Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Krav Maga

• 15-06-2006 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭

Any of you Ninja heads know anything about krav maga

Anyone done the course, either the intensive 2 day course or the 12 week one.
    Is it worth doing? Use to do Tae kwan do as a teenager but have 2 plates in my arm now and don't fancy sparing with a weak spots in my arm so thought this would be more up my street. Looks more devious and sneaky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

waste of money in my opinion, you cannot learn how to defend yourself/fight in 2 days or 3 months once a week regardless of style trained

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ninjaburr

It has a good rep but anyone can set themselves up as a Grav teacher as they dont exactly hand out certificates signed "Israeli Secret Service".
    YOu might be interested in this though.
    " At the invitation of Kepap Ireland chief instructor Adrian Markey, Major Avi Nardia and Albert Timen, both ex-members of Israeli Special Forces will visit Ireland in a two day open seminar on 19-20 August.
    Contact 087-6758072 or kapapireland@eircom.net"
    from Irish Fighter.

Alternatively look out for people training in "Systema", but again though be wary of fakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

ninjaburr wrote:
    It has a good rep but anyone can set themselves up as a Grav teacher as they dont exactly hand out certificates signed "Israeli Secret Service".

Actually they can't !
    Certificates are handed out by they Israeli Government via the IKMF(International Krav Maga Federation) & WKMF(World Krav Maga Federation)
    but the certificate is actually with the Israeli Government's Department of Education.

All 4 Krav Maga instructors teaching in Ireland have this certificate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭goo

Last time I was in waterstones in Stephens Green they had a couple of books on it, there's a whole MA section so check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

I did a course in this. Highly recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Would highly recommend it myself, however, I would additionally stress the importance of continuing your training. What you learn in either 12 weeks or 2 days will be a lot, however, you will need to practice it. Finally, I agree with Im2lazy, the instructors in both organisations are for real, they have trained in Israel, and possess the certificates. Best of luck with it, and enjoy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I'd certainly recommend KM itself, and Patrick Cumiskey is a good teacher, but the courses are just way too expensive.

And I certainly wouldn't call KM sneaky, it's one of the most openly aggressive styles I've ever done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

KM can be good if trained properly.

its impossible to learn KM in a weekend.

If you looked at USA www.kravmaga.com you will
    not see any of this learn it in 24 hours bull.

I think KM is runied in Ireland over these weekened courses.

If would be different if trained like any other MA, where you take
    months and years to become good.

I trained in Israel (in fact did instructor course under IKMA), and when
    I showed them the KM i skills I had, they nearly laughed me out of the training hall, my skills were so poor, as compared to them.

and thats after 3 years in KM, and me helping teach many of these courses!
    (and I am also a 4th degree in mugendo kickboxing!!)

So if I standard was deemed to be poor by the israelis, imagine
    what sort of standard your paying big money for to be conned
    in Ireland.!!! its just not fair people are being deceived this way!

its time the truth be known of the KM.

You go train in Israel, or even Poland where there is a real
    high standard to KM, and what you see is totally different
    and miles ahead . These guys train so so hard. they would
    take your head off in any range...

Nobody learned to spar...not even once when I was involved
    in KM in Ireland. Thats the real test....is n't it?

If I were you I would save your money, join a good thai boxing
    club get the basics to punches, elbows, knees, down, learn to
    spar, and then buy Lee Morrision DVD on Combaticvs urbancombatives.com
    or geoff thompson geoffthompson.com , get a few tricks from them and you in business..

Im2Lazy wrote:
    Actually they can't !
    Certificates are handed out by they Israeli Government via the IKMF(International Krav Maga Federation) & WKMF(World Krav Maga Federation)
    but the certificate is actually with the Israeli Government's Department of Education.

All 4 Krav Maga instructors teaching in Ireland have this certificate.

Actually that is not all together accurte either.

To be a fully certified instructor as in listed with the Israeli government,
    you have to renew your instructors certification, each year..(or perhaps 2 years). That means going on a refreshed type course.

Now if a KM instructor, has not done this this, and gone back to renew
    their instructors certifiate, you might find that they are not offically qualified or certifed in a strict sense anymore.

For example, I was under massive pressure from Isreali KM to
    go back to isreal this summer to re certify myself.
    As I am in Thailand and have no interest in going, I will probably
    loose mine... not that I really care either way.

David Kahn who wrote the book on KM, has to go back
    to Israel every summer, and do part of the instructors
    course and get up and show he can teach, to remain certified.

