Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pregnant Wife

• 28-01-2010 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm looking for some advice on dealing with a pregnant wife.

Started Tuesday night, I came home from work in bad form. In the evening I said I’m in bad form. If I hadn’t said it, she’d have never known anything. So she says “after hearing that I’m now in bad form” and off she went to bed

I went to bed early too so I was back in great form Wed morning. Of course herself was still in bad form. So I rang her Wednesday during the day, and told her I’m going to the gym that I’ll be home shortly after 6. (I knew I shouldn’t have commited to a time there and then) but I didn’t leave work until later than I expected, went to the gym and was in the door at 7.

I got the “why didn’t you ring me when you knew you were going to be late”. I tried explaining that I wasnt intentionally late and I didnt bring my phone into the gym so I couldnt ring her.

She had made dinner of course and now it was ruined.

After our daughter went to bed, she then told me that there is no love, we’re not a family, we only live together etc etc… and since we are all trapped here we will just live separate lives.. you get the gist.

She went to bed and this morning she still has the face. Today is her doctors appointment, she says she is going on her own. We should be able to tell if the baby is boy/girl today. I said I was going too but to that she said she is cancelling the apt.

I understand that there are hormones involved, but my wife doesnt want anything got to do with me at the moment. I am looking for some advice on how to deal with her. (Pls don't say buy her a present as we havent got a pot to pee in at the moment.)

Tks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well it does seem just from your post like there a lot of daily grind in your lives, like you're just going through the motions at present.

When's the last time you went out for dinner, just the two of you? When's the last time you had some time together, on the couch, daughter in bed, just talking?

It also seems like you're quite focussed on you at present. You felt the need to tell her that you're in a bad mood. You know in reality that the gym situation was entirely your bad, yet you seem irritated that your wife would get annoyed by it.

It all seems rather selfish, like you're not entirely respecting her existence. If you left the office late, a text is simple (even if not ideal) - "sorry love, I'm running late, be home around 7". Instead you opted to say nothing and let her have dinner ready 45 minutes earlier than it needed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

We all get a bit cranky, from time to time, but picture this?

You're pregnant, trying to mind yourself, and a child. A child for the day is hard work. You cook dinner for your husband, at least he'll be home and he'll be some adult with whom you can interact, eh?

But, he doesn't bother coming home until it's well late. He couldn't even lift the phone to tell you he was running late. His Gym date was more important, eh?

Then he saunters in and expects everything to be OK?

Child is tired, it's time for bed.
    You're tired. The dinner you prepared is only fit for the bin.

And then he wonders what's the problem?

FFS, a pregnant woman has enough to contend with without adding to the problem by treating her like a doormat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭cherryred

i don't like the phrase "deal with" when refering to a pregnant woman!

Anyway you probably need to up the ante a bit.

Things that are free/quite cheap
    Saying nice things - i love you, you're brilliant, etc
    Cooking dinner
    Being punctual - this is SO important especially when she's cooking for you. Good lord man what were you thinking!
    A Chocolate bar - they cost 50c
    Flowers - you can get them in M&S for €5, put them in a vase yourself don't leave her to do it.

These are quite basic things really. She has an alien growing inside her, be nice!

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Im also gonna play out the scenario from her point of view. After all, I think thats what you want, to understand whats up.

Im pregnant. Im tired, Ive heartburn/feel sick.
    I have a small child to look after everyday. It wrecks my head.
    We have no money.
    I feel distant from my husband because we are so busy and caught up with providing for our family.
    I never have fun anymore.
    He gets to go out to work and speak to adults.
    He gets to go out to the gym and come home when it suits him.
    Im pregnant and fat, I wish I could go to the gym.
    Im stuck here on my own. Im lonely.
    Then he comes home and 'is in a bad mood' and Im supposed to just deal with that. What about me?
    He doesnt care, because he never shows it.

Im not saying all of the above is what she is thinking. But allow that some of it is, and you might begin to understand where she is at, and why you are now bearing the brunt of her moods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

I frankly don't think you did anything wrong, and tbh are being quite harshly treated. Being 45 minutes late doesn't constitute a crime (esp. if this is not a common occurence for you). Not allowing your partner to come to an ultrasound does.

