Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheapsofts confirmed in Limerick

• 26-01-2008 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

OK last time I mentioned this I could not confirm.
    That was cos the shop had not been opened yet.

Was inside in Town a while ago. Theres a store in fox's bow
    called Brightside selling airsoft products (if you could call them that)

Typical shop that deals all the usual crap drug parafanailla (spelling?) and cheap swords, fantasy knives and phone covers. (Similar to a certain hated
    shop in Cork)

All the stock except an AK47 and a G36C were springers only.
    There was a Cyma Glock Springer, All the other stuff was un-branded although it looked like Cyma boxes. The stuff actually Looked quite
    good in the display!! believe it or not it was hard to tell the difference
    between the cheap crap and the good stuff.

Shop had what looked like a Cyma AK-47 and I mentioned if it was a Cyma
    brand it could be illlegal as it would be over 1j. He brought the box out from the back of the store but it was an un-branded box. One of the AK's was
    a springer and 1 was an AEG.

Was talking to the guy who worked there. Friendly guy and ex-army.
    He said that most of his stuff was springers because the Gardai told him he was not allowed get the other stuff (I presume he ment Propper AEG's)
    He mentioned something about not being able to get a licence to
    sell anything other than the springers.

He also mentioned he had two pallets of his stock just disappear of the
    face of the planet before it was delivered and constantly his deliveries
    stuff was being either swiped of going missing before it reached him.
    He wanted to get in AUG's but he said he can only deal with one dealer.
    He also said he was planning a trip to China to see the factory over their.

He mentioned there were people buying the stuff so they could remove
    the scopes, Lasers and silencers to put on their better ones they already had.

Prices were 40-50 Euros for the Pistols (all springers Glock/Desert eagle)
    100-130 Euros for the M4/G36C/AK47 again he told me some were springers
    and not battery powered. I asked were any GBB but he said no.

There was no must be over 18 Sign up so I am guessing he
    was selling to anyone that wanted them.
    but there was a "No Returns" sign up.

Lots of Kids/Teenagers there and from their conversations they
    were return customers. Guy behind the counter was chatting to them
    telling them about some BB's they got in which were too big for the springers.
    (There was all cheap yellow/orange crap BB's for sale no .20g's)

Talked to two teenagers (dunno what age they were) They
    had got stuff in the past there. They actually knew about the
    3 online Irish stores but still were going into the this shop for springers.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

this is exactly the crap tht i (i presume we) want stamped out

tell me this did he have any protective gear, masks goggles etc?
    did you tell him much about your point of view, quallity gear disiplined approach
    in other words do you think he wanted to stay cheapsoft or would he get into the better side of things?

just wondering about the attitude out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

So long as the skirmishers and actual airsofters (not the muppet-brigade/skang-bangers) stick to the IAA affiliates then we should be unaffected by the kind of thing that goes on in these stores.

3 online retailers and 1 walk in store is more than enough to cater to the entire republic, not to mention the dozens of HK, US and Euro retailers out there.

While there may be room for a walk in store in each of the larger cities it would be prudent for thos who wish to see airsoft safe and sound to stick to the affiliated stores.

I'm not shilling or banging a drum for the guys who have signed up so much as I am pointing out that they are the only ones who have agreed to adhere to our retailers guidelines. At least you'll know that you are supporting businessess that arent giving airsoft a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Nah he had no accessory or protective gear he only got in whatever
    was supplied with whatever dealer he was using as a supplier. He mentioned
    for anything other that what he had ya could goto the online place.

I never thought to suggest he get in some saftey glasses or masks etc.
    it would have been a good idea to suggest it to him.

I did not want to antagonize or aggrivate the guy in his own shop
    in anyway cos he was not breaking the law and I doubt he cared
    about my opinions. (was not sure it was my place to do so either)

Interestingly enough there was a Mmmad shop in Limerick at one stage
    there was UPROAR from quite a lot of people in Limerick who wanted the
    place shut down. Funnely enough the shop got closed down and never
    re-opened. (not sure if it was peoples objections or some other reason)
    Same thing may happen this place if some kid arrives home to Mother with a
    bong in one hand and springer in the other.

