Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish bars abroad ..is it Mc Pub

• 17-06-2011 1:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭

I was in an Irish pub in Hamburg recently and the barman assured me diageo package and container these pub interiors worldwide, Could this be our best export yet?

Gunther Murphys in Munich used to be a favourite of mine.. any others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I was in an Irish pub in Hamburg recently and the barman assured me diageo package and container these pub interiors worldwide, Could this be our best export yet?

Are they Irish ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I think you were, until you came back!

Slow day for the Barman I would assume!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Oscar Wilde's in Berlin? Scheisse Hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

bonerm wrote: »

hehe Es ist.
    so many good spots in Berlin though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

A new Irish Pub opened near me here in Keene, NH in April this year. Waxy O' Connors it's called. According to their adverts, was made in Monaghan and they shipped the chippies out from there to fix it up. It is part of a chain and is in a Best Western.

http://waxys.com/keene/contact.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I concur, although the bar woman was sound and nice to look at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Yeah, most of them nowadays are prefabricated. The saddest thing is that that ersatz notion of an Irish pub has caught on here too. You get genuine Irish pubs being refurbished into tourist traps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Why why why why why why why why why why why why why why why...

Do irish people go to irish bars when there abroad whats the perpose ? i mean your in a different country and you they more or less head home.

Lets flock to the nearest irish bar yay....

drives me mad avoid those place like the lauge feck cominers and pesants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

Nice rasher sandwiches though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Do irish people go to irish bars when there abroad whats the perpose ? i mean your in a different country and you they more or less head home.

Watch the GAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Most of the Irish bars in Prague are rowdy joints, like the sort you'd find in Gran Canaria.

The one decent one is JJ Murphy's on Tržiště. It has a nice traditional feel to it. I went there to watch a few Rugby Internationals. Stick to the local beer though, the stuff from back home is expensive by local standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Was in Singapore last week, asked the taxi driver to bring us to a normal local club out in the suburbs, he replied:

"So, an Irish bar, lets go there"

I was mystified as to how he knew, as I have gotten an English/American drawl from my time out there.

Also, sorry to derail the thread op, but has anyone noticed the amount of Irish bars abroad shooting up in the last 2 years? Maybe something to do with the rise of this prefab bar nonsense?

I also heard(no idea as to how true this is) that there is an Irish guy in Thailand making a killing on old guinness clocks, road signs that say Cork 2,000 Miles -> etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Why do Irish people go to Paddie's Day in NYC?

Irish Pubs abroad are nothing like pubs here. They're big, over the top spots where someone will almost certainly buy you a pint 'cause you're Irish. Great place for the aul banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

blackdog2 wrote: »
    Was in Singapore last week, asked the taxi driver to bring us to a normal local club out in the suburbs, he replied:

"So, an Irish bar, lets go there"

I get the impression that in some cities Irish bars/pubs are the only real funspots. The Irish part can't be extricated from the pub/bar bit for a lot of people, especially in cultures where they don't drink like Irish people do.
    It's basically the Irish prong of globalisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Oh no... sounds like you ended up in Finnegans. Luckily, there are a few thousand better bars in Hamburg. But yes, not sure if Diageo do this but there are companies specialised in this. Know a lad who set one up in Toulouse, same job as a McDonalds. Built, transported and clicked together with the €5 pints of Guinness to offer that authentic Paddy experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I could never understand this when my mates and I went on hols and they all wanted to do is go to the Irish restaurants and irish bars...

I mean..why the fúck would you go abroad to go to the same ripoff pubs /restaurants as back home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

the barman assured me diageo package and container these pub interiors worldwide,

going back 15 years ago when i lived abroad there use to be a company called "the Irish Pub Company" or something like that and this is exactly what they did all over mainland europe, you basically picked what you wanted from a catalogue and they installed it, kinda like the Ikea of irish pubs. they still exist http://www.irishpubcompany.com/, they're appointed by Guiness/Diageo to do the design work for pubs abroad

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    I mean..why the fúck would you go abroad to go to the same ripoff pubs /restaurants as back home?

coz their not adventurous and won’t eat all that foreign muck. i dont get it eather. I was in Germanay about 7 years ago and we ended up in this little small town after getting teh wrong train, so being hung over and starvin we decided grub was in order. so we head to a guesthaus and the lads all order what ever they could close to what tehy could at home. same in the pub. "What ya mean ya have no bud" so they go for the shorts had to practically force the german beer on them, course the olders ones with us went straight for the cheaper better tasting germen brew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

jester77 wrote: »
    Oh no... sounds like you ended up in Finnegans. Luckily, there are a few thousand better bars in Hamburg. But yes, not sure if Diageo do this but there are companies specialised in this. Know a lad who set one up in Toulouse, same job as a McDonalds. Built, transported and clicked together with the €5 pints of Guinness to offer that authentic Paddy experience!

