Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone had a domestic water meter installed yet??

• 12-02-2013 12:24am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858
    ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering with all this talk of "Irish Water" and the domestic water meters.....

Has anyone had one installed yet by any of the councils??

And also..when are we all due to be billed for our domestic water???

Thanks.:)

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Nick Riviera

You're welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 Where To
    ✭✭✭

Meters will be installed from middle of this year, bills from next year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 paddy147
    ✭✭✭✭

Where To wrote: »
    Meters will be installed from middle of this year, bills from next year.

Time for planning a rainwater harvesting system perhaps??:)

No doubt there will be a tax for that in years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 dvpower
    ✭✭✭

paddy147 wrote: »
    Good for you. The water charges are working to change behaviour already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 totsy88

You're welcome.

ha

✭✭✭✭

dvpower wrote: »

Ive actually been planning this for along time my good friend.Long before the bail out and water charges were being planned for here.

And visited quite a few places around Ireland and the UK that make tanks and sell them too.

Gardeners/garden enthusiasts tend to look at things like this.:)

✭✭✭

I have a rainwater catchment system since 2001, you don't have to be taxed to be resourceful.

✭✭✭✭

I have a rainwater catchment system since 2001, you don't have to be taxed to be resourceful.

Tank Size??

Underground or overground??

Do you use filtration and UV Sterilization??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 totsy88

I live near drogheda in meath and our meters were put in around 3 r 4 month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 My name is URL
    ✭✭✭✭

I blame the Arabs.. feckin building lakes just so they can put land on it... there's no call for it Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 admiralofthefleet
    ✭✭✭✭

you see them all over the uk. its time now to get one before the hardware's catch on and up the prices of them.

✭✭✭

Tank Size??

Underground or overground??

Do you use filtration and UV Sterilization??

Catchment system is for commercial usage, roof catchment, 3000 litre tank, more than happy to pay for domestic water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 Morag
    ✭✭✭

They can feck off if they or any of their contractors are setting a toe nail on my property to do work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 Sh1tbag OToole
    ✭✭✭

Water metering only reduces water usage by about 16%. It's a money racket really. The cost per litre will far exceed the cost of supplying it but just barely not enough to scare people off the grid

✭✭✭

Gardeners/garden enthusiasts tend to look at things like this.:)
    I've had a water butt to collect rain water for the garden for years. I can't understand people who water their grass with expensive tap water.
    Water charges will put an end to that wastefulness.

✭✭✭

I've had a water butt to collect rain water for the garden for years. I can't understand people who water their grass with expensive tap water.

I might leave the tap open for a few months on end just to get value out of the bit of free water we've left and as an "up yours" for bringing metering in.

✭✭✭

Water metering only reduces water usage by about 16%.
    That's a pretty big reduction.

✭✭✭✭

you see them all over the uk. its time now to get one before the hardware's catch on and up the prices of them.

I know.;)

I allready have the sterilization and filtration system bought.:)

✭✭✭

I might leave the tap open for a few months on end just to get value out of the bit of free water we've left and as an "up yours" for bringing metering in.
    There's no accounting for sh1tbag wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 stoneill
    ✭✭✭

Just built a gaff - so yeah, have a meter installed, and yeah, rain water harvesting system too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 Bad Santa
    ✭✭

I'm just gonna go around all the bookies and still water via a siphoning device I have made that channels water into a large holdall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 kerry4sam
    ✭✭✭✭

Morag wrote: »
    They can feck off if they or any of their contractors are setting a toe nail on my property to do work.

I thought the stop-cocks were generally located just outside the property boundaries?!

✭✭✭✭

Im not talking about just the garden though Mr Dv...

I have much bigger plans in place allready.;)

✭✭✭

That's a pretty big reduction.

There is no shortage, it will just cost them a bit of extra chlorine and flouride which they shouldn't be putting in anyway.

16% really isn't that much. You could save as much by giving people a more efficient shower head or toilet cistern. No need for meters

✭✭✭✭

There is no shortage, it will just cost them a bit of extra chlorine and flouride which they shouldn't be putting in anyway.

16% really isn't that much. You could save as much by giving people a more efficient shower head or toilet cistern. No need for meters

Done and done ages ago.:)

✭✭✭

Done and done ages ago.:)

Yer on the ball. I thought I was doing good with my piddly 200L blue drum :(

I think Dvpower only ever says what the Government thinks is good and is an avid supporter of all things government. Anyway I've had enough of this sh1te for 1 day

✭✭✭

I'm not sure that the state should be handing out shower heads and toilet cisterns. Incentivising people by charging for an expensive resource is a much better idea.
    I expect people will invest in more efficient toilet cisterns and shower heads themselves when it becomes worth their while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 Maudi
    ✭✭✭

i do already...my understanding of it is that these criminal **** that own "oirish water will essentially own the rain fall.and are the only 'licenced'collectors of it..so by harvesting with underground systems/butts etc.in the future you will be deemed as syphoning/stealing or at the very least un licenced collection of "their"product....

✭✭✭

I think Dvpower only ever says what the Government thinks is good and is an avid supporter of all things government.
    You on the other hand would spill thousands of gallons of water down the drain just to spite them.

✭✭✭✭

Maudi wrote: »
    i do already...my understanding of it is that these criminal **** that own "oirish water will essentially own the rain fall.and are the only 'licenced'collectors of it..so by harvesting with underground systems/butts etc.in the future you will be deemed as syphoning/stealing or at the very least un licenced collection of "their"product....

Ive decided to go with underground.Bit of work involved in getting the system into place..but Im thinking of long term future.;)

Have the new back garden plans done and ready to go.Missus is all set to begin building and planting the new back garden......that is once I get my ar5e in gear and get this underground system installed by the company.:pac::)

How do you find the harvesting system that you have??

