Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you support the riots and why

• 28-02-2006 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭

OK Boards is full of boards giving out about the riots. But I have yet to see someone post that they think it was right to go in a kick the sh*t out of gardai and burn out cars so is there anyone here who actually was there for the riot.

PLEASE if you want to give out about them this is NOT the thread for you, I want to see the mentality behind this 'scum'. If you are that passionate about it you wont mind posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

dbnavan wrote:
    There is so many Love Ulster threads going on at the moment, is there anyway of putting them altogether or asking for no more threads to be opened on it, while I think the discussions are good, I am involved in a few of them, its just hard keeping track and then every so often a new one pops up.

eh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well....

sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do!

That's all I'm sayin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

I knew someone would pick up on that.... but this is different to all other threads, all others give out about it. I want to see who supported it.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Well....

sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do!

That's all I'm sayin...

Yea nobody will admit to it, cause they knew it was wrong, really showing conviction in your beliefs there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

The only thing different about this thread is the title.

fade2black wrote:
    The only thing different about this thread is the title.

No its not all other threads are people giving out about it, this thread is not was it right or was it wrong, or......wait I have cool video i took with my phone.

I want to see who actually supported it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

No, I did not support the riots, because there was nothing to support.

I don’t mean to side track but this has really been bugging me - having read the coverage of the 'riots' in the national newspapers, I was appalled to see terms such as 'thug republicans', 'republican hooligans', 'scum bag republicans', 'thug sinn fein supporters' - used over and over again.

There was no 'belief' behind the riot as those rioting (or at least the majority) hold no loyalty to anything or anyone. The papers are right to describe the rioters as thugs, hooligans and scumbags, but they are wrong to associate them with any political party or movement.
    To be honest, I feel such an association is to place to important and emphasis on them.
    These 'scumbags' took advantage of a situation, and it just so happened that the 'love Ulster protest' was the situation that gave them the opening to run riot.
    Had the protest have been against any other political movement, and it was publicised in the press that it was thought that not enough security planning had been put in place, and that it was most likely that chaos would rein, then these same scum bags would have rioted in this same way/

Basically, what I am saying is, they did not riot for a cause, or though loyalty, or through actual protest - they cared nothing for history, or actual political beliefs - they cared only for carnage, and that is exactly what they caused.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

I doubt you will get any replies, the people who rioted are anti-establishment. Hence why Gardai/Fire and Ambulance were all attacked. Even Charlie Bird who represents RTE.

Most of those who rioted would not have access to clean household conditions, nevermind internet access.

All are probably in or have been in custody since for theft, public order offences etc etc.

They are the scum of dublin who get arrested weekly and in some cases numerous times weekly, who took their opportunity to take it out on the Gardai.

"Normal" poeple did get involved but that was purely a characteristic of a mob scene, people who wouldnt normally take part in that kind of activity got involved purely because they could. they were not acting as individuals but as part of a mob.

Interesting to see if any "normal" people will post here.

No, I did not support the riots, because there was nothing to support.

I don’t mean to side track but this has really been bugging me - having read the coverage of the 'riots' in the national newspapers, I was appalled to see terms such as 'thug republicans', 'republican hooligans', 'scum bag republicans', 'thug sinn fein supporters' - used over and over again.

There was no 'belief' behind the riot as those rioting (or at least the majority) hold no loyalty to anything or anyone. The papers are right to describe the rioters as thugs, hooligans and scumbags, but they are wrong to associate them with any political party or movement.
    To be honest, I feel such an association is to place to important and emphasis on them.
    These 'scumbags' took advantage of a situation, and it just so happened that the 'love Ulster protest' was the situation that gave them the opening to run riot.
    Had the protest have been against any other political movement, and it was publicised in the press that it was thought that not enough security planning had been put in place, and that it was most likely that chaos would rein, then these same scum bags would have rioted in this same way/

Basically, what I am saying is, they did not riot for a cause, or though loyalty, or through actual protest - they cared nothing for history, or actual political beliefs - they cared only for carnage, and that is exactly what they caused.

