Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possible Ryanair unoffical wild Cat strike :O

• 08-04-2011 5:36pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Found this today.
    "Ryanair announced a £41 p/m increase for Supervisors and a £20.83 p/m increase for Juniors, although it did pain them to do so.Even though they are projected to make after tax profits of over €300m this year alone!

But as per usual with Ryanair nothing is as it seems:

1.This pay increase only applies to staff on Ryanair contracts,WFI,Crewlink etc ARE NOT getting a pay increase
    2.This pay increase only covers staff who have been Ryanair employees for more then 1 year

Ryanairs Crew had this to say:

"After over 3 years of frozen pay and massive profits for Ryanair they announced a pay increase for about 20% of their Cabin Crew.They rest of us have been polity told to f**ck off!
    Crew are delighted to hear that a small few will benifit from a pay increase. But ask management why have the crew who are most vulerable been left out yet again?
    They pay increase only effects people who already have an annual salary and who have been in the company a long time.For the majority of crew who are contractors with WorkForce Int, Crewlink, Cavok etc (about 80% of current crew) they do not get a penny extra, they do not even have an annual wage! Last year during a year of unprecedented weather, strikes, volcano's 80% of cabin crew didnt earn a single penny and have been struggling on with life.Most Cabin Crew who are contractors must work sperate jobs just to pay rent and bills to survive basically.
    But now the company has futher thrown aggrevation and dissapointment at the feet of the majority of their Cabin Crew. Not only has it now widened the wage gap, it has also added to tension between Ryanair employees and contractors.
    The scenario can be compared with India where the rich live side by side with the poor!

Workforce Int, Crewlink Employees etc now have to work 65 hours to earn the same wages as Ryanair employees who havent worked a single day!
    Ryanairs Crew call on management to correct this inbalance which has only added further to the animosity between 'the haves'(Ryanair Crew) and the 'have nots'(WFI,Crewlink Crew).
    This huge wage gap can only lead to further hatred between co-workers and further undermine the concepts on 'good CRM'.

Should this wage gap continue.I call on all WorkForce Int,Crewlink Cabin Crew to cess and desit from all onboard operations in protest of the massive imbalance of wages within the company.

Imagine a normal days operation:
    You are the No4, its the a busy STN-DUB. You are on a WFI,Crewlink contract. You are getting paid only for the hours your in the air.
    The No1 is a Ryanair employee. Not only are they getting paid for being in the air they also get paid a basic of over £40 per day.
    While the No1 who can not leave the galley is sitting down drinking tea. You are doing Smokeless,Hot Food Pre Orders, Magazines, Menu Cards, Gash,Service etc.
    For the 4 sectors you that day doing all of that work, the Ryanair emloyee WILL EARN MORE FOR DOING 650% LESS WORK PER MONTH!

Is the fair?Should it be allowed to continue?No it shouldnt,as the old statement goes "All the same or none at all"..

SO THIS IS A FINAL WARNING FOR MANAGEMENT INCREASE OUR PAY ASWELL OR YOU WILL HAVE A WALK OUT!
    STN,MAD,DUB,PIK. WE PROMISE YOU,WE WILL BRING THESE BASES TO THEIR KNEES,WE WILL BRING THE COMPANY TO ITS KNEES,YOU THINK BRITISH AIRWAYS HAVE IT BAD,YOU DONT KNOW THE HALF OF IT.SACK US WILL YOU?WHOS GOING TO OPERATE YOUR FLIGHTS?SACK US WILL YOU,WE WILL JUST GO TO EASYJET,WIZZAIR,FLYBE,EMIRATES,BRITISH AIRWAYS!

MICHEAL O'LEARY,EDDIE WILSON,YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED,YOU WILL HAVE A FIRE LIGHT UNDER YOU THAT NOT EVEN YOUR BRUTALITY COULD EXTINGUSH..........THE INEQUALITY END "

Not sure what to make of it! If you go on strike unoffically you can be fired legaly, but would Ryanair Fire nearly 80% of their crew? It takes two months to train new crew so it would mean alot of disuption if it were to go ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Source?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Is this from pprune?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

this would pave the way for o leary's secret plan
    to have an airline run by monkeys, oh no wait

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

STN-London Stansted base
    DUB- Dublin base
    PIK-Glasgow base
    MAD- Madrid base
    Also cabin crew are ranked in Numbers! No.1 being the Senior/cabin Manager and 2, 3 and 4 decending in senority !

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Source?

