Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PayPal Passwords 'Leaked By Anonymous'

• 05-11-2012 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593
    ✭✭✭✭

Source.

Hacking group Anonymous has reportedly released confidential passwords and other log-in details for PayPal users as part of a global day of protest.

The group announced it had leaked 28,000 alleged account passwords through several Twitter accounts as part of an organised protest on Guy Fawkes Day.

The activists also said they intended to stage a "V For Vendetta" protest outside the Houses of Parliament in London from 8pm.

But PayPal has said it had yet to find any evidence of a security breach. Several of the links to the alleged passwords have since been taken down.

Several websites have been targeted, apparently by the group or by others claiming links to Anonymous.

A hacker under the alias "pyknic" has targeted the websites of NBC shows Saturday Night Live, Late Night With Jimmy Fallon and the Tonight Show With Jay Leno.

But there also appeared to be a focus on surveillance companies, with cyber attacks on firms including TrapWire and INDECT.

Internet security firm Symantec was another that was targeted, along with some Australian government websites.

And pop star Lady Gaga took to Twitter after one of her fan sites, Gaga Daily, was defaced.

She wrote: "My little angels! Help is on the way. Haus of gaga techies will be on it... to the rescue. Calling them now."

Anonymous is using November 5 as a day of protest to coincide with Guy Fawkes' failed Gunpowder Plot to blow up the Houses of Parliament in 1605.

Members of the group have appeared in online videos wearing Guy Fawkes masks made famous by the 2005 film starring Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 Fr_Dougal
    ✭✭✭

The only "hacking" Anonymous can do is a DDoS attack or bully kids on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 My name is URL
    ✭✭✭✭

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    The only "hacking" Anonymous can do is a DDoS attack or bully kids on Facebook.

Evidently they can do more than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 Mr. CooL ICE
    ✭✭✭✭

Sounds like more of a Lulzsec thing to do rather than Anonymous. I reckon Sky have gotten it backwards again.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 awec
    Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

They're all freaks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 af_thefragile
    ✭✭✭

I hate anonymous.
    They're just stupid anarchists who love disrupting society and are of no benefit to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 Mince Pie
    ✭✭✭

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 Seaneh
    ✭✭✭✭

I hate anonymous.
    They're just stupid anarchists who love disrupting society and are of no benefit to anyone.

Actually what groups like Anon/lulzsec/etc do benefits anyone who uses services like paypay massively, it forces the service providers to actually fix their ****ty security gaps.

A massive proportion of credit card transactions carried out online are done using really, really, really **** security which leaves hundreds of millions of people open to being fleeced.

Without people forcing companies to improve their services, which they ****ing charge us for, it would never improve.

example 1: PSN. Sony's security was a joke, they were warned for months that
    it needed to be fixed, they never bothered to fix it so people decided to force them to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 TheDoc
    ✭✭✭✭

I hate anonymous.

A large part of these groups memo is the success in finding flaws in commonly used systems classified as secure.

What you don't see in the public eye, is the large amount of these people who are hired by large multi nationals, or actually placed on consultancy contracts with State departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ejmaztec
    ✭✭✭✭

TheDoc wrote: »
    A large part of these groups memo is the success in finding flaws in commonly used systems classified as secure.

What you don't see in the public eye, is the large amount of these people who are hired by large multi nationals, or actually placed on consultancy contracts with State departments.

I expect that most of them hack their way onto the payroll and that the companies don't realise that they're paying them.:P

✭✭✭✭

Seaneh wrote: »
    Actually what groups like Anon/lulzsec/etc do benefits anyone who uses services like paypay massively, it forces the service providers to actually fix their ****ty security gaps.

A massive proportion of credit card transactions carried out online are done using really, really, really **** security which leaves hundreds of millions of people open to being fleeced.

Without people forcing companies to improve their services, which they ****ing charge us for, it would never improve.

it needed to be fixed, they never bothered to fix it so people decided to force them to fix it.

