Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When is a Steam Train not a Steam Train?

• 22-11-2011 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭

When it's a diesel...

After missing out over the last couple of years, I finally got some tickets for the RPSI Santa Express. They arrived this morning with a letter stating that they may substitute a diesel engine for the steam engine due to unforeseen circumstances. There is small print on the ticket saying no refunds or exchanges.

I'm pretty furious, as I'm after telling my son about the Steam train - how is he going to feel when a clockwork orange pulls up. What's worse is that I've paid €18 per ticket x 3 for the joy of steam and I may end up with the misery of diesel. If I wanted to go to Maynooth on a diesel train I could have taken him on a scheduled service for €3.40.

I know RPSI is a charity, but it's taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

What do you expect them to do if the steam engine fails?

I think that there'd be more upset people if the entire train were cancelled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

lxflyer wrote: »
    What do you expect them to do if the steam engine fails?

I think that there'd be more upset people if the entire train were cancelled.
    They should refund when people request a refund as the service paid for which is a steam train journey is not being provided! People who buy these tickets do have statutory rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

That should be a condition you agree to when you are buying the ticket. Not finding out until after you've paid for it, I assume can't be legal.

That said I've done it in the past. Nice little trip if expensive. I think we got mulled wine and a mince pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

BostonB wrote: »
    That should be a condition you agree to when you are buying the ticket. Not finding out until after you've paid for it, I assume can't be legal.

That said I've done it in the past. Nice little trip if expensive. I think we got mulled wine and a mince pie.

I'd no problem paying 18 notes for an actual steam train. Looking on their website only 2 of the services have been affected - all the other Santa Express trains seem to be steam. Surely if they are down a train they could reschedule rather than just running a diesel.

stimpson wrote: »
    ... they may substitute a diesel engine for the steam engine due to unforeseen circumstances.....

I didn't get the impression from your original post that is was a given. Is it now definite?

I assume rescheduling isn't that easy on a mainline track. Dunno did you ring and ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

stimpson wrote: »
    When it's a diesel...

After missing out over the last couple of years, I finally got some tickets for the RPSI Santa Express. They arrived this morning with a letter stating that they may substitute a diesel engine for the steam engine due to unforeseen circumstances. There is small print on the ticket saying no refunds or exchanges.

I'm pretty furious, as I'm after telling my son about the Steam train - how is he going to feel when a clockwork orange pulls up. What's worse is that I've paid €18 per ticket x 3 for the joy of steam and I may end up with the misery of diesel. If I wanted to go to Maynooth on a diesel train I could have taken him on a scheduled service for €3.40.

I know RPSI is a charity, but it's taking the piss.

I'm just a working member of the RPSI and am not a committee member and somebody who will be working on said trip and if I can, I'd like to make a few points here in a purely personal capacity.

While all trips are advertised with the proposed locomotive to haul said trip, the RPSI never guarantees that motive power on any trip will be any specific loco on the day. The webside and booking forms on trips state this to be the case and given that we are using a small fleet of what are rather old steam locos, it's impossible to 100% assure to the public that there will be a steam loco on the day.

In this case the proposed steam loco, 461, has only recently been passed fit to run on the mainline again after a long lay off and overhaul, which took a little longer than expected. Last week she was on driver training and test runs around the Belfast region, this weekend will see her in Steam in Whitehead, our engineering HQ. Between next Sunday and Saturday week, 461 needs to be moved from Whitehead to Belfast in between service trains and onto Dublin, where Irish Rail's two trained steam drivers need to familiarise themselves with the loco and run some tests before they can take it on a passenger run with confidence. All of this may take longer than a week to do which is where it gets awkward for us. With this in mind, it is better to advise people in advance that there may be a diesel locomotive in lieu rather than have a situation of a diesel loco heading the train.

Lastly, it is worth pointing out that on the day, there is a hell of a lot more going on onboard than a regular scheduled train. You are getting a family day out, there is live music on board, some of the train staff will dress up and cause havoc, there is a shop and a fun raffle, there is a full bar with draught beer and mulled wine, a snack cafe serving tea/coffee and hot mince pies and fresh sandwiches, you are traveling on vintage carriages plus your children get to meet the man himself, Santa Claus. Even the aura of expectation on the platform at Pearse as people take in Christmas music which we have playing in the station, it's almost magical at times.

