to most of the posts here, really didn't like primary school and had a few issues with bullying though nothing really terrible compared to what others experienced.

Things turned around though in secondary and had a fantastic time, academically it was grand, could have been better if I was interested in applying myself 😂

I tried a few courses in college but nothing ever stuck properly. That being said I still had a great time while I was there... probably too good!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

College was definately the pinnacle for me, got 5 years out of it, a 4 year degree and a masters afterwards, what a time to be alive!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Hated secondary school so much that it kind of still haunts me to this day. The pressure to do well, to get to college, to impress the girls, to look cool or be part of the coolest clique in your year etc. I was actually quite bright but struggled with maths. I have a few regrets in my life which I think about a lot, and a most of them stem from those days. I should have studied harder and been more clued in about my future. I'm lucky to work now in a reasonably well paid factory job albeit boring, but I still count myself lucky. Such is life i guess ......

• Registered Users Posts: 8,397 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I enjoyed it for the most part. Was never bullied although there were people who I disliked and didn't get on with. Admittedly I was a bit of a dosser but never a trouble maker. I did my homework and schoolwork but I only really half paid attention in class when the teacher was talking. If I was sitting with a friend we'd just play Xs and Os or chat during the class.

The banter in some of the classes was probably the best. We had a really sound English teacher who on Fridays would just spend the whole class chatting with us and taking it easy. We talked about all sorts of things from the usual news around the school to current events like the Dublin Riots in 2006. Oh, how I enjoyed those classes.

There were some things I disliked about school and would gladly change in a heartbeat if I had the chance to go back in time, but I do miss my days in school.

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Green Finers

Wonder full topic.

I didn’t like it. No I hated it. I got bully. Not from other boys from the teacher and master. Daley beeting too.

I done well for my life. I work in document translation. Bulgarian and Romanian. So **** the teacher and bully master.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I enjoyed school generally. Though one of the things that helped was when in 1st year I cut the sh1t out if a bully . I never had trouble after that

• Registered Users Posts: 11,898 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Great memories of primary.

Secondary was in tough/rough school, long commute. I got on ok. But education definitely suffered.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I don’t have many memories of primary school except having to spend 2 hrs a day on irish. I enjoyed secondary’s school especially the last couple of years. Loads of fun and some great people in secondary school.

There was a big change for the better in how the teachers treated us in 4th and 5th years too.

Not sure what was worse ..the bullying or the silent treatment if you told.all through primary and secondary.failed both intercert and leaving cert .couldn't wait to leave.still effects me to this day..never understood it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭em_cat

I was home schooled thru primary & the first year of secondary. I absolutely loved it, being reared by my grand parents, it was eventful as we had to travel a lot because of my grand fathers's career.

I transferred to a full board school as my grand father passed and my grand mother shortly after. I really enjoyed the experience, of being in a full board school, I had access to labs and the library on a 24 basis and I loved it. Would say it completely failed to prepare me for the world at large though. I got used to doing my own thing at will and when I went to college the first year was really difficult.

I did double degrees, so didn’t really have a lot of time for extras like parties and socialising, however I did have flat mates so some times didn’t have much choice. I went onto complete my masters then work took over so didn’t do my PHD until nearly 10 years later.

I'm now retired, mostly because of an RTA in 2016, but I do consult occasionally as all of my friends and colleagues still work so being retired at my age is a little weird.

I'll confess, I still can’t get my head around the Irish school system and always horrified by some of the stories my OH and friends tell me about their experiences.

I attended a very nice school with mainly kindly teachers, but looking back on it I realise if I were tested I would very likely fit a diagnosis of ADHD, which makes it extremely difficult to focus. Someone described it very well on the radio the other day, like being a laptop with 20 windows own at the same time pulling on the processing resources. It describes me to a tee.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Post edited by AllForIt on

• Registered Users Posts: 34,523 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Liberty_Bear

Despised it thoroughly. I was 16, fat, lonely and no idea what to do with my life. Drove me to suicide at 18 nearly as I struggled with coming out. Nothing went well for me. I was a bit of a SWOT as well.

Now at 39 going on 40 Ive the world at my feet, a good job and I enjoy bed hopping.

Things do get better with age!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Looks like we all had a mixed bag of experiences of our school days.

There seems to be a bit of a trend in whereby those of us who had to endure bullying and social isolation in secondary school (especially the brutal early years of secondary, where bullying seems to be at its worst 😥) often then went on to have a great time in college, whereas those who were popular in their school (big fish in a small pond) often struggled with college life and not knowing anyone in their new setting.

Would be interested in hearing from some older posters about their school days. Before the abolition of corporal punishment in schools in 1982, there was a culture of fear and brutality in many Irish schools, with not just the cane or leather strap - but full beatings meted out to children on a regular basis. 😥😞🤬😡 We also now know that students were subjected to sexual abuse and rape by their teachers, whether religious or “lay” staff.

In one of my stints in alcohol rehab back in 2015, there was a lovely chap from the midlands who was regularly beaten to a pulp by a priest teacher in a Christian Brothers secondary school who took a dislike to him. This would have been in the 1970s. The attitude of his father when he told him of such abuse was that “you probably deserved it." Parents simply did not question teachers or schools back in those days. It scarred him badly for life and he attributes this as a major factor in turning to alcohol to blot out the traumatic memories. This man has now sadly passed away. 

His brother took his own life and later it transpired that the same teacher who physically abused the guy I knew also raped his brother and many other boys. The collective damage done to generations of Irish children by the sadists in the religious orders was immense. These wounds are still not fully healed - and the wresting of our school system away from the control of religious orders who did so much collective damage cannot come soon enough.

None of my mates with children (the eldest of which are in their mid to late teens) send any of them to religious-run schools. Gaelscoileanna for primary followed by Educate Together for secondary seems to be very popular these days.

Post edited by JupiterKid on