Oh absolutely, when I was beaten up and mugged it did me a real favour, I do be much more careful now. Most people thought that I was stupid for not wanting to press charges but it's good to see someone who sees things my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 kowloon
    ✭✭✭✭

First rule of Project Mayhem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 AnonoBoy
    ✭✭✭✭

kowloon wrote: »
    First rule of Project Mayhem...

Neat dress essential?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 lisatiffany
    ✭✭✭

People only chose to see the bad Anonymous is supposed to have done, they do a lot of good work like fighting against the extreme god hates fags/ACTA/Cos (Church of scientology) and they were responsible for getting the internet back up in Egypt and in reporting the crimes of the Egyptian government on its own people. I've worked alongside Anonymous in protests and in conferences many times including here in Dublin. During the summer we held a conference against the dangers of Scientology, Anons from the uk/usa/canada and all over Europe were present, it was also the same weekend katie holmes left tom cruise so we had expert timing. Some of the things I heard from ex members who were high ranking before they left was both emotional and insane, if Anonymous had not targeted Cos they would have had no real opposition and today people would be calling them a religion and not a cult.

As for what they did to help the people of Egypt that really speaks for itself, as well as targeting anti gay and racist groups. I don't condone attacks on paypal/sony network/etc but many Anons are very into their beliefs and stand strongly by them, they have their reasons to go after paypal. I didn't agree with the attacks on sony that left so many peoples private details out there for all to see, I don't agree with it on paypal either, if they want to target a site they should just DDoS it and not target the sites users. I've met some very decent and intelligent people through Anonymous who don't do anything illegal, they attend monthly protests all over europe, many are even academics and live very professional lives. The real problem is that Anonymous itself is leaderless meaning that any group could use the moniker of Anonymous and carry out attacks or disturbances on sites and then people assume it was Anonymous themselves. If a site or group has gotten itself on the wrong side of Anonymous then there is a reason behind it, I'm not saying paypal deserve it, their customers certainly do not but they revoked payments to wikileaks while still allowing payments to various racist groups so they brought it on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 djflawless
    ✭✭✭

i think what anon is doing is great craic to be honest.and if i could, id try get involved meself.i find it hard logging into me own accounts let alone anyone elses!but the whole anarchy thing seems to be working.it has high end internet firms and the likes cackin themselves.
    it just shows how easy billions of dollars of tech can be hacked and changed for the better.maybe some members of anon could be helped out financially for anon.
    destroying terrorism, child pornography rings, cult sites etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 mike65
    ✭✭✭✭

ego maniacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 howamidifferent
    ✭✭✭

Maybe they could be persuaded to hack into Angela's PC and delete our banking debt? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 Fr_Dougal
    ✭✭✭

djflawless wrote: »
    i think what anon is doing is great craic to be honest.and if i could, id try get involved meself.i find it hard logging into me own accounts let alone anyone elses!but the whole anarchy thing seems to be working.it has high end internet firms and the likes cackin themselves.
    it just shows how easy billions of dollars of tech can be hacked and changed for the better.maybe some members of anon could be helped out financially for anon.
    destroying terrorism, child pornography rings, cult sites etc?

Ye, der deadly. lolz.

Shur de likes of PayPal only employ 1,900 peeps in Ireland. lolz.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 Dravokivich
    CMod ✭✭✭✭

I don't get how this is a good thing done by "Anonymous," as according to the info in the OP, they've gone and published peoples financial credentials.

Argue what you want for the security gaps they've breached to obtain that data, they went and published it. As far as I'm concerned it makes them nothing more than thiefs and fraudsters.

✭✭✭✭

I don't get how this is a good thing done by "Anonymous," as according to the info in the OP, they've gone and published peoples financial credentials.

Argue what you want for the security gaps they've breached to obtain that data, they went and published it. As far as I'm concerned it makes them nothing more than thiefs and fraudsters.