While I appreciate fully that no steam is a big loss, please look on it as a overall day out and package as well and make the most of it before making a call on it. Yes, it may be hard to tell a nipper that there isn't a steam engine on today but chances are that it will be forgotten within 5 minutes and that you will all have a ball and you will see why it books out months in advance.

BostonB wrote: »
    I didn't get the impression from your original post that is was a given. Is it now definite?

No - it says they won't know for definite until nearer the departure date. The website has Steam/Diesel down for all of the Saturday services. I was sure it only had 2 marked this morning...
    I assume rescheduling isn't that easy on a mainline track. Dunno did you ring and ask them.

That makes sense I suppose. I'm just annoyed that the little fella and his friend are going to be disappointed - they are train mad (and I was looking forward to it myself)

While I appreciate fully that no steam is a big loss, please look on it as a overall day out and package as well and make the most of it before making a call on it. Yes, it may be hard to tell a nipper that there isn't a steam engine on today but chances are that it will be forgotten within 5 minutes and that you will all have a ball and you will see why it books out months in advance.

Thanks for the info. I appreciate there is a lot of work going into it and I apologise for having a rant. I'm sure it will be a great day.

Sorry for eh...letting off Steam ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I would gladly pay €18 per ticket if a substituite A class loco turned up. :p

Sounds like a lot of things have to happen, to make it happen on the day. Fair play to all involved. That said unless you are into trains, I don't think the entertainment is enough to make it worthwhile on it own.

That said kids of certain age are obsessed with trains, and they have a definite pecking order in what they prefer. Luas and steam is definitely high on the list, as are intercity trains. The regular diesels not so much. Maybe its the Thomas influence.

Incidentally, is there a list anywhere of cafes on trainlines? There one at ashtown which is great for keeping kids occupied while having a bite and a coffee.

Lastly, it is worth pointing out that on the day, there is a hell of a lot more going on onboard than a regular scheduled train. You are getting a family day out, there is live music on board, some of the train staff will dress up and cause havoc, there is a shop and a fun raffle, there is a full bar with draught beer and mulled wine, a snack cafe serving tea/coffee and hot mince pies and fresh sandwiches, you are traveling on vintage carriages plus your children get to meet the man himself, Santa Claus. Even the aura of expectation on the platform at Pearse as people take in Christmas music which we have playing in the station, it's almost magical at times.

Without putting a damper on what must be a great day out for the kids it sounds like it could get quite expensive as i dont expect the prices for anything to be reasonable apart from maybe the Draught Guinness. Ticket prices are fairly reasonable at under €20 each but add per person for mince pies and sambos, drinks, raffle tickets etc and it is not a cheap day out.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Without putting a damper on what must be a great day out for the kids it sounds like it could get quite expensive as i dont expect the prices for anything to be reasonable apart from maybe the Draught Guinness. Ticket prices are fairly reasonable at under €20 each but add per person for mince pies and sambos, drinks, raffle tickets etc and it is not a cheap day out.

Of course I trust that you have first hand knowledge of these "unreasonable" prices, haven't you?:rolleyes:

well no but a price list would be helpful for those thinking of making the trip. I trust you could arrange that?:rolleyes:

well no

As usual.
    but a price list would be helpful for those thinking of making the trip. I trust you could arrange that?:rolleyes:

If the price of buying sandwiches, mince pies and tea worry you that much then contact our head office for more information on RPSI trains.

In fairness there is a Santa pressie/drink/tea and mince pie/ glass of mulled wine included in the price. As long as any money is going to RPSI rather than CIE I'm not too worried.

Losty - if you hear anything about the loco being used could you post on the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Drimnagh Road

071s fans are getting excited, yes it could well be a 201, but even a glimmer of hope of 071 haulage is enough to get excited about these days. We are on standby at short notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭CIE

They should refund when people request a refund as the service paid for which is a steam train journey is not being provided! People who buy these tickets do have statutory rights.
    As another poster here confirmed, organisations like RPSI always reserve the right to use substitute power and do not guarantee any particular locomotive to be running, so your "statutory rights" rant fails. Steam engines are very labour-intensive and maintenance-intensive. How much money and/or volunteer time are you giving to the RPSI to insure that any of their steam engines would be available for any particular event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I would gladly pay €18 per ticket if a substituite A class loco turned up. :p

Amen, much better than a smelly puffing ugly old steamer...
    Double headed 141s ftw!

