Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connemara a rip off???

• 21-04-2009 11:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 466
    ✭✭

Ok I don't mind paying 70euro but does anyone know if any of this
    money goes toward charity?

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 Odysseus
    ✭✭✭

I could be wrong but I don't think, so as far as I know its not a charity event. However, is that not a standard entry fee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 RoyMcC
    ✭✭✭

The cost of Connmara is debated quite often. It is a premium price but their costs must be eye-boggling. Something like 80 coaches to and from Galway on a Sunday?

I believe they do support local charities quietly.

I have proposed before that the organisers just come clean with the costs involved so as to demonstrate that they are not ripping anyone off but up until now they seem content to say 'that's the price, take it or leave it.' So I guess the debate will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 trotter_inc
    ✭✭✭

I'm paying the same for Cork, but some of that is going to charity, though they don't say how much. Would love to know though.

Have you tried emailing the organisers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 Stupid_Private
    ✭✭✭

I wouldn't say Connemara is a rip off I'd go with Ireland is a rip off! No one course can throw a magic expense in that a cheaper course doesn't offer - Ballycotton bus people to and from Cork station which is included in their cost of €15

After I ran the Larne half marathon (one of the most organised races I've ever been part of - from chip timing, prepacked sandwiches afterwards to changing facilities etc) for a whopping £12 I had a look into the costs of the Half marathons in the South compared to the North.

South
    Wexford - €48
    Dingle - €60
    Connemarathon - €70
    Bay run - €50
    Inisbofin - fund raising €700
    Mooathon - €40
    Clare Burren - €30
    Longford - €44
    Achill - €60
    Dublin - €20*
    Blarney Half - €20*
    Avg- €44.2

North
    Omagh - £20**
    Larne - £12
    Lisburn - £15
    Newry - £25

Avg - £18.2

*2008 figure - couldn't find 2009 price
    ** late entry fee - not sure what orignal was

✭✭✭

Good work Private! I organised the Jersey Half Marathon for nine years and we sorta broke even year to year on a fee of less than GBP15 with 350-400 runners, and managed to provide T-shirts, medals, trophies etc.

But those not involved in organisation might be surprised at some of the costs involved that you wouldn't necessarily expect.

That said my feeling is that one or two of the newer Irish races in particular are taking Conn as a benchmark and are setting their fee just below that and (I suspect but don't know without the facts) making a tidy sum. Or else being extravagent with their spending.

But without the figures we don't know. And no one wants to see these races lose money either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 aburke
    ✭✭✭

Ballycotton bus people to and from Cory station which is included in their cost of €15
    I've debated and given feedback on the costs of organising of the Connemarathon once too often, but this particular bus comparison is not valid.

The Connemarathon must provide an individual bus seat for EACH competitor from 7/8am until 3/4pm [with a few more buses before and after that too].

Alan

✭✭✭

aburke wrote: »
    I've debated and given feedback on the costs of organising of the Connemarathon once too often, but this particular bus comparison is not valid.

The Connemarathon must provide an individual bus seat for EACH competitor from 7/8am until 3/4pm [with a few more buses before and after that too].

Alan

Hi Alan,
    Thanks for responding. I for one have missed your feedback and I'm sure it would be worthwhile putting it up again, or pointing us in the right direction.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 TheRoadRunner
    ✭✭✭

I wouldn't say Connemara is a rip off I'd go with Ireland is a rip off! No one course can throw a magic expense in that a cheaper course doesn't offer - Ballycotton bus people to and from Cork station which is included in their cost of €15

After I ran the Larne half marathon (one of the most organised races I've ever been part of - from chip timing, prepacked sandwiches afterwards to changing facilities etc) for a whopping £12 I had a look into the costs of the Half marathons in the South compared to the North.

South
    Wexford - €48
    Dingle - €60
    Connemarathon - €70
    Bay run - €50
    Mooathon - €40
    Clare Burren - €30
    Longford - €44
    Achill - €60
    Dublin - €20*
    Blarney Half - €20*
    Avg- €44.2

North
    Omagh - £20**
    Larne - £12
    Lisburn - £15
    Newry - £25

Avg - £18.2

investigative journalism at it's best :D

Great work SP we really are ripped off south of the border. Seen as you have ran you last 2 races up North are you going to start a new trend similar to those who are now shopping in Newry etc now ?