Also the IKMF which is the most well known KM assoc, aside
    from them, there is several other KM assoc, and also several
    other "brands" of KM, which have broken away not only in Isreal
    but in the west also, like Krav Magen, Lothar, Haganna, Commado KM, etc etc etc....its all the same ****e really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Thanks for the replies lads. Is Krav Maga in Ireland just about making a few quid from these quick courses or is it possible to actually train regularly and advance your skills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Elytron wrote:
    . I'd question your motives for learning martial arts, I'd recommend you do taichi.

Nah, use to do tae kwan do but have two plates in my right arm now and it is a real weak spot when sparring. Just thought this looked more like something I could do without taking blows to the arm. Have no time for hippy forms of martial arts so tai chi doesn't appeal to me.

Would be open to suggestions of anything you think I might be able to compete in which doesn’t involve forearm blocks.

clown bag wrote:
    Thanks for the replies lads. Is Krav Maga in Ireland just about making a few quid from these quick courses or is it possible to actually train regularly and advance your skills.

You can train regularly after you have done either course.
    Krav Maga Ireland has a dedicated training facility next to Stephen's Green Shopping Centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭ShaneT

Im2Lazy wrote:
    You can train regularly after you have done either course.
    Krav Maga Ireland has a dedicated training facility next to Stephen's Green Shopping Centre.
    They do? I thought they had an old Church behind the Ambassador?

ShaneT wrote:
    They do? I thought they had an old Church behind the Ambassador?

Did have a gym not a church just off Fredrick street, up from the Amassador but have moved recently.

no sparring no punches taught. no throws, no locks.... if
    you ain't learning that, you ain't learning krav maga.

Im2Lazy wrote:
    Did have a gym not a church just off Fredrick street, up from the Amassador but have moved recently.
    Hard to keep up! :D Seems that Patrick moves around more often than I get haircuts.... :D

clown bag wrote:
    Use to do Tae kwan do as a teenager but have 2 plates in my arm now and don't fancy sparing with a weak spots in my arm so thought this would be more up my street. Looks more devious and sneaky.
    You might want to think about something along the lines of Aikido. There's a very steep learning curve and it'll be looooong while before reaching a standard that becomes applicable and useful BUT it wouldn't play hell with your arms.

Suggestions that involve full contact standup (Full Contact Karate, Thai etc) and/or grappling (Wrestling, Judo, Sub Grappling, BJJ etc) are unlikely to be wise (the forearms are used extensively for blocking and striking and HUGE amounts of pressure can be [and often is] applied to the forearms when grappling).

My suggestion, bite the bullet - accept the steep curve - and go for something along the lines of Aikido....

...only a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

i emailed this guy patrick , said i was serious about training in KM and didnt want to do the quick course but rather train full time in it, he said this was possible IF I DID THE REALLY OVERPRICED COURSES HE HAD FIRST

Read up on KM, its what im looking for a no-nonsense approach to SD, i practice karate by the way, i reckon id find it hard to be able to apply the set defence moves/rourines i know on the street as my attacker doesnt know the routine..............lol:)

Dont think we are getting scammed in the courses just ripped off, there is NO WAY you can justify that for a quick fix course its more confidence hes giving out(you believe you are trained as opposed to being able to apply it practically) than good solid SD, as its unlikely you will keep it up if you have no regular classes to go to!!!!!!!!
    If you dont/cant train regularly your skill drops, then one night your training is called upon and the guy with the knife/bottle etc WILL CREAM YOU

just an opinion btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

how much is the course anyway?

I was paying over 1000 euro a year paid in advance for supposedly "advanced training" for 3 years. I did not really get any...maybe a little the 1st year, then it dropped off and there was no advanced training. I ended up teaching on many of the courses for free...LOL...actually I was paying for it! I wish a smelt the coffee alot earlier, but I am kind of a good hearted lad, and tended to overlook these things at the time. :-)

You'd learn more in a month or two of good Thai Boxing, or www.mmaireland.com where a good hard class is about 5 - 6 euro a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

KM can be good if trained properly.

its impossible to learn KM in a weekend.

If you looked at USA www.kravmaga.com you will
    not see any of this learn it in 24 hours bull.

I think KM is runied in Ireland over these weekened courses.

If would be different if trained like any other MA, where you take
    months and years to become good.