Word on the street is that 461 is scheduled to be moved South from Whitehead on Monday 5th of December.

There may be an empty carriage movement of Cravens from Dublin to Dundalk diesel hauled, the diesel comes back light engine, and 461 - having arrived at Dundalk from Whitehead - brings the Cravens back to Dublin. This will kill two birds with the one stone, simulating a test train for the crew to get familiar with her while getting the kettle to Dublin at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

I would hope it will more than "simulate" a test train! It's ok, AFAIK there's already a kettle on the train... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

Word on the street is that 461 is scheduled to be moved South from Whitehead on Monday 5th of December.

There may be an empty carriage movement of Cravens from Dublin to Dundalk diesel hauled, the diesel comes back light engine, and 461 - having arrived at Dundalk from Whitehead - brings the Cravens back to Dublin. This will kill two birds with the one stone, simulating a test train for the crew to get familiar with her while getting the kettle to Dublin at the same time.

Thanks for that, DR. My tickets for the Santas are for the 17th. I have been following her progress on various sites so hopefully we will be in luck!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Same old , same old from the Nordies..

Never interested in talking with those who didn't have a devotion to the GNR or UTA.

parsi wrote: »
    Same old , same old from the Nordies..

Never interested in talking with those who didn't have a devotion to the GNR or UTA.

Was anyone devoted to the UTA? I always got the impression it was one of the more hated of Irish railway operators.

I don't know if you're referring to the RPSI when you say Nordies, it's as much a Northern organisation as a Republic one. I've only a passing knowledge of the GNR myself, even less about the UTA.

The reason for the uncertainty surrounding whether or not the Santas will be steam hauled is that 461 has to be approved by an external body, the DRD (the Northern equivalent of the Railway Safety Committee here) have to approve the loco before it can be used on a mainline passenger train. Obviously the RPSI have little control over them doing this. The loco itself has been in working order since late summer, but the Society had been awaiting DRD and NIR approval for some time since then. There's also the matter of the loco having so far only been able to do a small amount of running in. There are no longer any facilities to do major repairs on steam locos in the Irish Republic so if the loco was to fail over a 100 miles away from Whitehead you imagine the problems that could arise.

Believe me, everything that can be done is being done, nobody likes disappointing a train full of children. Yes there isn't a lot of information out there, simply because it's not clear at the moment. But believe me, if there was a way around this it would have been done. Some may remember two years ago the Northern line was closed due to the Malahide viaduct collapse. At the time No.4 was trapped north of the border, and there was the risk that she would not be able to get down in time for December. It might have been easy just to look at hiring a diesel, but there was actually a standby plan to have a low-loader bring the engine to Dublin, despite the fact that such an operation would have been far more expensive than simply hiring an IÉ diesel. As it happened the viaduct was re-opened in time and there was no need, but it illustrates the point that all realistic efforts are made to ensure steam operation. If they do end up diesel hauled, I genuinely feel sorry for those who will be disappointed - hopefully they will still able to enjoy the craic to be had on board, and of course meeting a certain man in red. It's an unfortunate situation, but as I said people do try their best to ensure that trains are steam hauled, but sometimes these things can't be avoided.

Any comments I've made are purely in a personal capacity, and not an official statement.

Will the impending strike action north of the border affect the Santa trains?

I saw a response from poster "RPSI" to your post on IRN. (I'm not registered on there but read it regularly). If 461 is apparently not yet cleared for mainline running by NIR, how come the RPSI were able to take her out around Belfast on a test run a couple of weekends ago? Am I missing something somewhere?

Will the impending strike action north of the border affect the Santa trains?

AFAIK that strike is only scheduled for next Wednesday, so I don't imagine it will.
    I saw a response from poster "RPSI" to your post on IRN. (I'm not registered on there but read it regularly). If 461 is apparently not yet cleared for mainline running by NIR, how come the RPSI were able to take her out around Belfast on a test run a couple of weekends ago? Am I missing something somewhere?