I can see it now, Brian Lenihan standing up in the Dail and saying how unpatriotic SP is and the poor Irish race organiser is going to go out of business if this wicked trend continues :)

The only way prices will be driven down here is if numbers drop off dramatically. It may take a couple of years but it will happen IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 Krusty_Clown
    ✭✭✭✭

On the OP's original point, there also seems to be a common misconception that every race is for charity, and every runner is entering a race to raise funds for a specific cause. Every time I tell the ol' dear that I'm doing a race, she tries to reach into her purse.

I've sought sponsorship for a number of races, but if I did it for every race, that well would run dry very quickly. Races are for the most part contests of speed and endurance. The charity bit is an add-on, rather than the main focus of the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 --amadeus--
    ✭✭✭

Couldn't agree more - I'm constantly being asked who I'm raising money for. Yet no one ask me if I'm looking for sponsorship if they find out I do martial arts and I haven't heard of many rugby, soccer or GAA players being asked who they are fundraising for at the weekend's match.

I think the charity aspect is great (my wife works for one so I have to say that :P) but it's become a spiral - more and more races are being organised as fundraisers first and races second and I think it's impacting on quality. And as more and more people do fun runs and walks for charity so the idea gets embedded that you race only to raise funds. And so a split starts to form between people like us who run for teh sport and the majority for whom teh sport is a by-product of teh fundraising. And you end up with something like the London marathon where pretty much the only way the average punter can guarantee an entry is by raising a set amount for charity. And when is that race mentioned in teh mainstream media without some reference to teh millions raised?

IMO Rotterdam has it spot on (I should be on commission from them!). When you register they give you the option of a donation to a nominated charity and allow you to set the level of that donation. The charity aspect is there and is encouraged but it is secondary to the main focus of teh day - a race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 tunney
    ✭✭✭✭

Wow - all these threads on Conemarathon and no Seb yet..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 Magnet
    ✭✭

seriously old argument! :rolleyes:
    Ive done other marathons where no food,buses or Good clean air was provided and I dont see any complaints on here

I cannot afford some races, others I can!
    I`m an adult now I can decide..
    MdS about 4500 and they don`t even provide roads!! :eek:
    Comrades was about 2000 last time I checked?!?!
    I don`t think any give an exact breakdown on their donation do they?
    Could be €1 per person...
    So am I doing it for a charity? Nope Im competing...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 asimonov
    ✭✭✭

Its a value for money discussion really and that's a subjective measure. The things i place value on might not be that same as you, and as well as that expectations probably vary depending on whether it is a imra event, club race or a commercial one. Off the top of my head, the things i consider worth paying for are:

1. Chip timing (startline to finishline)
    2. Quick and accurate results posting on-line
    2. good marshalling
    3. good water / aid stations
    4. sense of occasion and a friendly event
    5. good chill out area / recovery food and drinks / post run facilities
    6. reasonable quality t-shirt (and i can give or take these tbh)
    7. convenient access

I think with the connemarathon lots of people love the sense of occasion and the fact that it is a unique event that they are proud to have completed - and they feel thats worth their e70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 HardyEustace
    ✭✭✭

Ok I don't mind paying 70euro but does anyone know if any of this
    money goes toward charity?

I think you're confusing two issues
    1. Does any of the money go to charity
    2. Is it a rip off?

on point 2, no one is forcing you to pay 70euro and run the race. Supply and demand will decide the entry fee. If people feel that 70 euro is too expensive and don't enter the race and there are insufficient numbers to run the race then the organisers may re-examine the cost of the race.

Since the race is sold out by January most years, it doesn't seem to be the case.

Also on point 2, while I think it's up to the individual to decide if they want to enter a high entry fee, "special" race, I do think that it's a shame that there aren't more lower cost, "ordinary" races.

I've mentioned it in previous races but would love to see more races like the Galway 5k series available. That sold out within 24 hours, is fantastic value and a really lovely way to spend a few summer evenings and meet up with people.