Moomoo1 wrote: »
    Being 45 minutes late doesn't constitute a crime (esp. if this is not a common occurence for you).
    No, but if someone is depending on you being there on time, then common courtesy is that you call or at least text them to tell them that you won't be.
    And if he's not even showing his wife basic respect, there's something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

are you sure your the father, same thing happened to a friend of mine turned out he was not the father.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

NOt exactly helpful or sympathetic enry. lets think before posting please.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

seamus wrote: »
    No, but if someone is depending on you being there on time, then common courtesy is that you call or at least text them to tell them that you won't be.
    And if he's not even showing his wife basic respect, there's something wrong.

like with most things, it's a matter of degree. If you are late once by 45 minutes and don't call, ok, that's not nice, but it's not the end of the world. If he made a habit of it, or if he was late by hours, that's different...

plus, most dinners don't go cold in 45 minutes if you wrap them in foil or leave them in the oven.

EDIT and wibbs, most entries in this thread haven't been very sympathetic...

Man35 wrote: »

I'm looking for some advice on dealing with a pregnant wife.

Started Tuesday night, I came home from work in bad form. In the evening I said I’m in bad form. If I hadn’t said it, she’d have never known anything. So she says “after hearing that I’m now in bad form” and off she went to bed

I went to bed early too so I was back in great form Wed morning. Of course herself was still in bad form. So I rang her Wednesday during the day, and told her I’m going to the gym that I’ll be home shortly after 6. (I knew I shouldn’t have commited to a time there and then) but I didn’t leave work until later than I expected, went to the gym and was in the door at 7.

I got the “why didn’t you ring me when you knew you were going to be late”. I tried explaining that I wasnt intentionally late and I didnt bring my phone into the gym so I couldnt ring her.

She had made dinner of course and now it was ruined.

After our daughter went to bed, she then told me that there is no love, we’re not a family, we only live together etc etc… and since we are all trapped here we will just live separate lives.. you get the gist.

She went to bed and this morning she still has the face. Today is her doctors appointment, she says she is going on her own. We should be able to tell if the baby is boy/girl today. I said I was going too but to that she said she is cancelling the apt.

I understand that there are hormones involved, but my wife doesnt want anything got to do with me at the moment. I am looking for some advice on how to deal with her. (Pls don't say buy her a present as we havent got a pot to pee in at the moment.)

Tks

I agree with another person's post over your choice of words.....you want people to give you advice on how to 'deal' with her? She's not a bomb waiting to go off, she's not an irate customer on the phone, she's your wife and she's going through a bad patch. Be there for her instead of complaining about her 'having a face' (it's hard to believe you made vows with this person!)

You understand there are hormones involved, but you should also understand that your wife is human and is bound to go through rough patches every now and again. As does everyone, hormones or no hormones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭ChocolateRamses

Am I the only person who thinks this is a bit ott? From your wife and some of the posters here?

Let me rephrase events, you were having a crappy Tuesday and you told your wife this, "I'm having a bad day", doesn't seem terribly unreasonable, obviously many of the posters here seem to think being pregnant gives you license to act up, but surely even they think it's unreasonable to go into a huff for 2 days because someone tells you their having a bad day?

You were going to the gym on Wednesday, you said you'd be home at 6, you were delayed in work, it was 7 when you got home. Ok so maybe you coudl have called, but as you say you didn't have your phone in the gym. Honestly what's the big deal here? You were an hour late, I'm sure it's happened before, part of a stable relationship is that we accept our partners will be late once in a while, and even make the occasional mistake, (shocking I know).

No doubt I'll be villified for saying this, but unless there's a whole pattern of you constantly being late home, and just generally a bad husband, then I think your wife is either completely hormonal, or just acting up because she thinks she can get away with it.

I think it's quite clear that this isnt a one-off thing. He says they are living separate lives. You dont say that after one bad evening.

Sorry but I don't see where HE says that in his post. His wife said it, but I don't see any refernece to him saying it, or agreeing with it.

All I see is an account of one day where the OP was in a bad mood and his wife took that as an excuse to go into a sulk,and another day where he was an hour late and she threw a complete wobbler.

But then I'm probably just crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Barracudaincork

I cant believe the flack the OP is getting here, IMO ok the wife is pregnant and therefore hormonal but i think she is using this as an excuse to punish her husband cause she feels crap about herself.

Other posters have mentioned she is protecting the baby, worrying about the baby etc etc Do you think the OP doesnt care about the baby? Of course he does, but you dont see him treating his wife so coldly.