That test run would have been part of the approval process, they are still awaiting to hear back as to whether the engine is passed. Similar to the way IÉ have new railcars on test runs before they are actually approved for operation.

I'm glad that we have heard off the RPSI, because I don't like "word on the streets" or speculation. But, without clarification then that's what happens. And I think the RPSI owe it to their customers to explain. "Unforseen circumstances" as was quoted on the tickets isn't really good enough.

And sometimes the only way to get a response is to post what is doing the rounds, that generally generates a response very quickly. Most rail enthusiasts will always share information, be it coming from somebody who works within or "reliable source" which in turn is filtered on by e-mail, word of mouth, posted on enthusiast sites etc.

These could be items such as unusual workings etc so photographers can go out - except for a few who think they are elitest by witholding information so they can put "exclusive" stuff on their websites - which is a little sad, as it's only a train.

I'm glad that we have heard off the RPSI, because I don't like "word on the streets" or speculation. But, without clarification then that's what happens. And I think the RPSI owe it to their customers to explain. "Unforseen circumstances" as was quoted on the tickets isn't really good enough.

And sometimes the only way to get a response is to post what is doing the rounds, that generally generates a response very quickly. Most rail enthusiasts will always share information, be it coming from somebody who works within or "reliable source" which in turn is filtered on by e-mail, word of mouth, posted on enthusiast sites etc.

These could be items such as unusual workings etc so photographers can go out - except for a few who think they are elitest by witholding information so they can put "exclusive" stuff on their websites - which is a little sad, as it's only a train.

All customers for RPSI trains who received tickets on the relevant trains got letters informing them of the situation; there isn't any need to inform anybody else, least of all those who are not traveling and as such will be unaffected by any change of travel arrangements. The one and only post on this forum talking about "word on the street" or insider information came from yourself, a post which was rightly rebutted by the RPSI on IRN.

In the case of the unusual working mentioned earlier (461's transfer) nothing is set in stone... nothing elitist about it, just by the nature of the situation it's difficult for an exact answer to be given. It may or may not go ahead depending on whether or not 461 is passed for operation, among other factors like running in.

As for being aware of unusual workings, these are often mentioned in the RPSI members' e-mail bulletin when confirmed (the above operation isn't confirmed though), so there is often a chance for people to go out and get their pics. But as I said, nothing is certain at the moment, better let passengers know there's a chance of diesel haulage with the tickets than say nothing and let them have a nasty surprise on the day.

I should probably point out that my comments are from a personal perspective, and not an official statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

should this be in Train and Rail do you think?

All customers for RPSI trains who received tickets on the relevant trains got letters informing them of the situation; there isn't any need to inform anybody else, least of all those who are not traveling and as such will be unaffected by any change of travel arrangements. The one and only post on this forum talking about "word on the street" or insider information came from yourself, a post which was rightly rebutted by the RPSI on IRN.

Without being (too) critical of the RPSI, surely at this late stage they should have made a definitive announcement about this weekend's Dublin Santa specials. I am aware of the small print on the application forms (a copy of mine is in front of me as I type this), but apart from No 4's breakdown in '09, which, fair play to the RPSI, was repaired by the following weekend, when was the last time they were diesel-hauled? Like it or not, people's perception of this day out is that it will be steam-hauled, and surely they have a right to know that this may not happen. It won't cost anything because the tickets are non-refundable.

(BTW, regardless of what engine pulls it on the 17th, I will be there with my family).

Without being (too) critical of the RPSI, surely at this late stage they should have made a definitive announcement about this weekend's Dublin Santa specials. I am aware of the small print on the application forms (a copy of mine is in front of me as I type this), but apart from No 4's breakdown in '09, which, fair play to the RPSI, was repaired by the following weekend, when was the last time they were diesel-hauled? Like it or not, people's perception of this day out is that it will be steam-hauled, and surely they have a right to know that this may not happen. It won't cost anything because the tickets are non-refundable.

(BTW, regardless of what engine pulls it on the 17th, I will be there with my family).