✭✭✭

That was kind of my point with the list of races south v north HardlyEustace. The option of local races at a cheap price does not really exist - the Larne half I did up north for £12 had a very accessible venue for picking up numbers, changing etc (the Leisure Centre is sign posted the minute you get to Larne), sports grounds for you to warm up, chip timing, the most scenic race route I've ever been on, refreshments on route and a huge arrangement of food like I've never seen at a race afterwards - t-shirt and all that lark as well. Why we don't have these kind of normal price option races is beyond me. It seems that once the word half marathon is mentioned then chi-ching is going through a race directors mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 trotter_inc
    ✭✭✭

I just sent the organisers of the Cork marathon an email to ask how much of the €70 entrance fee goes to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Sumac

I just sent the organisers of the Cork marathon an email to ask how much of the €70 entrance fee goes to charity.

And I would ask the same question of the organisers of the Connemarathon - How much of the 70 euro goes to charity

✭✭✭

The option of local races at a cheap price does not really exist.
    You're kidding right?
    There are HEAPS of 'local' races all over the country every weekend.
    Most of them in the €15 - €20 range.
    I only did Kilnaboy and Ballycotton lately, as I'm coming back from injury.
    I organised the Magic Mile meet.
    My Club is the driving force behind the Galway 5km series.

There is no shortage of races, thats for sure.
    This Sunday
    http://www.runireland.com/events/2009/04/26
    Cushinstown AC open Track and Field sports
    Athlone 5km Fun Run
    Woodie's DIY / AAI - 10K Road Race Championship
    Rockwell College 10km run for the Stuart Mangan appeal

Next Sunday
    http://www.runireland.com/events/2009/05/3
    Bay Run 09
    IMRA Ben Gorm
    Tralee Mini Marathon / Fun Run
    Mount Gable 10k
    North West 10K

Where in the country are you based?

Alan

✭✭✭

Sorry aburke - I meant half marathons (that's what my two posts have been about). I race plenty and know that 5 and 10k races exist at reasonable prices.

I also missed your question...

Dublin

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 RacoonQueen
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

I don't think 70 euro is a rip off at all. Given what they provide and the small field aswell.

✭✭✭

I don't think 70 euro is a rip off at all. Given what they provide and the small field aswell.

Hardly a small field RC...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 RacoonQueen
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Hardly a small field RC...

It's hardly large either...

✭✭✭

It's hardly large either...

I'm not sure what you're comparing it to - about 1,650 finishers in the Half alone = a large field. Not a big city-type field, but large nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 Zuppy
    ✭✭✭

Why would a race donate to a charity??? Your missing the point here, most races are organised as an event. If you want to raise money then do so yourself. I see no reason for a marathon to 'have' to donate to a charity.

Before I get accused of trolling, I organise a charity event. And you would be surprised at the costs of running a small event. My phone bill in the weeks before is big, the cost of looking for sponsors (along with the costs of letters and stamps). Organising safety cover. No one sends out an ambulance for free. At minimum your expected to donated to them if not pay. Website maintance and domain. Thanking volenteers need a t-shirt or a lunch if its a long event. Organise parking, dealing with the council and the garda.

I do believe some events are pulling the piss when it come to entry fees. As for connamarathon I would be surprised if it breaks even.
    And the 70e half fee is the same for the full and Ultra so get more miles per buck and go long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 cfitz
    ✭✭✭

ZuppyLurk wrote: »
    As for connamarathon I would be surprised if it breaks even.

Eh, Connemarathon sells out - Surely if it wasn't breaking even it would just up the entry fee.

✭✭✭

Sorry said a bit tongue in cheek. I am sure it would up the fee if it didn't break even, but most races start off in debt and it takes a few years for them to pay that all back.
    For a marathon 70e seems to be close to a standard fee which is what you would expect of events of similar nature. I just have to wonder at the bus fees for the day.

On another point Cork is 70e also, it receives a lot of support from the council in terms of 'soft' money. I am sure ConnM doesn't receive the same. Cork is about the same numbers and in a central location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 hunnymonster
    ✭✭✭

Magnet wrote: »
    MdS about 4500 and they don`t even provide roads!! :eek:
    I lol'ed :-)

The north south comparison is not valid as most of the races I've done in NI have had serious council support. We just don't get that down south with the exception of a couple of events like Cork marathon (mentioned by ZL) and Dublin marathon. From the events Zuppylurk organises, I know how difficult it can be event to get the basics like a Garda on point duty at junctions.

