Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wedding gift

• 06-09-2013 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 chuky_r_law
    ✭✭✭

so if i was invited with my missus to a wedding for the whole day it would be an automatic €200 in the card. done deal

have been invited to the afters of a wedding. now im not giving €200 for me and herself, but what would be a fair gift? dont want to seem stingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 Festy
    ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 krudler
    ✭✭✭✭

100 is plenty from a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 DeanAustin
    ✭✭✭

Festy wrote: »

He didn't ask for the time. You're an hour ahead by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 FatherLen
    ✭✭✭

This is maybe the 4th thread on this exact same subject in AH in the last month. Are we a wedding forum now?

To answer your question in through AH style, take a big pooh in a box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 Wacker The Attacker
    ✭✭✭

Give the bride head the night before.

A dvd boxset of brideshead revisited could replace the wedding video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 SEPT 23 1989
    ✭✭✭✭

a tin of USA biscuits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 The Backwards Man
    ✭✭✭✭

Just don't go. If I'm not good enough to go to the main event, I'm not good enough to go the overpriced drinks and cringeworthy music afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 mikom
    ✭✭✭✭

so if i was invited with my missus to a wedding for the whole day it would be an automatic €200 in the card. done deal

have been invited to the afters of a wedding. now im not giving €200 for me and herself, but what would be a fair gift? dont want to seem stingy

100 is more than enough.
    Especially considering you are not "close" enough to be invited to the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 krudler
    ✭✭✭✭

a tin of USA biscuits

with a sewing kit inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 I am pie
    ✭✭✭

Afters is a horror show. Turning up, everyone lamped on the dinner wine and dancing to all the songs that you hate when your sober. Send them a congratulations card and take yourself and the missus out for a meal/knees up instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 Wacker The Attacker
    ✭✭✭

I am pie wrote: »
    Afters is a horror show. Turning up, everyone lamped on the dinner wine and dancing to all the songs that you hate when your sober. Send them a congratulations card and take yourself and the missus out for a meal/knees up instead.

Do you really think the wife is going to turn down a wedding related event.

She's probably frothing at the gash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 jimgoose
    ✭✭✭✭

Wait about ten days after the event, then send them a professional-looking invoice on headed paper (if you don't have your own, mocked-up will do - I suggest a British Airways theme) for your time to the nearest hour, plus travel/accommodation costs and any loss-of-earnings incurred while taking the time to sit in a big shed with their a$$hole family eating crappy cake and listening to half-cut morons in suits make cringeworthy speeches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 I am pie
    ✭✭✭

Do you really think the wife is going to turn down a wedding related event.

She's probably frothing at the gash.

Depends, if they are married then maybe, my missus is over attending weddings now, if anything i drag her along as it's a few drinks and a catch up with people you haven't seen. If they aren't married or are engaged then yep, there will be froth !

✭✭✭

DeanAustin wrote: »
    He didn't ask for the time. You're an hour ahead by the way.

Boards.ie goes by military time you maggot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 rustedtrumpet
    ✭✭

Nuff for afew joints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 TwoShedsJackson
    ✭✭✭

A waffle iron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 chuky_r_law
    ✭✭✭

I am pie wrote: »

meeting up in a pub across the road. have some food there and watch the match with the rest of the afters crowd. in fairness, they are having a very small gathering in a swanky hotel. most of the people i know going to the afters im surprised weren't going to the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 DeanAustin
    ✭✭✭

Festy wrote: »
    Boards.ie goes by military time you maggot

Yes Sir. I stand corrected Sir.

You were 13 hours ahead so...or 11 behind.

✭✭✭

Nuff for afew joints

tbh id say yer man would be delighted with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 Irishcrx
    ✭✭✭

How many feckin wedding threads do we have a month on AH???the same answers must be here a million times over...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 GorillaRising
    ✭✭

Just the afters? Just give them your best wishes.

✭✭✭

Irishcrx wrote: »
    How many feckin wedding threads do we have a month on AH???the same answers must be here a million times over...

and the answer is.....

well, from the few that have responded sensibly, €50 each would be more than enough. in fact even half that again would be fine i reckon. but €50 and there can be no complaints

im happy for the thread to close, but i do enjoy the nonsense answsers too, so if ya want you can keep those pearls of wisdom coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 bonnnie

sooooo weird that you said that! I keep my gash froth in a USA biscuit tin .... gives such a moist taste to ginger nuts, I highly recomend this method of storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 tobsey
    ✭✭✭

If you give 100 you are giving more than the people invited for the day that gave 200. Chances are the meal cost the couple more than 50 per head.

I'd suggest 50 to 70 in Ticketmaster vouchers. We got some for our wedding and it's a good excuse to get out for a night and go to something we wouldn't otherwise.

Whatever you give though I think 50 euro worth is probably enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 Mr.McLovin
    ✭✭

'ah jaysus, I don't believe it, I left the card on the kitchen table mate'

(in other words fúck 'em)

✭✭✭

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    'ah jaysus, I don't believe it, I left the card on the kitchen table mate'

(in other words fúck 'em)

and avoid them for the rest of your life :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 Nemeses
    ✭✭✭

I would bring myself.

That is a gift in itself :D

✭✭✭

tobsey wrote: »
    If you give 100 you are giving more than the people invited for the day that gave 200. Chances are the meal cost the couple more than 50 per head.

I'd suggest 50 to 70 in Ticketmaster vouchers. We got some for our wedding and it's a good excuse to get out for a night and go to something we wouldn't otherwise.

Whatever you give though I think 50 euro worth is probably enough.

spot on. €50 each is more than enough. we already have avoucher for a nice restaurant in galway for €100 but we're thinking now that we might get a couple of mates to go in on it too.

bringing up a bottle of buckie to yer man anyway. he'll be thrilled with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 merryberry
    ✭✭

bringing up a bottle of buckie to yer man anyway. he'll be thrilled with that!

on the way to wedding afters and searched this thread for a steer whilst having a buckie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 cml387
    ✭✭✭

An ear in a box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 MadsL
    ✭✭✭✭

Sign the card
    Add
    PS Don't spend it in the one shop.

Leave it opened on the gift table.

None the wiser. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 creep
    ✭✭

I give 80 usually if invited to the whole thing. If it's just the afters it really depends on the person but generally nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 canadianwoman
    ✭✭✭

An electric blanket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 BNMC
    ✭✭✭

€200 after just been invited to the afters? Fook that, I wouldn't even go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 Legs.Eleven
    ✭✭✭

Waterford Crystal carriage clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 Wabbit Ears
    ✭✭✭

people give cash when only invited to the afters? When the fcuk did that madness start happening?

Being invited to the afters means:

You're not that close
    You dont get a meal
    You dont get wine
    You still have to bear the cost travel, dress up, maybe hotel bill same as if it were the full day event
    You buy all your own drink

so serious Question to those that got married in celtic tiger ireland, do you actually expect the people invited to the afters to give presents?

• people give cash when only invited to the afters? When the fcuk did that madness start happening?

Being invited to the afters means:

You're not that close
    You dont get a meal
    You dont get wine
    You still have to bear the cost travel, dress up, maybe hotel bill same as if it were the full day event
    You buy all your own drink

so serious Question to those that got married in celtic tiger ireland, do you actually expect the people invited to the afters to give presents?

Yeah. I don't get it either. I don't go to afters anyway - if you want me at your wedding, invite me to it. I'm not going to spend loads of money to attend your party AND give you a cash present, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 homemadecider
    ✭✭✭

Invited to full wedding - give 150 or 200 between us.

Invited to afters only - no gift but will buy you a pint.