The whole wont let him come to the scan is cruel, mean and so childish its unreal. His wife behaviour is not just rude to the OP, but she felt it ok to cancel an important scan cause she was upset, doesnt sound like a women who cares for her baby there, more like a women who wants to upset her husband.

She said it, I stand corrected, but by the complacent attitude he had to not bothering to call her it sounds to me like she is probably right. He made the point of saying he'd be home at a certain time, he couldnt be arsed to let her know. Of course she's annoyed - her hormones are all over the place, she's stuck in the house with a child all day and her husband couldt take 10 seconds to say he'll be late.

There's obviously a lot more to this than just one time being late.

He was in the gym in the middle of a workout, I don't consider that complacent, I consider it unreasonable of his wife to throw a hissy fit because he was late one evening.

To me it sounds like the OP is trying to get on with things while his pregnant wife acts like some sort of spoiled child.

He wasnt in the middle of a work-out. He left work to go the gym LATE. He says this. He knew he wouldnt be home at the time he said but didnt bother to let her know before he got to the gym that he was going to be late.

Couldnt be arsed.

Of course, I mean he's only working everyday to support this woman, and naturally the fact that he didn't call her was down to him being an indifferent bastard, and not simply that maybe he forgot, or maybe he was pissed off at her for being moody and unreasonable, but apparently that's all superseded by his wifes pregnancy.

With some of the attitudes I'm seeing on here this morning I wouldn't blame the OP for actually being indifferent to his wife.

and another day where he was an hour late and she threw a complete wobbler.
    Have you ever actually cooked for anyone else?

Bizarrely it's actually the fact that he's normally reliable that makes this a bit worse. So she had dinner ready for 6.15 (say). So she doesn't serve it yet just to keep it fresh.
    So she waits. 15 minutes pass, she needs to keep slightly heating and stirring what's in the pots to stop them coagulating/overcooking. She rings, no answer. That's weird.
    So she waits another 15 minutes, still no sign. Dinner is effectively ruined at this stage, some parts are cold, some parts are dry and some parts are overcooked. Maybe she rings again, no answer. Now she's getting worried - maybe something happened to him on the way home.
    She serves her own anyway and leaves the rest in the pots to continue getting stale and dry.

The OP saunters in and makes lame excuses, acting like it's no big deal.

If he was habitually late, this wouldn't be a problem. She would have made dinner for 6.45 and no harm done. If he had called her from the office when he realised he was going to leave late, again, she could have had it ready later.

Now, taken in isolation, was her response OTT to this incident? Yes. But this clearly isn't a response to this specific incident. It's a response to whole series of similar incidents where the OP, for whatever reason, failed to show basic respect for the woman who's at home looking after his current child and carrying his next.

I can't stress enough how irritating it is to be dependent on someone to be somewhere at a specific time and have them wander in ridiculously late and act like they've done nothing wrong.

Imagine you were waiting on a family member to give you a lift to the airport at a particular time. You're standing waiting, time is getting on, you're getting more and more anxious, you ring, no answer. Then they arrive up 45 minutes late, all cheery and howya, and saying, "It's not my fault I got out of bed late, my alarm clock didn't go off and I couldn't call you because I left my phone at home".

As a specific incident, it's not ground for divorce, but it's a big enough straw to break any camel's back.

Now, taken in isolation, was her response OTT to this incident? Yes. But this clearly isn't a response to this specific incident. It's a response to whole series of similar incidents where the OP, for whatever reason, failed to show basic respect for the woman who's at home looking after his current child and carrying his next.

I have to take issue with this, how is everyone drawing the conclusion that this is obviously an ongoing thing? The OP hasn't said any of this, he's outlined 2 days of events, and people have just gone to town on him for it.

Also from what the OP is describing it seems to me the lack of respect is coming from the pregnant wife and not the OP.

And for the record, yes I have cooked dinner for people before.

It's a response to whole series of similar incidents where the OP, for whatever reason, failed to show basic respect for the woman who's at home looking after his current child and carrying his next.

Or its the response to a whole series of incidents where the wife for whatever reason, failed to show appreciation for the man whos at work all day earning money for the roof over her head and food in her belly etc

Marriage is a two way street, a lot of views here a very one sided like the wife could do no wrong. Please remember people while yes she is carrying his child, thousands of women do exactly this every day in the world, in worse conditions sometimes, she isnt exactly the only women and therefore has to be treated with kit gloves.