My personal opinion is that Connemara offers good value for money given the bus issue. Because it is relatively local to most of us (i.e. in the same country) we tend to overlook the remoteness of the race. 22000 people climb kilimanjaro each year (according to google) and you can bet your life it costs a lot more to do that than to enter connemarathon. I realise the comparison is pushing it a bit but my point is I think you get something very special for your money in Connemara.

Aburke, If you ever had a chance, I'm sure people here would love to hear a little bit about what goes into organising Connemarathon, obviously some people have expressed an interest in the balance sheet but I would also love to hear about the paperwork, the problems, the sucesses, the stories. One I remember hearing (not sure if it an urban, or should that be rural, legend) is that one year, Ray had to run the course the day after the marathon with a black bag and spent as much time in the ditches picking up empty water bottles as running. Things like that give us an insight into the event.

I'm 100% with Amadeus on the charity thing. Who wants to ask Mr OConnell what charity the Lions are supporting.

✭✭✭

I lol'ed :-)

The north south comparison is not valid as most of the races I've done in NI have had serious council support. We just don't get that down south with the exception of a couple of events like Cork marathon (mentioned by ZL) and Dublin marathon. From the events Zuppylurk organises, I know how difficult it can be event to get the basics like a Garda on point duty at junctions.

I've never ran Connemara so I am not going to comment on it. Mine is a general comment about half marathons south of the border vs. north. By the way hunneymonster you sound like a politician saying the comparison is not valid :)

Based on the Average prices pointed out by Stupid_Private we are paying on average about 24 euro more than our northern friends. If there are 1,000 runners that's a difference of 24,000 euro per race. Can you quantify the support the NI sports council gives ? Does it make up the shortfall ? 24,000 is probably a conservative estimate also.

I have never competed in a tri but was discussing this with a friend of mine who helps organise a large tri event (2,000 participants) every year. They charge 35 euro I think and make a decent profit for their club. Surely insurance and associated tri costs should ramp up costs relative to half marathons ?

Fair play to organisers who put on these races and the prices will be set by market forces (i.e runners entering). I have entered a couple of expensive half marathons myself over the years and after the novelty of running them once subsides I'm not inclined to return year on year like I do to other better value races.

I don't really care if proceeds are going to charity or into the pockets of organisers the point is we are way more expensive down here than up the north and only when we vote with our feet will that change !

By the way even after all this rant I will probably continue to enter 1 novel/expensive race a year so I'm a bit of a hypocrite :)

✭✭✭

I have never competed in a tri but was discussing this with a friend of mine who helps organise a large tri event (2,000 participants) every year. They charge 35 euro I think and make a decent profit for their club. Surely insurance and associated tri costs should ramp up costs relative to half marathons ?

Actually now I think about it does anybody have comparisons in the prices of tri north vs south ? Are there significant differences ?

✭✭✭

Most triathlon races are used as a fund raising exercise for clubs. Therefore I don't mind paying 10 or 15 euro extra to support another club, provided that the fee isn't excessive.

Clubs are run on a voluntary basis, any money that the club gets through races is used to support their members or to enrol extra members.

I think that it's nice to support other clubs through entering their club races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Quality Feet

The cost of Connmara is debated quite often. It is a premium price but their costs must be eye-boggling. Something like 80 coaches to and from Galway on a Sunday?

I have proposed before that the organisers just come clean with the costs involved so as to demonstrate that they are not ripping anyone off but up until now they seem content to say 'that's the price, take it or leave it.' So I guess the debate will continue.

call me a non believer and maybe im wrong but giving to charity on the quiet ???

✭✭✭

I have proposed before that the organisers just come clean with the costs involved so as to demonstrate that they are not ripping anyone off but up until now they seem content to say 'that's the price, take it or leave it.' So I guess the debate will continue

Erm, why should they have to? They're a business. Market forces will dictate what people are willing to pay and thus what they'll charge. No one is forcing you to do the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 jlang
    ✭✭✭

Not really fair to compare a road half with a triathlon. Triathlons are inherently more expensive to run with more complicated safety requirements and equipment required and probably more importantly, the entry numbers need to be limited so these costs are far higher on a per entrant basis. Besides, triathlon is a more expensive sport to train/prepare for with pools, bikes and all that silly looking gear that may or may not be required so the race entry cost isn't as substantial in the scheme of things.