But, if fairness, you haven't the foggiest what you are waffling on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 Turtwig
    ✭✭✭✭

Why couldn't they just post the whereabouts of Sean Quinn's assets and other cronies like him? :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 Dravokivich
    CMod ✭✭✭✭

But, if fairness, you haven't the foggiest what you are waffling on about.

All I need to have a notion of are their actions and how they'd affect those who make use of such services. From reading that they've published data relating to people's accounts off a website that is used as an online payments system, I find it quite hard to consider it an agreeable course of action. It is theft, it is a provision for fraud.

Where is the waffle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 mooonpie
    ✭✭

In their defense, what an attack by Anonymous does is shine a spotlight on these companies and bring their security flaws into the public domain.

If Anonymous can access this "securely stored" data, then you can be damn sure other shadier organisations can too (or worse they already have).

Yes, Anonymous then allow every Tom, Dick and Harry to access it by making it public, but if they didn't who would believe them? Imagine seeing this statement instead of the the actual data:
    Hey everybody, we just hacked Paypal and have loads of peronal unencrypted data, but we're not going to show you so take our word for it
    There's no pressure on Paypal here (they can just deny it ever happened), all the pressure is on the attacker to provide the evidence. By skipping this step and just publishing the evidence, the victim is forced to tighten up its security holes.

And in all fairness, does anyone really think that Anonymous only found this security flaw today (the 5th of November - Guy Fawkes, etc) They must have known about the security flaw for a while and I'd almost guarantee that Paypal were informed between then and now.

Unfortunately that's the way information security works. A flaw is discovered, reported and ignored until it becomes a major issue that will potentially damage public perception, share prices and profits. Whether it's web browsers, videogame consoles or customers' "securely stored" personal data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 humanji
    ✭✭✭✭

Didn't anonymous hack an epilepsy site, adding in loads of flashing images which gave several people seizures?

✭✭✭✭

humanji wrote: »
    Didn't anonymous hack an epilepsy site, adding in loads of flashing images which gave several people seizures?

Anyone can do anything and blame it on anonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 AnonoBoy
    ✭✭✭✭

That's true. Just the other day while in a packed lift I Anonymous farted.

✭✭✭✭

There was evidence linking it to Anonymous though. That's the problem. anonymous are just that, Anonymous. They can be anyone and do anything. There could be a few at the top who want to change the world for the better, but there's always those who want to troll the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 Turtwig
    ✭✭✭✭

So equally they could give credit to anonymous for anything positive. Well this is just great.

✭✭✭✭

There was evidence linking it to Anonymous though. That's the problem. anonymous are just that, Anonymous. They can be anyone and do anything. There could be a few at the top who want to change the world for the better, but there's always those who want to troll the world.

You fail to understand the idea, there is no "top" there are sub groups like lulzsec etc, they have more of a structure, but anonymous itself, well, it doesn't have a "top" or a bottom or any sort of structure.

Someone comes up with an idea, other people latch on, it snow balls, that's it.

99.99999% of the time the person who came up with the original idea has no control over what will actually happen.

It's not an organisation or a group, it's just random people.

Some blow hards use the name for their personal causes or try and attach the name to make their causes seem more supported or whatever.

✭✭✭✭

I fully understand the idea and that's why I don't like the idea of them. There's a huge amount of people who make attacks and call themselves anonymous. And these are legitimate anonymous attacks because the anonymity makes them legitimate. As you say you self, anyone can claim to be anonymous. The attack on the epilepsy site was planned on sites where anonymous members post. It was carried out in the same way.

Anonymous don't regulate themselves. They only answer to people if they're caught. They want to be heroes exposing security gaps, but it's the average Joe who suffers and they don't care about that. It's easy to expose these gaps without screwing over the public. But it doesn't get as big a media hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 mooonpie
    ✭✭

They very well may have, but I would hope that these types of operations garner minimal support from the overall group.

