Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another signle thread

• 05-10-2016 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭

I'm a 30 year old female, single 5 years, have dated lots of men in that period, some for a few months but nothing has come of any of it. I'm tired of the whole dating game and find its near impossible to meet someone genuine. I'm beginning to loose trust in what people (men) say and they never seem to follow through for me. Many of the men I have met have tried to mess me around but thankfully I have not really let this happen as I just don't put up with it. This has however lead me to become very cautious and apprehensive in terms on dating.

I'm beginning to wonder will I ever meet someone to have a solid relationship with or will I continue to be single and meet men that are emotionally unavailable and unable to commit.

As with many 30 year olds, most of my friends are married or in very serious relationships, many are having children. I'm of course delighted for them but there's also a sadness in me too. Jokes are regularly made in light hearted spirit about my single status and I know no harm is intended but it is really starting to hit a nerve.

I really want to meet someone to share my life with and I'm not sure whether I'm just unlucky or is it something to do with me.
    Everything else in my life is quite good but I just feel stuck in a rut, I feel like there must be something wrong with me and it's beginning to impact on my confidence.

I try to focus on all the good things in my life ,of which there are many and generally I'm very happy/content with things but being single is also beginning to get me down.

I know if it happens , it will just happen when it happens but I guess I'm just afraid of ending up alone. Some people might be ok with this but not me personally.
    I'm also aware that I am not the only person in this position and in the grand scale of things, it really isn't something to be overly concerned about but lately it's preoccupying my mind moreso than it ever has.

It's also difficult to speak with friends about this, most of mine are in long term relationships and do not know what dating is like and how difficult it can be. I'm not even sure what advice I'm looking for as it's not exactly something that I can just make happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I hear you OP. I'm older, 41, and been single a lot longer than 5 years. I actually don't want to say how long, because it makes me sound like there is something wrong with me.
    I'm an attractive girl with lots going on in my life. Over the years I've seen countless friends and family get engaged, married and have children, while my dating life just never seems to change.
    I do admit I've fallen for lots of wrong men and when I get hurt, it takes me much, much longer to get over them than the average person. I was hurt so much by men that I took a 'sabbatical' and stayed away from them for at least 5 years.
    I became exceptionally independent in those years, and when I was ready to get back in the saddle I found the transition quite hard and messed up a few times.
    I go through periods of deep depression over my single state. Then I bounce back and fall back in love with my life again. Thankfully I'm in a 'love' phase again but with Christmas approaching, I find it's a difficult time to be alone and especially at family gatherings when all my siblings are loved up with family.
    I really try and be positive. I have lots of hobbies and a creative career that brings me great joy. Some days I'm really buzzing with life and I know that I'm a great catch for someone but I just never seem to meet the right person.

I don't want to depress you by saying that when I was 30, I'd never thought I'd be 41 and still be on my own.
    So maybe this is a warning to you.
    But I've actually discovered some things about myself that probably are leaving me this way, namely not being able to engage with men I'm attracted to. I'm a really friendly person but turn into an ice queen with men I'm attracted to. I think part of this is a defence mechanism. I really want to talk to them but the risk of rejection is just so great and unbearable to be honest.
    I know I need to work on this.
    Maybe there is something in your life that is holding you back?

Just know that you're not alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Hi op,

Well, the lack of response here says so much, doesn't it? It is so difficult to know what to say to a person in your situation. You sound like a perfectly normal, fair minded and well adjusted woman who should have no trouble attracting romantic love into your life. But you do, and that can feel puzzling.

Finding a partner is a lot about opportunity. What kind of social circle do you have? Do you go out and about regularly, maybe have hobbies and activities that put you in the way of meeting new people all the time? Have you tried online dating?

So following on from that, I do hear you when you say you have become wary of men, because really there are so many flakes and head melters around nowadays (both men and women, but naturally enough you only have experience of one gender).

