Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The (ongoing) Family Feud

• 25-04-2007 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭

Do ye actually know how it begun?
    Is it true that it was a fight in school between the two daughters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Yeah thats right. A playground fight between 2 scumbags who got their familys involved in it (common scumbag practice, since scumbags are inbred cowards who can't take a beating).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I suspect it is bull****. Urban rumour (I wont say legend, because that would give it too much credit)
    It has to be drugs.

Nope, it was reported in a number of papers with sources from the school confirming it. I sometimes wish they'd sterilise every scumbag in this city...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

yeah its true happened years ago though
    funny thing a lot of the people involved in the initial feud are all locked up or dead! the people involved in this"family feud" now aren't even family!

it has defo changed into a drug feud between two families and a lot of people in estates taking sides with either family.

it will all end in tears.:(

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Started like that, made worse by someone knocking down some girl from a rival family (accidently I think) iirc.

Usual crap. Someone did something to someone else. Except these guys didn't know when to quit. The original scobes are all dead or in jail. It's their kids and extended family continuing on.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think it all kicked off in St. Mary's school. A row between 2 girls. parents got involved, and a bottle was used to hit someone.

It all kicked off from there. Issues are now very different I'd imagine.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,614 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

It has been going on for ages now....the school incident was not the true beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Urban myth, has far more to do with money and drugs than any schoolyard fight, can't remember the specifics but someone rubbished that theory before.

no i'll think u'll find it did start that way and it just spiralled out of control then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

They are both settled traveller families no?
    Did it start before they settled maybe? Feuds are not uncommon amongst the travelling population, although they rarely spill out into the settled community. Maybe there was some original history there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Jumpy wrote:
    Did it start before they settled maybe? Feuds are not uncommon amongst the travelling population, although they rarely spill out into the settled community. Maybe there was some original history there.

has it really spilled out into the settled community though, most if not all of the fatalities have been members of one family or another.

Jumpy wrote:

settled travellers? maybe going back few generations.

another shooting in thomond gate. <snip> shot while travelling on a motorbike.

No names or initials please </mod edit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

It did not start that way. If that fight did in fact happen, it happened after the feud had begun. It is pure urban myth to say it started everything. Greed, money and drugs started the feud.

Anthony Galvins book Family Feud gives the full story from the beginning. Without naming names, it all began when 2 men, who had been partners, fell out because of greed. One of these men tried to murder the other outside a school but his gun jammed. This man then ended up getting gunned down in a pub in town. From then on it was tit-for-tat.

well that maybe
    but my source says that the daughters of the two main men who were controlling limericks drug trade had a small fight in school. one daughter got the better over the other and her father couldn't handle the slagging. and thus it spiralled from that tit for tat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭talkingclock

yayamark wrote:
    another shooting in thomond gate. <snip> shot while travelling on a motorbike. No names or initials please </mod edit>

RTE http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0426/limerick.html has named him as Noel Campion.

yayamark wrote:
    well that maybe
    but my source says that the daughters of the two main men who were controlling limericks drug trade had a small fight in school. one daughter got the better over the other and her father couldn't handle the slagging. and thus it spiralled from that tit for tat.

I remember reading about this fight in the papers and it was definitely after the shooting in the Moose. It makes more sense for the girls to be fighting over a shooting that had happened than for two fathers to be shooting at each other over a playground scrap between two girls.

I would believe a crime correspondent who puts it in writing ahead of your "source". As you said yourself most of those involved originally are either dead or behind bars so actually getting anyone to confirm this would be next to impossible.

yayamark wrote:
    well that maybe

The fight you speak of was referrenced in Paul Williams' book Crimelords. This fight between the two girls was pre-arranged, the school yard fight happened after the fatal road accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Tea Leaf

So what are they fighting over exactly? I thought Limerick was a quiet country town....

bucks73 wrote:
    II would believe a crime correspondent who puts it in writing ahead of your "source". As you said yourself most of those involved originally are either dead or behind bars so actually getting anyone to confirm this would be next to impossible.

but u don't know who my source is?

The fight you speak of was referrenced in Paul Williams' book Crimelords. This fight between the two girls was pre-arranged, the school yard fight happened after the fatal road accident.

what fatal road accident?

yayamark wrote:
    but u don't know who my source is?

