Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Census Enumerator

• 21-01-2006 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

Got called for an interview next week. Anyone else doing this? Is it worth it? I'm a student so thinking it could be good pocket money and might get some exercise while I'm at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭genie

It is worth doing although you will need the patience of a saint with some people who

a) don't want to do it full stop
    b) won't open the door when the soaps are on
    c) are never in when they say they'll be in
    d) people who blatantly lie on their forms

When you go to the interview make sure you know what district electoral division you live in and what the population of the Rep of Ireland is. That's what they asked me. Can't really remember what else! Good luck with it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Slippers

I applied but haven't heard back yet. I don't know if that means I won't have an interview or if I just won't have one next week. The CSO website says 12,000 applied and interviews are from 25th January to 7th February (they are looking for ~4,500). Can I ask: did they contact you by e-mail, or some other means?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭tonymontana

I got a letter in the post last week, my interview's in Dundrum, so maybe for different area's the interviews are later?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

I got a letter also. I am in the Dublin 8 area and my interview is out in Green Isle hotel, Clondalkin. Any other tips? Is anyone going for an interview before friday that can post how they got on and I shall post what kind of questions I get on Friday.

Also, silly question but would the general dress code for such an interview be formal or semi-formal? Trousers and top, as oppose to jeans?

Any help welcomed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭tonymontana

I was thinking of wearing a shirt and tie, but hey I haven't done many interviews in my life, so would I be overdressed if I did that?

Shirt and tie should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

genie wrote:
    When you go to the interview make sure you know what district electoral division you live in
    How would you find this out? Never even knew they existed :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

WizZard wrote:
    How would you find this out? Never even knew they existed :o
    I assume they're well paid, being temporary civil jobs.

WizZard, that's just a fancy word for "County Council District" :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/District_Electoral_Division

seamus wrote:
    I assume they're well paid, being temporary civil jobs.

WizZard, that's just a fancy word for "County Council District" :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/District_Electoral_Division

Your local library should have a set of current Electoral Registers. Go through those and you'll find what District Electoral Division your address is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

i also have an interview for this. mines on friday in cavan. good dosh for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I just had an interview with CSO, asked me how I would handle people that are unwilling to fill in the form and some standard questions... They said I'll know mid March if I got the job or not...

Demeant0r wrote:
    I just had an interview with CSO, asked me how I would handle people that are unwilling to fill in the form and some standard questions... They said I'll know mid March if I got the job or not...

Whe I'd get people who didn't want to fill in the form I'd tell them that

a) I, and all the other enumerators had signed the official secrets act

b) the CSO staff had also signed the official secrets act

c) the forms would not be made public until 100 years had passed. The 1911 Census was only made public because of the almost complete lack of Irish Census pre 1901

d) people are obliged by law to complete the form and can be fined if they don't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭underworld

Does anyone who done the interview know any questions off the top of there head,i have mine next week...shouldnt be too tough;)

I had mine yesterday...it was grand, they talk to you as if you have it and will let you know at the begining of March.
    They just go through your application form and ask about your work experience and ask questions about jobs where you had contact with the public, they mainly want to know how you would deal with the pu blic, especially with difficult people. They then outline how difficult the job can be and just let them know that you are well aware of this. They told me that there is room to earn extra if you have your forms collected, you can then contact your field supervisor who could give you more to do, and you are paid for every form. The field supervisor should always be down the phone to help in anyway.
    There were 2 people doing the interviews and they had taken the entire 3rd floor of the Green Isle hotel from what I could see. They were very efficient, they had people in the foyer, telling you exactly where to go.

I found the interview easy enough and it was probably the first time that I enoyed a job interview, cos it was not for a full time job.

Good luck and let me know if anyone needs more info...

BTW I wasn't asked anything about the electorate of my area, as they are not sure what area I will be based in yet, but maybe that is just cos it is Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I applied but haven't heard back yet. How difficult is the job exactly? Is it just delivering forms then collecting them? So a few households might not get around to doing it...what do you do? What do they mean by "difficult"?

Elessar wrote:
    I applied but haven't heard back yet. How difficult is the job exactly? Is it just delivering forms then collecting them? So a few households might not get around to doing it...what do you do? What do they mean by "difficult"?

With regards to the census, difficult people who don't have their forms filled out or won't give you the forms. In cases like this, you should contact your field supervisor and they will help you out. And at any time you didn't feel happy about visiting a particular house, then you can bring this up with your field supervisor. They don't want people to feel worried.

Another thing I was asked was about the map reading. They do provide maps and your field supervisor will bring you around the area before you start to show you where to go etc. I was also advised that I should take Sundays off and only do it on week nights(in light) and Saturdays.

