Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

single and doublechops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 vincenzolorenzo
    ✭✭✭

red menace wrote: »
    We used to give the cousin a hand back ing the day
    36" Gyro puled by a leyland 262
    Our Nuffield 4/65 drawing in and a Ford 76 4wd on the pit
    2 12 foot trailers.
    10 acres would be a fair good day
    The first round of the field or opening a set was a fairly depressing sight :)

Jesus a 36" cut would definitely be a depressing sight alright. 10 acres a day would be very good going i'd say with such a small cut!
    jerdee wrote: »
    we used a 2130 jd single chop tarrup two 10 ft trailers ford 5000 with bucrake and unversal 445 drawing in moved on then mid 80 s to 7600 with double chop tarrup 12 ft and 13ft trailers and a62 in the pit finished last year with 8210 with same double chop 16ft trailers and L120c volvo in pit

bales now with no drama.........miss it 20 acres a day and loads of tea....

jerry

No doubt about it, bales are very handy and offer a lot of advantages, .... BUT making pit silage the old way and all the inevitable drama it brought was hugely enjoyable :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,584 MfMan
    ✭✭✭

Jesus a 36" cut would definitely be a depressing sight alright. 10 acres a day would be very good going i'd say with such a small cut!

No doubt about it, bales are very handy and offer a lot of advantages, .... BUT making pit silage the old way and all the inevitable drama it brought was hugely enjoyable :D:D:D

Aye, with single-wheel trailers turning over, tractors getting air-locked on the pit, pumps running out of oil for tipping, hoses breaking, PTO shafts splitting, gear boxes overheating, sometimes the push-off on the buckrake didn't work etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 jerdee
    ✭✭

don t forget the trailers coming off the tractors,switching drivers at the dinner hour,universal joints breaking belts off harvester after ten mins going in morning at six.remember when young my legs were not strong enough to press brakes so i could only do certain fields never mind being twelve.....icon10.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 whelan1
    ✭✭✭✭

jerdee wrote: »
    don t forget the trailers coming off the tractors,switching drivers at the dinner hour,universal joints breaking belts off harvester after ten mins going in morning at six.remember when young my legs were not strong enough to press brakes so i could only do certain fields never mind being twelve.....icon10.gif
    we had a lad in helping us and he decided to splatter one of the lads drawing in the silage with the molasses as it was coming out of the tanker.... there was molasses everywhere for a long time:cool: also the clutch went on our brand new tm 125 after 12 hours while picking up silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,795 stanflt
    ✭✭✭

whelan1 wrote: »
    the clutch went on our brand new tm 125 after 12 hours while picking up silage

hope north east farm mach had a good warranty service:D

✭✭✭✭

yup they got a severe bollocking... factory got in trouble too , nuts hadnt been tightened on the pressure plate:) then got it back and a pipe busted underneath the tractor - happy days... in all fairness we have the tractor now 11 years and its been very reliable since - touch wood

✭✭✭

yup they got a severe bollocking... factory got in trouble too , nuts hadnt been tightened on the pressure plate:) then got it back and a pipe busted underneath the tractor - happy days... in all fairness we have the tractor now 11 years and its been very reliable since - touch wood

weve a 125classic in the group new in 01-reliable work house-

who services them for you now

✭✭✭✭

stanflt wrote: »
    weve a 125classic in the group new in 01-reliable work house-

who services them for you now
    i'd tell but i'd have to kill ya first:D armstrong machinery , dh brings it up on lorry or they come down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 caseman
    ✭✭

keep going wrote: »
    8ft thinking of going with 14 to 16 ft trailers. they seem to be going right at the mo as contractors have moved up to 18 and 20 and farmers move to wagon.considering double chop but worried big trailers would pull it all over the place on hilly ground
    never used any bigger than 12x7 trailers in wet weather they would pull the double chop an hilly ground also bigger trailers were known to crack the axel of double chops very hard to get them right after that

✭✭✭

i'd tell but i'd have to kill ya first:D armstrong machinery , dh brings it up on lorry or they come down

good to see your supporting the cause-

✭✭✭✭

good to see your supporting the cause-
    its not very often... the case tractor thats a different story :(

✭✭✭

its not very often... the case tractor thats a different story :(

i had a case 4230 with loader for about 2years-only reason i bought it was my old db1212 blew up on christmas eve and it was the only tractor and loader combo i could get-the cousins wouldnt have one for a week- prob spent as much money servicing it as i bought it for. will never buy of someone who isnt local again- bought it off maher in dunshaughlin-he said there was six month warranty with it- the drive shaft from theengine broke after 6weeks and he wouldnt cover it

✭✭✭

silage today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 Muckit
    ✭✭✭✭

silage today

Nice setup ;) Contractor or your own gear?

Loader on the pit?

✭✭✭

Muckit wrote: »
    Nice setup ;) Contractor or your own gear?

Loader on the pit?

our own outfit- theres a pick of the loader on a farm chit chat tread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 sidewaysdrivin
    ✭✭

saw it in the farmers journal the last day somewhere up tuam side they are doing a world record for vintage single chop silage harvesters cutting together on the 31st of july at their vintage show, wouldnt mind going for a look anyways id say it will be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 flatout11
    ✭✭✭

Our vet says it's solely responsible for all the twisted stomach operations he has to do these days (he had done 40 himself this year up to a month ago when he did mine). Said twas never a problem before precision chop and vets up the west in areas where its all bales still haven't seen one. Am seriously considering moving away from precision chop as a result
    And he is basing this on....... sounds like a great answer though!!!!
    caused by multiple factors and to put it in context the modern cow/system is somewhat different than 20 years ago
    i have a friend that swears by single chop silage or bales over percision chop 'put a bale in front of the cows and they will leave that othe r sh#te behind' so i put a armful of straw in front of his (eating these great silage bales) one day .... guerss what they all started eating the straw, full of notions!!! better stop if i mention straw too much the TMR diet feeders will start!!!
    to the origional question, dont waste your time with either a single or double chop there just too slow!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 sidewaysdrivin
    ✭✭

i found out a bit more about the show doing the single chop harvesting, its this club : dunmorevintage.com
    they doing a world record for the most yolks cutting together at a vintage show they have, its in the irish vintage scene this month id say it should be worth a look, anyways im going :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 vincenzolorenzo
    ✭✭✭

Not going to be able to make it down to see it unfortunately. Take plenty of pictures and schtick them up for us!

✭✭✭

country crest

✭✭✭✭

i found out a bit more about the show doing the single chop harvesting, its this club : dunmorevintage.com
    they doing a world record for the most yolks cutting together at a vintage show they have, its in the irish vintage scene this month id say it should be worth a look, anyways im going :D

Anyone else going? Just getting ready to head off myself. Read in Journal that there will be upwards of 30 single chops working in the one field.

Bringing camera so will try stick up a few pics later;)

✭✭✭✭

trying to upload pics, but they're too big. Forgot to set camera to take lower grade pics :mad:

Tried using MSpaint to save them differently, but not making them small enough.

Anyone any ideas? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 aidanki
    ✭✭✭

try saving them as tifs or jpegs might bring them down in size or paste em into a word doc then save the word doc then extract them from word doc and save single this sometimes does the trick.

✭✭✭✭

OK after loads of messing around, the first ones! Hope ye have PDF viewer

✭✭✭✭

✭✭✭✭

✭✭✭✭

✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 moy83
    ✭✭✭

How many did they get cutting altogether

✭✭✭✭

http://dunmorevintage.com/

26. It was some sight

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.