True. But think about it. Originally two and then up to five families are drawn into a bloody feud which sees numerous murders, attempted murders, intimidation of witenesses, collapsed hearings, kidnappings, armed gardai on limerick streets and convictions all because two teenagers have a schoolyard squabble.

This was and is about one thing...drugs. If you believe anything else you are just being naive. Your source can say what they want but if they are anything to do with the families involved I wouldnt believe a word they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Tea Leaf wrote:
    So what are they fighting over exactly? I thought Limerick was a quiet country town....

No Limerick is the third most populated area in the republic.
    The greater area is about 100,000-120,000 (Which isn't much I suppose, but hey, we're a small country.)

Traditionally in Ireland, drugs came into the country by boat through Cork, and went from there to Limerick before been shipped to the rest of the country.

The whole feud thing has been ongoing for a number of years but only in very sporadic patches. There have been months without any kind of incident, and at one stage there were almost two years in between murders.
    I think in the 6 or so years of the feud there have been 8 or 9 murders (guess).

As for the starting of the feud, the fight in St Mary's had nothing to do with it.
    I knew some people in the school at the time, and it was common knowledge that the fight was going to take place, days before it happened.
    The shooting in the moose took place months beforehand I think.
    The fight took place because of the feud, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭irishproduce

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0426/campionn.html

I knew about this this morning before it happened. This was coming since last night

I had to drive a different direction through thomondgate this morning at about 10.15 as I knew something was up.

Wasn't there someone in another thread asking what was thomondgate like, he was buying a house or something? One of the houses in that picture there in the background is up for sale :D

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0426/campionn.html

I knew about this this morning before it happened. This was coming since last night

I had to drive a different direction through thomondgate this morning at about 10.15 as I knew something was up.

Wasn't there someone in another thread asking what was thomondgate like, he was buying a house or something? One of the houses in that picture there in the background is up for sale :D

do not think u could have done something about it so! maybe rang the gaurds.
    or is this person dead because u couldnt be bothered doing abything about it

how would the guards respond if you tell them you have seen "something" in your crystal ball?

To be honest, alot of this talk goes on down there.
    Alot of rumours and speculation, just this time something actually happened.

TBH I dont really care what they do to one another, let them wipe one another out, makes the place a little tidier.
    If thise animals have a gripe with one another let them settle it in a cage or something where they belong and not in the middle of a road firing bullets where there are quite a few old people living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

how would the guards respond if you tell them you have seen "something" in your crystal ball?

Obviously he didn't see it in his crystal ball but heard it from someone which i'm sure the gardai would listen to. Or even better i'm sure the dead guy would have taken the heads up seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

There are 2 things involved in this story that would make me ignore it:

1) As long as the scumbags are knocking each other off, and not the general public, there's no loss

2) As long as the media don't start hyping it all up again, there's no loss

Fingers crossed that if enough of these type bump each other off we'll be left with one "winner" whom the Gardai can lock up and the city can reach its potential without the usual reputation-draggers jumping on the bandwagon to have a go.

Liam Byrne wrote:

1) As long as the scumbags are knocking each other off, and not the general public, there's no loss

Fingers crossed that if enough of these type bump each other off we'll be left with one "winner" whom the Gardai can lock up and the city can reach its potential without the usual reputation-draggers jumping on the bandwagon to have a go.

What he said

Liam Byrne wrote:

When did they stop hyping it up?!:rolleyes: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

Well it sure $$$$$ up the traffic situation this morning ...... took me $$$$$ ages to get from Homebase to Ivans ..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Liam Byrne wrote:

I used to think like that, but your wrong with your first point. Gang members killing each is not a good thing, you swore if enough of them were killed then the problem would just go away. If there are more killings, there will be more hatred between familys and then more people will get involved which in turn will cause more violence etc

hobie wrote:
    Well it sure $$$$$ up the traffic situation this morning ...... took me $$$$$ ages to get from Homebase to Ivans ..... :(

Ya same here but I had to drive up through the thomondgate area. Its like something from NYC withh all the roads sectioned off with police tape

I used to think like that, but your wrong with your first point. Gang members killing each is not a good thing, you swore if enough of them were killed then the problem would just go away. If there are more killings, there will be more hatred between familys and then more people will get involved which in turn will cause more violence etc

Well, I didn't actually "swear" that, and I'm fully aware that it's an over-simplification; there's also a chance that some day an innocent bystander would be beside a scummy thug and the prick pulling the trigger wouldn't have a good aim, resulting in a genuine tragedy.

