Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I an Irish citizen?

• 28-08-2013 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Eogclouder

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/amys-saving-10k-a-year-on-college-fees-now-shes-irish-29532217.html

Because after reading this, I feel like I'm a third-class citizen in my own country. I go to college, I am subject to pay my college fees because my father earns just over the breadline. Yet, people can merely come to our shores and get granted citizenship, having all their fees paid. This extends to the so-called 'All-Ireland Scholarship' that's handed out to medical card students with decent Leaving Cert results; a ridiculous scheme that grants them an additional €6,750 each year of their time at university.

I was born and bred in Ireland, all my family are from Ireland, I am studying in Ireland, yet what 'treats' am I being offered? A property tax? Less than half of my wages coming into my account? Full college fees? No medical card? I could go on.

What kind of idiots are running/have run our country? Moreover, what kind of fools are we for taking it for this length of time? I am sick and tired of reading and hearing about how I, and very many other IRISH people, are going to be targeted in the next budget, while we have been shot down already.

Despite all of what we must put up with, we have an example like this of someone coming into our country in the last nine years, getting full college fees paid, a medical card, and €6,750 on top of that each year. Quite frankly, it makes me sick.

Am I an Irish citizen? It sure as heck doesn't seem like it.

Getting citizenship is quite difficult, my girlfriend is an american working on it and it's no small feat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Does being born in Ireland make you better then those who were not?

It seems you feel you are entitled to it since you were born here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Maryanne333

No, it just means that our government tend to screw us a hell of a lot more than them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

You're already getting free college fees. You're paying a registration charge for the privilege that is far less than you'd be paying if Irish taxpayers weren't picking up your college tab. Stop moaning about it.

The girl cited in the article has been in Ireland since 2004, she's just as much of an Irish citizen as you are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

if you are an irish citizen you'd be getting the same deal she is on college fees, unless she qualifies for some scholarship you don't

So let me get this straight, her family have lived here for 9 years. Her father at least has been paying tax in this country for the same amount of time. The woman in the article has been attending school in Ireland since she was 10 years old so would have gone the full way through secondary school, done her leaving cert in this country - but you don't want her to be afforded the same opportunities here as her peers because she wasn't born here?

Perhaps we should stop allowing non nationals to pay tax in this country, everything would be a bit more even then.

Yes. You are an irish citizen, but sure you know this already don't you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/amys-saving-10k-a-year-on-college-fees-now-shes-irish-29532217.html

Because after reading this, I feel like I'm a third-class citizen in my own country. I go to college, I am subject to pay my college fees because my father earns just over the breadline. Yet, people can merely come to our shores and get granted citizenship, having all their fees paid. This extends to the so-called 'All-Ireland Scholarship' that's handed out to medical card students with decent Leaving Cert results; a ridiculous scheme that grants them an additional €6,750 each year of their time at university.

I was born and bred in Ireland, all my family are from Ireland, I am studying in Ireland, yet what 'treats' am I being offered? A property tax? Less than half of my wages coming into my account? Full college fees? No medical card? I could go on.

What kind of idiots are running/have run our country? Moreover, what kind of fools are we for taking it for this length of time? I am sick and tired of reading and hearing about how I, and very many other IRISH people, are going to be targeted in the next budget, while we have been shot down already.

Despite all of what we must put up with, we have an example like this of someone coming into our country in the last nine years, getting full college fees paid, a medical card, and €6,750 on top of that each year. Quite frankly, it makes me sick.

She is getting no more than you as a non citizen she had to pay full economic fees which range from 10,000 to 20,000 a year depending on course. Now just like you she only pays registration fees not full fees. How does that make you a second or third class citizen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

She's been living in Ireland since she was 10 years old. She has been living in Ireland twice as long as she has been in South Africa and has immersed herself in Irish culture. It isn't a big deal to give her a passport for the country in which she was raised since she was a small child.
    I go to college, I am subject to pay my college fees because my father earns just over the breadline.

What fees? You get free third level education in Ireland. You may have to pay your capitation and registration fees but I imagine this girl does as well. She, as an Irish citizen, now simply doesn't have to pay the full attendance fees which run into tens of thousands. In other words, she's getting the same opportunity as you, not preferential treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Better, no absolutely not.
    More entitled - yes, most probably. It seems quite sensible to me, to say that an irish citizen is more entitled to irish tax payers money than say an american or a chinese person is.
    Why wouldn't they be?

No, it just means that our government tend to screw us a hell of a lot more than them.

No it does not, if you had any ability to research (will be handy in college) you would know she is getting no more or less than any other citizen either born or naturalised.

Better, no absolutely not.
    More entitled - yes, most probably. It seems quite sensible to me, to say that an irish citizen is more entitled to irish tax payers money than say an american or a chinese person is.
    Why wouldn't they be?

Nobody's arguing that. The girl in the article is also an Irish citizen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Perhaps we should stop allowing non nationals to pay tax in this country, everything would be a bit more even then.

This, 100%.

The current system is taxation without representation.

It's funny how in this country we don't allow Irish citizens abroad to vote, and we also don't allow foreign nationals living and paying taxes here to vote either.

Why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Nobody's arguing that. The girl in the article is also an Irish citizen.

Sorry, my bad. I misread the paragraph, if they're both citizens they're both equal of course, being born here as opposed to naturalised makes no difference whatsoever - nor should it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

This extends to the so-called 'All-Ireland Scholarship' that's handed out to medical card students with decent Leaving Cert results; a ridiculous scheme that grants them an additional €6,750 each year of their time at university.

A quick search shows this is funded by JP McManus, administered by the DEIS.