Silly no offence but this is more suited to one of the other boards, as stated in opening topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

dbnavan wrote:
    I want to see the mentality behind this 'scum'. If you are that passionate about it you wont mind posting.

They are simply passionate about any violence, it had nothing to do with politics, it was a bunch of scumbags and vandals and thieves. Who in their right mind is going to say "it was right to burn out cars", nobody in their right mind.
    have yet to see someone post that they think it was right to go in a kick the sh*t out of gardai and burn out cars so is there anyone here who actually was there for the riot.
    I have yet to see somebody anywhere come up with a reasonable argument to kick the **** out of a grandmother and rape her. There are no reasonable arguments so you will be waiting a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭patzer117

what about people who supported the protest against the march and themselves would have tried to prevent the loyalists marching - thus distancing yourself from the rioters but saying you would happily have rioted legitimately? any of those? i know at least one in real life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

dbnavan wrote:
    Silly no offence but this is more suited to one of the other boards, as stated in opening topic.

So only people who agree with the riots are allowed post? Gonna be a very short thread. Surely the point of these things is to open a debate type situation? What if someone does come on and say 'Yeah, I supported it - sure it was me breaking that BMW up!'?! Is no one allowed to say anything? Get your point staight in your head before you inflict it on anyone else :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

dbnavan wrote:
    I knew someone would pick up on that.... but this is different to all other threads, all others give out about it. I want to see who supported it.

anyone with more than half a brain cell would not have supported this :rolleyes:

connundrum wrote:
    So only people who agree with the riots are allowed post? Gonna be a very short thread. Surely the point of these things is to open a debate type situation? What if someone does come on and say 'Yeah, I supported it - sure it was me breaking that BMW up!'?! Is no one allowed to say anything? Get your point staight in your head before you inflict it on anyone else :rolleyes:

AS stated

PLEASE if you want to give out about them this is NOT the thread for you

Mods close it, this aint going the way it was planned I just shot myself in the foot ~ouch~

Beruthiel wrote:
    anyone with more than half a brain cell would not have supported this :rolleyes:

I agree but must have been a fair few hundred half brain cells running around dublin last saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

dbnavan wrote:
    AS stated

PLEASE if you want to give out about them this is NOT the thread for you

Mods close it, this aint going the way it was planned I just shot myself in the foot ~ouch~

Sure why not leave it open and allow people discuss the event?
    I feel it is important to define the actual motive behind the rioting.

Was it an actual political protest? Or was it local scum bags taking advantage of a situation and causing carnage?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Was it an actual political protest?

no it wasn't
    if you went there to protest against orange men and actually felt strongly about it, why would you turn around and take it out on your fellow irish citizens, costing them millions in the process?

Or was it local scum bags taking advantage of a situation and causing carnage?

yup
    there are quite a few brain dead scum living in ireland

Sure why not leave it open and allow people discuss the event?
    I feel it is important to define the actual motive behind the rioting.

Was it an actual political protest? Or was it local scum bags taking advantage of a situation and causing carnage?

Glad to see I amnt the only one that thinks like this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Chief--- wrote:
    Even Charlie Bird who represents RTE.

I thought he was attacked because someone pointed at him and shouted "Orange Bastard".

somewhat on topic in all the threads I've only seen one person say the riots were justified. Think Earthman banned them? :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 729 ✭✭✭popinfresh

I was for showing opposition to the loyalist protest. But like, a counter protest, what we saw was a bunch of skangers looting and looking for trouble. You'd be odd if you supported that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

I was for a nice big counter protest too, however since I first heard about this march I've heard people threatening trouble so I was staying well away from the skanger "republican" expedition force which was out and about on the day helping themselves to the contents of Footlocker... republicans my arse.

