Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving the Scene of an accident.

• 08-12-2015 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

So, 3 weeks ago, I was overtaking a car that was travelling slowly.

Whilst I was overtaking the other car, another car came down the other lane.

Now, apparently, I clipped the other car's wing mirror causing minimal damage (The Gards said that the plastic covering the signal popped out and that was it) My car had no damage whatsoever. That is why at the time, I didn't stop.

So, if other driver decides to take me to court. What type of sanction am I facing?

I should also add that the Police came to see me at work and just asked me a few questions. From what I remember, neither of them wrote anything. They also had the wrong time of the incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

It's not the other driver it's the guards you need to be worried about.

From what I can gleam from the above post you overtook in the opposing lane when it was unsafe to do so. I don't know the designation under the road traffic acts but some sort of dangerous driving I would imagine. Points/fine to a ban again just supposing here, perhaps someone with more knowledge will correct me.

Very possibly a follow up from traffic watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

So, 3 weeks ago, I was overtaking a car that was travelling slowly.

Whilst I was overtaking the other car, another car came down the other lane.
    Feck. It must have taken you ages to overtake that slowly travelling car, if another car managed to appear in the oncoming lane. Out of nowhere, I presume...?

Sounds like you made a dangerous manoeuvre, without adequate clear space in the other lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 DorianGrayism

endacl wrote: »
    Feck. It must have taken you ages to overtake that slowly travelling car, if another car managed to appear in the oncoming lane. Out of nowhere, I presume...?

Sounds like you made a dangerous manoeuvre, without adequate clear space in the other lane.

Well, when I say slowly. I mean it was travelling under the speed limit.

So, it maybe it wasn't travelling very slowly. It was a country road.

From what I can gleam from the above post you overtook in the opposing lane when it was unsafe to do so. I don't know the designation under the road traffic acts but some sort of dangerous driving I would imagine. Points/fine to a ban again just supposing here, perhaps someone with more knowledge will correct me.

Yeh, I would guess a Driving without due and attention + Leaving the scene of an accident.

What is traffic watch?

endacl wrote: »

It was dangerous. I definitely didn't see the other car before doing the maneuvre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

You've heard that whole "it's a limit, not a target" spiel?

Rackstar wrote: »
    You've heard that whole "it's a limit, not a target" spiel?

Ok. Well I haven't, but I understand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

What is traffic watch?

There is a number you can ring for a garda initiative where unlike 95% of the reports the station gets they don't tend to ignore them, probably because they're somehow managed externally.

A bit of a leap here but wrong time of the incident would lead me to believe there is probably dash cam footage.

I wouldn't worry about it too much just adjust your driving accordingly. I personally don't have an issue with a bit of welly, just make sure it's appropriate to the road conditions.

There is a number you can ring for a garda initiative where unlike 95% of the reports the station gets they don't tend to ignore them, probably because they're somehow managed externally.

A bit of a leap here but wrong time of the incident would lead me to believe there is probably dash cam footage.

I wouldn't worry about it too much just adjust your driving accordingly. I personally don't have an issue with a bit of welly, just make sure it's appropriate to the road conditions.

Well, when the police came to question me, they said it happened 2 weeks ago.

It was definitely 3 weeks ago. So, I think they just were not well prepared.

From their POV, they just want to ask the victim whether she wants to prosecute or for me to pay damages + Personal insurance.

So far my lawyer has said I will probably get just leaving the scene but I think I will get both leaving the scene and driving without care.

It was definitely 3 weeks ago. So, I think they just were not well prepared. Initially, it threw me off but I knew what they were talking about.

From their POV, they just want to ask the victim whether she wants to prosecute or for me to pay damages + Personal insurance. I think since the damage was so little, they don't really want to prosecute. Also, I think they know it will have implications on my job.

So far my lawyer has said I will probably get just leaving the scene but I think I will get both leaving the scene and driving without care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Nothing will come of this. Looking for a criminal lawyer is a bit dramatic don't you think! You may have to pay for the mirror at the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

ComfortKid wrote: »
    Nothing will come of this. Looking for a criminal lawyer is a bit dramatic don't you think! You may have to pay for the mirror at the most.