30 scholarships are awarded annually to students exempt from paying senior cert or NI equivalent fees, I presume medical card holders are exempt from senior cert exam fees - not every medical card student gets a grant from JP.

Research must not be your strong point in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

You are only Irish by chance. They are Irish by Choice, fair play to them i say.
    And its not YOUR country.

keith16 wrote: »
    This, 100%.

The current system is taxation without representation.

It's funny how in this country we don't allow Irish citizens abroad to vote, and we also don't allow foreign nationals living and paying taxes here to vote either.

Why is that?

You sure about that? Im not Irish and ive been voting in all elections for the past 20 years.

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    You sure about that? Im not Irish and ive been voting in all elections for the past 20 years.

Depending on where a person is from and residency the can vote in certain elections. But if memory serves only a citizen can vote in referenda and presidential elections.

infosys wrote: »
    Depending on where a person is from and residency the can vote in certain elections. But if memory serves only a citizen can vote in referenda and presidential elections.

Ive voted in them as well .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

What are you studying?

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    Ive voted in them as well .

From the 1992 Act

Registration of presidential electors.

7.—(1) A person shall be entitled to be registered as a presidential elector in a constituency if he has reached the age of eighteen years and if he was, on the qualifying date—

(a) a citizen of Ireland, and

(b) ordinarily resident in that constituency.

(2) For the purposes of—

(i) the Presidential Elections Acts, 1937 to 1992,

(ii) the Referendum Acts, 1942 to 1992, and

(iii) this Act,

“presidential elector” means a person entitled to vote at an election of a person to the office of President of Ireland.

(3) In the Presidential Elections Acts, 1937 to 1992 “elector”, when used alone, means a person described in subsection (1).

infosys wrote: »
    From the 1992 Act

Registration of presidential electors.

7.—(1) A person shall be entitled to be registered as a presidential elector in a constituency if he has reached the age of eighteen years and if he was, on the qualifying date—

(2) For the purposes of—

(i) the Presidential Elections Acts, 1937 to 1992,

(ii) the Referendum Acts, 1942 to 1992, and

(iii) this Act,

“presidential elector” means a person entitled to vote at an election of a person to the office of President of Ireland.

(3) In the Presidential Elections Acts, 1937 to 1992 “elector”, when used alone, means a person described in subsection (1).

On this, I'm fairly sure there's a special exemption that allows UK citizens that are resident in Ireland to vote in Dáil elections.

Yes, but a presidential election is not a Dail election. Which is why I said only citizens can vote in those elections.

Section 8 of the 1992 Act

Registration of Dáil electors.

8.—(1) A person shall be entitled to be registered as a Dáil elector in a constituency if he has reached the age of eighteen years and he was, on the qualifying date—

(2) (a) In addition to those entitled to be registered under subsection (1) a person shall be entitled to be registered as a Dáil elector in a constituency if he is a person who has reached the age of eighteen years and who on the qualifying date—

(i) complied with the requirement of subsection (1) (b), and

(ii) was either—

(I) a British citizen, or

(II) a national of a Member State to which this subsection applied on that date.

(b) This subsection applies to a Member State which is for the time being the subject of a declaration under subsection (3).

The Constitution also requires that the president be elected by citizens.

Im here since the end of 94 and got a polling card for the election that Mary Mac won. Ive voted in every election and referendum since. I may have voted in a local election before that one but not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Check out the underneath. If you tick at least one ...... then you're Irish! :)

If you're Irish come into the parlour
    There's a welcome there for you
    If your name is Timothy or Pat
    So long as you come from Ireland
    There's a welcome on the mat
    If you come from the mountains of Mourne
    Or Killarney's lakes so blue
    We'll sing you a song, we'll make it a fuss
    Whoever you are you're one of us
    If you're Irish this is the place for you

Oh me name is McNamara
    I'm the leader of the band
    Although we're small in number
    We're the finest in the land
    We play at wakes and weddings
    And every country ball
    And when we play at funerals
    We play the best of all
    Oh the drums go bang and the cymbals clang
    And the horns they blaze away
    McCarthy pumps the old bassoon, while
    Doyle the pipes will play
    Oh! Hennessey Tennessey tootles the flue,
    And the music is something grand
    Oh! A credit to old Ireland, boys, is
    McNamara's band

With a shillelagh under me arm
    And a twinkle in me eye
    I'm off to Tipperary in the morning
    And a turra lurra lie
    I'll be welcome in the hall where I was born in
    My mother told the neighbors
    I'm gonna settle down
    Still the fluters coming out
    To play me round the town
    And a turra lurra lie
    I'll be welcome in th hall where I was born in

Now Hannigan was an Irish man
    He came from Erin's Isle
    He was a rogue who had a brogue
    You'd hear for half a mile
    When Hannigan gave a hooley
    Sure the news soon got about
    And you may be a stranger
    If you're passing by he'll shout
    Come into the parlour boy
    And make yourself at home
    Come into the parlour
    Sure you won't be on your own
    There's Mick McGee there's Rafferty there's
    Murphy and Muldoon
    They say McGilligan's daugther
    Doesnt' know the taste of water
    There's kegs of stout we'll stick 'em out
    There's grub for half the town
    There's bottles of the poitin
    If you want to wash it down
    So if you're Irish you're sure of a welcome
    For there's a hooley on in Hannigan's house tonight

If you're Irish come into the parlour
    There's a welcome there for you
    If your name is Timothy or Pat
    So long as you come from Ireland
    There's a welcome on the mat
    If you come from the mountains of Mourne
    Or Killarney's lakes so blue
    We'll sing you a song, we'll make it a fuss
    Whoever you are you're one of us
    If you're Irish this is the place for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

You don't pay fees you pay the registration fee.