We tend to hear about the major operations with support from the most Anonymous users - which generally fall in to 2 camps:
    attacking the man/evil corporations
    attacking conservative/discriminating views on historically taboo behaviour

Unfortunately, there's nothing stopping anyone from suggesting their own idea, which may have no "for the better of humanity" ideal attached to it and are in reality nothing more than trolling.

And there'll always be a few like-minded individuals who'll join in "for the laugh/craic/lulz", but these operations tend to receive less support and less publicity than the bigger ones.

Don't get me wrong, I don't for 1 second believe that all Anonymous are looking out for their fellow man - and plenty of them are probably just trolls, **** stirrers and keyboard warriors - but they do occasionally force a reaction that betters the general public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 lisatiffany
    ✭✭✭

Yeah but those were ones trying to get some lolz back into Anonymous. Moral fag Anons didn't see the humor in it and wanted nothing to do with it. There was a big split down the middle when that happened because opinions changed between the group. It's the moral fag percentage of Anonymous that uses its power to stop governments from abusing and hiding the truth from from its people. There is always going to be a percentage of Anons who do bad or off colour things but the majority have a lot more cop on and don't abuse the power.

Visa, Paypal and Mastercard all still allow donations to organizations like the west baptist church and the KKK yet they will not process donations to wikileaks, they call people who stand up for wikileaks terrorist sympathizers. The internet whether people want to admit it or not came about because of hackers, businesses and corporations flout their superiority over sites like its a private entity to be owned. Anonymous stand for freedom not just online but offline too, to really understand them you have to follow a lot of the good they have and still do.

Anonymous started for all of the lolz and pranks, its a prankster ethos at heart but over the years has evolved into a serious political movement. You have the ones who are only in it for the fun and pranks, like the ones who hit the epilepsy site. Efforts do get combined when it comes to serious operations and targets but the majority of Anonymous are in it for the right reasons. Even individuals who have served time because of their involvement adamantly admit they would do it again and that it was worth it to stand up for something believe in. I think posting those images on the epilepsy site was completely uncalled for but tomorrow someone could launch an op on boards and claim they were Anonymous, I wouldn't believe it unless I saw a notice given through an official Anon channels/twitter etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 dxhound2005
    ✭✭✭✭

Slightly old thread but I just wanted to say that it looks like some of the Anonymous guys were a bit lax with their own security.

http://www.digitalspy.ie/tech/news/a453648/anonymous-hacker-christopher-weatherhead-jailed-for-18-months.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 CrazyRabbit
    ✭✭✭

They are hypocrites. They claim to support free speech, then actively try to shut down the websites of those whose ideas they don't agree with. Free speech is only truly free speech when everyone has it...even the assholes and vile freaks out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 MagicSean
    ✭✭✭

Ah, the Die hard 4 defence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 IM0
    ✭✭✭

Slightly old thread but I just wanted to say that it looks like some of the Anonymous guys were a bit lax with their own security.

http://www.digitalspy.ie/tech/news/a453648/anonymous-hacker-christopher-weatherhead-jailed-for-18-months.html

lol what a pansy assed lookin chap

jesus :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 Chain_reaction
    ✭✭

They very well may have, but I would hope that these types of operations garner minimal support from the overall group.

We tend to hear about the major operations with support from the most Anonymous users - which generally fall in to 2 camps:
    attacking the man/evil corporations
    attacking conservative/discriminating views on historically taboo behaviour

Unfortunately, there's nothing stopping anyone from suggesting their own idea, which may have no "for the better of humanity" ideal attached to it and are in reality nothing more than trolling.

And there'll always be a few like-minded individuals who'll join in "for the laugh/craic/lulz", but these operations tend to receive less support and less publicity than the bigger ones.

Don't get me wrong, I don't for 1 second believe that all Anonymous are looking out for their fellow man - and plenty of them are probably just trolls, **** stirrers and keyboard warriors - but they do occasionally force a reaction that betters the general public

Surely that was just a load of 4chan horrors double trolling by saying they were anonymous?