I trained in Israel (in fact did instructor course under IKMA), and when
    I showed them the KM i skills I had, they nearly laughed me out of the training hall, my skills were so poor, as compared to them.

and thats after 3 years in KM, and me helping teach many of these courses!
    (and I am also a 4th degree in mugendo kickboxing!!)

So if I standard was deemed to be poor by the israelis, imagine
    what sort of standard your paying big money for to be conned
    in Ireland.!!! its just not fair people are being deceived this way!

its time the truth be known of the KM.

You go train in Israel, or even Poland where there is a real
    high standard to KM, and what you see is totally different
    and miles ahead . These guys train so so hard. they would
    take your head off in any range...

Nobody learned to spar...not even once when I was involved
    in KM in Ireland. Thats the real test....is n't it?

If I were you I would save your money, join a good thai boxing
    club get the basics to punches, elbows, knees, down, learn to
    spar, and then buy Lee Morrision DVD on Combaticvs urbancombatives.com
    or geoff thompson geoffthompson.com , get a few tricks from them and you in business..

So you keep saying Millionaire - on and on and on like a broken record with a posse of supporters who back up every word you say.

1: You say it can't be learned in a weekend and PK is a crap instructor... but Aidan is good - yet doesn't he structure his lessons in exactly the same bloody training schedules as Patrick?

2: We don't all have time to sit on a forum all day whining about someone who doesn't train people the way we'd like them to and then train every night for 7 nights a week. Some of us have jobs to do, kids to raise, places to go, people to meet! We want the 2 day intensive course. And some of us have enough savvy to probably learn something from the 2 day course too! I've only looked through this site to read relevant KM articles and all I've seen is you jump on every one of them and whinge.... is that your special attack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

I was paying over 1000 euro a year paid in advance for supposedly "advanced training" for 3 years.

Jasus! That's a lot of bread... Rip off Ireland eh? :)

While I was at Lee's workshop I was working with a Krav Maga guy, he was telling me that his instructors charge up to 150 sterling an hour for private tuition. More fool anyone who pays that type of cash. No wonder he wants to become an instructor.... $$$$$ :)

I've trained with some of the top CQC guys in the UK, and they don't charge any where near that amount. If anything I feel they under charge their students (hey... I'm not going to complain though;) ).

How many of these KM guys have had full blown experience? ie - military,law enforcement, door work etc. (Now I know Aiden Carroll has so I'm not including him here). I'm not criticizing any one here, as I don't now any one else's back ground. So I'm just asking a question. Personally I would not train with anyone that has not had a shed load of real life experience - but that's just me.

Just as an after thought... My personal view on weekend courses is that.

1) Yes you will learn something if the material is good, however it will be more on the soft skills side of things (Awareness, observation, when to use a preemptive strike, etc).

2)Yep you can learn some basic strikes and defenses, etc. but will they work under pressure after a couple of hours training? I doubt it. As Odysseus said; you must continue training to get the benefits.

To me, Weekend courses just open a door, but then you have to walk through it. It's not a magic solution to self-protection - you got to put the time in.

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

Baggio... wrote:

Personally I would not train with anyone that has not had a shed load of real life experience - but that's just me.

B.
    well i cant say i feel the same there mate, i feel if the instruction is good and the training is good and solid, then the trainers personal life is illrelevant.
    but im not talking about someone creating a system of combat based on what works and what doesnt, experience is everything there.

and who007, mil. makes a fair point and knows what he is talking about.
    peace out:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭cletus

hey, with regards to the plates in your arm, i have a plate in my right arm, and i train bjj, and a some mma, and apart from the occasional twinge (taking a kick directly on the spot, for instance) it doesn't affect me. How long have the plates been in? If they've been there a while and the arm is very weak I'd suggest you have it looked at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

If you want to do something practical, I think you need to put time into it no matter what art it is. You can't possibly learn much in 2 days and remember it or become proficient at it.

Bruce Lee said he doesn't fear than man who practices 1000 moves, but fears the man who practices one move 1000 times (paraphrased).. This is kind of fitting here. Repetition is needed for anything. Soccer, martial arts, bunny hop racing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kravist

who007 wrote:
    So you keep saying Millionaire - on and on and on like a broken record with a posse of supporters who back up every word you say.

1: You say it can't be learned in a weekend and PK is a crap instructor... but Aidan is good - yet doesn't he structure his lessons in exactly the same bloody training schedules as Patrick?

