Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BOD out for 6 weeks

• 21-03-2010 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539
    ✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/8578772.stm

Brian O'Driscoll looks likely to miss Leinster's Heineken Cup quarter-final against Clermont Auvergne next month.

O'Driscoll sustained a knee injury in Ireland's Six Nations defeat by Scotland on Saturday and is expected to be ruled out for around six weeks.

Holders Leinster will face the French outfit on 9 April.

Gordon D'Arcy is also a doubt for the quarter-final after sustaining a groin injury in Scotland's 23-20 win which denied the Irish the Triple Crown.

O'Driscoll's medial ligament injury could also rule him out of the Heineken Cup semi-final against either Toulouse or Stade in early May - if Leinster manage to get past Clermont.

The Ireland captain is also likely to miss several Magners League games, including the clash with Munster on 2 April.

His injury is a further blow for Leinster coach Michael Cheika as Luke Fitzgerald is already out for the rest of the season after suffering a serious knee injury during Ireland's Autumn internationals.

If D'Arcy is also ruled out, Leinster will be almost certainly without their two frontline centres against Clermont.

Cheika, hoping to guide Leinster to back-to-back Heineken Cup triumphs, will leave the Irish outfit at the end of this season to take over at French giants Stade Francais.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 Risteard
    ✭✭✭

Hmmm. McFadden to start? Could be a good break for him, not that he'll continually start ahead of BOD but it could put him ahead of D'arcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 hefty_langer
    ✭✭✭

McFadden came off at HT on Thursday with an injury, not sure if it was serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 phog
    ✭✭✭✭

Wow, that's a big blow for Leinster if all three are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 P_1
    ✭✭✭✭

Scheisse, that is all:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 Superbus
    ✭✭✭

Deep breath, don't panic, everything's going to be just fine.

/denial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 sock puppet
    ✭✭✭

Crap. I hope McFadden's recovered by then. A partnership of him and Berne isn't ideal but they're both at least reasonably experienced players. Can't say the same for O'Malley.

edit: Oh I thought it said Darcy was already ruled out. No need to panic just yet,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 P_1
    ✭✭✭✭

What are Leinster's backline options now if the unthinkable happens and we're missing our top 3 centres (BOD, D'Arce, Fitz)?

I think we may see something along the lines of this:

9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Necewa
    12. Berne
    13. McFadden
    14. Horgan
    15. Kearney

A Sexton-Berne-McFadden axis excites me in attack but being perfectly honest gives me the willies in defence.

I know the Beeb is usually to be trusted but in this case are there any other sources for this story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 LeeroyJones
    ✭✭✭

Terrible news,

Options I suppose are;
    McFadden straight swap

D'Arcy 13 with Berne 12

D'Arcy 13 with Horgan 12(really hope this doesnt happen!)

I hope McFadden gets the nod, he has shown some promising potential and I think he's ready for a step up, perhaps Clermont in a HCup quarter is a step too far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 Heroditas
    ✭✭✭

pithater1 wrote: »
    I know the Beeb is usually to be trusted but in this case are there any other sources for this story?

Nothing on RTÉ, Leinster Rugby or Irish Rugby sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 Risteard
    ✭✭✭

RTE said last night that he left Croke Park on crutches.

✭✭✭

Heroditas wrote: »
    Nothing on RTÉ, Leinster Rugby or Irish Rugby sites.
    another source but gives no time-frame, just that he's going for a scan. Hopefully BBC are just suggesting the worst case scenario

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/kidney-odriscoll-set-for-scan-450824.html

Ireland captain Brian O'Driscoll is set for a scan on his right knee having twisted it in last night's defeat to Scotland at Croke Park, head coach Declan Kidney has said.

The Irish talisman was ordered to stay off his feet following the 23-20 loss which cost Ireland the Triple Crown.

Kidney however reiterated that Gordon D'Arcy was fully fit prior to the game, but is also set for a scan having picked up a groin strain during the first half.