He came on here to look for suggestions to how to cope/deal with this change in his wifes behaviour, if he was such a bad husband, he wouldnt give a sh*t!

He's the one that waltzes in and says he is in a bad mood -

At least the man is honest, better that than a whole night of "whats wrong" "Nothing", "whats wrong" "nothing", all night until eventually the whats wrong is spat out.

He is entitled to feel how he feels and say it and doesnt have to censor stuff just because his wife is pregnant.

Becasse she said the love is gone, they are living separate lives. You dont just say that after one argument do you? .

No most people wont, but most people also wont permit the father to go to a scan.

Yeah poor him :rolleyes:

He's the one that waltzes in and says he is in a bad mood - like that's nice to hear when your partner comes in the door; he's the one that cant be bothered to call her. Yeah, poor OP.

We're obviously not going to agree so we'll agree to disagree then.

Let's assume for a second that you're correct, and the OP just forgot to call his wife because he wasn't arsed.

So what? People are jumping all over the OP here like he's some kind of sexual deviant, when all we know is that he was late for dinner one evening.

Part of any relationship has to involve a willingness to compromise, and often that will not be the sexy compromise of letting your partner go on top every once in a while, it's more usually something like, "ok so my pregnant wife is being a bit hormonal, but I'll let it slide because I know that she's hormonal and I'm trying to be an understanding husband", or maybe, "my husband is an hour late, and hasn't called, but I'm going to let it slide because I realise it isn't always easy to get one with a pregnant wife, and I'm trying to be an understanding wife".

F*&^ me but people on here seem to think his wife being pregnant relegates the OP to being her personal whipping boy.

I have to take issue with this, how is everyone drawing the conclusion that this is obviously an ongoing thing? The OP hasn't said any of this, he's outlined 2 days of events, and people have just gone to town on him for it.
    Two days, in a row, where he admits no fault of his own. If the OP thought he had done anything wrong, he wouldn't even be here asking for advice. Instead he wants people to go, "Yeah, your wife is clearly just a crazy hormonal bitch" and validate himself.

Even the most unreasonable hormonal woman doesn't turn around and make declarations such as, "we are not a family" after two bad days. This is why there's far more to it than two bad days.

If the OP comes back and tells us that it was all sunshine and rainbows and laughter last weekend, then we can change our opinions, but based on the OP, the most reasonable assumption to make is that these are not isolated incidents.
    Also from what the OP is describing it seems to me the lack of respect is coming from the pregnant wife and not the OP.
    Having dinner ready for him when he comes home, that bitch, how dare she.

Two days, in a row, where he admits no fault of his own. If the OP thought he had done anything wrong, he wouldn't even be here asking for advice. Instead he wants people to go, "Yeah, your wife is clearly just a crazy hormonal bitch" and validate himself.

Hang on a second, the first day he was having a bad day, and may the heavens strike the man down, but he told his wife he was having a bad day.

How does that constitute any wrongdoing at all on the part of the OP?

Sorry Seamus, but you're putting 1 and 1 together and coming up with 5.

And why is it that no-one will even entertain the notion that maybe the OP isn't an indifferent jerk? Maybe he's a genuine guy, who cares for his wife, and family, and just forgot to call her one evening when he was late. Most of the responses here, including your own, have cut the guy to ribbons on next to no evidence.

Of course he is, but it's hardly going to help if she's moody/miserable at the moment with no money, having tos tay in or whatever. He asked what he could do to improve things - well, maybe be a bit more senstive, say he's in a bad mood and why, not just retire to bed early and then not bother to ring the next day when he knows he's going to be late.

So basically you feel that any negative feeling on the wifes part is just cause for expecting the OP to drop whatever he's doing and prioritise her every whim. And you don't feel that kind of thinking would put an incredible amount of strain on a relationship? Or that it's incredibly juvenile?

I can tell 2010 is going to be the year we finally settle the battle of the sexes.

- not just retire to bed early .

If you re read the opening post you will see she went to bed first not the OP, he then followed!

Bit of cop on wouldnt go amiss.

From both parties!!!

Well, honestly, the coming home late form the gym and not calling is probably an indiciation of where you were at in this relationship. Sounds as if you have become complacent and the usual courtesy phone call jsut went out the window.