2: We don't all have time to sit on a forum all day whining about someone who doesn't train people the way we'd like them to and then train every night for 7 nights a week. Some of us have jobs to do, kids to raise, places to go, people to meet! We want the 2 day intensive course. And some of us have enough savvy to probably learn something from the 2 day course too! I've only looked through this site to read relevant KM articles and all I've seen is you jump on every one of them and whinge.... is that your special attack?

Couldn't agree more!!
    Gerry, you're going on a bit about the bad start KM has had in Ireland, point made and please move on from it!!! Just get over it. Your having a negative effect on the development of the system you claim to respect.

Youve mentioned www.kravmaga.com not having any claims about learning to defend yourself in 24 hours, however on other posts you accuse the same outfit of turning the system into a McDojo type of operation more focussed on seperating you from your money.

Youve also described the various KM organisations on this post as all teaching the same ***te..but on other threads you go on about too many techniques in some organisations, and how commando krav maga is the best....it's all been narrowed down to 6- 7 techniques etc etc....yet, and correct me if i'm wrong, you've never actually trained with them!!!
    YOU'VE NEVER TRAINED WITH THE IKMF!!! PLEASE DO...THEN GET BACK ON BOARDS!!

As for people who only train with those with real life experiences, i have to say, im curious where you might learn your gun defences?

I've said it before, KM is in it's infancy here in Ireland. As such the best way to bring it to the people is through weekend seminars located throughout the country. If people haven't the intelligence to cop onto the fact that they will not become Bruce Lee or Eyal Yanilow over the course of a weekend then maybe they deserve what they get.

Apart from that, only a handful can avail of regular classes as quite simply, there aren't enough instructors. Mind you, the way Mill goes on about it, there aren't likely to be many more...Come to think of it, why am i complaining????? I should be making a mint!! Keep it up Gerry!! lol

What also needs clarification about the system is it's intentions. Krav Maga does not set out to do many of the things percieved about the system here on boards.
    It is a self defence system! Of which, observation etc are an integral part.
    For those who nag on and on about sparring..i agree it does have it's value. However..the vast majority of fights don't last more that 20 seconds. What therefore is the point in training 10x2 minute rounds???
    Krav Maga prepares for what might happen in reality....not under the observation of a referee, in a ring, with rules etc.

With regard to the certification of Instructors....you dont need to travel to Israel, but certification is not yet possible here in Ireland. One can go to the UK, Poland and other places globally, keep an eye on the IKMF website for details.

Yes you have to attend instructor training to keep up your qualification which is why it's always best to train with a recognised instructor, again go to the IKMF website for links towards finding a recognised instructor in your area.

Krav Maga in Ireland is not about making a few quid!!!! You can train regualry with me in Castelbar, or is it a case that if it's not in Dublin it doesn't exist?? I recognise Dubliners don't travel well, NO score in ther second half in McHale Park last Sunday against Mayo..but lads, as i said to Gerry, GET OVER IT!! lol

i think the biggest prob. some people have with it(myself included), is the lack of regular classes.

kravist wrote:
    As for people who only train with those with real life experiences, i have to say, im curious where you might learn your gun defenses?

Well, since you asked - the gun disarms originally came from the likes of Fairbairn and Applegate - who did actually used them during their careers (remember the SMP and WWII?). There were also field reports that came back from the front lines.

Now when it comes to knives, guys like Lee Morrison, have had a lot of experiance. So who better to learn from?

Perhaps you could tell me, while were on the subject, what's wrong with wanting to train with people who have had a lot of "live" experience? Again it's my personal preference, I'm not asking you to do it.

Also as I have had three years on the door, I feel that I have had a small bit of experience, so hopefully I could pass this to any potential student.

You may have thought I was having a pop at P. Cumskey; I don't know the man or anything about him (for all I know he could be an ex-special forces ninja). If I have criticized KM in the past it's because of material that I have seen, and not about any particular person. As I have said in the past, I didn't like some of the techs he demo'd on TV am - I still stand by that statement. I've always felt that they would never work under pressure and were highly compliant.