I've passed on events based on entry cost. If an event sells out and remains popular, it's hard to argue with their pricing but it would be nice to have some cheaper half-M options. I can accept Connemara being a special case for the reasons above (also because I did it and loved it) but it does look like some of the other races are taking the p***. More council support would be nice, but I'd rather they fix the potholes than subsidise an entry fee. With numbers running going up, better targetted sponsorship may be a better hope.

✭✭✭

Most triathlon races are used as a fund raising exercise for clubs. Therefore I don't mind paying 10 or 15 euro extra to support another club, provided that the fee isn't excessive.

Clubs are run on a voluntary basis, any money that the club gets through races is used to support their members or to enrol extra members.

I think that it's nice to support other clubs through entering their club races.

I think that's another reason why the races are cheaper up north. The Larne half is organised by Larne AC, Omagh by the Omagh Harriers. It makes it harder then for the other 2 races to be highly priced when their neighbours are charging £12 for the same thing.

I've no gripe with the likes of Connemara and co charging what they do. It'd be plain stupid for a race that can sell out at €50 - €70 to only charge €20.

Up north and in England the majority of races I took part in were close to a tenner - they all were tied to a club. The mass participation events that charged more exist and again are well marketed and sell out. No problem there. The thing is there is a choice - you can ignore them and support a club race at a fraction of the price. Here, if you want to do a half you more than likely have to pay over the odds because the choice of a club run half marathon does not exist for whatever reason.

As aburke pointed out there are a lot of club run shorter races about the country but from what I can see there isn't that many in Dublin. I'm open to correction on this one. Off the top of my head I can only think of a couple of races that I'd immediately connect to a club....
    - Sportsworld 5 Mile - May
    - Rathfarnham 5k - October
    - Raheny 5 Mile
    - Le Cheile 5k that I've seen on this site.
    - Liffey Valley 5k - New Years

The BHAA obviously exist and it's great to have - that's one race a month though.

Maybe I've been spoilt living abroad where in France (in an area with a population far, far less than Dublin) you were guaranteed a race 3 out of 4 weeks of the year, and in London where if you wanted a particular distance, on a particular terrain, you could find there was one within a week or two of you wanting it. Hmmmm I've kind of left the expensive theme and gone onto the 'why are there so few races in Dublin?' theme... I'll try tie it back in - if more clubs organised more races then the likelihood of so many expensive races wouldn't be an issue...
    *that tie in was seamless*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 plodder
    ✭✭✭

call me a non believer and maybe im wrong but giving to charity on the quiet ???
    If you were only giving a small amount, maybe you'd do it on the quiet. ;)

Seriously though, I think all organisers who are giving to charity are morally obliged to say how much they hand over, to avoid this kind of controversy, and to avoid misleading people.

Beyond that, I don't think there is any moral/ethical obligation but IMHO it would be good practice for organisers to reveal their total costs, their income, and their surplus/loss. If any surplus, say what it's intended to be used for (ie. private profit, fund-raising for club, investment in next year's race etc.).

✭✭✭

Erm, why should they have to? They're a business. Market forces will dictate what people are willing to pay and thus what they'll charge. No one is forcing you to do the race.

Of course they don't have to, but might it not be in their interests to do so, then we may not be having this debate.

✭✭✭

Of course they don't have to, but might it not be in their interests to do so, then we may not be having this debate.

Given that they're sold out by January each year, I'd say they've a handle on what they're doing!

And Roy, I'm not disagreeing with you, I think it's good value for the marathon and ultra but an excessive price for the half marathon. But it's their choice to charge what they feel is appropriate and my choice to run the race or not.

I do think it's doing great things for getting people interested in sports and in running in particular. You should see Galway the month before Connemara, loads of people out pounding the pavements - it's great to see. It's still a very accessible race I think. People don't feel intimidated about entering the race. From that point of view it's a real success.

✭✭✭

HardyEustace, I agree it's a great race - I've run it three times myself. I've always been quick to defend the organisers on cost because the costs and the budgeting generally must be horrendous.