Yeah that's fair and balanced.
    Without being harsh, I think you both need to grow up a bit. Saying I'm in a bad mood and stomping off to bed or whatever is not getting either of you anywhere.

Except that it was his wife who stomped off to bed, and are you saying that the OP should not tell his wife if he's having a bad day?
    You need to sit down and have an honest talk to her. Is the relationship worth salvaging? Is she prepared to consider counselling.

Seriously? He comes home late one evening and you think the relationship might not be worth salvaging, and that they should consider counselling?

This thread is in danger of turning into a big row with bans abroad after, so this is my last post here, but honestly, I'm appalled at the automatic assertion that the OP obviously takes his wife for granted on foot of one, minor, oversight.

I read the post. The both went to bed early without resolving anything is my point. It doesnt matter who went first, he went early himself he said.

Why was he the one who had to resolve it, she was the one who went to bed to deliberately not resolve it. She is an adult too.

Look, im not trying to be one sided here, i do beleive that a bit of give and take and understanding for the other person wouldnt go a miss here from either of them, but i really dont think the wife is as blameless as you appear to make her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭straricco

Oryx wrote: »
    Im pregnant. Im tired, Ive heartburn/feel sick.
    I have a small child to look after everyday. It wrecks my head.
    We have no money.
    I feel distant from my husband because we are so busy and caught up with providing for our family.
    I never have fun anymore.
    He gets to go out to work and speak to adults.
    He gets to go out to the gym and come home when it suits him.
    Im pregnant and fat, I wish I could go to the gym.
    Im stuck here on my own. Im lonely.
    Then he comes home and 'is in a bad mood' and Im supposed to just deal with that. What about me?
    He doesnt care, because he never shows it.

I think this just about sums it up. And opinions can differ but from a womans point of view this is prob about right. And the reality is that alot of the time it is the women that are "stuck" at home looking after the children. Looking at 4 walls all day and minding a child, being pregnant and feeling tired and hormonal, not a great combination. Anyone that has never been pregnant could have no idea how drained you are, so to cook a dinner would in fact be a HUGE effort. I remember being on maternity leave and waiting impatiently on my partner to come home from work, just to have an adult conversation!

straricco wrote: »
    I think this just about sums it up. And opinions can differ but from a womans point of view this is prob about right. And the reality is that alot of the time it is the women that are "stuck" at home looking after the children. Looking at 4 walls all day and minding a child, being pregnant and feeling tired and hormonal, not a great combination. Anyone that has never been pregnant could have no idea how drained you are, so to cook a dinner would in fact be a HUGE effort. I remember being on maternity leave and waiting impatiently on my partner to come home from work, just to have an adult conversation!

An adult conversation implies that two adults need to take part in it, the wife hasnt been very adult like in her approach. Also this whole stuck at home thing and how hard it is, nobody made you or any other women fall pregnant and have to live like this. I know plenty of women who dont feel how you felt becuase they choose not to, they make there home life work for them and not against them and yes they all have time to cook, granted not 5 course gourmet meals but still meals. It really bewilders me when i hear stuff like this and i realise my Granny had 12 kids and still managed to do so much! Life is what you make it regardless of what position in life you are in.

Am I the only person who thinks this is a bit ott? From your wife and some of the posters here?

Let me rephrase events, you were having a crappy Tuesday and you told your wife this, "I'm having a bad day", doesn't seem terribly unreasonable, obviously many of the posters here seem to think being pregnant gives you license to act up, but surely even they think it's unreasonable to go into a huff for 2 days because someone tells you their having a bad day?

You were going to the gym on Wednesday, you said you'd be home at 6, you were delayed in work, it was 7 when you got home. Ok so maybe you coudl have called, but as you say you didn't have your phone in the gym. Honestly what's the big deal here? You were an hour late, I'm sure it's happened before, part of a stable relationship is that we accept our partners will be late once in a while, and even make the occasional mistake, (shocking I know).

No doubt I'll be villified for saying this, but unless there's a whole pattern of you constantly being late home, and just generally a bad husband, then I think your wife is either completely hormonal, or just acting up because she thinks she can get away with it.

I said exactly the same thing as you. My wife is due to give birth in a few days, and she NEVER acted like this in the last 9 months. And I am not exactly an angel, esp. in terms of being late for things.

I'm looking at what she said - the love is gone, they live separate lives. I am saying if she feels this way then the relationship is in danger - not just the fact he came home late FFS.