Point well made..but consider this..in a modern world, who better to train.... gun defences/knives, baseball attacks or if you want to take it even further ..counter terrorism ...... than with the Israelis?
    There's nothing wrong with wanting to train with people with live experience!
    But remember..because one may not have live experience..it doesn't degrade the quality of instruction. "Those who can do, those who cant teach".
    Did you ever consider the reason they didn't have "live experience" was because they tactfully avoided the confrontation??
    I recognise youre not asking me to do it, and frankly, i couldnt care how you train, that's completly up to yourself!, ie: train with people with live experiences.
    For the record, i too have worked the door in my time. (And will readily admit to being one of the worst bouncers in the History of the profession.) But, we never had trouble.
    Your criticism of KM seems to be based on what you've seen...so to clarify..you've never actually trained the system!!
    You're baseing judgement on what you've seen on TV AM......lmao...actually..still lmao....i expected better!
    I never thought you were having a pop at PC. Leave that to Gerry..he's better than anyone at that..!!!..lol

Kravist,

I don't doubt that the Israeli's are experienced. That was never in question at all. But you were asking where some of my training came from so I just simply pointed out it originated from the battle field. So it's not really a tit or tat argument...so I'm confused by you're response. Do I think the Israeli's are the best or most experience hand to hand guys in the world. No not really...

Now I don't just judge Krav Maga against a 15 second technique shown on TV am - that would be sheer ignorance on my part. I've seen a hell of a lot of Krav DVDs, and talked and trained with KM guys, so I feel I have some understanding of the subject. Some of it I like and some I don't. But that's the same as any system, right? There's a lot of pseudo combatives guys out there at the moment. So you simply take what you want and leave the rest.
    However when I train with guys like Lee I like pretty much like everything they do. So that's grand for my training.

Would I go down and train Krav Maga - not really... Although I would like to train along side such guys as Avi Nardia, Amir Perets, Aiden Carroll, Millionaire, etc. I don't rubbish it as a style (not sure where you got that idea from), but I wont worship it either, as a lot of people do now days.

I hear that augment a lot - "he's such a great instructor that he's always avoided violence". I'm not saying that you can't be good teacher while having little or no experience. And most people would subscribe to that - Which is fine... That said - for me, I'd prefer someone to have had a lot of "live experience" so they can pass on their knowledge and experience.

And it's the same for sport - If I wanted to be a good boxer I'd want to train with a guy who had fought many times in the ring. And that goes for whatever style you like. I guess I think of it in these simple terms - If I had a mate who knew how to fly a plane, but had never actually flown one would you be comfortable on his first flight? or would you prefer to fly with an experienced pilot with many hours of flight time. "It's not comparable", I hear you say... well to me it is, as I think teaching people how to defend against blades, multiple assailants, nasty b'stards is a very serious subject.

Interestingly enough I couldn't find a Combatives guy that was not experienced if even I wanted too :). Well, ones that I'd want to train with anyway. They all seem to have had vocations that have involved some kind of violence, whether it's on he Battlefield, law enforcement or door work, etc. Remember when you is involved with that type of background you can't always avoid trouble. When I was on the door 99% of the time you could always talk your way out of things, which is great and the way it should be, However, there is always going to be one or two guys who just wont listen and just want a fight because they have had a bad day.

That's just my take...

B.

Baggio... wrote:
    Kravist,

I don't doubt that the Israeli's are experienced. That was never in question at all. But you were asking where some of my training came from so I just simply pointed out it originated from the battle field. So it's not really a tit or tat argument...so I'm confused by you're response. Do I think the Israeli's are the best or most experience hand to hand guys in the world. No not really...

Now I don't just judge Krav Maga against a 15 second technique shown on TV am - that would be sheer ignorance on my part. I've seen a hell of a lot of Krav DVDs, and talked and trained with KM guys, so I feel I have some understanding of the subject. Some of it I like and some I don't. But that's the same as any system, right? There's a lot of pseudo combatives guys out there at the moment. So you simply take what you want and leave the rest.
    However when I train with guys like Lee I like pretty much like everything they do. So that's grand for my training.

Would I go down and train Krav Maga - not really... Although I would like to train along side such guys as Avi Nardia, Amir Perets, Aiden Carroll, Millionaire, etc. I don't rubbish it as a style (not sure where you got that idea from), but I wont worship it either, as a lot of people do now days.

I hear that augment a lot - "he's such a great instructor that he's always avoided violence". I'm not saying that you can't be good teacher while having little or no experience. And most people would subscribe to that - Which is fine... That said - for me, I'd prefer someone to have had a lot of "live experience" so they can pass on their knowledge and experience.