I truly sympathise with your worry about the future, and it's a tough place to be, however worry is not a good state of mind to be in should an opportunity for a relationship present itself. So really, try and relax and not worry that you'll end up alone - it's only counterproductive and to your detriment in every way. And how you go about relaxing about these things is by absorbing the worries, so to speak. Accepting that yes, that might actually happen, you might end up being a solo-flyer in life, and then making the most out of it : enjoying your freedom and the time you have to please yourself and learn about yourself. Maybe even the freedom and time you have to give to others, any social causes etc. Hobbies, interests, passions.

All of the above should help you thrive and live fully, in touch with yourself as s human being , in touch with your inner life and emotions. And whoever thrives in themselves , lives fully in the moment and is engaged with the world around them, is attractive, I feel. Love attracts love, happiness engenders more happiness.

Stop worrying, don't feel guilty for being cautious, but do put yourself out there in the world , and rely on your wisdom and experience to guide you from now on. Find a balance between caution and hope, enjoy life, make lots of friends.

You have to find a life that is worth your while living for yourself alone, then meeting a partner will be an added bonus to it, as it should be. And not meeting him, if that's the way the cookie crumbles, will not mean the end of the world, in the least. You won't always worry about it, believe me. Different life stages bring with them different challenges, worries, and joys.

Best of luck! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭EmmaMurray2016

I am single now 3 years and in my mid 30's. I am the opposite, I love being single, I am just more content single. All in my 20's I felt it was the end of the world if I wasn't in a relationship. It's not. Just enjoy going out and meet up with friends for dinner. If you meet someone its an added bonus like the poster said above. That's the way I look at it. I have friends in relationships and they shouldn't be as they don't get on, I have friends who are mad to get in a relationship due to thinking they will be on their own forever if they don't, I also have friends who are in rships who feel alone in their rship and friends in relationships and you would think aww cute. I have more friends though who are single. So single is in lol ;)

No harm in feeling cautious either, I would be also if dating. But all men aren't the same so give them a chance. Your instincts will be a good indicator (well I believe so)

Great things come to those who wait ;)

Good luck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Thanks for your replies:)

My social life is good but has quietened down over the past few years and I guess when I do go out now its more about catching up with friends than being bothered or interested in being chatted up.
    In saying that I do get chatted up quite a bit and asked out on dates. It's just that I seem to continually meet flaky men and part of me is asking why do I seem to attract this type. I just want to meet someone who's upfront and genuine, I'm not into games crap like that.

I'm also quite active and do a lot of hiking and horse riding - unfortunately not fantastic places to meet men of my age but then again I don't do these activities with the aim of meeting someone, I do them because I enjoy them.

I've tried internet dating so I have definitely put effort into "putting myself out there" but it hasn't been successful for me.

For the first 3ish years of splitting from my ex I was very content being single and at times I still am. It's nice to be able to do things when you want etc and not having to take someone else into consideration but I miss the affection and love and all that stuff that goes with being in a relationship.

I know there are many people in relationships who are not happy and I'm not saying nor do I think that I need to be in one to be happy. I just know I'm ready to meet someone and generally I'm happy/content in all other areas of my life. I definitely don't sit at home mopping about and feeling sorry for myself but in reality these things can be difficult to talk about with friends (well for me anyway) and I also think there's some stigma attached to being my age, being single quite a few years and having zero luck. I was going to anonymously post this thread but then I thought why should I, I've noting to be embarrassed about and I know there are many others in my exact position.

Are you living in Dublin ? I've always thought it was harder to meet ppl in Dublin then down country ?! I have lived in both and I'm still in Dublin now. I could be wrong but I notice when out in Galway lads will approach you more or other parts of country lol ?! Anyone else cop this ?! Uncle lived up in Dublin all his life and never found love he moved down to the midlands and was married within 2 years. Could be the places I go 2 god knows.

I do feel though mid 30s ppl probably looking at me and wondering why I'm single (relations) unfortunately life hasn't turned out the way I thought it would when I was 19. Thought I'd be married by 28 lol

Ah well Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭via4

Emmamurray I sometimes wonder about this too. When I was in Dublin I never met a single fella it was everywhere except Dublin I met fellas. And I notice online dating the majority are dubs but I just thought it was because obv there are more people living in Dublin than anywhere else. Why is it so hard to meet people in a city that is so fun.

via4 wrote: »
    Emmamurray I sometimes wonder about this too. When I was in Dublin I never met a single fella it was everywhere except Dublin I met fellas. And I notice online dating the majority are dubs but I just thought it was because obv there are more people living in Dublin than anywhere else. Why is it so hard to meet people in a city that is so fun.