+1 OP you're making this out to be a big deal, it's not. You clipped another car and kept going, unaware that you damaged his mirror. Worst case is that you have to fork out for a new mirror to avoid an insurance claim.

You've already spoken to your lawyer, now you're looking for a recommendation for a 'criminal defender' - are you expecting to be up before a judge & jury?? It's highly unlikely that the Gardai will prosecute you for anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

It was definitely 3 weeks ago. So, I think they just were not well prepared. Initially, it threw me off but I knew what they were talking about.

From their POV, they just want to ask the victim whether she wants to prosecute or for me to pay damages + Personal insurance. I think since the damage was so little, they don't really want to prosecute. Also, I think they know it will have implications on my job.

Ask the Guards for the date of the incident.
    Surely you can't be prosecuted for something when they don't even know the date it occurred in.

coylemj wrote: »
    +1 OP you're making this out to be a big deal, it's not. You clipped another car and kept going, unaware that you damaged his mirror. Worst case is that you have to fork out for a new mirror to avoid an insurance claim.

You've already spoken to your lawyer, now you're looking for a recommendation for a 'criminal defender' - are you expecting to be up before a judge & jury?? It's highly unlikely that the Gardai will prosecute you for anything.

Well, this is what my lawyer is saying to me. He is saying that I could possibly be hit with penalty points and since I am a Doc, they will make a significant deal out of it.

The Gardai came to me in the middle of work. To be honest, I was in a state of shock. I should have said that I need to talk to my lawyer. Instead, I told them I might have hit it but I said I looked at my car mirror and there was no damage ( They said exactly the same thing). I didn't even think about the dates.

The issue is if the Victim decides to press with charges, which she has every right to do.

To be honest, I think part of the problem is that I am in a small town, so the Judge will come down on me hard.

Fuzzy Clam wrote: »
    Ask the Guards for the date of the incident.
    Surely you can't be prosecuted for something when they don't even know the date it occurred in.

I have been down to the Garda station and I have called them so I could get some sort of written report about the incident because of this. However, the person on the desk had no clue which officers came to see me ( Neither did I).

Having said that, I don't want to irritate them because they are in contact with the victim. So, I won't bother them for the moment.

If it is a dumb mistake, then they will correct it.

The issue is if the Victim decides to press with charges, which she has every right to do.

What charges can they press? You clipped a mirror for gods sake.

Well, according to my Lawyer, leaving the scene.

I am thinking possibly Driving without due care and attention as well.

He is saying I could possibly lose my licence and etc even if it is a first time offence. He is also saying I could be sued for shock and etc.

Tbh, I agree that it sounds a bit insane since the Garda are saying the damage is minimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

He is saying I could possibly lose my licence and etc even if it is a first time offence. He is also saying I could be sued for shock and etc.

Tbh, I agree that it sounds a bit insane since the Garda are saying the damage is minimal.

Second opnion maybe ? He sounds like a bit of a Lionel Hutz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Shermanator

As a matter of interest, why didn't you stop ? You said your car had no damage, but you wouldn't have know that at the time unless you stopped to check.
    Were you overtaking on a solid white line or a broken line ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The question no-one seems to be asking here is whether this actually happened or not.

The Gardai arrived and spoke to you about an alleged collision you weren't even aware of, and didn't have the particulars of the incident correct. Your vehicle is undamaged.

How do you know the other driver didn't just pick your number plate and decide to stick a call in?

There is no way this is going any further than a caution, if even that. In a prosecution it would be your word against the other driver's, it would probably be thrown out.

Don't worry too much about it.

seamus wrote:
    The Gardai arrived and spoke to you about an alleged collision you weren't even aware of, and didn't have the particulars of the incident correct. Your vehicle is undamaged.

And what's even more strange is that they called to his work place.. That's ridiculous. When the Gardai checked his number plate they would have got the home address. You could lose a job over that.

It is a UK Number plate. That is why they couldn't get anything on it.

Initially, I thought they wanted to talk to me about a tax issue because they said don't worry, you are not in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

It is a UK Number plate. That is why they couldn't get anything on it.