I just think a bit of transparency would work wonders and indeed would put the Connemarathon in an even better light.

✭✭✭

jlang wrote: »
    Not really fair to compare a road half with a triathlon. Triathlons are inherently more expensive to run with more complicated safety requirements and equipment required and probably more importantly, the entry numbers need to be limited so these costs are far higher on a per entrant basis. Besides, triathlon is a more expensive sport to train/prepare for with pools, bikes and all that silly looking gear that may or may not be required so the race entry cost isn't as substantial in the scheme of things.

Yes exactly, yet the triathlon (Olympic distance) I cited is 35 euro to enter while the average half marathon is 40 odd euro. Go figure :rolleyes:

✭✭✭

I just think a bit of transparency would work wonders and indeed would put the Connemarathon in an even better light.
    Hi Roy
    I've posted extensively on runireland, and to a lesser degree here, in relation to the costs & logistical nightmare that is the Connemarathon.

I continue to be mystified by the requests for information on the accounts of the Connemarathon.

Does ANY race, anywhere provide detailed accounts to anybody apart from the organisers?

Do people regularly ask businesses or even charities and clubs to see for their year end accounts, working capital projections, margins etc?

As I've said before to clarify, I post here in a private capacity, any Connemarathon questions are answered to the best of my ability and knowledge, and no, I don't see the accounts either.

On a more general theme, local councils do seem to be more supportive of races in the UK and N Ireland, but I don't know if that is really the case, or just perception. Galway County council help out the Connemarathon to a degree, but this is the first year they have agreed to a road closure. It took almost 7 years.

Maybe the real problem is lack of Half marathons down south?
    Is it time for another Connemara half in the Late Summer :eek:

Regards
    Alan

✭✭✭

Thanks Alan,
    I'll do some research then, I just haven't seen the previous correspondence.

I agree that in my race organising days I didn't feel the need to publish figures. But I think I certainly would have if I had come under the intermittent fire you guys seem to. As you say you must get more than a bit cheesed off with it so I'd be inclined to just kill it with the facts.

Anyway I think Conn is taking unneccesary flak and that newer races are hitching a ride on your entry fee, which is for a premium event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 Genghis
    ✭✭✭

I don’t believe there is any obligation on Connemarathon to provide any transparency, make payments to charity or in any other way justify what they charge. You pay the price, and do the race, or you don’t. I know plenty of people who are happy to pay this price, and plenty of people who rule it right out.

✭✭✭

I agree with aburke, haven't heard anyone ask for Dublin's accounts yet? They must make a mint. Why should a race publish its accounts? (Just being argumentive, ignore that please)

If you start comparing races North and South then compare the cost of a cup of coffee and a pint of milk. We are being ripped off in this country; it’s not just the races. We just don't have the structure or a coordinated state/ NGB sports strategy. Maybe a proper sports and health drive would open up a lot more events and lower the stress on the health service, AND reduce my race fees.

Charity: I am sick of raising money for services and equipment that the state should be providing. This might be a bit harsh and it won't stop me going to charity races but I no longer see a reason why every sporting event should give to charity. If I donate personally (or as a race), I also see no need to be honoured for it. Unless the charity wishes to raise awarness thru PR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 griffin100
    ✭✭✭

There seems to be an unwritten rule here that you should not be making money off events like Connemara. If an event is well run I don't really care if the organisers make a mint and how much if any of this money they give to charity. Their accounts are there own business. If an event organiser wants to make money off an event then they will only do so if they provide and event that people are willing to enter at a price that they are willing to pay. Organisers don't force people to enter events, people make their own choices. I did Connemara and have to say that whilst it was expensive to enter the day was worth the entry fee - good transport to race start; nice t shirt at the end; lots of well stocked aid stations. I would pay the high entry fee do it again and I suppose for me that's the ultimate test.

On the hand if an orgainser states that they are going to make a donation to charity then they should at least give details of the amount donated and to who. e.g. the wexford half maratin website states that thet were donating €1,000 to the Co. Wexford Junior Athletics Squad.