I mean, where would the north be now if all the terrorists from both sides had gone into a field and fought each other, instead of shooting and bombing innocent people ?

Despite all the media hype over the years where they slander our city, no-one innocent has been hurt or killed, unlike in Dublin. And those are the people that I view as important; anyone bringing a knife or gun into town, or selling drugs, deserves everything they get and we're better off without them. Wishful thinking and simplistic, yes, but in the absence of judicial support for the Gardai where thugs are put away for proper amounts of time, at least it's one way of having one less drug or gang leader around.

I can't help smiling smugly at the lack of the usual media ****e that accompanies stuff like this, though - I can only guess that it's because in the lead-up to this there was strong focus on the Dublin shooting in December, and the media finally realised that old adage of people in glasshouses.

there's also a chance that some day an innocent bystander would be beside a scummy thug and the prick pulling the trigger wouldn't have a good aim, resulting in a genuine tragedy QUOTE]

surely brian fitzgerald was an innocent bystander!

yayamark wrote:
    Liam Byrne wrote:
    there's also a chance that some day an innocent bystander would be beside a scummy thug and the prick pulling the trigger wouldn't have a good aim, resulting in a genuine tragedy

surely brian fitzgerald was an innocent bystander!

I can see your point, but that was not what LB meant.
    He was referring to somebody just walking down the street, and being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
    Brian Fitzgerald wasn't an accident.
    He was killed for a reason. He disagreed, and stood up to the scum, so they killed him.
    Maybe if we had a proper legal system and Garda presence he'd have been able to go to the Gardai and do something about it.
    He wasn't however, and sadly is no longer with us.

It is completely different however to the case of Anthony Campbell for instance, who was completely innocent, and unrelated to crime in any way.

I'm sure that is the kind of thing that LB was referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Gryzor

with this type of mentality...things will be along time changing...
    Meanwhile, city council workers were clearing up the remnants of bonfires lit in Southill and Ballinacurra West by people who took to the streets on Thursday night to celebrate Mr Campion’s murder.

from the exmainer

I was stunned at the angle taken in the Limerick Leader.....

Firstly, they mentioned a "busy city centre street", which to me implies someplace like O'Connell/William/Thomas/Roches St area.

Secondly, the opening paragraph described how it was "a young father of three".

Desciptions like that, inducing pathos in the reader, are fine if it's an innocent person, but didn't this guy have previous convictions, not to mention connections to the feud, etc, etc ?

Regarding the "innocent bystanders" comment; Karma clarified what I meant.

Yes, the Brian Fitzgerald incident should not be forgotten; it was possibly even more tragic and more of an indictment of law enforcement and sentencing that it implied that these scum can have their own way; in actual fact it should make us even more resolved to stand up to these scum so that it can never happen again.

But there is an underlying fact - Mr Fitzgerald, RIP (commendably and for the betterment of the community) got himself involved and should be remembered as a hero; my point, however, was that Limerick is not as dangerous as other places if you're not involved in anything, and the newspapers consistently fail to point this out.

But aside from that, the mention of Mr Fitzgerald was valid; maybe it is time that we stopped being defensive and got the whole city, as a unit, to stand up to these scum ? Not an individual, who then becomes a target, or as vigilantes, but the whole city - mayor, council, army, law enforcement and all 100+,000 of normal people ? Imagine all of that marching toward one of these thug's house in a unified stance against crime and drugs ?

Although given the bonfires, etc, I think the average IQ of the city is probably being adversely affected by those drugs, etc.

Liam Byrne wrote:
    Although given the bonfires, etc, I think the average IQ of the city is probably being adversely affected by those drugs, etc.