The honest answer is that so long as there is a chance that 461 may be passed out for traffic then the intention will be to run it for as many trains as possible, this weekend included. It's not ideal to not have the situation we are in now as people expect and want steam haulage but the RPSI are in a situation where we are faced with a chance of no steam and passengers have been made aware of possible diesel haulage well ahead of the day. Given the choice of saying "maybe it won't" or "definitely it won't", maybe is the less worse option.

The last time I remember that steam let us down was 2008 in Dublin for the Dundalk Works's double excursion. I can't remember the fault at the time but 4 wasn't out of traffic for long when it happened but I am open to correction on this.

The honest answer is that so long as there is a chance that 461 may be passed out for traffic then the intention will be to run it for as many trains as possible, this weekend included. It's not ideal to not have the situation we are in now as people expect and want steam haulage but the RPSI are in a situation where we are faced with a chance of no steam and passengers have been made aware of possible diesel haulage well ahead of the day. Given the choice of saying "maybe it won't" or "definitely it won't", maybe is the less worse option.

The last time I remember that steam let us down was 2008 in Dublin for the Dundalk Works's double excursion. I can't remember the fault at the time but 4 wasn't out of traffic for long when it happened but I am open to correction on this.

Here ends the debate: http://www.steamtrainsireland.com/events/

All Dublin trains are now marked "Diesel" :-(
    Very disappointing for a lot of people. At least give us the small consolation of an 071.

there isn't any need to inform anybody else, least of all those who are not traveling and as such will be unaffected by any change of travel arrangements.

On the contrary, many diesel enthusiasts who wouldn't be bothered getting out of bed to see a kettle are now interested.

There will also be those of us who will travel should an 071 be allocated and throw €20.00 each (ticket value) into the donations jar at the bar - which the RPSI prefer for those that turn up on the day - this taking place when the tickets are been checked, therefore generating extra revenue for the RPSI.

On the contrary, many diesel enthusiasts who wouldn't be bothered getting out of bed to see a kettle are now interested.

There will also be those of us who will travel should an 071 be allocated and throw €20.00 each (ticket value) into the donations jar at the bar - which the RPSI prefer for those that turn up on the day - this taking place when the tickets are been checked, therefore generating extra revenue for the RPSI.

Looks like my 2 year old won't be the most childish person there.

Just to reiterate; the RPSI Santa trains running out of both Dublin and Belfast/Portadown are ticket only and are fully sold out. There are no arrangements for paying on board on these trains nor is there room for any additional passengers who plan on showing up on the day.

Should you yearn for diesel that much, might I suggest you travel to Downpatrick for their Santa trains and a glimpse of A39 but you will find that they may charge you money for your ticket up there as well ;)

There is always a few no shows on the day, last year some trains were running round half empty as companies had to cancel bookings - a sign of the times unfortunately. Secondly the RPSI always undersell a train to make it more comfortable, so there is always space available.

A check-in with the RPSI man in charge on the platform before boarding the train to explain your intentions and the job is oxo. At the very least, when 8208 worked a few years ago, I was asked to wait until everybody had boarded and then get on.

I think this debate is exhausted. Let's see what traction turns up at the weekend, and here's to a successful three weekends ahead on the most important dates on the RPSI calender.

There is always a few no shows on the day, last year some trains were running round half empty as companies had to cancel bookings - a sign of the times unfortunately. Secondly the RPSI always undersell a train to make it more comfortable, so there is always space available.

Incorrect, Santa trains are not undersold; any working member will tell you that. While there may be the odd no show, unless they are flagged in advance (Which is rarely the case unless it's a large ground) empty seats are not evident until the train has left Pearse, by which time it is too late to claim said seats; either way you won't be allowed board on the off chance so you are clutching at straws here.

A check-in with the RPSI man in charge on the platform before boarding the train to explain your intentions and the job is oxo. At the very least, when 8208 worked a few years ago, I was asked to wait until everybody had boarded and then get on.

Said man wouldn't allow you to board unless you have a ticket; as a former chairman of the RPSI he knows better than to let your get on for freee stunt go unchecked ;)
    Let's see what traction turns up at the weekend, and here's to a successful three weekends ahead on the most important dates on the RPSI calender.

