Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clean up after you, you inconsiderate pig (Fast food restaurants rant)

• 23-10-2016 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

I occasionally go to McDonalds or Burger King or KFC with the fairer half, Mrs. Dfeo on a Friday or Saturday night when out for pints. I know they're not examples of fine dining before anyone mentions it.

What really pisses me off, is seeing tables abandoned with trays, drinks and wrappers all over the place. How hard is it to keep everything on your tray when eating, and lift it up and put it in the bin when finished.

EVERY time I go to McDonalds, I make it my business to clear the table after me and if I leave a spill or a bit of sauce, I'll dab it up with a tissue.

And before anyone says it's the job of the staff to clear up; why can't you just lift your tray and put stuff into the conveniently-placed bins? Not only is it inconsiderate to leave a mess for staff to clean up, it's also the height of rudeness and inconsideration for the person using the table next.

Last night, I arrived in a packed-to-the-rafters McDonalds to tables that were strewn with rubbish and little puddle of liquid on the table.

Inconsiderate b*****ds.

Should people clear their own table in fast food restaurants? 270 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    GraysonSte.phenvicadd_Kaiser_SandcournioniBigConValentinagenieAnnasopraAlungazzerCalhounWitchieWompa1skibumAglomeradoDoctorEdgeWildenda1[Deleted User] 270 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

This old chestnut.

Well, instead of taking it out on the patrons, why don't you complain to the establishment about the state of the place?

Sounds like the place you frequent is under staffed. Cleaning up after you is nice, but that is not the customers responsibility in the end. It's managements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

No
    This old chestnut.

Well, instead of taking it out on the patrons, why don't you complain to the establishment about the state of the place?

Sounds like the place you frequent is under staffed. Cleaning up after you is nice, but that is not the customers responsibility in the end. It's managements.

Read my post again
    dfeo wrote:
    And before anyone says it's the job of the staff to clear up; why can't you just lift your tray and put stuff into the conveniently-placed bins? Not only is it inconsiderate to leave a mess for staff to clean up, it's also the height of rudeness and inconsideration for the person using the table next.

Just because they're not obliged to do it, doesn't mean they shouldn't extend the courtesy to the following person by clearing their mess. It's like p1ssing all over a public toilet seat and expecting the cleaning lady to take care of it before the next person comes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

No
    This old chestnut.

It's while it might not be customer's responsibility it does distinguish those who have some basic manners from pigs. In fast food joints you clean after yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

People get paid to clean up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

So you come onto boards to have a good moan about it, why not stand around McDonald's for a while and say what you wrote hear to the culprits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Putting fellas out of a Mcjob

No
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    So you come onto boards to have a good moan about it, why not stand around McDonald's for a while and say what you wrote hear to the culprits?

Because you wouldn't trust someone who doesn't clean after themselves not to attack you. You can expect much decency from people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Isn't it a well known fact that someone is assigned to cleaning tables and that their day is more boring if they can't clean a table ?

Anyway I always put my rubbish in the trash bin but I certainly wouldn't care if someone else didn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

This old chestnut.

God forbid they might employ another person to clean up after their patrons!!That would effect profits too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

This is the worst thing that ever happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

No
    I always do, I be bit embarrassed to leave me mess there as in the type of out let it is .Only takes an extra minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

No
    I always do, I be bit embarrassed to leave me mess there as in the type of out let it is .Only takes an extra minute.

The World needs more people like you :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I would've voted yes but for the OP's OTT hysterical rant. I therefore abstain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I cleaned up mine &my mates rubbish before in a fast food place & was told to stop because management would start letting people go if their wasn't loads to clear up.

So the messier the better for job security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

I clean up after me in macD when I go. This is mostly a curtesy to other people who may be looking for a free table. But on the other hand I don't clean up in other restaurants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I always clean up my table after I eat in McDonalds as I find it rude to leave a dirty table.

However when I heard about people potentially losing jobs if they have nothing to clean then I do my civic duty and I go to the jacks and pebbledash the place with sh!te that has the consistency of a McFlurry only a bit warmer so that they have job to go to tomorrow!

No
    Sam Kade wrote: »

I don't get people saying this ? I have seen it posed a few times, This is a discussion board, were discussing,

now ye"re talking"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Is it rude not to bring empty glasses back to a bar counter in a pub too?
    Sometimes I put away my tray sometimes I don't. It's not something that many people feel strongly about I would think.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

When you eat out in a proper restaurant i bet you don't clear your table before you leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

meeeeh wrote: »
    It's while it might not be customer's responsibility it does distinguish those who have some basic manners from pigs. In fast food joints you clean after yourself.

Who said?