~B

So long as the skirmishers and actual airsofters (not the muppet-brigade/skang-bangers) stick to the IAA affiliates then we should be unaffected by the kind of thing that goes on in these stores.

3 online retailers and 1 walk in store is more than enough to cater to the entire republic, not to mention the dozens of HK, US and Euro retailers out there.

While there may be room for a walk in store in each of the larger cities it would be prudent for thos who wish to see airsoft safe and sound to stick to the affiliated stores.

I'm not shilling or banging a drum for the guys who have signed up so much as I am pointing out that they are the only ones who have agreed to adhere to our retailers guidelines. At least you'll know that you are supporting businessess that arent giving airsoft a bad name.

yes hivemand i agree but the reality is that other shops will arrive
    and there are four online shops aren't there
    mia eirsoft airsifteire and i.a.s. or did they dissapear

bullets wrote: »
    Nah he had no accessory or protective gear he only got in whatever
    was supplied with whatever dealer he was using as a supplier. He mentioned
    for anything other that what he had ya could goto the online place.

I never thought to suggest he get in some saftey glasses or masks etc.
    it would have been a good idea to suggest it to him.

I did not want to antagonize or aggrivate the guy in his own shop
    in anyway cos he was not breaking the law and I doubt he cared
    about my opinions. (was not sure it was my place to do so either)

~B

just wondering i think is a true test i diont mind springers being sold in a responsaible manner but no masks means trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

There was no must be over 18 Sign up so I am guessing he
    was selling to anyone that wanted them.
    but there was a "No Returns" sign up.

In fairness you dont actually have to be any age to buy or operate any airsoft devices.

And i thought it woulda been easyer to get a real gun in limerick? :p hehehe

Those springers are sh1te. I bought a crappy Ruger from mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmad in cork just to see what the quality was like compared to my first springer (Pre-2006) and it was absolutle crap. I used to have a TM Automag. What a spring pistol!

rbd wrote: »
    yes hivemand i agree but the reality is that other shops will arrive
    and there are four online shops aren't there
    mia eirsoft airsifteire and i.a.s. or did they dissapear

MIA is primarily a walk in store. Do the adding again bro. 3+1 = ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

calm down hive, he's only a wee boy :D
    i diont mind springers being sold in a responsaible manner

airsoft devices, regardless of whether they are gas,electric,springer shouldnt

be sold to any little skanger, you can imagine what they'll end up doing with

them. Only people who want to cause trouble will buy these airsofts, serious

people will go to the proper stores.

i agree with you hivemind that so long as we stay with the IAA affiliated

stores that we'll avoid any comeback if any trouble is caused as a result of

these shops selling to irresponsible people.

:cool::cool::cool:

1.is not a walk in store if you live in sligo
    2.also has a bigger range than some of the other websites so has to count as an online store
    3. mia is a banner ad on this forum as an online store

blay1 wrote: »
    calm down hive, he's only a wee boy :D

yeah pick on someone yer own size

airsoft devices, regardless of whether they are gas,electric,springer shouldnt

be sold to any little skanger, you can imagine what they'll end up doing with

them.

pointing them at pat kenny?

i agree with you hivemind that so long as we stay with the IAA affiliated

stores that we'll avoid any comeback if any trouble is caused as a result of

these shops selling to irresponsible people.
    i'll assume yer being ironic and say the whole thing is gonna have to change in some way

yeah pick on someone yer own size

pointing them at pat kenny?

i'll assume yer being ironic and say the whole thing is gonna have to change in some way

the pistol pointed at pat kenny was a mauser and as far as i know they dont

make airsoft versions of that model.

rephrase that last bit, i couldnt make head nor tail of it

the pistol pointed at pat kenny was a mauser and as far as i know they dont

make airsoft versions of that model.