Oh and can anyone verify this about Frazer the organiser of this whole LoveUlster thing, it was sent to me by someone I know, it's supposed to be an extract from an article in the Tribune

by Susan McKay, Sunday Tribune April 25, 2004

(Larry) Pratt is well known in the US, where he was forced to stand down as campaign chairman to republican presidential candidate, Pat Buchanan in 1996 because of his links with white supremacist groups. He admitted sharing a platform a with former Ku Klux Klan leader and an Aryan nation official. He has also been associated with the rightwing extremists of the US militia movement.

FAIR spokesman, Willie Frazer, escorted Pratt on his tour of South Armagh. Frazer is a well known Orangeman who has said loyalist paramilitaries "should never have been locked up." He defended members of the security forces who passed information to loyalists. His application for a personal protection weapon was turned down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I do not support them but everyone knew it was coming, and if you didn't you were stupid. Its like that scene from Die Hard 3 where bruce willis walks through a black neighbourhood with a sign that says "i hate n******"

Whoever let the march take place is stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I do not support them but everyone knew it was coming, and if you didn't you were stupid. Its like that scene from Die Hard 3 where bruce willis walks through a black neighbourhood with a sign that says "i hate n******"

Whoever let the march take place is stupid

Everyone knew that Dublin Scum bags were going to destroy their own capital city? I didn't know that it wascoming, and I think you'll find many others didn't either, am I stupid? Also, the march didn't take place, it was called off because the muppets were wrecking the joint, again THEIR own city, before the march took place. It was like free reign was given to all the shít heads in dublin/the country to come out and cause trouble. I say arm the police with rubber bullets, and lots of dogs and teach them a lesson, oh a water cannon would be good too.

I'm ashamed to be Irish.... in relation to all of this Riot malarky. Seriously! WRECKED THEIR OWN CITY!

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Lump wrote:
    I'm ashamed to be Irish.... in relation to all of this Riot malarky. Seriously! WRECKED THEIR OWN CITY!

Really have to agree with ya there!!!
    Everyone knew that Dublin Scum bags were going to destroy their own capital city? I didn'y know that, and I think you'll find many other didn't either.

They do it every day. Every single day of the week. They just all happened to be in the one place this time. The scum took the bus to the riots. People were txtin each other with places to meet and start trouble. Ye all have to understand that these people have no loyalty to their own city, their own country. They were not republican, they were not dubliners in any sense of the word other than the fact that they live in the county. I recognised people in the riot from my old school, from the areas I grew up in. They were just out to pretend they have an identity. Because they don't. They don't believe in anything except their own crap. And for that, Im ashamed. Ashamed and angry that I will be painted with the same brush. That all irish people will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

Any one who says they do support the riots, did you take part?
    (I hope and suspect not)

Im not sure if my college had some thing to do with the following failing to be added to a thread earlier or if it was deleted (I have no pm's so i figure the former)

The vast majority of Dublin people find the riots ridiculess, some continued shoping during the affair. The people involved where only in dublin for that pourpose. Along with some opertunistic scum bags & a few non-nationals. [Most likly the other countries equivelent of our scum bags....]

The "troubles" up north (caused by the people who named it [All of them]) has no relivence down here except posible revenue issues.

Why would any one care if a bunch of people walked down a street, in aid of what? Some thing that no one cares about.

The north, as a whole, brought the trouble on holiday for the day. And spread it to those who wanted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I support them kicking the crap out of Charlie Bird, he annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Lump wrote:
    Everyone knew that Dublin Scum bags were going to destroy their own capital city? I didn't know that it wascoming, and I think you'll find many others didn't either, am I stupid? Also, the march didn't take place, it was called off because the muppets were wrecking the joint, again THEIR own city, before the march took place. It was like free reign was given to all the shít heads in dublin/the country to come out and cause trouble. I say arm the police with rubber bullets, and lots of dogs and teach them a lesson, oh a water cannon would be good too.