Not a notion do I have or cleaning up after myself.
    It will keep someone in a job cleaning up after everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

dfeo wrote: »
    Read my post again

Just because they're not obliged to do it, doesn't mean they shouldn't extend the courtesy to the following person by clearing their mess. It's like p1ssing all over a public toilet seat and expecting the cleaning lady to take care of it before the next person comes in.

I did read your post, and my opinion differs from yours. Strange analogy, it's not the same thing at all. If you want a clean restaurant, hire the people to clean it, don't be greedy and have your customers do it.

Does it? Is this the defining factor?

In fast food "joints" marketing to clean up after yourself has been a success. It's a really good idea and the owner benefits greatly. More money for him/her.

No
    Who said?

Not a notion do I have or cleaning up after myself.
    It will keep someone in a job cleaning up after everyone

Yeah right. All you are doing is putting somebody under more pressure. Fast food places are set up and priced with customer's cleaning after themselves taken into account. You really think McD would sacrifice their profit margins with employing extra cleaning staff.

But yeah keep inventing reason for the lack of manners. I bet you also dump stuff through the window of the car too to keep council staff in their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

No
    I frequent the big 2 and others 2-3 times a week.I automatically clean my tray/table when I'm finished.

I know staff are paid to do it but I feel better for doing it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

No
    Anytime I eat in a fast food restaurant I always clear the table and put my stuff in the bin. Wouldn't dream of leaving a load of rubbish for someone else to clean up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

I've worked in McDonald's doing the table clean up thing, I never minded someone leaving their tray on the table (although I don't personally do this), the amount of people that leave globs of sauce or spilled drinks on the table and don't bother giving it a quick wipe annoyed me. Leave the napkin on the tray after, whatever, but smears of sauce and stuff is just rude. Once had someone turn a drink upsidedown so when I picked it up, the remains went everywhere, ignorant swines!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭WhoWhatWhere

No
    People who do this need shooting. It takes a few seconds to put your rubbish away, and provided theres no bin in sight just ask a staff member. ****ing disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I don't get people saying this ? I have seen it posed a few times, This is a discussion board, were discussing,

now ye"re talking"

What were discussing?

No
    People who do this need shooting. It takes a few seconds to put your rubbish away, and provided theres no bin in sight just ask a staff member. ****ing disgusting.

Like a Mcbang ,i lovin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Is that you, Des Bishop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm in two minds on this. One half wants a clean restaurant, the other half wants more jobs for art students..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

No
    Just put your leftovers in the bin. Same rule everywhere. Coming out of the shop after taking the wrapper from your sweets....In the bin. Finished your takeaway coffee...in the bin.

Litter bugs are scum plain and simple. I challenged a lad on camden street one night who threw his paper on the ground. He got aggro and told me to go fcuk myself, only the red mist had come down on me so I got up close and personal and asked him what his problem was that he felt it acceptable to throw his rubbish on the ground. I handed it back to him and told him to use the bin. His mate told him to cop on and use the bin. Small victory for me and mankind!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

When people are eating in the establishment what the hell is wrong with serving the food on paper plates and not boxes , wrappers and packaging all over the place? Absolute waste of resources.

OP you are focusing on the wrong element here, change the mindset of the establishment and you're half way there.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Just put your leftovers in the bin. Same rule everywhere. Coming out of the shop after taking the wrapper from your sweets....In the bin. Finished your takeaway coffee...in the bin.

Litter bugs are scum plain and simple. I challenged a lad on camden street one night who threw his paper on the ground. He got aggro and told me to go fcuk myself, only the red mist had come down on me so I got up close and personal and asked him what his problem was that he felt it acceptable to throw his rubbish on the ground. I handed it back to him and told him to use the bin. His mate told him to cop on and use the bin. Small victory for me and mankind!!

I Ike the second paragraph but...

Do you clean up in other restaurants though? You take your stuff out the back and start washing?

I do it in macDs but I take the argument that's it's not really the customers's job.

No
    I Ike the second paragraph but...

Do you clean up in other restaurants though? You take your stuff out the back and start washing?

I do it in macDs but I take the argument that's it's not really the customers's job.
    It's completely different business model. You also don't go to the bar and order food there and wait for it to be prepared. You use the cutlery and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I'm with you op. In fact I judge people who don't. Its different than in a restaurant. You've a receptacle to dispose of tray contents close at hand for that reason. And its worse when u see a family leave the place like a tip. Great way to teach kids to clean up after themselves.

No
    Like a Mcbang ,i lovin it.

Can I get a McGangBang please

We don't do those here sir.