rephrase that last bit, i couldnt make head nor tail of it

situation in shops that 8yr olds can by airsoft will have to change

i feel that if summ,it isn't done soon that we'll suffer
    and i am aware of the steps being made on iaa's end but the bong shops have rights and will have to be invited to the party at least if lisences were brought in to own and buy airsoft along with international gaming lisences than it would be a sport and have the protections of a sport

situation in shops that 8yr olds can by airsoft will have to change
    i feel that if summ,it isn't done soon that we'll suffer
    and i am aware of the steps being made on iaa's end but the bong shops have rights and will have to be invited to the party at least if lisences were brought in to own and buy airsoft along with international gaming lisences than it would be a sport and have the protections of a sport

yeah i agree with that definately

its unlikely licences will be brought in to buy airsoft and if it did they sport

would die just look at the uk.

the bong shops need to be banned from selling airsofts they are only

attracting the wrong type of person, who isnt interested in skirmishing only

what trouble they can cause with a springer pistol.

http://www.packrat-toyz.com/images/Airsoft/Specialized%20Dist/hgx_196%20Mauser.jpg

airsoft mauser

not that i'm suggesting that the kid that pointed it at pat could have been hoilding an airsoft springer and that if he'd been caught that itr would be disasterous

thats a broomhandle mauser thats not the model that was pointed at pat

kenny.

thats a broomhandle mauser thats not the model that was pointed at pat

kenny.

its an example
    i've edited but if you give me the model i'll show you one
    not really the point tho

its an example
    i've edited but if you give me the model i'll show you one
    not really the point tho

yeah

yeah i agree with that definately

its unlikely licences will be brought in to buy airsoft and if it did they sport

would die just look at the uk.

the bong shops need to be banned from selling airsofts they are only

attracting the wrong type of person, who isnt interested in skirmishing only

what trouble they can cause with a springer pistol.

cant just ban peeps because they sell bongs
    otherwise theyd ban bong shops alltogether
    seedy little places

the uk lisenses were over the top

cant just ban peeps because they sell bongs
    otherwise theyd ban bong shops alltogether
    seedy little places

the uk lisenses were over the top

they need to be banned from selling airsofts, they're giving the public a bad

image of airsoft and the peoople who play it.

they need to be banned from selling airsofts, they're giving the public a bad

image of airsoft and the peoople who play it.

yes but how
    legislation can be clumsy

yes but how
    legislation can be clumsy

just restrict the sale of airsofts to shops that are affilited with the IAA and

follow their retailer guidelines. better for everyone that way

just restrict the sale of airsofts to shops that are affilited with the IAA and

follow their retailer guidelines. better for everyone that way

thats like saying restrict the sale of cars to people that follow the aa guidelinews
    better but not feasaible

1.is not a walk in store if you live in sligo
    2.also has a bigger range than some of the other websites so has to count as an online store
    3. mia is a banner ad on this forum as an online store

1) Only in terms of the Heisenberg uncertainty principal/shroedinger equations.
    2) They have a physical shop you can walk into, I therefore counted them seperatly, incase that missed you the first time.
    3) They trade online and in person again, the reason I counted them separately.

Durrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

2) They have a physical shop you can walk into, I therefore counted them seperatly, incase that missed you the first time.

Durrr.

For the love of...
    Let it go already. You were wrong. Just admit it. :p

o1s1n wrote: »
    For the love of...

think you need to lock this o1s1n, hive will never let it go :D. he's even

quoting equations! :eek:

Regarding the restriction of sale:

It is counter productive to attempt to introduce legislation to control or license the sale of airsoft in Ireland. Firstly it would require that the items be reclassified because currently they are not viewed as weapons - any such classification would put us right back where we were pre 2006. Second, licensing of businesses to deal in Airsoft equipment would be an unfair burden on the retailers who are following the rules already, licenses have to be paid for because they generate beuraucracy - moreover, due to the peculiar way the current law works, it would make such licences subject to the whims of local superintendants in much the same way as firearms are.

Further, the licencing of businesses is a short step from the licensing of players and they next thing we know is we have an Irish version of the VCRA. Anyone who has been paying attention to the results of that piece of legal dribble will already be aware of the problems it has caused.

Demanding licenses for retailers would probably prevent the likes of bong shops from stocking airsoft kit. Fine. But the price we would have to pay for that is far too high.