"It's just the nature of it," Kidney said." Sometimes you pick up a different kind of bang or a knock."

Kidney also said he was deeply disappointed with the loss to Scotland in the last rugby international to be played at GAA headquarters, Andy Robinson's men having outclassed the Irish in a game that had been seen as theirs for the taking.

"It's so disappointing," he said. "The venue, the result, everything that was at stake… just things accumulated."

Earlier he admitted to errors having been made by the team, saying the number of turnovers made by the Irish had cost them dearly.

"What you do in training is all well and good," he said. "It's to be able to do it come match day."

"Everybody has said in this competition that anybody can beat anybody on any given day, and if you make that number (of turnovers) it's going to cost you."

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/kidney-odriscoll-set-for-scan-450824.html#ixzz0iotlpmZb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 danthefan
    ✭✭✭

Bye bye HEC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 thomond2006
    ✭✭✭✭

Shame about his injury, I was hoping to see him play for the first time at TP at the ML derby.

Time for Fergus McFadden to step up, he's been good in the ML this season.

Reddan
    Sexton
    Nacewa
    D'Arcy
    McFadden
    Horgan
    Kearney

POD
    Berne
    Dempsey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 2040
    ✭✭✭

McFadden to step up and have Europe screaming his name by the end of the season. Hope he does well. I'd be more worried about Kearney's form to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 funky penguin
    ✭✭✭

Ah ****.

But this could now be McFadden's chance.

Nacewa can play centre as well, and isn't too bad there. I just hope Horgan doesn't go anywhere near it, especially the form he's prducing on the wing.

I'm not too worried about what we can set up NOW (as stated above....Sexton, Berne McFadden sounds awesome.), but what concerns me is what might happen if we get an injury to......Sexton say. Or Nacewa.

Meh, if's and buts I suppose. Assuming McFadden is fit after last Thursday, this is his moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 Trojan
    ✭✭✭✭

Look on the bright side, at least Leo and Shane aren't injured - cheers Eddie Declan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 Aidric
    ✭✭✭✭

I fancied Clermont even before this news, fancy 'em even more now. 12/5 about a Munster/Clermont double will be getting a few of my quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 Judgement Day
    ✭✭✭✭

The curse of the Lions Tour strikes again - all these damn unimportant matches and their injury toll that interfere with the smooth running of the Magners League and Heineken Cup! Just kidding - and let's hope BOD is back ASAP. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 Judgement Day
    ✭✭✭✭

Trojan wrote: »
    Look on the bright side, at least Leo and Shane aren't injured - cheers Eddie Declan!

Very subtle! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 danthefan
    ✭✭✭

If we could go into the game with a D'Arcy/McFadden combo then I actually don't think we'll be hurt too badly. McFadden is no BOD but he's a very good player, plus an excellent place kicker if Sexton has an off day.

Berne/McFadden though, and it's the end of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 dubal
    ✭✭✭

any news on Luke? cant be too far away?

Dubal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 Micky Dolenz
    ✭✭✭✭

Terrible news, this well really affect Leinsters chances of a back to back HC wins. Hope it isn't as bad as expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 gonnaplayrugby
    ✭✭

noooooo...get well son drico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 pappyodaniel
    ✭✭✭

Very unfortunate for Leinster's cause. Fergus McFadden's chance to prove himself now, I'm sure he'll start against Munster. A high intensity game like this is priceless in giving him the experience for a HEC game. Plus it might be a blessing in disguise having 2 kickers on the pitch if things aren't going well for Jonny.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 CatFromHue
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

thats bad news

if all 3 are out id like to see nacewa given a run at outside centre and berne at inside with dempsey on the wing.

with connacht next week at home then away to munster before the clermont game, we really only have the connacht game to experiment.

hopefully mcfadden isnt too badly injured, well hopefully none of them are.

mcfadden and nacewa would also be woth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 irishbucsfan
    ✭✭✭✭

danthefan wrote: »
    If we could go into the game with a D'Arcy/McFadden combo then I actually don't think we'll be hurt too badly. McFadden is no BOD but he's a very good player, plus an excellent place kicker if Sexton has an off day.