Happens every damn time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,721 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I never clear off the table for a simple reason. Not doing so forces the staff into doing it which (hopefully) means they wipe the table down. Too many times in these places you arrive at a table and there is salt and blobs of ketchup everywhere, do McDonalds also expect customers to grab a cloth and wipe down their own table? Also think of basic hygiene- the person before you has a cold or the flu, they sneeze all over the table, then take the tray and leave. Then you come along and eat off an unclean table covered in germs while you move food from hands to mouth. My guess is its a very good way for colds/flus to get transmiited from one person to another. Im no hygiene freak or anything but it does seem pretty intuitive

This is me. I don't 'get' people who do this. I don't think (hope) I know people who do so either, yet it seems such a common occurrence. Who exactly do u think is gonna clean it up/ pick it up? Where do you think its gonna go? One day I was giving a lift to a friend and her sis in law and kid. We stopped off at a shop and my friend went in. Kid eating something in back seat and I hear him ask sis in law what he should do with wrapper. Just throw it out window she says. I nearly had a stroke!!!! I ate her. What is wrong with people that think its ok to just drop everything at your arse?

(Sorry meant to quote mfceiling post before this )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I never clear off the table for a simple reason. Not doing so forces the staff into doing it which (hopefully) means they wipe the table down. Too many times in these places you arrive at a table and there is salt and blobs of ketchup everywhere, do McDonalds also expect customers to grab a cloth and wipe down their own table? Also think of basic hygiene- the person before you has a cold or the flu, they sneeze all over the table, then take the tray and leave. Then you come along and eat off an unclean table covered in germs while you move food from hands to mouth. My guess is its a very good way for colds/flus to get transmiited from one person to another. Im no hygiene freak or anything but it does seem pretty intuitive

You are some fckin goalpost mover. Pity you can't move the tray in a similar fashion.

It's completely different business model. You also don't go to the bar and order food there and wait for it to be prepared. You use the cutlery and so on.

I order at the bar in pub restaurants.

Mac Donald's is a restaurant. That's their license.

That's a cop out . There ate plenty of staff milling about. No table is left perfectly clean of debris so likely they ll wipe down anyway. And if not u can ask a passing staff member to do so. Actively not arsing urself cause u think ur saving the clientele from contracting Ebola is a bull**** reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

That's a bit extreme isn't it. I would not clean up my tray at all, as a worker is being paid to do just this. As they say, if a worker doesn't look busy, there is not really much need for the worker. It's part of the job and they get paid for it, so having customers doing the cleaning up for a huge business is nuts. Some folk have nothing else important to be doing than moan about basic rubbish like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

No
    Super-Rush wrote: »
    When you eat out in a proper restaurant i bet you don't clear your table before you leave.

'Proper restaurant' = The Golden Arches?

La di dah eh. The ambassador is truly spoiling us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

That's a bit extreme isn't it. I would not clean up my tray at all, as a worker is being paid to do just this. As they say, if a worker doesn't look busy, there is not really much need for the worker. It's part of the job and they get paid for it, so having customers doing the cleaning up for a huge business is nuts. Some folk have nothing else important to be doing than moan about basic rubbish like this.

I can't attack the poster. I can only attack the post.

Your post is a prick!

No

Oh sit down you don't clean the tray because you're too lazy. "Well I just make sure they have something to do, its their JOB!!!" That's their managers job, clean the tray, don't be lazy. Do you also litter on the streets because the council gets paid to sweep the roads? **** me.

Grandeeod wrote:
    Your post is a prick!

Brilliant! I'm gonna use that in future if you don't mind!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Oh sit down you don't clean the tray because you're too lazy. "Well I just make sure they have something to do, its their JOB!!!" That's their managers job, clean the tray, don't be lazy. Do you also litter on the streets because the council gets paid to sweep the roads? **** me.

It's not laziness at all, it's the right thing to do to let the workers get paid for the job they do without you as a customer doing it for them, ye have to earn your wage. They are getting my money and custom so that should be enough, or should I also go into the back and clean all the dirty pots and pans ?.

Nowadays in places like KFC they charge 10 euro for a meal or just under that. In a restaurant it costs about 15 euro for a steak, KFC are probably making much more profit than the restaurant is on the steak. If these 'fast food' places lowered their price then they can start asking people to clean up but they can't charge nearly restaurant prices and then also ask people too clean up after themsevles.

or should I also go into the back and clean all the dirty pots and pans ?.

Its not the same at all. In a restaurant its not organic to pick up ur plates and head to the kitchen. But in a fast food place there is most likely a tray bin 3 meters from your arse. Likewise when ur at home ...... do u eat a meal and stand and walk away rather than at least walking to the sink or dishwasher with ur plate ?

No
    It's not laziness at all, it's the right thing to do to let the workers get paid for the job they do without you as a customer doing it for them, ye have to earn your wage. They are getting my money and custom so that should be enough, or should I also go into the back and clean all the dirty pots and pans ?.

If you're served food you can put the food in the bins. No ones asking you to scrub the place just do the half decent thing and put it in the trash. You're not hiding behind this thin veil of "earn yer wage I'm helping you", your post is a bastard and should feel bad. I can't have an opinion on you publicly.