The answer is to not associate ourselves with such places. To avoid giving them any credence or even discussion simply because they are not worth it. To only buy from retailers following the regulations and not flouting them for a quick buck. The more we stick to our own people the longer we will be able to say "nothing to do with us" when little billy-scumbag brings a springer to school.

Perhaps age restrictions similar to those in pplace on video stores and cinemas might be introduce with the penalty of fines for those who sell to under 18's. This would put the onus for responsible usage on the individual, much as it is with kitchen knives hurley sticks and chainsaws. If the individual acts the plank they either go to jail or get shot by the ERU - which is exactly the way the law is written right now.

Does anyone have a different suggestion that is actually plausible or constructive?

nope in terms of practicallity and thats so 2003
    they are an online store
    they are a walk in store also
    to be correct you should count them twice one as an online once as a walk in
    i think you just counted wrong but i forgive you do you wanyt a hug?

so does shiva

Durrr.

((((((((hug))))))

For the love of...

you show me Eirsoft's physical store and those of IAS and AirsoftEire and I'll change my statement ... otherwise I'm right :P

nope in terms of practicallity and thats so 2003

they are an online store
    they are a walk in store also
    to be correct you should count them twice one as an online once as a walk in
    i think you just counted wrong but i forgive you do you wanyt a hug?
    so does shiva

((((((((hug))))))

You were the one who said "it isnt a physical store if you live in Sligo" which implies that either "I can't see it so its status as either a real or unreal store is unknowable" (quantum) or "I live in the country and nothing outside of the country is real" (bumpkinist philosophy).

Shiva delivers in person, he does not have a store you can walk into.

I have stood in MIA's store and it is indeed a physical one. In fact, it was a physical one before it opened an online adjunct.

And don't hug me, I dont know where you've been.

Regarding the restriction of sale:

It is counter productive to attempt to introduce legislation to control or license the sale of airsoft in Ireland. Firstly it would require that the items be reclassified because currently they are not viewed as weapons - any such classification would put us right back where we were pre 2006. Second, licensing of businesses to deal in Airsoft equipment would be an unfair burden on the retailers who are following the rules already, licenses have to be paid for because they generate beuraucracy - moreover, due to the peculiar way the current law works, it would make such licences subject to the whims of local superintendants in much the same way as firearms are.

Further, the licencing of businesses is a short step from the licensing of players and they next thing we know is we have an Irish version of the VCRA. Anyone who has been paying attention to the results of that piece of legal dribble will already be aware of the problems it has caused.

Demanding licenses for retailers would probably prevent the likes of bong shops from stocking airsoft kit. Fine. But the price we would have to pay for that is far too high.

The answer is to not associate ourselves with such places. To avoid giving them any credence or even discussion simply because they are not worth it. To only buy from retailers following the regulations and not flouting them for a quick buck. The more we stick to our own people the longer we will be able to say "nothing to do with us" when little billy-scumbag brings a springer to school.

Perhaps age restrictions similar to those in pplace on video stores and cinemas might be introduce with the penalty of fines for those who sell to under 18's. This would put the onus for responsible usage on the individual, much as it is with kitchen knives hurley sticks and chainsaws. If the individual acts the plank they either go to jail or get shot by the ERU - which is exactly the way the law is written right now.

Does anyone have a different suggestion that is actually plausible or constructive?

i agree with most of that and understand the logic behing all of it
    however image is everything
    chainsaws and hurleys have obvious and constructive uses

unfortunately them yokes we play with look like guns

you need a lisence to rent/sell videos btw but this does not mean you need a lisence to rent/buy them same with cinemas and ciggeretts the katana incident in fingerless gave me some hope as all that was proposed was a review of the current legislation as the monister for justice said " at the moment if yer not going to or from a sword needing place ie shop or competion or home and if it puts fear in public yer in big trouble" which is what it is now for airsoft but.......

i'm still worried that its gonna escilate so as with videos i propose a retail lisence
    but not a personal lisense and i don't think that one follows the other no matter how cutting the rhetoric surrounding your assertation that it will