Berne/McFadden though, and it's the end of the road.

I think we'd be all right with Berne/D'Arcy either. Berne has been improving all the time this year and I wouldn't be surprised if he was rated higher than McFadden as an option in the centres.

Berne/McFadden would be interesting, but is not good enough for the Heineken cup.

If McFadden is injured after thursday, along with D'Arcy and BOD, then pretty much we're screwed (Berne/Horgan? Berne/O'Malley?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 conno16
    ✭✭✭

2040 wrote: »
    McFadden to step up and have Europe screaming his name by the end of the season. Hope he does well. I'd be more worried about Kearney's form to be honest.

kearney is washed up - his career is gonna be very limited from here onwards
    someone needs to take him aside and show him how to throw a pass, although hes prob too busy doing commercials for some coaching
    mcfadden will most likely be lining out for leicester next season btw

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Podge_irl
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Berne has been improving all the time this year and I wouldn't be surprised if he was rated higher than McFadden as an option in the centres.

If he is than McFadden may as well leave Leinster. With BOD the one out, the only really sensible option is to stick McFadden at 13 in my view. You could move D'Arcy to 13 and have Berne at 12, but that would be a defensive nightmare.

It'll be a big occasion for McFadden's first HEC start, but he's never looked overawed at any other level he's played at and I would expect him to make the step up.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 wixfjord
    ✭✭✭

conno16 wrote: »
    someone needs to take him aside and show him how to throw a pass, although hes prob too busy doing commercials for some coaching

I see theres some crazies left over from yesterday. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 Co45
    ✭✭✭

If McFadden is injured after thursday, along with D'Arcy and BOD, then pretty much we're screwed (Berne/Horgan? Berne/O'Malley?)

9.Reddan
    10.Sexton
    11.Dempsey
    12.Berne
    13.Nacewa
    14.Horgan
    15.Kearney

I reckon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 2040
    ✭✭✭

On a rather cynical and distasteful note, my 16/1 bet for Clermont to win the HC is looking good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 EmacB
    ✭✭

same goes for kearney btw, maybe if he concentrated a little more on his fitness/form instead of doing commercials etc......

First ones from a month ago.http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055829861

You really have a problem with that one commercial:confused:! Honestly it probably only took about an afternoon to shoot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 irishbucsfan
    ✭✭✭✭

Co45 wrote: »
    9.Reddan
    10.Sexton
    11.Dempsey
    12.Berne
    13.Nacewa
    14.Horgan
    15.Kearney

I reckon...

I'd say Horgan's the more likely option in the center given his experience there. Don't like that thought though.

Also, if it gets to that stage we might be forced to put Conway on the bench! Bit of a baptism of fire there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 Aidric
    ✭✭✭✭

2040 wrote: »
    On a rather cynical and distasteful note, my 16/1 bet for Clermont to win the HC is looking good.
    There is nothing distasteful about that. No room for the heart on a betting slip.

✭✭✭

Don't worry.
    There should be another bandwagon you can jump onto soon enough.

✭✭✭

Heroditas wrote: »
    Don't worry.
    There should be another bandwagon you can jump onto soon enough.

care to elaborate there?
    kearney is hugely over-rated and is now being found out
    he'll struggle to hold down a squad place with Irl from the autumn games onwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 anonymous_joe
    ✭✭✭

care to elaborate there?
    kearney is hugely over-rated and is now being found out
    he'll struggle to hold down a squad place with Irl from the autumn games onwards

I'd actually agree that he's overrated. He's still one of the world's best though.