Found it on CC.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

Fair play to them. This should drive that tight, penny-pinching, robber baron b@stard O'Leary up the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Locker10a wrote: »
    Found it on CC.com

Oh, I C. Well that asnwers that then!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    Fair play to them. This should drive that tight, penny-pinching, robber baron b@stard O'Leary up the wall.

Shinner are we:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

staff demand pay increases in worldwide recession. the mind boggles. STFU and be happy to still be working at the same pay you agreed to when you started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I call on all WorkForce Int,Crewlink Cabin Crew to cess and desit from all onboard operations in protest of the massive imbalance of wages within the company.

Jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I didn't know that Ryanair had any wild cats working for them.

zuroph wrote: »
    staff demand pay increases in worldwide recession. the mind boggles. STFU and be happy to still be working at the same pay you agreed to when you started.

Well considering ryanair are making millions profit the recession card cant be played here! Beside the argument is that the staff already on decent money are getting the payrise(which ryanair willing giveto the,they didnt demand it) while the ones on 900/1000 euro a month get nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The company has returned to profitability in 2010, why wouldn't staff seek to share the rewards?
    The Irish firm made pre-tax profits of €341m (£281m) for the year to 31 March, against a €180.5m loss a year earlier.

Ryanair's traffic increased 14% to 67 million passengers while fuel costs fell 29% to €894m thanks to lower oil prices.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2010/jun/01/ryanair-returns-to-profit

Worldwide recession but not everywhere is doing badly and many sectors are making record profits

I know companies are run for the shareholder but there is scope there for pay increases
    Shareholders to get €500m dividend after new airplane orders are scrapped

Industrial action is not the way to go but they should lobby for a pay increase

I didn't know that Ryanair had any wild cats working for them.

haha! a wild cat strike means an unoffical strike where no union or ballot is involved and no notice is given to the company staff just stop work or dont turn up someday!

Locker10a wrote: »
    Well considering ryanair are making millions profit the recession card cant be played here! Beside the argument is that the staff already on decent money are getting the payrise(which ryanair willing giveto the,they didnt demand it) while the ones on 900/1000 euro a month get nothing!

you mean the staff who gladly signed up to work for that wage? It doesnt matter what ryanair are making, the staff have a job in a time when many dont at a wage they accepted, when there is a fall off of jobs worldwide. Ryanair isnt a charity, they will get the work for the lowest they can, and the staff accepted the terms when they joined. If they dont like the money, they can quit and go elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

They are contractors. If they want more they should be asking it from their employers, not from Ryanair.

you mean the staff who gladly signed up to work for that wage? It doesnt matter what ryanair are making, the staff have a job in a time when many dont at a wage they accepted, when there is a fall off of jobs worldwide. Ryanair isnt a charity, they will get the work for the lowest they can, and the staff accepted the terms when they joined. If they dont like the money, they can quit and go elsewhere.

i know you make a good point! but its not fair to say Ahh sure just quit if it dont suite ya! I mean what sort of world would we live in if everyone just quite when something didnt work out they way they would of liked!
    I know its not a charity! Also as cabin crew you dont sign up for a set wage! It depends on your flights/hours worked! So you cant jude what you will earn before you sign up you will only be given an estimate! Its not fair i know but thats what this whole thing is about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

According to whoever wrote the passage in the OP there are plenty of jobs with Easyjet etc, so let them go. I doubt there are too many jobs available with other companies.

Why should they threaten Ryanair when they don't even work for them???

By that logic children would still be stick up chimneys or 10 year olds working 15 hour days in the mills: 'STFU and be happy to have a job when you could be in the workhouse'.

If workers are entitled to a pay rise, and if their company is profitable as Ryanair is, then there is no justification for not giving a pay rise.

Shinner are we:cool:

Marxist actually.

Jumpy wrote: »
    They are contractors. If they want more they should be asking it from their employers, not from Ryanair.

Contractors is just a legal illusion used to get around giving these staff the pay and benefit entitlements employees are entitled to under labour laws. Ever wonder why people working in Aldi/Lidl are 'store assistants'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Enough with the Ryanair bashing already. As a country we should be proud of them as a company.

??? Why so? Because they undercut decent working conditions in the airline sector and their profitability is based on squeezing its workers and screwing customers for every last cent? If we were to be proud of any company it should be some company that pays decent wages, provides good conditions, and is involved in making a new product or providing services to a high quality standard. O'Leary is a glorified gombeen man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭KingKenny77

He'll tell the pilots to go and eff themselves

??? Why so? Because they undercut decent working conditions in the airline sector and their profitability is based on squeezing its workers and screwing customers for every last cent? If we were to be proud of any company it should be some company that pays decent wages, provides good conditions, and is involved in making a new product or providing services to a high quality standard. O'Leary is a glorified gombeen man.
    Talking out of your hoop there son. Socialist agenda much?