John

I agree they shouldn't have done what they did, but you could see it coming.
    Ok i didn't see it coming in terms of what actually went on, burning cars, breaking up the city etc. But there was always gonna be trouble if this went ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

As a democratic country, we respect freedom of expression. That means allowing people to march if they fulfil the criteria for a peaceful demonstration. You cannot, repeat CANNOT, just ban an event or protest simply because an opponent or opponents of it threaten violence. That would be giving in to coercion and physical blackmail.

Only fcuked up because of too few Riot Police on the streets and poor strategic command of the security services at the highest level.

Insane:
    "Ah yeah, fcukin jaysis, we won ladz, the Unionist bahstards ran off ta der buses n fcuked off back Nort!"

"...ah fcukit I'm bored, let's wreck da gaff"

Mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I supported and was present at the peaceful protest that took place but i was like any decent person appalled at the looting and attacking innocent shop workers,etc,people on here and elsewhere are too quick to believe everything that is printed in the gutter press,i was there on Saturday and for a start the Garda before the riot actually kicked off were seriously heavy handed with their batons,is it any wonder some people reacted by surging forward at the barriers,which in turn lead to some people throwing bottles and it escalated from there.

I supported the sit down protest but not the random violence from knackers,people are too quick to, as i said believe the garbage in the Herald/Star/Independent,etc,etc that so called "dissident Republicans" planned this in advance,bulls*it,this was NOT planned it just spiralled out of control,what started as a peaceful protest by genuine Republicans descended into all out anarchy with gangs of knackers running amok,these people have no place in Republicanism and anybody who thinks they were Republicans are deluded,only 1 person out of the 43 or so arrested had any links with a Republican organisation,that says it all, of course the gutter press will try and paint a different story,sensationalise everything as usual and those gullible enough to believe are worse fools.

sjones wrote:
    I support them kicking the crap out of Charlie Bird, he annoys me.

And they made you a mod :eek: whatever next,

~Bows down, I am worthy of this intellegence~

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I too think Charlie Bird is a wan*er but he didn't deserve what happened to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Lump wrote:

John

A thread from a few days before the riots.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054893946

A thread from before Christmas!!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054861835

Everyone knew there would be trouble. Why didn't the Gardai know. maybe they need a few cynics in the force too? Were we all just horribly cynical to assume the worst. Realists more like. In an ideal world this March should have gone ahead and there should have been no trouble. Realistically we all knew this would kick off knowing the brainless skanger fcuks in this city.

I guarantee that everyone who predicted trouble for the March are the same people who in one of the many skanger threads would say how they would cross the street to avoid these little scumbags, taking their demeanor, pigeon walk and tracksuit/burberry cap attire as ample warning that these guys could be trouble and best avoided. Conversely the very same people decrying the stereotyping of pigeon walking be-tracksuited young men as dangerous and calling the former, racists, snobs and elitists etc etc would probably be the same guys in the aformentioned thread thinking everything would be rosey and that we underestimate the young inner city/council estate young men of the city.

Not elitist. Realists!!

Appologies for turning this into a skanger thread but really that is what it comes down to so not really that Off Topic. Orange Marches weren't the problem on Saturday. Republicans weren't even the problem last Saturday. Fcuckless Skangers infesting the city were the problem.

The point I'm making is that people didn't KNOW there'd be trouble even if both sides didn't meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

dbnavan wrote:
    Glad to see I amnt the only one that thinks like this..

everyone thinks like this. we know it was scum with no motive except getting a bit of craic from throwing rocks at police.
    Lump wrote:
    The point I'm making is that people didn't KNOW there'd be trouble even if both sides didn't meet.
    well, that's true, they didn't KNOW but there was a high chance of it happening so they shouold have had a heavy garda presence

Hobbes wrote:
    I thought he was attacked because someone pointed at him and shouted "Orange Bastard".

that reminds me of south park. when stan's uncle jimbo is hunting, but the law has been changed so that you can only kill in self defence against an animal.