Lol I really don't know. I noticed this years ago. Friends always said the same. Galway was just an example you would always get a number or end up with a bunch having a laugh. But again it could be the pubs/clubs I'm going 2 haha

I do date though, I've had lots of dates in the past 5 years and have dated some guys for a number of months at a time but it never goes any further.

I get asked out/get asked for my number most nights I'm out, it's just that the men I've met will happily date for a few months and then they either ghost me or start trying to mess me about.

I'm not the clingy, insecure type who needs constant attention, reassurance etc so I definitely know that I'm not being too intense or anything like that.

I know no one has the answer it's just something that bothers me occasionally.

I do think that dating in cities brings it's own dynamic and problems. Ultimately there is more choice and with online dating and tinder there is always someone better around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Daisy78

Lol I really don't know. I noticed this years ago. Friends always said the same. Galway was just an example you would always get a number or end up with a bunch having a laugh. But again it could be the pubs/clubs I'm going 2 haha

It's funny I would find the exact opposite. I find that Galway tends to attract the loud obnoxious type, usually on a stag who think can behave badly just cause they are away for the weekend, and it's not just the younger guys either!

OP I would say you are doing better than most, you are getting chatted up, asked out on dates, that's more of a "good start" than most women get to be honest. Do you notice a trend in the type of guys you meet in bars? As in the loud confident type who might be a charmer on any given night but not exactly long term relationship material. Your lucky that you have lots of interests which may very well give you an opportunity to meet the right type of guy than perhaps you would find in a bar or even online.

I know how you feel, there is a tendency to look inwards when you are having no success, you internalise the "failure" and as far as we have progressed as a society, single women of a certain age can be met with a curiousity and a kind of pity that only adds to your negative feelings about the whole thing. Even without having met you I can assure you there is nothing peculiar about you that has led you to your current circumstances, at the end of the day all of this the luck of the draw I'm afraid. It sounds like you have a fulfilling life, as one of the posters said above that in itself is attractive to potential partners. Keep doing what you are doing and with some luck (and perseverance) the right guy will come along.

blacklilly wrote: »
    I'm a 30 year old female, single 5 years, have dated lots of men in that period, some for a few months but nothing has come of any of it. I'm tired of the whole dating game and find its near impossible to meet someone genuine. I'm beginning to loose trust in what people (men) say and they never seem to follow through for me. Many of the men I have met have tried to mess me around but thankfully I have not really let this happen as I just don't put up with it. This has however lead me to become very cautious and apprehensive in terms on dating.

I'm beginning to wonder will I ever meet someone to have a solid relationship with or will I continue to be single and meet men that are emotionally unavailable and unable to commit.

As with many 30 year olds, most of my friends are married or in very serious relationships, many are having children. I'm of course delighted for them but there's also a sadness in me too. Jokes are regularly made in light hearted spirit about my single status and I know no harm is intended but it is really starting to hit a nerve.

I really want to meet someone to share my life with and I'm not sure whether I'm just unlucky or is it something to do with me.
    Everything else in my life is quite good but I just feel stuck in a rut, I feel like there must be something wrong with me and it's beginning to impact on my confidence.

I try to focus on all the good things in my life ,of which there are many and generally I'm very happy/content with things but being single is also beginning to get me down.

I know if it happens , it will just happen when it happens but I guess I'm just afraid of ending up alone. Some people might be ok with this but not me personally.
    I'm also aware that I am not the only person in this position and in the grand scale of things, it really isn't something to be overly concerned about but lately it's preoccupying my mind moreso than it ever has.

It's also difficult to speak with friends about this, most of mine are in long term relationships and do not know what dating is like and how difficult it can be. I'm not even sure what advice I'm looking for as it's not exactly something that I can just make happen.