You were the one who said "it isnt a physical store if you live in Sligo" which implies that either "I can't see it so its status as either a real or unreal store is unknowable" (quantum) or "I live in the country and nothing outside of the country is real" (bumpkinist philosophy).
    i'm a dub i have seen the mia store but you still would not be able to use it as a walk in

Shiva delivers in person, he does not have a store you can walk into.

he also takes money in person this is trading in person contrary to youre previous assertation that he dosent

) They trade online and in person again, the reason I counted them separately
    :p

I have stood in MIA's store and it is indeed a physical one. In fact, it was a physical one before it opened an online adjunct.

yes thats probably why you forgot to count it

And don't hug me, I dont know where you've been.

is ther yore ** expression actionable here?

Master of the Universe

Whether or not MIA trades in person doesn't really matter. He has an online store. Therefore we have 4 online stores. One of which happens to be a walk in store too.

Wolf armouries is a walk in store. Does that mean that wolfarmouries.co.uk isn't an online store? You sir make no sense.
    yes thats probably why you forgot to count it

Yep, he just doesn't like admitting when he's wrong ;)

If you want to get really pedantic, Derek was selling airsoft products on the BFSL website long before he opened the MIA store.

i agree with most of that and understand the logic behing all of it
    however image is everything
    chainsaws and hurleys have obvious and constructive uses

unfortunately them yokes we play with look like guns

you need a lisence to rent/sell videos btw but this does not mean you need a lisence to rent/buy them same with cinemas and ciggeretts the katana incident in fingerless gave me some hope as all that was proposed was a review of the current legislation as the monister for justice said " at the moment if yer not going to or from a sword needing place ie shop or competion or home and if it puts fear in public yer in big trouble" which is what it is now for airsoft but.......

i'm still worried that its gonna escilate so as with videos i propose a retail lisence
    but not a personal lisense and i don't think that one follows the other no matter how cutting the rhetoric surrounding your assertation that it will

You're assuming that the goal is to have the public actually like us. It's not.

The ultimate goal is for the public to forget about us completely or at worst tolerate us begrudgingly.

The Irish legislature has a depressing habit of looking at England and making decisions based on what they have dne already - without taking into account the political motives of such legislations. Worse still many Irish people actually support this mentality. The issue of Katana's is a prime example just to show you how utterly moronic it is, the UK legislation specifically attacks "Samurai swords" varying in length from 9" (not a sword but a Tanto knife) to 60"+ (which would be a Nodachi and not actually a "sword" in the classical sense) - all of which information is irrelevant since every chefs knife and meat cleaver or decent quality uses the same curved blade principal to give a better cutting edge and yet no one wants to licence chefs knives.

I digress.

Introducing a licensing system (which video shops dont need) is needlessly complicating everything. It is an additional cost to retailers for trading in inoccuous items and it will demand a reclassification of Airsoft devices - thats not rhetoric, its a fact.

Now think about the knee-jerk legislation that this country is prone to (the age of consent, magic-mushies, knives, asbo's, learner drivers etc) and imagine the kind of over-zealous rubbish they would be in a position to apply against airsofters if such a reclassification took place. At this stage we could argue until blue in the face that they are scientifically harmless it wouldnt matter - someone somewhere will be trying to make themselves look good by "fighting the menace of replica guns" and you can bet that they will look for the sternest sounding, most restrictive laws they can come up with (this makes them appear to solve the problem) regardless of whether they have any genuine effect on the problem.

Licensing will cost money. It will create beuraucracy. It will make it more difficult to get kit. It will slow the proliferation of airsoft as a legitimate hobby. It will lead to other restrictions.

Its not rhetoric rbd, its common sense.

I still say that a few set rules regarding age, proof of ID and a maybe informing the individual of the responsible use of airsoft with the possibility of fines against those retailers who flout the rules is the way to go. Put the responsibility on the individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

I havnt laughed at an internet remark in awhile. Good one! :D

i'm a dub i have seen the mia store but you still would not be able to use it as a walk in

Tell that to Kdouglas and Alvin T. Grey.