so he shouts "its comin right for us" before shooting deer etc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Lump wrote:
    Everyone knew that Dublin Scum bags were going to destroy their own capital city? I didn't know that it wascoming, and I think you'll find many others didn't either, am I stupid?
    Not stupid, maybe simply ignorant as to what was going on. Most people didnt even hear the march was going to happen. I had an email a few days before saying one pub in town was arranging buses to bring people into town, and then back to the pub to "celebrate". I have seen quite a few pubs in town with "celtic supporters club" piss-ups, basically a bunch of young scumbags getting pissed singing RA songs.
    I would have been shocked if nothing had occured, especially a nice saturday afternoon, it was something to do. As mentioned they would have been up to the same crap elsewhere, they just all got together that particular day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

After a dublin scumbag, Micko, explained to me that these unionist bastards were coming down here trying to start something I knew he was on to something.

So, I got my Celtic jersey out, met up with the rest of the knackers, had a few joints on the bus along with some Cider, and we went off.

We were talkin about Celtic winning the league on the way in, but we both knew that we could probably only name 3 players on the Celtic team, so we just we talked about Keano a lot. Fair fcuks to him.

Soon as we saw those unionist scum, coming down here tryin to march in bleedin Dublin, we knew that the only thing to do was to grab some blocks and hurl them at the cops, whilst setting fire to a few cars at the same time.

How else can we get the point across that???!!

Anto explained to me that he didn't know what the unionist were marching for, but that he'd wish they'd fcuk off back to Northern Ireland.

He said that he agreed with what the IRA was doing?

When I asked him could he ever do what Bobby Sands did, he said... who?

Anyway, after we got tired of fcuking stuff at the cops - who were as bad as the unionists according to micko - we went back up the road a had a good ol laugh about it.

We had a great day and protected our country at the same time.

Up the 'RA

well, that's true, they didn't KNOW but there was a high chance of it happening so they shouold have had a heavy garda presence

There were Hundreds of Garda around! What are you on about. I'm getting irritated reading this. Why is no one saying that the people should have had the decency to not **** their own city over, and have the Patriotism not to act like bell ends? Also mise_me_fein_V2 you're a muppet, if you were being serious, but I really hope you wern't.

I'm getting annoyed reading the replies here, so this is my last comment.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I think someone needs a huuuugggggggg ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

No dis-respect Lump but in fairness I think its obvious that Mise Me fein is joking. A hypothetical little story about how one of these scummers might have posted here supporting the riots. It would(well is) funny only for the fact that it is so sad because it wouldn't be a million miles from the truth. ie most of the feckers wearing celtic jerseys probably couldn't name the team....wouldn't know who bobby sands was, didn't have a clue why Love Ulster was parading etc etc

Yes I was taking the p!ss.

The Scumbags did the same a few years ago when there was a May Day (or something similar) type of protest.

They don't have clue what they're protesting about, they just want to fcuk things up.

I have no problem with anyone protesting against IRA violence.

There was things that we knock about the IRA for no good reason. For instance I can see no problem comparing Gerry Adams to Michael Collins, though some people would say Adams is a scumbag and well everyone loves Collins.
    But there are/were a lot of basta.rds in the IRA that killed innocent people.

Let them march - the unionist I mean.

The Love Ulster thing is bollox. The unionist seem to ignore that there are 9 counties in Ulster, not 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

Calibos wrote:
    No dis-respect Lump but in fairness I think its obvious that Mise Me fein is joking. A hypothetical little story about how one of these scummers might have posted here supporting the riots. It would(well is) funny only for the fact that it is so sad because it wouldn't be a million miles from the truth. ie most of the feckers wearing celtic jerseys probably couldn't name the team....wouldn't know who bobby sands was, didn't have a clue why Love Ulster was parading etc etc