They are indeed the most important and will be full of happy families passengers, as always, who are on board for the crack unlike the penny pinchers that pass for diesel gricers.

Incorrect, Santa trains are not undersold; any working member will tell you that. While there may be the odd no show, unless they are flagged in advance (Which is rarely the case unless it's a large ground) empty seats are not evident until the train has left Pearse, by which time it is too late to claim said seats; either way you won't be allowed board on the off chance so you are clutching at straws here.

Said man wouldn't allow you to board unless you have a ticket; as a former chairman of the RPSI he knows better than to let your get on for freee stunt go unchecked ;)

They are indeed the most important and will be full of happy families passengers, as always, who are on board for the crack unlike the penny pinchers that pass for diesel gricers.
    where would one find a price list for the on board catering and snacks?

I don't believe it's online, but you'll find in the dining car on the train.

I think this debate is exhausted. Let's see what traction turns up at the weekend, and here's to a successful three weekends ahead on the most important dates on the RPSI calender.

I've worked these trains since 2006 and I can never remember any being "half empty". As for "pay on the day", even on the off chance there was the odd seat available (due to a no-show) I would not bank on it. Imagine the problems that could arise if you got a swarm of diesel gricers turn up at the gate. Bear in mind that even in the vestibules there would not be a lot of room spare if every one was full of standees, considering Santa and his posse have to move up and down the train, carrying gifts, etc.

Where are you getting the penny pinchers from? So, somebody comes up on the day, there are empty seats. You reject an offer of a fare? €18.00 x2 = €36.00, maybe a cuppa bought on board, or a pint or two. €50.00 extra revenue. The only difference is a physical ticket is not issued, hence the suggestion of the donations box.

Train genuinely full, fair enough. Maybe a one way from Maynooth is the way forward (at full fare of course), they should have a grasp of how many is on the train by there.

Where are you getting the penny pinchers from? So, somebody comes up on the day, there are empty seats. You reject an offer of a fare? €18.00 x2 = €36.00, maybe a cuppa bought on board, or a pint or two. €50.00 extra revenue.

It is non-sensical business decisions like these why my annual donation to charity goes to better causes these years.

If there were "no shows" on the day, then common sense is applied (I've seen happen on occasion). Conversely I've seen cases where people are turned away due to there being no seats. So it can't be guaranteed, so it would unwise to state that "pay on the days" can be let on, as until each individual train is boarded there is no way of knowing. As I said in an earlier post, if a large number of "pay on the days" showed up it could cause capacity problems.

Where are you getting the penny pinchers from? So, somebody comes up on the day, there are empty seats. You reject an offer of a fare? €18.00 x2 = €36.00, maybe a cuppa bought on board, or a pint or two. €50.00 extra revenue. The only difference is a physical ticket is not issued, hence the suggestion of the donations box.

Train genuinely full, fair enough. Maybe a one way from Maynooth is the way forward (at full fare of course), they should have a grasp of how many is on the train by there.

Believe me, I've seen diesel gricers in action and they'd almost bring home the loo roll of the trains they are so cheap. Besides, I recall a certain poster on IRN recently deciding he'd not support raffles etc on board over some gripe he had ;)

From RPSI's e mail bulletin, send out moments ago...

No.461 received its NIR approval to operate on Monday 28th November.

Currently some work is being carried out to a piston head.

But a comprehensive period of running-in will follow, so expect to see the locomotive on at least some of the Santa trains.

From RPSI's mailshot moments ago.

But a comprehensive period of running-in will follow, so expect to see the locomotive on at least some of the Santa trains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

From RPSI's e mail bulletin, send out moments ago...

That's good news, maybe as part of the running in process 461 could pop down to Carlow with a price list for Foggy :pac::D

Just in case he wants to buy an presumably overpriced mince pie and tea seeing as his free pass won't cover him for one :D

Only if prices are comparable to 1920's prices:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Just in case he wants to buy an presumably overpriced mince pie and tea seeing as his free pass won't cover him for one :D

Attack the post, not the poster please.

-Chris- wrote: »
    Attack the post, not the poster please.

I am merely pointing out that bearers of free passes don't get free travel or food on RPSI trains :)