Initially, I thought they wanted to talk to me about a tax issue.

So the car you overtook wasn't really as slow as you maintain, now you're driving a car not registered in the State. Is there anything else you are not telling us?

As a matter of interest, why didn't you stop ? You said your car had no damage, but you wouldn't have know that at the time unless you stopped to check.
    Were you overtaking on a solid white line or a broken line ?

Well, I was bit scared. The other car behind me was pissed and honking at me for the overtake.

I just looked at my wing mirror and it was in the same position as it was previously and the plastic around it was in position. I just thought it looked the same.

To be honest, I cannot remember if it was a solid or broken line.

So the car you overtook wasn't really as slow as you maintain, now you're driving a car not registered in the State. Is there anything else you are not telling us?

Well, I said it was significantly slower than the speed limit but like the other poster said, the speed limit isn't a target. So I am not using that as a defense. The overtake was definitely careless.

Also, the car has been here for less than a month so I don't need to get it registered yet and it is a company car.

Well, I was bit scared. The other car behind me was pissed and honking at me for the overtake.

I just looked at my wing mirror and it was in the same position as it was previously and the plastic around it was in position. I just thought it looked the same.
    So, did you or did you not realise that *something* had happened at the time?
    Initially you were claiming that you weren't aware of any collision, now you're saying that you inspected the wing mirror.
    To be honest, I cannot remember if it was a solid or broken line.
    Check the location on Google Maps.

Look, the whole thing is pretty suspect. If you're driving on UK plates, how did the Gardai know where your car was? OK, in a small town it can be obvious enough, but even so it seems weird.
    Though it would explain why they arrived at the workplace rather than to your home.

Does the vehicle have company branding on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

You're a doctor in a small town driving a car with UK plates - is that what you're really worried about? Explain that and never mind the other driver's mirror.

Any small town solicitor that claims that a judge will take way a GP's driving licence for something as trivial as this is either a complete moron or he's trying to get you to engage a barrister to inflate his fees. Definitely a Lionel Hutz.

seamus wrote: »
    So, did you or did you not realise that *something* had happened at the time?
    Initially you were claiming that you weren't aware of any collision, now you're saying that you inspected the wing mirror.

Well, I wouldn't say I inspected it. I just mean when I looked at it, it looked exactly the same as before. The Gardai said the same thing when they came to see me.

Tbh, I think part of the issue is that my music was on fairly loud and I was just panicking. The actual collision between the wing mirrors was small enough to only cause the plastic off the victim's signal light to pop off ( according to Gardai), so I don't imagine a large sound would have been made.

Check the location on Google Maps.
    Look, the whole thing is pretty suspect. If you're driving on UK plates, how did the Gardai know where your car was? OK, in a small town it can be obvious enough, but even so it seems weird.
    Though it would explain why they arrived at the workplace rather than to your home.

Does the vehicle have company branding on it?

I have no clue how they found me. My car wasn't parked anywhere near a main road. It was in the middle of a car park. I really don't know tbh.

It has no company branding.

I agree it is pretty strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Well, I said it was significantly slower than the speed limit but like the other poster said, the speed limit isn't a target. So I am not using that as a defense. The overtake was definitely careless.

Also, the car has been here for less than a month so I don't need to get it registered yet and it is a company car.

It sounds like you're not being very honest. In your op, you said you had apparently hit another cars wing mirror. There is no "apparently" about it, if (a) you checked your mirror for damage at the time and decided to put the foot down and speed off and (b) the boys in blue called to your work place about it and you remembered an overtaking incident, which most people would have forgotten the next day if it was uneventful.

Your story and assertions have changed and been added to along the way. First of all, the car was going very slow. Then it was just going under the speed limit. Then it was significantly under the speed limit. No matter what way you paint it, you were clearly driving without due care and were driving dangerously and you knowing left the scene of an accident. You wouldn't have checked your mirror otherwise and you couldn't have known if the other car was damaged, or not. You thought you would get away with it, but you were tracked down. Maybe nothing will come of this, but your the lack of regard for the other motorist shown by you at time of the incident is really poor form. The music was so loud, you might not have heard the other motorist beeping at you while you screamed out the words of Britney Spears song, hit me baby one more time, or whatever else was playing so loudly.