✭✭✭

drico has damaged medial ligs in his right knee
    thats the leinster retainment challenge fooked

stick kearney in the centre sure
    his continuous stream of mindless garryowens is bound to go down a treat

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 castie
    ✭✭✭

drico has damaged medial ligs in his right knee
    thats the leinster retainment challenge fooked

stick kearney in the centre sure
    his continuous stream of mindless garryowens is bound to go down a treat

source for BODs injury?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 Co45
    ✭✭✭

EmacB wrote: »
    First ones from a month ago.http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055829861

You really have a problem with that one commercial:confused:! Honestly it probably only took about an afternoon to shoot!

Irish players who have done more than one commercial :
    O'Gara (4)
    O'Connell (2)
    O'Driscoll (2)

yet Kearney is villified for one?

✭✭✭

Gerry Thornley reports early indications suggests O'Driscoll and D'arcy will both be available for the quarter final.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0322/1224266809867.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 [Jackass]
    ✭✭✭

I wouldn't go over the top with this. First of all, it's only been reported that Dricco may miss the Quater (although there's speculation that he could miss a potential semi as well as D'Arcy missing the Quarter), but let's be realistic here and not be over optomistic / pesemistic about Clermonts quality, depending on your aliegence.

Look at there recent form and you'll see that they're playing muck, and just because they beat the mighty Munster a season ago does not make them one of Europes all time heavy weights and they should have cheesy artwork of their team planted around there stadium.

A Leinster team of:

1. Healy
    2. Strauss
    3. Wright
    4. Cullen
    5. Hines
    6. McLoughlin
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Nacewa
    12. Berne / D'Arcy
    13. McFadden
    14. Horgan
    15. Kearney

16. Ross
    17. Fogarty
    18. Toner / O'Kelly
    19. O'Brien
    20. O'Donoghue
    21. Simon Keogh
    22. Dempsey

Is roughly 13 of the favourite 15 for the current European Champions playing at home in a stadium they've lost maybe 3 or 4 games at in 3 or 4 years, in all competitions, including only 2 Heineken Cup defeats, both in group stages, and both off days that we then went and beat / knocked out the other team in the away leg. Also where we've beaten teams at least once such as Munster, Wasps, Toulouse, Leicester etc. etc.

Let's not soil ourselves here lads, yes O'Driscoll may well be gone, but we've got arguably one of the best squads in European rugby with ridiculos depth and we're certainly not a one man team (as the Rocky / Leinster haters loved to pretend) so I wouldn't be amazingly concerned, it's a big loss, but we're still more than capable of beating Clermont.

Tolouse however, will be tough to beat away from home even if we have a fully fit squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 chupacabra
    ✭✭✭

I wonder how much more damage was done to Brians knee by keeping him out on the pitch against Scotland longer than he needed to be? We know how stubborn he can be with insisting to be kept on the field even after being hit by a train. Management should have stepped in and hauled him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 shanagarry
    ✭✭✭

chupacabra wrote: »
    I wonder how much more damage was done to Brians knee by keeping him out on the pitch against Scotland longer than he needed to be? We know how stubborn he can be with insisting to be kept on the field even after being hit by a train. Management should have stepped in and hauled him off.

Problem was there was nobody to replace him as Geordan had already gone off at that stage. Our choices were to bring Reddan or ROG on, so that would have meant something like having TOL on the wing, or Sexton in the centre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 conf101
    ✭✭✭

Sexton moved to center against Wales afair.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 wixfjord
    ✭✭✭

Seems its not as serious as first thought:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/rugby/eyojausncwoj/#ixzz0itv3vNN9

Dunno where BBC got that from :mad:

✭✭✭

care to elaborate there?

Yeah sure why not.

Your pathetic whinging regarding this one player is reminiscent of what we come to expect from people with only a passing interest in the game and who often spout nonsense and parrot what is written in the press by shoddy journalists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 toomevara
    ✭✭✭

conno16, Heroditas: take this no further.

✭✭✭

so i cant defend my point of view, this is great discussion forum..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 toomevara
    ✭✭✭

conno16, banned one week.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.