Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

President higgins wants gambling advertising banned from sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Odelay

He gets my vote! Far too much gambling related advertising. It's going to be the next social epidemic.
    Sport lasted long enough without constant interruptions from gambling adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

The bookies is a trap house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,202 ✭✭✭enricoh

The gaa banned sponsorship last year iirc. Fair play n I believe pressure should be exerted on other sports to follow suit.
    It's causing a lot of hidden pressure on young lads and I heard was a major reason in a local suicide here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,272 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I agree with the OP.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

I'd rather he start with drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I miss the fag advertising from motorsport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,366 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Id say the teams miss it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

Maybe he's recovering, counting all the pennies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,202 ✭✭✭enricoh

I'd say rothmans certainly miss it - I don't know anyone who smokes them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Agree entirely, but coming out with this statement now smacks of electioneering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

he was well able to play the "i'm down with the rabble" when he was seeking election but was famously silent when the country needed a presidential opinion or guidance , like the time Enda Kenny lumped the tax payer with bank debt...and some other times too.

He was too busy living it up kissing the queens hole and at banquets all over the world. No expense spared while the country was in the mire.

I know he was hosting all the irish ex pats in Jo'burg in the embassy when things were fairly crappy over here - champers and canapes all over...not to mention the ferrero rochers…. (as one example cos my mate was invited and attended)

He had 7 years to pipe up on this and other matters and we got fcuk all bar some ****e poetry...

surprise !!surprise!! he finds a conscience, an opinion and a populist cause in the run up to an election in an attempt to continue his recently found largesse on our tax cash.

Fcuk him - I'd rather vote for John Gilligan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,713 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Hard to have any argument with banning gambling advertising from sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

He's dead right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

If it puts an end to Paddy Power bantz then Im all for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

Sport should be allowed to get whatever advertising revenue it wants.If people are stupid enough to gamble excessively because of advertising that is 100% their own fault.I am sick and tired of this nanny state bull**** that is afflicted upon people because others can't control themselves, the only person gambling causing any harm to is the gamblers themselves.

It's just pathetic pandering to idiots once again from our politicians who really should be dealing with the serious issues affecting irish life and not nonsense like this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why don't we just shut their doors? If we want to support preventing an industry from advertising, we should just go all out and ban it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,906 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Sport should be allowed to get whatever advertising revenue it wants.If people are stupid enough to gamble excessively because of advertising that is 100% their own fault.I am sick and tired of this nanny state bull**** that is afflicted upon people because others can't control themselves, the only person gambling causing any harm to is the gamblers themselves.

It's just pathetic pandering to idiots once again from our politicians who really should be dealing with the serious issues affecting irish life and not nonsense like this.

have you ever seen gamblers at work, its a bloody scary addiction?

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    have you ever seen gamblers at work, its a bloody scary addiction?

Thats their own fault.

It's not as if they wont know gambling establishments exist if they get rid of advertising gambling in sport.

Pretty much everything in the world can be dangerous if you don't moderate yourself.

People get into debt due to buying stuff should we just ban advertising of all products you can purchase in order to stop people getting into debt.

Why don't we just shut their doors? If we want to support preventing an industry from advertising, we should just go all out and ban it already.

He's just picked up on a trendy cause and decided to pander to people he doesn't actually give a **** about it banning the industry is obviously daft so he knows if you go for the banning advertising it sounds sensible enough to appeal to more moderate types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The ultimate populist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

paw patrol wrote: »
    he was well able to play the "i'm down with the rabble" when he was seeking election but was famously silent when the country needed a presidential opinion or guidance , like the time Enda Kenny lumped the tax payer with bank debt...and some other times too.

He was too busy living it up kissing the queens hole and at banquet all over the world. No expense spared while the country was in the mire.

I know he was hosting all the irish ex pats in Jo'burg in the embassy when things were fairly crappy over here - champers and canapes all over...not to mention the ferrero rochers…. (as one example cos my mate was invited and attended)

He had 7 years to pipe up on this and other matters and we got fcuk all bar some ****e poetry...

surprise !!surprise!! he finds a conscience, an opinion and a populist cause in the run up to an election in an attempt to continue his recently found largesse on our tax cash.

Fcuk him - I'd rather vote for John Gilligan

A very wide-ranging and slightly bizarre rant. Also, you don’t appear to understand the role of president very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

you're clearly very ignorant about this issue.

serious issues affecting Ireland? Look no further than gambling my friend. Online gambling is the fastest growing business (and addiction) in Europe.
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/online-gambling-among-fastest-growing-businesses-in-eu-275453.html

Ireland loses the 3rd most money per capita to gambling in the entire world.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-gambling-3233357-Feb2017/

Out of all addictions, gamblers have the highest suicide rate. Las Vegas has the highest suicide rate of any US city virtually every year (google those facts if you like.)