Glad im not alone in this OP. I feel your frustration. Its harder for a guy believe you me or at least a guy like myself who is so uncomfortable in the club scene that id be afraid to put chat on someone for fear of making them equally as uncomfortable. Its a snake pit tbh.

Fact is that in the times we have it has become that bit harder to meet someone. This could be because perhaps we have more choice (internet dating) or that we dont have the same value on each other anymore.Another thing is that Ireland has become more spread out in one way. Suddenly at weekends, people from all over the country are converging on one place but when it comes to maintaining contact it is hard for example when both persons are living and working in opposite sides of the country.

The mistrust thing i get. i see alot of lads in clubs and they are ingenuine bull****ters from the off, that said they seem to get alot of the luck as they take a machine gun like approach to chatting up. Quieter lads suffer probably because of these eejits ****ting on the garden path so too speak. That said, there is certain women who will whinge all day about no nice fellas being about and yet seek a tosser out like a heat seeking missile. im not suggesting your one OP, id say far from it, but just giving an indication as to what we are up against.

You seem like a decent and honest type of girl. i suppose the only advice i could give you is to try and broaden your social circle. Perhaps take up a class or meetup group. We are not all out for one thing though, there are some of us about that want the same as you. To go on a few dates, have a laugh, and whatever happens happens after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Yellow pack crisps

than being bothered or interested in being chatted up.

You may think i took that line out of context and perhaps i did. But you would be surprised by the amount of people who want to meet someone so badly that they put all sorts of things up so they don't meet anyone. Fear its a terrible thing.

Glad im not alone in this OP. I feel your frustration. Its harder for a guy believe you me or at least a guy like myself who is so uncomfortable in the club scene that id be afraid to put chat on someone for fear of making them equally as uncomfortable. Its a snake pit tbh.

Fact is that in the times we have it has become that bit harder to meet someone. This could be because perhaps we have more choice (internet dating) or that we dont have the same value on each other anymore.Another thing is that Ireland has become more spread out in one way. Suddenly at weekends, people from all over the country are converging on one place but when it comes to maintaining contact it is hard for example when both persons are living and working in opposite sides of the country.

The mistrust thing i get. i see alot of lads in clubs and they are ingenuine bull****ters from the off, that said they seem to get alot of the luck as they take a machine gun like approach to chatting up. Quieter lads suffer probably because of these eejits ****ting on the garden path so too speak. That said, there is certain women who will whinge all day about no nice fellas being about and yet seek a tosser out like a heat seeking missile. im not suggesting your one OP, id say far from it, but just giving an indication as to what we are up against.

You seem like a decent and honest type of girl. i suppose the only advice i could give you is to try and broaden your social circle. Perhaps take up a class or meetup group. We are not all out for one thing though, there are some of us about that want the same as you. To go on a few dates, have a laugh, and whatever happens happens after that

you should stop focusing on what others do and start focusing on what you can do.

To be honest I don't like the pub/club environment to begin with as it's fake and drink fuelled but other than that there is a poor enough social scene in Ireland.

That is really not true. If you have 200 people in a pub its really a stretch to say they are all fake or even the majority are fake and locked and falling about. It is like any social event you will have a different array of people and personalities. Stop focusing on the negative aspects of people and start focusing on yourself and what you want. You don't need a pub or club to meet people. There is literally hundreds of ways to meet someone. Nobody and i mean nobody wants to go out with someone who is very judgmental and looks at others flaws than their own. I am not being harsh here but you seem really angry at others for no other reason that they are meeting people and you are not. I love pubs and i love socialising and i can spot an angry person a mile of in them and it is not an attractive sight. This is not to say you are one but how others see us is vitally important in these situations.

I never said that and im not angry. Lifes to short to be angry over something so trivial in the great scheme of things. We'll just have to agree to disagree that the pub/club environment is not for everyone or else we are going to derail the thread.

I still go to pubs/clubs but Its more a case of going out to enjoy myself to be honest. I'm tired of the whole chatting up nonsense. Its become a cringey embarrassing charade for me.