Next time, drive with care. Too often those manouvres end badly. The other driver could have been driving more slowly for many reasons, one being that kids were in the car. You just never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭megabantz

"Now, apparently, I clipped the other car's wing mirror causing minimal damage"

How is it possible to clip a car, not even realise and on top of all that it was caused by dangerous driving cause it sounds like you overtook a car when it was not safe to do so, as a result you put all 3 drivers including yourself in danger.

You need to have a long conversation with yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Am I right in saying that you clipped the wing mirror of the car you were overtaking? And this was because there was a car approaching from the other direction you needed to avoid?

Did the approaching car have to swerve off the road because of your maneuver?

If it was the overtaken car that you hit then you were both going the same direction, so how fast were you going to not only leave the scene of the collision, but also to leave the following car far behind?

So, look, stop dancing around things and admit straight up what you know yourself. You performed a dangerous overtake where there was oncoming traffic and inadvertently clipped the wing mirror of the vehicle you were overtaking. You know you did this, but your wing mirror looked OK on your side, the car you overtook started beeping and shouting, you panicked and put the foot down.

The car you clipped probably followed you to your destination and then called in the incident, aware that reporting a UK reg would yield nothing unless they followed you.

The other driver is very unlikely to want to go the whole way through with a prosecution. If I was the other driver, I would happy with an frank acknowledgement of the error and a bit of remorse. But if the Gardai came back to me and said, "The other driver doesn't really know what happened, says she doesn't really remember, didn't really think anything happened, she just panicked", then I would push for a prosecution, because that shows someone who is dangerously unaware of how to drive safely.

You've already written enough text in this thread to make it pretty clear that you actually know what happened but are trying not to admit it and feign ignorance. A judge would tear you apart in court. You wouldn't get a ban, rather a few points and a big fine. But you could keep it from going there at all.

If you let the actions of the driver behind panic you, then you really should not be driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Shermanator

So, look, stop dancing around things and admit straight up what you know yourself. You performed a dangerous overtake where there was oncoming traffic and inadvertently clipped the wing mirror of the vehicle you were overtaking. You know you did this, but your wing mirror looked OK on your side, the car you overtook started beeping and shouting, you panicked and put the foot down.

The car you clipped probably followed you to your destination and then called in the incident, aware that reporting a UK reg would yield nothing unless they followed you.

The other driver is very unlikely to want to go the whole way through with a prosecution. If I was the other driver, I would happy with an frank acknowledgement of the error and a bit of remorse. But if the Gardai came back to me and said, "The other driver doesn't really know what happened, says she doesn't really remember, didn't really think anything happened, she just panicked", then I would push for a prosecution, because that shows someone who is dangerously unaware of how to drive safely.

You've already written enough text in this thread to make it pretty clear that you actually know what happened but are trying not to admit it and feign ignorance. A judge would tear you apart in court. You wouldn't get a ban, rather a few points and a big fine. But you could keep it from going there at all.

Now I understand OP is a She

Actually I just wrote "she" because in my head "Dorian Gray" is a woman's name.

A quick google reveals that in fact it is not.

goz83 wrote: »
    It sounds like you're not being very honest. In your op, you said you had apparently hit another cars wing mirror. There is no "apparently" about it, if (a) you checked your mirror for damage at the time and decided to put the foot down and speed off and (b) the boys in blue called to your work place about it and you remembered an overtaking incident, which most people would have forgotten the next day if it was uneventful..

I had no clue what they were talking about intially. Partly because they had the wrong date.

Then they described the incident and where it happend. I have only driven along that road twice in the past few weeks, so I knew what they were talking about and I fessed up.

Also, no one would forget that incident since it was a near miss.
    goz83 wrote: »
    Your story and assertions have changed and been added to along the way. First of all, the car was going very slow. Then it was just going under the speed limit. Then it was significantly under the speed limit. No matter what way you paint it, you were clearly driving without due care and were driving dangerously and you knowing left the scene of an accident. You wouldn't have checked your mirror otherwise and you couldn't have known if the other car was damaged, or not. You thought you would get away with it, but you were tracked down. Maybe nothing will come of this, but your the lack of regard for the other motorist shown by you at time of the incident is really poor form. The music was so loud, you might not have heard the other motorist beeping at you while you screamed out the words of Britney Spears song, hit me baby one more time, or whatever else was playing so loudly.