[/QUOTE]he also takes money in person this is trading in person contrary to youre previous assertation that he dosent[/QUOTE]

You hav to order online in order to receive anything. Hence, "online" store.

[/QUOTE]yes thats probably why you forgot to count it[/QUOTE]

I did count it. 3 online stores (because they exist online rather than having a physical presence) and 1 walk-in store (because you can walk into it and buy something off the shelf).

[/QUOTE]is ther yore ** expression actionable here?[/QUOTE]

Its not AH so probably.

Whether or not MIA trades in person doesn't really matter. He has an online store. Therefore we have 4 online stores. One of which happens to be a walk in store too.

Wolf armouries is a walk in store. Does that mean that wolfarmouries.co.uk isn't an online store? You sir make no sense.

Yes, it means Wolfarmouries is a walk-in store that trades online. IT IS PHYSICAL, not VIRTUAL.

I refer you sir to Douglas "Dreams/Reality" picture in Father Ted.

[/QUOTE]Yep, he just doesn't like admitting when he's wrong ;)[/QUOTE]

Dont make me reach for the Jombie doll!!!

[/QUOTE]If you want to get really pedantic, Derek was selling airsoft products on the BFSL website long before he opened the MIA store.[/QUOTE]

Lies! He had an add up but wasnt actively trading (as far as I know) and moreover that store was part of his actual store in Blanchardstown which if I'm not mistaken involved bricks, mortar and even shelves.

Master of the Universe

MIA is a walk in store that trades online. True. Which means, MIA has an online presence. So therefore Ireland has 4 places online when you can buy airsoft products. There are 4 URLs registered to individuals within Ireland where I can type into my browser and find airsoft for sale. The fact that one of them has a walk in store doesn't factor into this.

I do know what you're trying to say. But I think you're trying to argue the point more to save face than anything else. :p

And yes, he was trading on BFSL. I was pointing out that it predates his airsoft store. Obviously, the BFSL store was open at the same time..therefore we go back to having the same argument again.

Now, I am going to ask everyone to get back on topic as I think some cruel person has wound up the key in hivemind's back and he may go all day.

MIA is a walk in store that trades online. True. Which means, MIA has an online presence. So therefore Ireland has 4 places online when you can buy airsoft products. There are 4 URLs registered to individuals within Ireland where I can type into my browser and find airsoft for sale. The fact that one of them has a walk in store doesn't factor into this.

I do know what you're trying to say. But I think you're trying to argue the point more to save face than anything else. :p

And yes, he was trading on BFSL. I was pointing out that it predates his airsoft store. Obviously, the BFSL store was open at the same time..therefore we go back to having the same argument again.

Now, I am going to ask everyone to get back on topic as I think some cruel person has wound up the key in hivemind's back and he may go all day.

No keys anymore, got me some ever-ready batteries ... thats right folks! I'M ALL ELECTRICAL NOW!!!! :D

... damn cold going in though.

Oisin, I'll explain this off forum if you like ;)

Master of the Universe

No keys anymore, got me some ever-ready batteries ... thats right folks! I'M ALL ELECTRICAL NOW!!!! :D

... damn cold going in though.

Oisin, I'll explain this off forum if you like ;)

I'll save you the trouble :p I Know exactly what you're going to say. (maybe minus all the philosophical and theological theory but that's just gloss to be honest)

specifically to annoy O1s1n
    > LOL.

Now back to the topic at hand.

I still say that ignoring the people running the bong-shops selling cheap airsoft is the way to go. Ignoring meaning to avoid giving them publicity and not purchasing ANYTHING from them. The more of a separation we can drive between us and them the better.

I still say that a few set rules regarding age, proof of ID and a maybe informing the individual of the responsible use of airsoft with the possibility of fines against those retailers who flout the rules is the way to go. Put the responsibility on the individual.

you say make the retailer ask for id
    i say thats only introducable by a lisence

you say make the retailer ask for id
    i say thats only introducable by a lisence

No, its not.

Video stores are obliged to not provide 18's certificate films to anyone below that age. Videogame stores are required to do the same.