One relationship developed from a pub/club meeting for me but she was more the exception than the rule and that was back when i was a bit younger and less wiser. From the many many experiences I've had, personally i think they are a bit of a wash out in that regard. Perhaps if you are a certain type of person fair enough, but they aren't for me.

Anyway i can empathise with the OP because I can see how women mistrust Irish men. I know exactly what i can offer as a person but if it was as simple as that id have settled long ago. There are other factors that come into play such as geography, ratios of men to women in one area. Yes there are hundreds of ways to meet women but not all may appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭via4

Yes when they here you live outside Dublin they don't want to know on tinder. Looks like it's another sat night in again lol friend cancelled on me to go to the cinema so I text another about heading out no doubt they will ignore my message head out then text me tomorrow to tell me how hungover they are...oh well least I'm getting housework done always a silver lining lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Online dating has seemed to have spawned this new sort of woman, the exasperated late 20's early 30's girl who's been chewed up and spat out, is overly cynical, overly wary of mens motives, and carries this baggage into new meets, it's not fun to be around and I personally wouldn't hang around for very long, because yes, there are seemingly unlimited options so why settle for the insecure ones. You also get the feeling they'd settle for anyone, because they're craving acceptance beyond actually being particularly interested in the person across from them, which again is unattractive.

The last person people usually blame is themselves, they make a myriad excuses, bemoan modern culture, because it's easier than to analyze their own shortcomings. It's easier said than done, but you need to teach yourself to stop caring so much, to just have fun and try to live in the moment rather than letting past hurt encumber you or future expectations burden you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

Hey OP, I can empathise entirely with your situation, which I - and I'm sure many others - am all too familiar with: a diminishing social circle, as friends get partnered up / married / become parents; a string of dates or relationships that ultimately go nowhere; a desire to meet that special someone to laugh with, to live with, to grow old with, to love, to support, and to lean on; and the gnawing questions that you start to ask yourself: Why am I still single? Why haven't I met "that" person? Why am I the one out of my friends that hasn't found their person? Will I ever? What will I do if I don't?

And no - nobody wants to be that friend who often needs to talk about how they feel about their single status when it's getting them down. Who would want to be known as "that" person, eh?! :rolleyes: But of course, we all need to talk from time to time, and if Boards is the best we can do sometimes.... well it's good to have that.

So yeah, I hear you; I get where you're coming from. And from what you've described, you appear to be doing lots of right things - you're socialising, staying busy, enjoying your hobbies etc.

But I'm hearing other stuff, too. You've mentioned being messed around, and that that has made you cautious and apprehensive where dating is concerned. Is it possible that that apprehension is making you hold back a little, and that consequently, guys hold back too (flaky and non-committal)? Does that apprehension cause a little wall to go up? Maybe it's becoming a self-fulfilling prophecy? You meet someone that you like, but hold back (I of course have no idea how your caution plays out in real life, nor do I know how your relationships have ended); guy senses you're holding back (or not - apparently we're not all very intuitive - maybe he just "doesn't feel it" because you're remaining emotionally distant); the whole shebang fizzles out, and you're back to square one - apprehensive about the next guy, you meet him, you're cautious, etc. etc.

Like I said, I've no idea who your relationships end, but I wonder if you have a talk as they're ending, to find out (if you can) why they're ending? I don't expect you to answer that here, of course, but it might be something worth considering - you are here, after all, looking for answers.

Beyond empathising with you, really the only other thing I can do is promise you most sincerely that not all guys are messers and flakey - there are genuine guys out there in the same boat as you, who would love to meet that someone special, for the love and laughter and affection and intimacy - both emotional and physical - that the right relationship with the right person can bring; someone to plan a future with, someone to "do" with, and someone to do nothing with.

I know it can be hard to stay positive, but hey - you never know what's around the corner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Hi O/P

I'm 30 male and single. Finding myself slowly becoming more lonely as my best friends all settle down. A lot of what you say (from my experience) is not specific to women. I find people are bombarded from everywhere from what way a man or woman should act or approach people.It comes from the media, friends, family. you can't turn around without someone telling you what you should expect/deserve to how it should happen. Everyone (myself included) need to start listening to themselves when it comes to romance & relationships.