And it's the same for sport - If I wanted to be a good boxer I'd want to train with a guy who had fought many times in the ring. And that goes for whatever style you like. I guess I think of it in these simple terms - If I had a mate who knew how to fly a plane, but had never actually flown one would you be comfortable on his first flight? or would you prefer to fly with an experienced pilot with many hours of flight time. "It's not comparable", I hear you say... well to me it is, as I think teaching people how to defend against blades, multiple assailants, nasty b'stards is a very serious subject.

Interestingly enough I couldn't find a Combatives guy that was not experienced if even I wanted too :). Well, ones that I'd want to train with anyway. They all seem to have had vocations that have involved some kind of violence, whether it's on he Battlefield, law enforcement or door work, etc. Remember when you is involved with that type of background you can't always avoid trouble. When I was on the door 99% of the time you could always talk your way out of things, which is great and the way it should be, However, there is always going to be one or two guys who just wont listen and just want a fight because they have had a bad day.

That's just my take...

B.

Baggio
    1.no one is asking you to train Krav Maga...your choice what you train.
    2. Im equally confused by your response so i'll opt out of the tit for tat arguement on whose the best, gun defences etc. It could go on forever.
    3. Every system has its faults and failings..i agree, take what you want from each.
    4. You've never seen a Combatives guy without experience..this is based on the level you train at. Train with the likes of Lee..i accept that. However the guys he thereafter trains to be instructors..how experienced are they?? In every system there are steps of the ladder, the higher you go..the more Live Experience you'll get. Perhaps everyone involved in Urban Combatives has live experience, but i couldn't help but notice an insinuation (perhaps incorrectly) that various Krav Maga instructors have no Live Experience!..Please clarify!
    What are you looking for..boasts/scars?
    To brag is not the Krav Maga way!

I've seen Roger Gracie train first hand in his Gracie Barra gym , Ladbrook grove London...yet i wouldn't claim to have a full/good understanding of BJJ.

You base your judgement of Krav Maga on a couple of DVD's and a low level instructor (G2..i think!) you saw on TV AM..that to me is pathetic.

and that's just my take.

kravist wrote:
    Baggio
    2. Im equally confused by your response so i'll opt out of the tit for tat arguement on whose the best, gun defences etc. It could go on forever.
    3. Every system has its faults and failings..i agree, take what you want from each.
    4. You've never seen a Combatives guy without experience..this is based on the level you train at. Train with the likes of Lee..i accept that. However the guys he thereafter trains to be instructors..how experienced are they?? In every system there are steps of the ladder, the higher you go..the more Live Experience you'll get. Perhaps everyone involved in Urban Combatives has live experience, but i couldn't help but notice an insinuation (perhaps incorrectly) that various Krav Maga instructors have no Live Experience!..Please clarify!
    What are you looking for..boasts/scars?

I've seen Roger Gracie train first hand in his Gracie Barra gym , Ladbrook grove London...yet i wouldn't claim to have a full/good understanding of BJJ.

You base your judgement of Krav Maga on a couple of DVD's and a low level instructor (G2..i think!) you saw on TV AM..that to me is pathetic.

and that's just my take.

soo..what is baggios opinion?
    short weekend courses wont stand alone so ya need to keep the training up?
    well whatever he basing it on (dvds or watever) it makes sence to me.

do ya agree?:)

kravist wrote:

Not sure how to respond to that except to say - obviously...
    kravist wrote:
    4. You've never seen a Combatives guy without experience..this is based on the level you train at.

Did you read my previous post? I said "that I wish to train with" (and just to clarify for you - I was referring to CQC here and not KM).

I never said that there were no inexperienced CQC guys out there, of course there are. I never implied that KM instructors were inexperienced either. It's like every system out there - Some guys have experience... Some guys don't. Just look at guys (that I mentioned before, if you bothered to read my post) Avi Nardia, Amir Perets, etc. I'd say that have some experience wouldn't you?:D So I was not really insinuating that KM instructors had no experience... Can't speak for many of the Irish instructors, 'cause I only know one or two (who both have experience btw).

You also seem to imply that I think I'm some Combatives guru - I'm not, I still have a lot to learn.
    kravist wrote:

Again, did you read my previous post?:rolleyes: Look closer... I never said that I judged Krav Maga on a set of DVDs. You seem to be putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5 (as per usual).
    kravist wrote:

Priceless.... :D
    kravist wrote:

Exactly - so what are we arguing for then?

kravist wrote:
    but i couldn't help but notice an insinuation (perhaps incorrectly) that various Krav Maga instructors have no Live Experience!..Please clarify!