My last post as well. I'm only repeating myself, but I stand by all I said.

you are just digging yourself further and further in... there is nothing to suggest that he treated her badly in any way. He was late for dinner one day, she flipped out. 99.9% of people in that situation wouldn''t have done this. The point of a relationship (as opposed to a relationship between a master and a slave) is that you do let people off with things, that you don't pick up on every small indisgrettion and complain about it until Kingdom come.

We only know the facts - that she thinks they live separate lives. Does no-one else think that is a serious cry for help? That the relationship, at least from her point of view is in trouble?

Yes i think that is a cry for help. As you pointed out we dont have the full story, we have two incidents and then the whole think that the wife thinks they lead seperate lives. She could of said this for two different reasons, one being its true and the two incidents mentioned above are two of many or the other reason being she is blowing it all out of proportion because she feels she can due to hormones etc Either way she needs help, either more compassion and understanding from her husband or help dealing with her hormones and being in an adult relationship.

I guess what im trying to say is that her comment could be genuine but also could be a bitchy kind of comment. I dont think either you or me has enough info to find either party not guilty and until the OP posts more info, we will just have to wait and see :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭PopUp

Jeez, why is it some people have to turn everything into Men vs. Women?

Some posters seem to hear 'male OP has problem with female partner' and race to defend the man's behaviour above all and demonise the woman.

Not everything is about men and women. Sometimes people just have problems.

OP this is about way more than a spoiled dinner. TBH I think if you didn't have children your wife would have left you by now. If you consider the marriage worth saving, get yourselves to counselling ASAP. Otherwise you will just continue to antagonise each other. You are both behaving pretty childishly at the moment.

Digging myself?

The woman didnt just say 'you are late, I'm annoyed'. The comments she made were those of a woman at the end of her tether and unhappy in her relationship.

We dont know if she picks up on every small thing he does wrong - the OP doesnt say she does.

We only know the facts - that she thinks they live separate lives. Does no-one else think that is a serious cry for help? That the relationship, at least from her point of view is in trouble?

I know I said I wouldn't come back, but your comment Moomoo makes it sound like I think he's a bad guy for being late once. It isn't that at all. I'm looking at the wider picture that caused his wife to say how she feels.

it could be a cry for help, but to me it sounds like bullying. Bullies in relationships often work like this, by making tiny indisgressions against them seem like monumental crimes. It's a form of control, and a way to justify much more serious 'responses' from the bully back to the bullies. Such as threatening to cancel doctor's appointments.

you miss the point as well: no matter how badly she thinks the relationship is going, you cannot just turn round and say 'you are not going to the ultrasound'.

It really bewilders me when i hear stuff like this and i realise my Granny had 12 kids and still managed to do so much!

Your granny?!!! I'm bewildered now myself!!

Moomoo1 wrote: »
    it could be a cry for help, but to me it sounds like bullying. Bullies in relationships often work like this, by making tiny indisgressions against them seem like monumental crimes. It's a form of control, and a way to justify much more serious 'responses' from the bully back to the bullies. Such as threatening to cancel doctor's appointments.

Why make it into something it probably isn't? You can't go calling someone you don't know a bully! Maybe the woman is lonely, and wishes day in day out she could spend more time with her husband.

And people can't go calling the OP an irresponsible husband who doesn't care about his wife. Same sort of thing.

Your granny?!!! I'm bewildered now myself!!

Why is me saying my Granny had 12 children and she still managed to cook food for them all etc etc so bewildering? I would of said my Mum but she only had three of us, i guess after me you dont really want to have more ha ha :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

My earlier post was to attempt to demonstrate to the op what could be going on in his wifes head, so that he might understand and then deal with it better. Making this about her being right, and him being wrong or vice versa, or blaming pregnancy hormones, is missing the point. There is a marriage here which is clearly going wrong for some reason. Instead of deciding who gets to take the high moral ground, the op needs to tackle this problem without blame. Its communication gone wrong, rather than me against her. Words like bully do not help. They make it worse by justifying the anger that may be felt by him here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Ok, I'll go with the seperate lives thing. Well they are. He goes to work for 8-10 hours a day she stays at home and does the same routine.
    He's out there interacting with adults. She's pregnant and looking after a kid. She's bound to feel frustrated.
    However, when OP comes home and says that he's in a bad mood (just taking this from my experience and what I would expect) I'm sure he expected the wife to say something like "Really dear? What happened to make you be in a bad mood?" Not "Well now I'm in a bad mood too" and she goes off to bed.
    As to being an hour late. I do think the OP should have rang before he left work to let her know that he was going to be late but he didn't. It was thoughtless but it isn't the crime of the century and it shouldn't have resulted in the wife cancelling the scan that was going to reveal the sex of THEIR child. Although it could be put down to a hormonal irrational response.