Have you tried new hobbies or joining clubs? I've tried some new things I've never done and sadly not met a significant other but I have met some great people and sure you never know what might come from that.

EDIT: Given there are so many single people out there apparently why do people find it so hard to meet people?

But I'm hearing other stuff, too. You've mentioned being messed around, and that that has made you cautious and apprehensive where dating is concerned. Is it possible that that apprehension is making you hold back a little, and that consequently, guys hold back too (flaky and non-committal)? Does that apprehension cause a little wall to go up? Maybe it's becoming a self-fulfilling prophecy? You meet someone that you like, but hold back (I of course have no idea how your caution plays out in real life, nor do I know how your relationships have ended); guy senses you're holding back (or not - apparently we're not all very intuitive - maybe he just "doesn't feel it" because you're remaining emotionally distant); the whole shebang fizzles out, and you're back to square one - apprehensive about the next guy, you meet him, you're cautious, etc. etc.

Like I said, I've no idea who your relationships end, but I wonder if you have a talk as they're ending, to find out (if you can) why they're ending? I don't expect you to answer that here, of course, but it might be something worth considering - you are here, after all, looking for answers.

Beyond empathising with you, really the only other thing I can do is promise you most sincerely that not all guys are messers and flakey - there are genuine guys out there in the same boat as you, who would love to meet that someone special, for the love and laughter and affection and intimacy - both emotional and physical - that the right relationship with the right person can bring; someone to plan a future with, someone to "do" with, and someone to do nothing with.

I know it can be hard to stay positive, but hey - you never know what's around the corner :)

Thanks for posting, It really resonated with me.

I know I do have a wall up at times and it is something I'm working on, it can take me a while to warm to someone and I know that may make me come across as me being cold or disinterested but when I have met someone I've liked, I do my best to let them know I'm interested in them. I'm not an overly familiar type, it takes a little bit of time for me to comfortable around new people regardless of gender but I am very friendly and personable.

I've been aware for some time that I do hold back but funnily enough I never really considered that my holding back may be making these men hold back too because they don't know how to read me. I guess part of me is trying to protect myself from being vulnerable and that's possibly to my detriment.

Also just to be clear, I don't for one minute think all men are flaky or emotionally unavailable etc, I know there are some really good men out there and Im hoping Im lucky enough to meet that kind of man.

Sometimes it's difficult to articulate my thoughts but I've questioned things like whether I'm interesting enough, funny enough, smart enough etc in trying to understand why I'm having no luck. I've begun to doubt my attractiveness, not in terms of looks but in terms of other qualities. Getting dates isn't the issue for me it's having them progress further than a few weeks/few short months with the ones I've liked.

Anyway thanks again, some food for thought there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

I know I do have a wall up at times and it is something I'm working on.

Recognising this yourself is an excellent start. It takes honesty and courage and maturity to recognise something like this and to act to address it, so fair play.
    it can take me a while to warm to someone and I know that may make me come across as me being cold or disinterested but when I have met someone I've liked, I do my best to let them know I'm interested in them. I'm not an overly familiar type, it takes a little bit of time for me to comfortable around new people regardless of gender but I am very friendly and personable.

I've been aware for some time that I do hold back but funnily enough I never really considered that my holding back may be making these men hold back too because they don't know how to read me. I guess part of me is trying to protect myself from being vulnerable and that's possibly to my detriment.

I think you've hit the nail on the head here, blacklilly. Our pasts can shape us, and perhaps should shape us, but we need to learn to deal with negative past experiences, rather than let them shape us and impact our present and future. I've had my heart literally ripped apart in the past, to the extent that I wouldn't even consider dating, let alone a relationship, for 3 years. When I started dating again, I was extremely guarded - I wasn't ever going to let anyone treat me "like that" again. And of course, had I continued in that vein, I'd have missed out on some great relationships that I've had since then. I had to learn to learn from that chapter of my life, then close it, so that I could move on, rather than let it influence me indefinitely.