You've answered this yourself by the words "perhaps incorrectly" - I'll say it again just to be sure; I never said that ALL KM instructors had no experience. SOME don't - just like ANY OTHER SYSTEM out there including CQC/Combatives.

SorGan wrote:
    soo..what is baggios opinion?
    short weekend courses wont stand alone so ya need to keep the training up?
    well whatever he basing it on (dvds or watever) it makes sence to me.

do ya agree?:)

I think one should base their opinions on the amount of work they've done in a particular system..not on hearsay or dvd's.
    But isn't that obvious??

Baggio... wrote:

Again, did you read my previous post?:rolleyes: Look closer... I never said that I judged Krav Maga on a set of DVDs. You seem to be putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5 (as per usual).

Yes i did read your previous posts..you mentioned what youve seen on dvd's and chatting to a few guys who trained Krav Maga.
    so....can you clarify then..on what do you base your opinion of Krav Maga???

"2 and 2 together and getting 5 (as per usual).":D ..lmao..nice touch ..the brackets!!

kravist wrote:
    Baggio... wrote:
    Yes i did read your previous posts..you mentioned what youve seen on dvd's and chatting to a few guys who trained Krav Maga.so....can you clarify then..on what do you base your opinion of Krav Maga???

Hmm... I think were running into semantic problem here. I swore to myself I would not longer get into these elongated discussions or arguments :).

So all sarcasm aside... "What do you think my views on KM actually are?"

I don't really know what more to say on the subject. Some of it I like some I don't...For example, there is very little pre-emption addressed in some variants of KM. That said, the guys at "Tactical Krav Maga" have re-addressed this issue and strive to strike first. So what I've seen from those guys I like. They also use a lot of "situational control" - which is great. :)

But you seem to be more concerned about how I'm judging KM in the first place. Well, I've never trained in the system per se (as I've previously stated). I can only make an opinion from what I've seen, read and heard (as the way most people form conclusions). I've also been shown some moves by instructors that I have met with at seminars, etc. I also try to always have an open mind - so if I was to train with some KM guy and I really liked his stuff I would take the info on board. Or if I was wrong about an aspect of a certain system I'd be first to admit it.

However, I feel that I have to hammer home this point yet again. There is good and bad in every system out there. Take what you need, absorb it and leave the rest. Notice I say "every system" in no way do I single out KM in any way.

So what are we arguing for again??:confused:

PS - I'd be interested to hear another KM instructors opinion if they felt I was victimizing their art.

SorGan wrote:

and who007, mil. makes a fair point and knows what he is talking about.
    peace out:D

That's fair enough SorGan, but it only takes one person askin a question about it and Mil is all over the post like a jealous/bitter ex! Got really annoying after a while.... and my point about his exalting Aidan over Patrick stands... they both use the same 2 day/10 or 12 week training format so he can't exactly say the training doesn't work with one cos of the limited time and then say it does for the other!:cool:

who007 wrote:

No KM cannot be learned in a weekend.. I am now doubled qualified as a KM instructor....1st under Israeli KM Assoc and 2nd just qualifed under Tactical Krav Maga. (which is a full contact pressure tested version, as developed by Itay Gil, who served in and trained hands on SWAT units such as Yaman for many years.... and is one of the preferred versions of KM as used by fighting units who are in the field daily, under cover work etc..so their skills have to be top notch).

If you think you can learn KM in 2 days and defend yourself...you are being totally deceived with false information and BS. Also nothing is pressure tested, until you get in some hardcore pressure testing, I am sorry to say to you... you have not a clue what KM or Self Defence really is. if your happy to "buy" your confidence in your self defence abilites through a weekend course....well good luck to you...but I am going to keep posting, until I get across to people in ireland what is proper KM, and what is being mis-representated as KM.

kravist wrote:
    YOU'VE NEVER TRAINED WITH THE IKMF!!! PLEASE DO...THEN GET BACK ON BOARDS!!

Well, you know I am not an IKMF instructor... but I did spend close to 3 years under someone who is/was ??? is supposed to be an IKMF instructor?!??? ...so does that mean that me or you (before you did IKMF instructor course)....did we do IKMF KM...or not??? :confused:

If we were trainee barristers, that would be a good motion to argue back and forth....

No, for record, I did not train in all KM systems....but I did alot of looking (with over 23 years martial arts experience, not to mention actual real world situations etc), I would have a certain level of judgement as to what might be good or not...