✭✭✭

If you start comparing races North and South then compare the cost of a cup of coffee and a pint of milk. We are being ripped off in this country;

One black coffee and a cappucinno in a coffee shop before the race in Armagh on Sunday came to £3. Couldn't get over it - so cheap, what a great place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 plodder
    ✭✭✭

I agree with aburke, haven't heard anyone ask for Dublin's accounts yet? They must make a mint. Why should a race publish its accounts? (Just being argumentive, ignore that please)

If you start comparing races North and South then compare the cost of a cup of coffee and a pint of milk. We are being ripped off in this country; it’s not just the races. We just don't have the structure or a coordinated state/ NGB sports strategy. Maybe a proper sports and health drive would open up a lot more events and lower the stress on the health service, AND reduce my race fees.

Charity: I am sick of raising money for services and equipment that the state should be providing. This might be a bit harsh and it won't stop me going to charity races but I no longer see a reason why every sporting event should give to charity. If I donate personally (or as a race), I also see no need to be honoured for it. Unless the charity wishes to raise awarness thru PR.
    I agree with most of what you say, the main thing is (imo) if the race says it's going to make a donation to charity, then it should say how much it was. If the race wants to make an anonymous donation, then fair enough, but don't publicise it, because they wouldn't then be selling the race as a charity event.

The rest is optional. I agree with Roy, it could be beneficial for many events to disclose some information about their finances (though obviously not detailed accounts). But it's their choice, there isn't any obligation on them.

[edit]I'm not directing this at Connemara by the way. I've never done it, but would like to. It's something I've noticed at some other races though.

✭✭✭

aburke wrote: »
    Maybe the real problem is lack of Half marathons down south?
    Is it time for another Connemara half in the Late Summer :eek:

Would tie in nicely with a half for people training for Dublin/Berlin/NY.

When you see what a difference it makes to Galway, in terms of people adopting a healthier lifestyle and becoming actively involved in sports and their local clubs, I'd love to see another relatively big local race.

Someone said that there was a marathon around Galway years ago. That would be such a great race to see back again. Would love a half marathon around Galway, taking in the prom, the university grounds, the back road to Barna golf club - we've a beautiful city, would be nice to show it off through a half marathon race. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 mcdonrob
    ✭✭

South
    Wexford - €48
    Dingle - €60
    Connemarathon - €70
    Bay run - €50
    Mooathon - €40
    Clare Burren - €30
    Longford - €44
    Achill - €60
    Dublin - €20*
    Blarney Half - €20*
    Avg- €44.2

North
    Omagh - £20**
    Larne - £12
    Lisburn - £15
    Newry - £25

Avg - £18.2

Good stuff private
    I ran a half marathon in Tenerife just before Easter (was on hols with family).
    http://www.mediomaratonlasgalletas.com/index.html

Absolutely Superb Organisation - definitely going to try and schedule hols around it next year. Chip timed, loads of water stations + usual goodie bag - t-shirt, cap, step counter!! - free massages (albeit with a big queue).

I didn't hang around for too long after the race but it looks like there was paella !!!
    IMG_0726.jpg

Entry Fee €10
    Late Fee €15 (I paid this the day before)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 mrak
    ✭✭

Everyone above is right - who gives a toss if Connemara half is expensive, it's a business just like your local Gym or Spar and even helps the tourism industry so good luck to everyone involved. Because of the price it's mainly a fun runners race and the standard is usually low which is grand too.

There is a genuine problem in that Connemara does seem to have raised the price bar for half marathons which other races of lesser quality follow. The end result is that there isn't any cheap half marathon out there with the possible exception of the national half marathon championships in September. Halfs are a bit more complicated to arrange since the runners are out on the roads for longer.

The solution is simple: someone organise their own budget half marathon and charge a tenner. Job done.

✭✭✭

I think that for a lot of people organising races, the biggest concern is safety and how to ensure that your competitors will be safe.

As Alan mentioned it's like trying to pull hen's teeth to get roads closed for races.

However I did notice that they closed the road (albeit a small bit of the road but it's a start) for the 100k race recently held in Galway. Hopefully this heralds a new change in attitudes towards races.

When you see how much tourism and thus money races generate I'm genuinely shocked that the council aren't bending over backwards to help with race organisers. It kind of makes me a little cynical to hear of all these "be a healthy person" initiatives they're meant to endorse.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.