Next time, drive with care. Too often those manouvres end badly. The other driver could have been driving more slowly for many reasons, one being that kids were in the car. You just never know.

Absolutely, I agree. It was poor form and I thought I would get away with it. I was in a rush and I wasn't thinking about anyone else.

Won't be a next time. Will never do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

These threads are funny. OP admits he/she did something a bit silly with regard to a minor accident and asks for advice, everyone tears him/her to shreds and says the book will be thrown at them! :)

3rdDegree wrote: »
    These threads are funny. OP admits he/she did something a bit silly with regard to a minor accident and asks for advice, everyone tears him/her to shreds and says the book will be thrown at them! :)

The OP may try to play it down, but they clipped another car and drove on. That is serious.

Also people get a bit cynical when the facts start to change as the story progresses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

no he didnt just clip a mirror.
    He put the foot down, probable breaking the limit seeing as the other car wasnt actually that slow.

He cant even say if its a solid line or not which I am taking as being a yes considering the OP's evasive attitude.

He struck an oncoming car which means he either didnt care or didnt see anothsr car on a straight road. Either one is bad.

He then drove on ignoring his own behaviour.

He did all this while driving a UK plate and being cynical I would suggest that had something to do with the behaviour either A, didnt want the car seized or B, has no valid insurance or c, expected not to be caught as a result of the car not being on the itish system

I personally hope the license is taken, we dont need drivers like this on our roads.

I don't disagree with what you are saying. I'm sure the OP doesn't disagree either. It certainly seemed to me that he/she knows what they did was wrong.

My point is that they just came in here looking for some advice, and all they got was lectures. That seems to be par for the course in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

and all they got was lectures.

How ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

esforum wrote: »
    no he didnt just clip a mirror.
    He put the foot down, probable breaking the limit seeing as the other car wasnt actually that slow.

He cant even say if its a solid line or not which I am taking as being a yes considering the OP's evasive attitude.

He struck an oncoming car which means he either didnt care or didnt see anothsr car on a straight road. Either one is bad.

He then drove on ignoring his own behaviour.

He did all this while driving a UK plate and being cynical I would suggest that had something to do with the behaviour either A, didnt want the car seized or B, has no valid insurance or c, expected not to be caught as a result of the car not being on the itish system

I personally hope the license is taken, we dont need drivers like this on our roads.

Let he who is without sin and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Let he who is without sin and all that.

seriously? Your opposed to having a justice system based on a contradictory statement in the bible? Well sure, I have sinned so that murderer and rapist down the road, its grand. the paedophile outside my childs school? Ah but sure I was caught speeding once so who am I to intervene.

Absolutely absurd and pointless comment

seriously? Your opposed to having a justice system based on a contradictory statement in the bible? Well sure, I have sinned so that murderer and rapist down the road, its grand. the paedophile outside my childs school? Ah but sure I was caught speeding once so who am I to intervene.

I'd guess he was referring to the people on this thread rather than the whole judicial system :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

You need to calm down, in your original post you jumped to a lot of conclusions which were not fact based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

A claim for shock for having your wing mirror clipped? Unlikely to succeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Op did you clip the car coming against you or the car you were overtaking? It's not clear from your posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Op, taking into account the advice your solicitor has given you, your main concern should be the inevitable correspondence you will recieve from the Medical Council if the worst case scenario comes to pass. "Doctor leaves scene of accident" is a career killer, not being able to drive will rule you out of any GP positions or any hospital positions which involve you being on call unless you live within walking distance of the hospital.

Op sort this out very quickly and quietly, if you get a bill for the mirror, pay it in full without argument but without admitting liability. These guys can advise you about the law, they cannot advise you about the implications for your career and though this is a very minor incident, the combo of dangerous driving and in particular leaving the scene will not make good reading when someone googles your name.