What suits my personal style and interests, is the Tactical KM, i just finished instructor course under.... i like the full contact pressure testing, and the total stripping down of technique. The guy I trained under, was IKMF top guy in Australia before he changed over...he has nothing bad to say about IKMF either.... he just prefers this method Tactical KM.

Still, I believe in cross training...and Muay Thai, trained with KM, puts you into a different league table of conditioning and ability...plus now I am adding grappling to my tool box...which should take about 12 months or more to get the basics down...the time spent will be worth it in the end.

I will show you my new web site when done in a few weeks.

Cheers

Gerry

No KM cannot be learned in a weekend.. I am now doubled qualified as a KM instructor....1st under Israeli KM Assoc and 2nd just qualifed under Tactical Krav Maga. (which is a full contact pressure tested version, as developed by Itay Gil, who served in and trained hands on SWAT units such as Yaman for many years.... and is one of the preferred versions of KM as used by fighting units who are in the field daily, under cover work etc..so their skills have to be top notch).

If you think you can learn KM in 2 days and defend yourself...you are being totally deceived with false information and BS. Also nothing is pressure tested, until you get in some hardcore pressure testing, I am sorry to say to you... you have not a clue what KM or Self Defence really is. if your happy to "buy" your confidence in your self defence abilites through a weekend course....well good luck to you...but I am going to keep posting, until I get across to people in ireland what is proper KM, and what is being mis-representated as KM.

Didn't say I was gonna learn it in a weekend - I implied I was a busy person with a job and kids and want to learn a few easily remembered SD techniques... that's all! I don't have the time or inclination to devote every spare hour to training for SD. BUT, I am athletic and have a brain so I'm sure I will be able to internalise 3 or 4 tips/tricks over a weekend....

PS I'm sorry to say - I do have a good idea what KM and SD is and never said it could be learned in a weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

I will show you my new web site when done in a few weeks.
    looking forward to that ger ;)

Baggio...fair enough, i agree with the the conclusion that we experience difficulties here. i see things slightly differently than you so i'll leave it there.
    However..i need my last little dig....Does that mean you plan on contradicting everything i write on boards? (see other threads for examples)

Mill.....fair enough also..i couldnt be bothered with a back and forth arguement..but rather than going on and on about the start KM got in Ireland......can you change the record?

kravist wrote:
    However..i need my last little dig....Does that mean you plan on contradicting everything i write on boards? (see other threads for examples)

Not at all... In fact you made some good points in one or two earlier threads. However, I felt that you didn't really read my posts properly, and perhaps just jumped in a little bit too quickly, when in reality we were pretty much in agreement on quite a number of things.

kravist wrote:
    Mill.....fair enough also..i couldnt be bothered with a back and forth arguement..but rather than going on and on about the start KM got in Ireland......can you change the record?

also long as people are not being deceived about KM or given substandard training in poor KM, and they get real live fighting as part of the training and pressuring testing against a training partner who is going to take your head off for real...then I will rest in peace.

That's a fair point too Mill...

but you can learn effective self defence techniques within an hour at a Combatives class? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

who007 wrote:
    but you can learn effective self defence techniques within an hour at a Combatives class? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    round and round..
    its only effective if kept up long term, can we all just agree on that..

who007 wrote:

No you cannot. So whats your point?

But I got 23 years, of many hours a week, 100s of rounds of hard sparring, and a few real life street situations behind me, so I guess, my standard would pass around the average level. :rolleyes:

Anyway, you must have Grand Master ranking in Martial Arts the way you pontificate on here.

No you cannot. So whats your point?

But I got 23 years, of many hours a week, 100s of rounds of hard sparring, and a few real life street situations behind me, so I guess, my standard would pass around the average level. :rolleyes:

Anyway, you must have Grand Master ranking in Martial Arts the way you pontificate on here.

Previous quote from you Millionaire:
    combatives is very simple, and is designed to be learned very fast...so within an hour you will have picked something up that will be useful for self defence.

No, I'm no martial arts expert at all!
    Can you explain what you mean by the way I "pontificate on here"?

You have a lot to say in very negative ways about KM and tend to contradict yourself about your attitude to KM/Combatives/2 day courses/etc... I'm not gonna go giving a load of examples right now, cos though it might not seem like it, I'm not really interested in getting into a tit for tat. Sometimes I just react without putting much thought into it. Then again, what's a forum for?

And the ":rolleyes: " is a bit condescending