Are they still doing that? I thought that fad came ( and went 10 years ago, thank God) at least in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Are they still doing that? I thought that fad came ( and went 10 years ago, thank God) at least in the US.

I don't know if they are still are. The lad I know that set up his pub did it about 7 or 8 years ago in France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The most authentic thing about Irish pubs abroad is the rip off nature of them. Any time I'm away and go to a load of pubs in a particular city, the irish one is always the most expensive one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Paparazzo wrote: »
    The most authentic thing about Irish pubs abroad is the rip off nature of them. Any time I'm away and go to a load of pubs in a particular city, the irish one is always the most expensive one

And as a guide the most full.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

You can't even find Irish traditional pubs in Ireland any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭el oh el

It's different if you actually live abroad, the local irish pub is often one of the few places where you can meet other people who are english native speakers

I travelled a lot a few years ago and would always head to an Irish bar, as said, you would meet English speakers who would give you the lay of the land, better then any tourist information office. More often then not, I would be looking for work and they were a great place to get hooked up for work. I never worked in a bar but got nearly all my desired work from "networking" amongst ex-pats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I spent three weeks in Thailand, the last week of which was up near the cambodian border.

We headed to Bangkok for the last two nights and the Irish bar was a welcome site. Probably the nicest Dublin bay prawns I have ever had!

Been to an Irish bar in Paris (near the nation metro station) and it was just a pub. No Irish people there at all and they served really crap Guinness. The only good thing about it was the toilets. one door with a woman on it, one with a man and in between them, the men's urinal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

There's one or two good ones around (was in a great one in Hanoi) but most of them are awful, overpriced, stereotypical ****holes that serve crap beer.

Can't understand people going to Germany or Belgium home to some of the worlds greatest beers and then getting their nickers in a twist because nowhere sells horrible pissy budweiser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Sadly it closed in 2007 :(

el oh el wrote: »
    It's different if you actually live abroad, the local irish pub is often one of the few places where you can meet other people who are english native speakers

I travelled a lot a few years ago and would always head to an Irish bar, as said, you would meet English speakers who would give you the lay of the land, better then any tourist information office. More often then not, I would be looking for work and they were a great place to get hooked up for work. I never worked in a bar but got nearly all my desired work from "networking" amongst ex-pats.

I lived abroad for 2 years ... and there was no irish bars and i got jobs meet people and wait for a minite learned how to comunicate in their lingo....

I agree in that case it can be usefull but when oyour on hoildays its like full of idiots sayin 2 b sure ahhh hardy hardy har. oh wait ise your waster sise tirty tree and a turd ? :rolleyes:

Yeah its great to get layed but ****ing hell there so anoying its like beign abroad and walkign into your local in some case's :rolleyes:

I lived abroad for 2 years ... and there was no irish bars and i got jobs meet people and wait for a minite learned how to comunicate in their lingo....

I agree in that case it can be usefull but when oyour on hoildays its like full of idiots sayin 2 b sure ahhh hardy hardy har. oh wait ise your waster sise tirty tree and a turd ? :rolleyes:

Yeah its great to get layed but ****ing hell there so anoying its like beign abroad and walkign into your local in some case's :rolleyes:

But you were living somewhere, I visited something like 22 countries in 3 years. Not exactly going to learn all the lingo's if I wanted to work somewhere for a month or two.

And 33 and a 1/3 has got me laid more then trice :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

drives me mad! Avoid those places like the plague. Feck commoners and peasants.

FYP. :pac:

dan1895 wrote: »
    Can't understand people going to Germany or Belgium home to some of the worlds greatest beers and then getting their nickers in a twist because nowhere sells horrible pissy budweiser.
    that's what i said, it took some persuasion but eventually then ralised they could get 4 local beers for the price of 3 of the piss they usually drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

This could be one.

PJ O'Brien's Sydney Australia

http://www.pjobriens.com.au/pj_main.htm

OR

Just go to Bondi, half of Ireland is there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

When i was working on Coruna there were 4-5 Irish bars . Only one was owned by a guy from Ireland (Matthews) but another bigger bar the Limerick bar were all McBars they pretty much looked the same inside. In saying that The authentic Irish bar wasnt far away from a McBar anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

In Nice there are two pubs called "Ma Nolan's". One in the old town and one by the port. The one in the old town is an Irish pub by virtue of the fact it's Irish owned and has Guinness on tap and serves an Irish pub menu. But the bar is otherwise no different to any local bar in it's layout, in fact it seems to attract a lot more locals than tourists and has a great vibe.