I gamble myself, but I've been doing it long enough that I know how to avoid getting into trouble. When I was younger however, I learned some very expensive lessons. And that's why I would love to see the advertising be banned. I see young fellas getting started on gambling and I hate it - I know they're going to be fleeced for loads of money because they are too young to know better and could end up in the throes of addiction if they are inclined that way. It's growing very fast among young men (and women) due to these ads.
    https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/online-gambling-addiction-hitting-irish-women-26475243.html

Having the ads banned isn't nanny state stuff. I don't think gambling should be banned as it only leads to it being done illegally through organized crime. But kids watching sport should not bombarded with these ads, they are non stop on the weekend when racing and football are on, and by the time a boy turns 18 he thinks it's normal and starts down this path.

If you think people who get addicted to it are just stupid, it's actually you who need to get a clue. Addiction is hereditary and very real, and while betting being legal is fine - it provides jobs, tax revenue, and it avoids it being done through shady characters on credit, we should NOT be enticing young people to gamble every time they watch a sporting event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Gambling is a habit for degenerates. I'd urge my son to start smoking before he would ever gamble.

serious issues affecting Ireland? Look no further than gambling my friend. Online gambling is the fastest growing business (and addiction) in Europe.
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/online-gambling-among-fastest-growing-businesses-in-eu-275453.html

Out of all addictions, gamblers have the highest suicide rate. Las Vegas has the highest suicide rate of any US city virtually every year (google those facts if you like.)

I gamble myself, but I've been doing it long enough that I know how to avoid getting into trouble. When I was younger however, I learned some very expensive lessons. And that's why I would love to see the advertising be banned. I see young fellas getting started on gambling and I hate it - I know they're going to be fleeced for loads of money because they are too young to know better and could end up in the throes of addiction if they are inclined that way. It's growing very fast among young men (and women) due to these ads.
    https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/online-gambling-addiction-hitting-irish-women-26475243.html

Having the ads banned isn't nanny state stuff. I don't think gambling should be banned as it only leads to it being done illegally through organized crime. But kids watching sport should not bombarded with these ads, they are non stop on the weekend when racing and football are on, and by the time a boy turns 18 he thinks it's normal and starts down this path.

If you think people who get addicted to it are just stupid, it's actually you who need to get a clue. Addiction is hereditary and very real, and while betting being legal is fine - it provides jobs, tax revenue, and it avoids it being done through shady characters on credit, we should NOT be enticing young people to gamble every time they watch a sporting event.

Every bit of this is 100% the person who gambles fault.

I watch sport constantly and I can control myself so it isn't that difficult to not gamble.

Why don't we ban providing credit in order to stop people getting into debt and the negative affect that has on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Any kid who watched football is bombarded with adverts for gambling non-stop. It normalises it for them before they even leave primary school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Discussed here recently also:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057888813&page=5

But in the same article he admits he's 'utterly powerless' to do anything about it.
    Hold on aren't you the Pres, the PM, the big chief, and all that?
    What's the point in titles without power?

Earlier in the year he very rightly warned of the coming 'gig economy',
    but again will he stamp out the new zero-hours gigs appearing everywhere? Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,820 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Any medium sized town has approx 3 bookies. I can't remember to turnover each branch needs to be viable but was big. Not to mind the online stuff.
    A gambler doesn't just damage himself, there's a whole wide circle of family and friends.
    Was given an opportunity to invest in the area recently, wouldn't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,638 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

You can agree with this or disagree with this.
    Basically in the future sport may only be sponsored by heath food.
    However this man said he was only going to run for one term and he has shown he can't be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Is it not a case of the horse has bolted, most kids watching sport now will stream it, likewise when they start betting - it won't be a trip to the local bookies where some magnitude of regulation applies. It's a free for all online and no banning of advertising from sport is going to have a sufficient impact. It may actually have a negative impact with reduction in revenue for sporting organisations.

I'm just disappointed in Michael D. I would have preferred if he raised the A&E issue that has been at crisis levels for 30 years and is the elephant in the room that no-one wants to tackle. I'm not naive, I know it's not headline grabbing or exciting but it affects everyone at some point in their life. But gambling advertising is far more exciting apparently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,820 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If Duffy gets in, we'll have deer hunting in the Phoenix Park, tally ho.