Was thinking that myself as well. From the Corbally/Grove Island Supervalue/Leisure Centre you could see alone 4 bonfires. That whole part of the city was covered in black fog. The lowlevel scum has even done two bonefires on Lock Quay (where the canal starts)! Then crossing Athlunkard Bridge you could see one in the Island Field. Well, I'm not surprised to see them there, what else can you expect from the lowlifes there, the other four coming from the Garryowen area (i guess). Some as big as if they burn the whole house...

Insane! Pure insanity!!! Put a roof over those parts of the city and you have Europes biggest nuthouse.

To be fair, tc, you'd have to get a good few people to leave first. I'm not one for tarnishing any entire area or population in one fell swoop. There are a lot of decent people in places like Moyross, many of whom have a far better community spirit than many of the yuppie SUV supposedly "better" areas.

Fact is, though, the people who'd be leaving those areas before you put on the roof are probably the ones that already want to leave because they know they're far too near the psychos, scum and idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

TBH I dont really care what they do to one another, let them wipe one another out, makes the place a little tidier.

While I agree with you on this point, It also raises the question.
    If these poeple if you can call them that start murdering each other
    and some how one side becomes totally dominant what will happen is they wont see Murder as a big deal or even think twice
    about starting to Murder anyone else that gets in their way or even annoys them. What could happen when they decide to start intimidating and pushing their weight around the place with the general public and see themselves as
    untouchable.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

bucks73 wrote:
    It did not start that way. If that fight did in fact happen, it happened after the feud had begun. It is pure urban myth to say it started everything. Greed, money and drugs started the feud.

Anthony Galvins book Family Feud gives the full story from the beginning. Without naming names, it all began when 2 men, who had been partners, fell out because of greed. One of these men tried to murder the other outside a school but his gun jammed. This man then ended up getting gunned down in a pub in town. From then on it was tit-for-tat.

Spot on, exactly how it all happend

Liam Byrne wrote:
    To be fair, tc, you'd have to get a good few people to leave first. I'm not one for tarnishing any entire area or population in one fell swoop. There are a lot of decent people in places like Moyross, many of whom have a far better community spirit than many of the yuppie SUV supposedly "better" areas.

You might be right. I've been a bit hot-heated yesterday seeing all the smoke and that...

What could happen when they decide to start intimidating and pushing their weight around the place with the general public and see themselves as
    untouchable.

Then the general public will have no other choice but to personally take care of removing these prime examples of human waste from our city....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Cardinal

DarkJager wrote:
    Then the general public will have no other choice but to personally take care of removing these prime examples of human waste from our city....

Oh yeah!? That'd be great. A bit of vigilantism is just what the city needs to promote the image of the city.

Well how far would you let them push you Cardinal??? I have no time for scumbags at all, and I'd happily teach any of them lesson or two if they started with me...

DarkJager wrote:
    Well how far would you let them push you Cardinal??? I have no time for scumbags at all, and I'd happily teach any of them lesson or two if they started with me...

and i'm there beside u with the numchucks, balaclava and a bottle of there own medicine! :mad:

DarkJager wrote:

I love this. You talk about not letting them push you around, but when was the last time you went to your local TD to try and effect change?

Getting the local populace kitted out like Chuck Norris is hardly the answer.

If you want to make a difference then you let your local politicians know what you want. If enough people around this country got up off their collective ar$es and did their talking with their voting then this problem could be curbed. If not stamped out completely.

Ireland is afflicted with a bad case of voter apathy.
    If enough people became vocal about it, then our politicians would be forced into doing something.

Plus it'd be a whole lot more effective than a Homer Simpsonesque vigilante mob!:rolleyes:

DarkJager wrote:

Don't be letting your keyboard fingers write cheques your fists can't cash.

The promotion of violent behaviour will not be tolerated here either. keep that in mind or there will be (proverbial) slaps handed out.

Ibut when was the last time you went to your local TD to try and effect change? ... If you want to make a difference then you let your local politicians know what you want. ... If enough people became vocal about it, then our politicians would be forced into doing something. .... Plus it'd be a whole lot more effective than a Homer Simpsonesque vigilante mob!:rolleyes:

You have a very romantic and sentimental view of our local polticians.

Who has allowed this to happen over the years? Who of yer local politicians was putting things in order between those gangs? The situation didn't came up suddenly from last Sunday night to Monday morning...