Now going back to the OP. Things you could do.
    1. Give your wife a big hug. Apologise for being late and tell your that in future you will call her if you are going to be late again.
    2. Tell her that you really appreciate her for staying home and looking after your child.
    3. Tomorrow night cook her a really nice dinner and eat it at the dining table (no tv! :)) just the 2 of you (maybe with flowers and candles).
    4. Ask her that when you are feeling down/ in a bad mood to understand where you're coming from as it would be nice to share a problem with her and it wouldn't feel like such a problem anymore.

The love isn't gone. You're not living seperate lives. You've both just been caught up in what is day to day living where you wake up, do your routine and go to bed. Sleep and repeat.

Every now and then this routine needs to shaken up to keep things from going stale.

Hope it all works out OP. Take care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭Darthhoob

speaking as a heavily pregnant woman...i would be slightly pissed off if my OH was to come home later than he told me when i was getting dinner ready....but tbh...it'll be him that would have to eat it cold ;) i would not keep it warm or warm it up for him...he is late..he can sort it.

men are allowed to be in bad moods when women are pregnant, despite the fact they are not hormonal. everyone has a bad day. i do find it odd that BOTH of you just declared you're pissed off..and avoided eachother :confused: that is not really a relationship...why not talk about WHY? it's good to vent and you both have your reasons....you had a bad day at work..she had a bad day being pregnant and stuffs.

i have to say the thing that 'annoyed' me most about your post is the emotional blackmail SHE is using....not letting you see the scan? just because she is on one?? that's NOT purely hormones.

pregnant women do have alot to deal with, i wont even start listing things LOL
    BUT men have to deal with it too....they dont carry the baby sure, but they have to adjust too. i feel she is out of line with this one...but you BOTH need to work on things if you want to stay together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Honestly think the wife is way out of line here, it's his child too and how she has the nerve to stop him going to a scan is incredible considering he's out there working to make sure the family have food and home etc. A lot of posters seem to think the OP has a charmed life or something but honestly, imagine going out, working hard to provide for your family, only for that family to treat you like that when you came home?

Sure he was late, but she's the one ending the relationship if she reacts in such an ott manner to it.

Honestly think the wife is way out of line here, it's his child too and how she has the nerve to stop him going to a scan is incredible considering he's out there working to make sure the family have food and home etc. A lot of posters seem to think the OP has a charmed life or something but honestly, imagine going out, working hard to provide for your family, only for that family to treat you like that when you came home?

Sure he was late, but she's the one ending the relationship if she reacts in such an ott manner to it.

It's churlish for the wife to stop him from going to the scan, but the poster must have loved this woman enough to marry her so I would assume that this is the first time something like this has happened. Which would point to a sudden serious problem in the relationship, and it needs to be dealt with in a mature manner rather than whining that his wife 'has a face on her'. He doesn't sound like a married man to me, he sounds like a teenager who hasn't yet realised that other people aren't perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

The wife is being a right drama queen.

Whats all this 'dinner ruined' and 'only fit for the bin' nonsense. If Im cooking for myself and my fella I cook for us both and leave his on a plate, when he comes in he heats it up in the MICROWAVE. I'm not there standing with my stopwatch like a 1950's housewife.

Thats what microwaves were invented for. So there is no more 'dinner ruined' melodrama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Man35 wrote: »
    I said I was going too but to that she said she is cancelling the apt.

Wow OP, thats cold, I'd say contact her GP and inform them of this behavior, I know my missus never acted as coldly during her pregnancy. Maybe she's depressed?

Why is me saying my Granny had 12 children and she still managed to cook food for them all etc etc so bewildering? I would of said my Mum but she only had three of us, i guess after me you dont really want to have more ha ha :)

Was just u were making a good arguement, then you mentioned your granny, and I was thinkin geez that must be back in the 40's/50's!! I don't doubt she was a great woman but its kinda a long time ago & times are a changing ha ha!!:p