All you need to do is to have the law state that "the supply of airsoft devices to persons below the age of 16 years is subject to a fine of X and to persons over 16 but below 18 without parental consent is subject to a fine of Y".

No one really took the ERSB and Cert warnings seriously until a few years ago, now you see GAME ID'ing people for GTA all the time. Just try looking a little young and renting Basic Instinct in Xtravision. Actually, on that point, try sending your 14 year old cousin to buy you a playboy ... he'll be asked for ID and then refused.

i'm just happy he represents the forces of airsoft

No, its not.

Video stores are obliged to not provide 18's certificate films to anyone below that age. Videogame stores are required to do the same.
    video stores need a lisence
    i wrote that earlier

Master of the Universe

i'm just happy he represents the forces of airsoft

Yep. Just sit him down with some important officials, wind a few times and then bugger off for a few hours. Works a treat. :D

video stores need a lisence
    i wrote that earlier

No. They need a business lincense as far as I am aware. Much in the same way a mechanic or a plumber does.

Again, even if they need a specific license videogame stores have been fined in the past for not adhering to the ESRB ratings.

Actually, and I might be wrong about this, but dont TM, KJW and a bunch of other airsoft manufacturers print on the side of hte boxes "For Adult use only" or "Over 18's Only" or some such warning?

Edit: One other thing, this all assumes that Airsoft is under some kind of threat. I had hoped that the DoJ minutes would have made people feel more at ease.

No. They need a business lincense as far as I am aware. Much in the same way a mechanic or a plumber does.

Again, even if they need a specific license videogame stores have been fined in the past for not adhering to the ESRB ratings.

Actually, and I might be wrong about this, but dont TM, KJW and a bunch of other airsoft manufacturers print on the side of hte boxes "For Adult use only" or "Over 18's Only" or some such warning?

Edit: One other thing, this all assumes that Airsoft is under some kind of threat. I had hoped that the DoJ minutes would have made people feel more at ease.

the legislation to fine comes from the store first having to obtain a lisence from the censor
    ier the guy who puts the over 18s rulres on
    i know you don't wankt me to win and i wish it was as simple as saying "from now on over 18s only" but it aint
    try to come up with a rule thats got age restrictions for syupply without it being the law and a lisence to sell under that law
    i'm sure youre very good at what you do but i'm a retailer and i do know what i'm talking about

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/en/act/pub/0022/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

My God what have I started :eek:
    its like reading a thread over in the shooting board :p;)

~B

the legislation to fine comes from the store first having to obtain a lisence from the censor
    ier the guy who puts the over 18s rulres on
    i know you don't wankt me to win and i wish it was as simple as saying "from now on over 18s only" but it aint
    try to come up with a rule thats got age restrictions for syupply without it being the law and a lisence to sell under that law
    i'm sure youre very good at what you do but i'm a retailer and i do know what i'm talking about

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/en/act/pub/0022/index.html

Good for you.

Doesnt change two salient facts though.

1) Airsoft is not under any threat right now nor in the forseeable future.

2) Even if you do introduce the license for retailers, it will not stop the unlicensed sale of kit from market stalls, car-boot sales and quicky stuff from mobile phone shops and bong-shops.

You are probably right about the video shops. I wasnt aware that they required a license from the censor, but that to is a red herring because even though they are subject to fines etc garages still sell ciggies to kids, video stores still rent 18's flicks to minors etc.

All a license will do for airsoft is put a charge on the retailer (which will get passed on to us), create a beuraucracy in the government to cope with it (defeating the purpose of the inclusion of the 1joule section of the CJB2006), provide the grounds for further restrictions to be extended to the individual airsofter.

At present the government has no plans to legislate against Airsoft nor to change the law to specifically control them. It doesnt make sense to do so because it would require reclassification of the devices. Then you have the mess of trying to define exactly what an airsoft device is (which believe me is harder than you'd think).

While I understand the reasons you want to see tighter control, so do I, the answer is not licensing, it will create more problems than it solves.

bullets wrote: »
    My God what have I started :eek:
    its like reading a thread over in the shooting board :p;)

~B

Nah, no one is making broad statements blaming airsoft for the worlds ill's yet ;)