Perhaps. You should try it. Refreshing alternative to the crap you're fed every day.

In what way is my post 'talking out of my hoop'? Every airline in Europe is being squeezed by Ryanair to adopt its corporate structure (look at Aer Lingus here) to the benefit of the boss and detriment of the worker. How is that something to be proud of?

How is that something to be proud of?
    The shareholders are very proud. I can assure you of that.

Because something is good for shareholders doesn't automatically make it good for the rest of us. I'm sure shareholders in oil companies are delighted by the rising fuel prices, not something too many others will reciprocate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

i assume you are taking the piss...or does o leary have a smithers equivelant?

Because something is good for shareholders doesn't automatically make it good for the rest of us. I'm sure shareholders in oil companies are delighted by the rising fuel prices, not something too many others will reciprocate.

With power comes great responsibility and even greater leverage.

No. An Irish airline that is one of the worlds leading. You might not agree with some of their methods but you can't agrue with their success.

By that logic children would still be stick up chimneys or 10 year olds working 15 hour days in the mills: 'STFU and be happy to have a job when you could be in the workhouse'.
    Bull, new companies set up and need a work force, so offer competitive terms to get the staff.
    If workers are entitled to a pay rise,

What makes them entitled? They signed up to work at a wage. Hell they're even with a contractor, this is not Ryanairs problem, the contractor sets the wage.

No. An Irish airline that is one of the worlds leading. You might not agree with some of their methods but you can't agrue with their success.

And there is the root of what led the economy to its current impasse: 'you might not agree with what (Seánie/Fingers/insert whoever else) is doing, but you can't argue with their success. Ryanair has made a profitable company of itself, but that doesn't necessarily mean that their profitability is a success and there's generally a trade-off to be made somewhere down the line in terms of something else be that in terms of pollution, workers rights (as it is in Ryanair) etc.

Sorry but that is a silly analogy. Proper regulation would have sorted out those cowboys. As far as I'm aware Mr O Leary isn't doing anything that could be construed as corrupt.

Bull, new companies set up and need a work force, so offer competitive terms to get the staff.

Have you been living in this country recently? Companies are not offering 'competitive terms' to get staff, they can pretty much offer the minimum wage and they'll get thousands of applications for a job, notwithstanding the rubbish written in the Indo. It was the same in those times, and in the Dublin lockout years- a surplus of labour drives down workers pay and conditions without unions to defend them.
    What makes them entitled? They signed up to work at a wage. Hell they're even with a contractor, this is not Ryanairs problem, the contractor sets the wage.

The contractor received the contract from Ryanair based on their tender offer, and that most likely pushed pay down as low as possible, which is why the work was contracted out in the first place. What Ryanair could do is offer to increase their fee to the contractor with the provise that the increase goes to closing the paygap between employees and contractors. But it won't. That is why the workers are right to be preparing a strike against Ryanair, and it seems pretty blatantly discriminatory in any case to be paid less for the same work as others.

Sorry but that is a silly analogy. Proper regulation would have sorted out those cowboys. As far as I'm aware Mr O Leary isn't doing anything that could be construed as corrupt.

My point had nothing to do with corruption- my point was about looking at what makes something successful from a profit perspective, and then examining the social effects of it. The banks were highly profitable up until 2008 (Anglo posted record profits in 2007), and in the whole rush to celebrate profitability the causes or surrounding effects of that profitability were by and large ignored. As it is with Ryanair- the example of the States shows that airline safety standards and pay & conditions went downhill as the sector was casualised (September 11th for instance- guns were easily brought on the plane because the cost of ground security was cut back on and the staff were untrained contract workers being paid the minimum wage), and it's this model that is being introduced into Europe by Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

From a customers point of view (Regular Dub - Man flyer) I have to say I'm glad we've Ryanair, I get return flights for as little as €35 each month (which is less than the single journey taxi fare to/from the airport) been prudent with my time of booking & flight times,They've more than proved that cheap airfares are possible and for that I say "fair play Mick"

However, I feel we the customer/passenger are treated like cattle and last weekend at Manchester was proof of that, without much notice (in my case - none!) flights have changed from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 , I get told this on arrival at Term 1 30 mins before the gate is supposedly closing (I say supposedly as anyone who regularly flies Ryanair will know that usually means opening) and if your familiar with Manchester Airport going from T1 to T2 is a fair hike!! (no pun intended)

Some (not all) of their desk & gate personell are nothing more than ignorant snotty jumped up bitches about as helpful as a paper spoon!