✭✭✭✭

You on the other hand would spill thousands of gallons of water down the drain just to spite them.

Can you take the politics posts and also these types of posts somewhere else please Mr Dv.

✭✭✭

kerry4sam wrote: »

I thought the stop-cocks were generally located just outside the property boundaries?!
    they are..lift it up and pour a little concrete into it.

✭✭✭

Can you take the politics posts and also these types of posts somewhere else please Mr Dv.
    I'm happy with my posts - thanks for taking the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 Am Chile
    ✭✭✭

I know some people think by purchasing a rainwater harvesting system/tank or buying water butts they can lower water bills.

Already planned ahead - purchased and installed a rain barrell out the back garden, to offset the proposed water charges.

Sounds good in theory-but what for sake of argument to stop people cutting down on water bills if they outlaw water butts and water harvesting in the future, they could say for environmental reasons we will have to ban rainwater harvesting systems/water butts in order to prevent Irish Water losing revenue ? or what if they make it all out Illegal to collect rainwater at all ? some states in America have done so-they could possibly pursue a similar move here.
    Every
    time it rains here, Kris Holstrom knowingly breaks the law.
    Quote:
    Holstrom's
    violation is the fancifully painted 55-gallon buckets underneath the gutters of
    her farmhouse on a mesa 15 miles from the resort town of Telluride. The barrels
    catch rain and snowmelt, which Holstrom uses to irrigate the small vegetable
    garden she and her husband maintain.

But
    according to the state of Colorado, the rain that falls on Holstrom's property
    is not hers to keep. It should be allowed to fall to the ground and flow
    unimpeded into surrounding creeks and streams, the law states, to become the
    property of farmers, ranchers, developers and water agencies that have bought
    the rights to those waterways.
    http://articles.latimes.com/2009/mar/18/nation/na-contested-rainwater18
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82609178&postcount=4339

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 Hijpo
    ✭✭✭

Is it a behaviour changing exercise?

✭✭✭

Hijpo wrote: »
    Is it a behaviour changing exercise?
    In part, yes.

✭✭✭

In part, yes.

And the other parts?

✭✭✭

In part, yes.
    its revenue raising..not even to be spent on irish people but to raise bondholder money..anyone that disagrees is obviously in on the scam..

✭✭✭

And the other parts?
    Revenue raising I suppose.

✭✭✭

Maudi wrote: »
    its revenue raising..not even to be spent on irish people but to raise bondholder money..anyone that disagrees is obviously in on the scam..
    I knew it had to have something to do with the villains de jour - the dreaded bondholders. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 Bruthal
    ✭✭✭✭

Am Chile wrote: »
    I know some people think by purchasing a rainwater harvesting system/tank or buying water butts they can lower water bills.

Sounds good in theory-but what for sake of argument to stop people cutting down on water bills if they outlaw water butts and water harvesting in the future, they could say for environmental reasons we will have to ban rainwater harvesting systems/water butts in order to prevent Irish Water losing revenue ? or what if they make it all out Illegal to collect rainwater at all ? some states in America have done so-they could possibly pursue a similar move here.

Yes, a rain water harvesting licence wouldnt surprise me at all, like a tv licence.

✭✭✭

Am Chile wrote: »

Colorado average rainfall 7 - 17 in
    Ireland average rainfall 29 - 39 in

And we don't sell our water to half of Mexico so your comparison is invalid.

✭✭✭✭

If anyone would actually like to talk to me about rainwater harvesting then please do so,or post a general post here about your harvesting system and what you use it for.....(watering garden,washing car,fish tanks,washing machine,dishwasher,personal showering,toilet flushing).

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 Scruffles
    ✭✭✭

dad has one but we are in england and its done by choice as far as know.
    he seems to have developed a spidey sense for when the tap is turned on as he suddenly appears and unleashes a lecture on it being on a meter now-am not wasting water either, just flushing the toilet,he is the one who chooses to keep an outdated loo which doesnt have
    a economy flush setting.

so yes,prepare for any stingy dads to get stingier if ireland is heading into water meter territory.

✭✭✭

I knew it had to have something to do with the villains de jour - the dreaded bondholders. :eek:
    i just call it as i see it garcon.

✭✭✭

Revenue raising I suppose.
    I was wondering because if they achieved this 16% reduction in household usage you can be sure that percentage still being lost in the ground before it even gets to a house is still way more than 16%. Why put more burden on a house that has no control over where the majority of the water is being wasted?

If its not simply another way to take as much money out of a household as possible but a genuine effort at a more stable revenue generating exercise then what loophole riddled/easily evaded tax will they be axing to replace this more robust tax with?

✭✭✭

No not to mexico, some suits have decided to sell it to the citizens of the land on which it falls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 Bruthal
    ✭✭✭✭

You seem to be making more of a comparison than Am Chile did. All he said was our great leaders might follow a similar route.

All they want is more money. They couldn`t care less about the reasons Colarado outlaw rain collection, if for some reason they decided to implement some sort of tax on harvesting here. Our lads are selling it to their own people.

✭✭✭

No not to mexico, some suits have decided to sell it to the citizens of the land on which it falls.
    1.5 million acre feet of the Lake Mead alone's water is reserved for Mexico every year, never mind what is reserved for Arizona, Nevada and California. You're not comparing like with like here at all.

Thats 1850 gigalitres, and I don't even know what a gigalitre is.

✭✭✭

1.5 million acre feet of the Lake Mead alone's water is reserved for Mexico every year, never mind what is reserved for Arizona, Nevada and California. You're not comparing like with like here at all.
    Im not comparing anything, im simply saying that with all our rain none of it is being kept for the mexicans. Shame on our generous goverment.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.