The pub at the port was done from scratch. He got Irish craftsmen in to do the place and it's fitted out to very high standards. Again, it's not an Oirish pub on the face of it, no shelves of books, no roadsigns on the walls etc. It's an Irish pub in the sense that it's like a decent local here.

http://www.ma-nolans.com/index.php

Generally I avoid Irish pubs like the plague, but I make an exception for this.

The reason that Irish pubs do so well is because they have a bit of life and a buzz to them. In other cities (apart from sea ports and holiday resorts) local pubs can be dead. A place to go to on the way home from work to have two beers. And, just as anywhere, you pay for the craic. Slainte!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I took my brother in law to the O'Neils in Earls Court a while back (handy place to watch a game before going to Stamford Bridge).

He asked one of the Aussie barmaids (who was busy pulling another pint of German lager) why it had "Enjoy the Craic" written across the walls. She wasn't too sure, but after passing a pint to a Norwegian wearing a Chelsea shirt replied that she thought it was something to do with it being an Irish bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No. It isn't an export in the sense that it doesnt make any money for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

The Dubliner
    Great music and great craic!.Even has a lovely lady in the corner at the blackjack table.Eh...........I think it was blackjack...its all a bit hazy.

O'Connells
    Ballads and grub.Spent a few nights/days there ,the lads (All tweed caps and waistcoats.)singing the ballads must have learned them off You tube,they did'nt know all the words but were great fun.When I asked one of them for a request I realised that they could'nt speak english,but had learned the songs off by heart.
    Nice cellar bar for watching matches.

Avoid The Liffy pub ,reminder me more of an english pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

One thing I can tell you is that Diageo does not package these Pubs anymore .

The more Diageo got involved in your Pub the more you paid for your Kegs

it used to be common practice up to around 2002 where Massive Guinness Promotions and indeed others such as Bud , Carlsberg , Heiniken and even Whiskey such a Jameson and Bushmills used to have massive Pormotions on a Weekly basis providing Bunting and loads or good Promotional Gifts

This is not the case anymore .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

I avoid them like the plague. Hate the places. Even moreso since I was in Lisbon last September. I went into an "Irish" pub to ask them if the All-Ireland would be on the next day as Cork were playing. The guy hadn't a clue what I was on about - even when I just called it "you know the big national football final". He handed me the Sky remote and told me to check for myself. Into the TV guide and guess what was on 101 - fecking BBC1. Some Irish pub that was. Dropped the remote and just waited for texts from home the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Generally speaking, I avoid Irish bars and prefer local pubs abroad but if the place serves beer, are not pumping out shit music and doesn't contain any nutcases, I may have a drink there.

That said, I certainly don't spend hours seeking out hovels or dead places based on some student notion of authenticity. I'm on me holiday and I just want a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

You can nail all the plastic shamrocks to the wall that you like, there are only two things that makes an Irish bar, that's Guinness on tap pulled by Irish barman, you'd be surprised by how many 'Irish' bars have neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Was in two very nice ones abroad. One in Mons in south of Belgium. It has the walls covered in old irish photos. you could go around for hours looking at them all. Even found some of the girlfriends homeplace.

Another one in sydney was nice. It had lots of genuine memorabilia including war of independence medals. It was a nice quiet place unlike some of the other bars we saw full of young irish pissed and fighting. :rolleyes:

By and large they are woeful tho. Stick a tricolour over the door and nothing else distinguishes them for any other bar.

The "Irish" bar in Agadir doesn't even sell any Irish beer. Still, the Irish flag and a few signs is enough to get German and Scandanavian tourists to go in there. :eek:

And 33 and a 1/3 has got me laid more then trice :pac:

You and me booth English women are so vulnerable to it and just the Irish accent sweet happy camper ;)

Ooo let's not forget Ahhh to be sure :)

I can't really be added arguing over difference in circumstances I'm to lazy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Spread wrote: »
    A new Irish Pub opened near me here in Keene, NH in April this year. Waxy O' Connors it's called. According to their adverts, was made in Monaghan and they shipped the chippies out from there to fix it up. It is part of a chain and is in a Best Western.

http://waxys.com/keene/contact.html

Yes, I've been in the London Waxies on manys the occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

I can't speak for everyone but for me, the only Irish pub in town is:

1. the best pub in town.
    2. one of the few pubs that show a lot of Premier League football.
    3. a great pub for live music at weekends.
    4. the only pub in town where they serve a half decent pint of Guinness.
    5. a pub that has a dart board.
    6. one of the few pubs where English is heard in every corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Usually avoid at all costs. Have found a few good ones abroad though. In some places the 'Irish pubs' are nothing of the sort bar the name and some cheap tat on the walls, if even that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

Here in Thailand i go to Irish Pubs maybe once a month .Mainly for some Western food ( i like Irish stew ) and a pint of Guinness ,that i still get a craving for .:D