Not a million miles from the truth at all but that was O'Connell street, what happened after e.g. http://images.sparky-s.com/sp_index.php?file=./Dublin%20Riots/fouro.jpg

is just opportunist scum breaking into cars, damaging property and punching random people as they go by for the "buzz". these people do this every day, go down to the courts and they're laughing at us 50+ convictions and another slap on the wrist is all they get. The riots just showed up the problems in our society, not just in dublin every town in Ireland has these scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

the whole thing was crazy. i think the government are idiots to allow a match through dublin. The only reason they wanted to march was to antagonize people so it was stupid to agree to allow it. The government is meant to rul efor its people - well a lot of those people spoke out on Saturday and made it very clear that the people of the republic dont want plitical groups marching through dublin. if a group of republicans decided to go march through Belfast with tricolours there would be war too so its not a one - sided thing and the loyalists know that. Im not condoning the thugs and the violence of people (lets face it a lot of that was nothing to do with politics and was just people wanting to run riot) but the government needs to wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

No I didn't support the riots. I wasn't bothered by the march at all but I do think people had the right to protest but peacefully!

The only reason they wanted to march was to antagonize people so it was stupid to agree to allow it.

You don't know that to be true.

Victims of IRA violence, surely some of them were genuine.

Anyway, let them march. Then they have no reason to fear a united Ireland.

If we let them march then they have nothing to say to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i was looking at saturday's paper (on the toilet. that's where every newspaper is supposed to be read) and there was a small piece about the march. it quoted the gardai as saying that 'every precaution has been made regarding the route of the march and all possible outcomes have been accounted for'.
    it made me laugh a little.
    hindsight is a great thing, isn't it?
    fact is, all possible outcomes were not accounted for and things went down the crapper.
    i agree with allowing victims of IRA violence march to the dail and voice their grievances with the Irish government, but do they really need an orange order parade troop with them? i don't want to hear "it's because it's their tradition". it is not their tradition because this is the first march of it's kind and it's not a damn parade.
    you are going to get a rise out of small minded bigots by waving union jacks (and any other red, white and blue flag you can muster up) because they have seen this behaviour at drumcree and feel the same thing that happened there is going to happen in Dublin.
    you could also point out that because they are entitled to an Irish passport, they should be allowed to march through the capital city. thing is, they have disavowed their right to Irish citizenship. they don't recognise it as valid, so why should their claim to a right to march in Dublin be validated? it's a double standard that many liberals seem to have overlooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭The Wicker Man

You don't know that to be true.

Victims of IRA violence, surely some of them were genuine.

Anyway, let them march. Then they have no reason to fear a united Ireland.

If we let them march then they have nothing to say to us.

absolutely agree, saturday has shown a united ireland to be a political impossibility whilst mindsets remain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I would have supported the protesters if they had of done it peaceful. They could have screamed all the fcuk's and whatever else at the parade if they wanted to....

Though i do not support the rioting. I thought it was an embarrassment to our side and just made a mockery of us. About 99% of the people involved in the rioting were pure scangers anyway, so i couldn't give a toss about them...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I would avoid Paddy's day in town this year for sure. There used to be a yearly running of the scumbags down Grafton street as the closed Steven's Green. THe scumbags smashed up windows as they were driven back. This year I think they might be a bit braver this year given recent events. THe effect on tourism will be very high if there is trouble on that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭MrScruff

Every thread on this topic is an endless stream of backslapping posts calling the rioters brainless, stupid etc. Everyone nodding in agreement about these terrible scumbags "infesting" our city.

I think these people are more disillusioned than mentally challenged. They riot and cause mayhem because their lives are more of a struggle than yours and I would imagine they feel frustrated. I'm not condoning it the riot, but the gap between the rich and the poor in Ireland is wider than ever.

The London Pole tax riots didn't happen because of some lack of brain capacity.

I agree that it didn't have much to do with political/republican beliefs, but blaming the entire thing on stupidity is an oversimplifying and ignorant way out IMO

...where's that asbestos suit