It sounds a little like that, while we have entirely different circumstances, the effect/outcome is similar - someone at some stage couldn't or didn't commit to you, so you held back a bit the next time you were interested in a guy, but because of that, he also didn't commit, and so on.

The good news is, YOU are the one who can change this :)
    ..... I've questioned things like whether I'm interesting enough, funny enough, smart enough etc in trying to understand why I'm having no luck. I've begun to doubt my attractiveness, not in terms of looks but in terms of other qualities. Getting dates isn't the issue for me it's having them progress further than a few weeks/few short months with the ones I've liked.

Ah, come on now. If you met the man of your dreams this weekend, and went on to have a fulfilling life-long relationship with him, would you still think this? You are EXACTLY interesting enough and funny enough and smart enough for the right person for you. If you want to change things about yourself, do it FOR YOU, and not because a man might think more of you if you were "more interesting" etc. One person's "interesting" is another person's "bore"! So just be yourself, because that's who someone is going to fall in love with. As a wonderful woman once said to me: nobody is perfect, but everyone is perfect for somebody.

You're very welcome.

Thanks for posting, It really resonated with me.

I know I do have a wall up at times and it is something I'm working on, it can take me a while to warm to someone and I know that may make me come across as me being cold or disinterested but when I have met someone I've liked, I do my best to let them know I'm interested in them. I'm not an overly familiar type, it takes a little bit of time for me to comfortable around new people regardless of gender but I am very friendly and personable.

Also just to be clear, I don't for one minute think all men are flaky or emotionally unavailable etc, I know there are some really good men out there and Im hoping Im lucky enough to meet that kind of man.

Sometimes it's difficult to articulate my thoughts but I've questioned things like whether I'm interesting enough, funny enough, smart enough etc in trying to understand why I'm having no luck. I've begun to doubt my attractiveness, not in terms of looks but in terms of other qualities. Getting dates isn't the issue for me it's having them progress further than a few weeks/few short months with the ones I've liked.

Id admire the way you have been willing to lay yourself bare here. It takes great courage and FWIW your human, of course your interesting, everyone has their own little quirks and idiosyncrasies about them that make them who they are. I dont think you react any different to anyone in your situation tbh. if anything you seem to be very proactive, just terribly unlucky not to meet someone by now.

The fact that you have posted this would suggest that you are very much open to meeting someone decent. Fact is that the world we socialise in today can be very very fake, vacuous, and quite tedious and frustrating if im being honest. As men, shallow aesthetic qualities in a woman seem to grab our attention readily which isnt right but as we get older, we identify that the important thing is good companionship, loyalty, integrity and values. Of course sexual attraction is important also but its no use if we cant stand to be in the one room as the person.

Recognising this yourself is an excellent start. It takes honesty and courage and maturity to recognise something like this and to act to address it, so fair play.

I think you've hit the nail on the head here, blacklilly. Our pasts can shape us, and perhaps should shape us, but we need to learn to deal with negative past experiences, rather than let them shape us and impact our present and future. I've had my heart literally ripped apart in the past, to the extent that I wouldn't even consider dating, let alone a relationship, for 3 years. When I started dating again, I was extremely guarded - I wasn't ever going to let anyone treat me "like that" again. And of course, had I continued in that vein, I'd have missed out on some great relationships that I've had since then. I had to learn to learn from that chapter of my life, then close it, so that I could move on, rather than let it influence me indefinitely.

I can empathise with this certainly. I thought i met the love of my life years ago but what we built was on a tower of sand which fell asunder over one weekend.
    I accepted it was over the first time but she just popped back into my life 9 months afterwards. Eventually we both moved on but very acrimoniously. I thought i was over her but when she got together with another my heart was shattered and thinking back of it conjures up painful memories. i was ok with things the first time we broke up but when we communicated the second time it ripped the heart out of me when it ended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I'm a middle aged bloke who's pretty much given up on all this, the conclusion I've come to is that there's people who are born to do this and others who could live to 500 and never meet anybody, it's difficult to describe but it's almost like sporting or musical prowess, the ability to meet people and form long term bonds is simply in them. If your're one of the unlucky ones you can join as many dating sites or walking clubs you like to no avail.