Elessar wrote:
    Is it just delivering forms then collecting them?
    More detail here: http://www.cso.ie/census/main_duties_enum.htm
    Elessar wrote:
    What do they mean by "difficult"?
    These two threads have a bit of information about difficulties.
    Census Enumerators
    The Census Thing

I asked also were you taxed on the earnings and you are, although I was told that they did try get it tax free, but no go :(

Got a letter today with an interview date for friday. Don't know if I'll go now though, after hearing all the abuse and hassle you can get. I'd probably get eaten alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

robo wrote:
    I asked also were you taxed on the earnings and you are, although I was told that they did try get it tax free, but no go :(
    I can't think of a single reason why it should be tax free. Good luck with the job if you get it though.

Elessar wrote:
    Got a letter today with an interview date for friday. Don't know if I'll go now though, after hearing all the abuse and hassle you can get. I'd probably get eaten alive.

Do go. Out of 500 households, only 4 were awkward and only 2 downright rude. As long as you keep calm it'll be ok. You always have the support of your supervisor and the guards, if absolutely necessary, to back you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I agree, out of the 300 or so rural houses I had I had only 1 bollox who wouldn't fill in the form. The local garda soon sorted him out. :)

Its a great job and good experience.

Well thanks for the encouragement, I went in the end. Just back from it.

It only lasted about 10 minutes and I got a few questions about what I'm doing now (college etc), what I did after school (I forgot to mention a few jobs I had! But they are on the application form so it should be ok right??) and "what difficulties would you say you would encounter" (to which I replied that some people may not want to fill out the form and I used some of genie's lines :D); a few others like where would you store the forms, can you read maps etc. All in all it went well I thought.

They got me to sign a form at the end of it, which I didn't read - what was it?

They didn't mention when I would hear back if I got it... I assume March?

Ah I hate interviews, my head is wrecked with "what ifs" and "I should haves". Does 10 minutes mean they just wanted to be done with me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Elessar wrote:
    Considering a major part of the job is to ensure people fill out forms correctly, this was probably not the best course of action! :rolleyes:

On a more serious note, I'm sure you did fine.

I'm glad you decided to go. Good luck with it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

i went for my interview too on thursday. it was grand v. relaxed i was interviewed by 2 people. it lasted about 20 minutes or so where they just asked me about relevant experience in dealing with the public and doing cross tots and have i worked with figures, hows my maths and interpersonal skills. then they told me all about the job and the training. there are 3 training mornings in mid march and then 2 again in april. i was told il know in march also if i got the job or not.
    robo wrote:

yeah they said it would be taxed too, what a bummer... i work almost full time already, would it even be worth my while doing it? how much would i get taxed on the €2200 that we are expected to earn?

If on the lower rate: 20% PAYE and 6% PRSI.

On 2200 would be €572

Elessar wrote:

You signed a form to confirm that you attended the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Bren_D

Hi I have Enumerator interview in Newlands Cross on Friday. Don't have a clue what to wear. Is a suit too formal? or is trousers and jumper too casual. Anyone been to interview tell me what candidates are wearing

No need for suits at all. When i got the job years ago I just turned up in dressed neatly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

First impressions last remember that when you decide what to wear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭TOMP

If you get the job you will in effect be working for the Government, and the Government are not exactly popular at the moment, so watch out for possibility of backlash at the doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

I have interview next wednesday.. worried about what to wear.. and I am not great at maths. why would we need to be good at maths?
    I really need/want this job cos I dont work and now my dole is gone at well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Talker2010

You need maths just for reporting the progress you have made on number of forms delivered and collected. Basic addition only.Also dress could would be smart but not necessarily suit but def no jeans or runners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 stemalone

Hi I have an interview in a couple of weeks and I'm just being conused by one things..."cross tots." Can someone please explain? Thanks!

There is a more active thread here with examples of questions from interviews and people posting about the interviews that they have been to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 stemalone

Oh thanks! Sorry I'm new to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Derbhile Jones

i have mine tomorrow any help with questions please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Talker2010

cross tots are simply basic addition. you have to group your forms by area codes and total up number of people, number of females, number of males and then that has to match your overall total, that's all to it as far as i can remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

If you take this job you will be a public sector worker! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭BrendanRyan

Will I get a really good pension after it!!?

I'm currently unemployed and want to do it for extra cash(so I can get my visa underway!) I assume I'd have to sign off while working for the census people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

i have mine tomorrow any help with questions please

I know you'll have had your interview by now, but for anyone else - look at the other thread entitled 'Upcoming Jobs with the CSO for 2011'.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056027937

People have posted interview questions, tips on dress code etc.

(Maybe the mods could merge the threads?)