Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

automatic number plate recognition

• 11-02-2011 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭

Hi if anybody has any experience of this new system from the garda traffic corps,then all
    responses greatly appreciated.

was just stopped by a garda car with the a,n,p,r fitted to the garda car,i was driving the company van,clearly signed taxed and insured,my van was broken into this year,nothing taking and reported,also the van was in a collision with property last year,insurance paid out for the damage,the guards have cctv and company name and numbers of all addresses,no prosecutions, i am wondering what does this ANPR do and why was i flagged,they took my details and said nothing serious came up or much came up and sent me on my way saying they'd look into it,could it be from some road rage incident or motorists swearing or usual day to day heated exchanges if reported,has me really curious and also somewhat worried

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Just guessing here. ANPR is new in town. The system probably flags reg numbers that have come to the attention of the 'system', maybe for minor reasons. AGS may just have been putting the technology through its paces. Perhaps in time there will be more urgent cases to deal with, and the relatively minor ones won't stick out so much.

If you have concerns regarding information about you that may be on the ANPR system, or if you have a complaint about a Garda’s use of ANPR, you can contact the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission or the Office of the Data Protection Commissioner (source: Irish Council for Civil Liberties).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭wadk

No,tax is up in april and the insurance is expiring in october,8 vans southside dublin and 7 on the northside so its a pretty big fleet,the van was crashed into by a learner driver early last year,thing was the lady who hit the van and her boyfriend have or are known to the gardai for motoring offences,her boyfriend is a mechanic and agreed to repair the van for my boss,so we agreed to drop off the van and collect it,but her boyfriend(the mechanic) was banned(unknown to us at that stage) and the van impounded when he was caught driving it,so the boss and i produced the relevant certs in blackrock garda station and recovered the van and i'm wondering if it may have been logged as stolen although the paperwork was produced.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭littletiger

'One of the main benefits of the system is that the plate recognition can run in the background while Gardaí are measuring speed or attending to other issues as demands dictate.

All vehicles fitted with ANPR camera systems will be able to identify vehicles as being stolen, untaxed, suspect, cited as connected with terrorist suspects, crime groups, drug trafficking, people trafficking and/or persistent offending'.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=106&Lang=1

'One of the main benefits of the system is that the plate recognition can run in the background while Gardaí are measuring speed or attending to other issues as demands dictate.

All vehicles fitted with ANPR camera systems will be able to identify vehicles as being stolen, untaxed, suspect, cited as connected with terrorist suspects, crime groups, drug trafficking, people trafficking and/or persistent offending'.

yeah i have seen this. maybe the reg is down for the property collision and the back alley mechanic,hence persistent offending although no prosecutions brought against myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Wadk,

The ANPR system flags for numerous reasons. Yours was insurance.

At present (soon to change) insurance details are entered into the AGS system by the tax office when renewing your tax. So when your last tax was renewed in April last year you were insured until October. Now since you are not renewing until April again.....the tax office NVF database has you as uninsured.\

Simples and nothing to worry about.

thanks for all the reponses,bit intimidating to find yourself hawled across two lanes for suspicion of no tax,insurance but suppose its the way forward to improve the roads.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

wadk wrote: »
    thanks for all the reponses,bit intimidating to find yourself hawled across two lanes for suspicion of no tax,insurance but suppose its the way forward to help recapitalise the banks.:cool:

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

FYP

What have the Traffic Corps have to do with that????. Has NGA shares in Anglo...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

In the North, I have often seen the revenue parked up in a lay-bay, a camera on a tripod beside the car; automatically, all those cars with no Tax, etc. are recorded and then penalty notices sent out. No need to stop the cars.

Very easy, no need to stop cars, no traffic jams.

BTW: the ANPR system was developed for the security forces in the North during the troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Will the anpr tell if a driver has a full or provisional licence as ther are some learner drivers who dont display l plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

ofcork wrote: »
    Will the anpr tell if a driver has a full or provisional licence as ther are some learner drivers who dont display l plates.