The new 'ash cloud recoup tax' is a joke!! the seasonal price fluctuations are also a joke,the administration fee,online booking fee all a joke (but like I said - even with fare hikes they still work out as cheap flights so ya grin n bare it)

I dont believe O'leary has a sincere bone in his body when it comes to customer care,I cant imagine he gives too much of a hoot about 'contractors' , at the end of the day he knows the cash will keep rolling in with the low fares, it's just a business man been a business man.

No matter what, I'll continue to use them each month unless a cheaper alternative becomes available, at the end of the day all i care about is how much/how little its costing me.

I just hope any proposed strike doesnt impact to heavily on we the paying customer as after all we're your bread n butter!! pi$$ing us off with lightening strikes wont endear us to your plight!

EarlERizer wrote: »
    From a customers point of view (Regular Dub - Man flyer) I have to say I'm glad we've Ryanair, I get return flights for as little as €35 each month (which is less than the single journey taxi fare to/from the airport) been prudent with my time of booking & flight times,They've more than proved that cheap airfares are possible and for that I say "fair play Mick"

However, I feel we the customer/passenger are treated like cattle and last weekend at Manchester was proof of that, without much notice (in my case - none!) flights have changed from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 , I get told this on arrival at Term 1 30 mins before the gate is supposedly closing (I say supposedly as anyone who regularly flies Ryanair will know that usually means opening) and if your familiar with Manchester Airport going from T1 to T2 is a fair hike!! (no pun intended)

Some (not all) of their desk & gate personell are nothing more than ignorant snotty jumped up bitches about as helpful as a paper spoon!

The new 'ash cloud recoup tax' is a joke!! the seasonal price fluctuations are also a joke,the administration fee,online booking fee all a joke (but like I said - even with fare hikes they still work out as cheap flights so ya grin n bare it)

I dont believe O'leary has a sincere bone in his body when it comes to customer care,I cant imagine he gives too much of a hoot about 'contractors' , at the end of the day he knows the cash will keep rolling in with the low fares, it's just a business man been a business man.

No matter what, I'll continue to use them each month unless a cheaper alternative becomes available, at the end of the day all i care about is how much/how little its costing me.

I just hope any proposed strike doesnt impact to heavily on we the paying customer as after all we're your bread n butter!! pi$$ing us off with lightening strikes wont endear us to your plight!

Surely if you sympathise with them you'd be willing to put up with a bit of inconvenience to support them, right? No-one advocates continuous strikes (including a marxist like myself) but it has to be recognised that inconveniences may have to be put up with for a good cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP, this is the source you speak of http://www.cabincrew.com/ccnetwork/forum_posts.asp?TID=43350&PID=458718 which is a one post wonder on another site that has no source than some "internal PM".

This could be a rumour/trying to start a rumour for all I know. Can you provide better sources?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

EarlERizer wrote: »

Surely if you sympathise with them you'd be willing to put up with a bit of inconvenience to support them, right? No-one advocates continuous strikes (including a marxist like myself) but it has to be recognised that inconveniences may have to be put up with for a good cause.

No,like every other strike it's always the ordinary man (woman) in the street who feels the brunt when the grievance is with the fat cats,i understand why it works this way but that doesnt i have to be accepting of it.I'd be more supportive of their plight the less inconvenience it caused to the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Contractors is just a legal illusion used to get around giving these staff the pay and benefit entitlements employees are entitled to under labour laws. Ever wonder why people working in Aldi/Lidl are 'store assistants'?

Err no. It means they are not working for Ryanair but a separate company. Ryanair has nothing to do with their payrates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭jay93

Ryanair could be alot worse believe me people just expect too much these days:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

If workers are entitled to a pay rise, and if their company is profitable as Ryanair is, then there is no justification for not giving a pay rise.

My golden bollox man, that's the principal reason why this country is in the trouble it's in.

Unit costs are the lifeblood of the industry.

FR are head and shoulders over everybody else in that regard

That's why they keep so many people in work.

You should have worked for Sabena:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Yes, because our other airline, Aer Lingus, is clearly run much better than Ryanair.....

Whatever about then being bastards, they run a very profitable company, which means tax money for this country and jobs for this country.