Not possible at all. How can a camera know who's driving?

Let alone the DB work to check up the licence status of registered keepers / insured owners. My insurers don't know my licence number for instance; and as I bought the car "second hand" (1 previous owner = fiat auto ireland) they've no PPS number for me as they would on an import.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

FYP

Ah, leave that stuff out. The macro economy is nothing to do with this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

NGA wrote: »
    Wadk,

At present (soon to change) insurance details are entered into the AGS system by the tax office when renewing your tax. So when your last tax was renewed in April last year you were insured until October. Now since you are not renewing until April again.....the tax office NVF database has you as uninsured.\

That is totally flaky! Frankly, I find it unbelievable that this is the reason the OP was stopped. I'm sure the vast majority of vehicles on the road have tax and insurance expiry dates which are out of sync - why aren't all these drivers being pulled?

Would you not agree that the other history which the OP outlined is more likely the reason he was pulled, given the quote from garda.ie linked above? i.e.
    All vehicles fitted with ANPR camera systems will be able to identify vehicles as being stolen, untaxed, suspect, cited as connected with terrorist suspects, crime groups, drug trafficking, people trafficking and/or persistent offending.

Not your ornery onager

So update to this post,received a fixed notice in the post through the office on tuesday 15/2, fixed penalty of 40 euro for parking in a loading bay after hours and then became a clear way,date of offence 3/2,stopped on the 11/2 by the ANPR, Pure and utter bull**** and waste of resources!!

thanks for the info and suggestions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

So what's the issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

You parking in a loadbay/clearway and being stopped by an ANPR equipped car have NOTHING to do with each other. Your van wouldn't have been flagged for that reason. It's only a minor parking offence.

NGA's explanation above is by far the most likely as to why you got pulled in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

can it flag skangers..?

Not Your Ornery Onager

NGA's explanation above is by far the most likely as to why you got pulled in.
    Because the tax and insurance renewal dates are out of sync? Do you seriously believe that is the most likely reason, given the background the OP has outlined?

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Because the tax and insurance renewal dates are out of sync? Do you seriously believe that is the most likely reason, given the background the OP has outlined?

That couldnt be correct. If that was the case the ANPR would be flagging 90% of cars for no insurance...

Ye, the vehicle has a history of being driven with no insurance and that coupled with it pinging up as having no insurance due to the tax offices system regarding updating the system, would have raised (IMO) the gardas suspicions but it has nothing to do with the parking ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

NGA wrote: »
    Wadk,

When I last renewed my tax I didn't fill in the insurance part, I went in to the tax office without the piece of paper where I wrote it down, the girl left me off and said it was fine and not to worry :o

Not Your Ornery Onager

-Corkie- wrote: »
    That couldnt be correct. If that was the case the ANPR would be flagging 90% of cars for no insurance...
    Exactly the point I made in my reply to NGA above....

Not your ornery onager

It is correct, that's why the system is in the process of being changed! Ireland doesnt (yet) have a central insurance database that can be checked so we're forced to rely on information provided by the motor tax office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Mightn't be entirely relevant but from speaking to a few members, it seems this system is "local" to the car. Its not a truly live system. Something like a USB key that has to be updated each day and loaded into the car. Makes sense as I would imagine the EDGE/3G charge would be astronomical.

I can also see the new GoSafe Vans being kitted out for this sort of work, it would be tiny modification. Scan a couple of thousand reg's on a busy road and check against a database. Would very quickly start to route out uninsured and untaxed drivers. As much as i hate GoSafe, I'd support that type of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Esel wrote: »
    That is totally flaky! Frankly, I find it unbelievable that this is the reason the OP was stopped. I'm sure the vast majority of vehicles on the road have tax and insurance expiry dates which are out of sync - why aren't all these drivers being pulled?

Would you not agree that the other history which the OP outlined is more likely the reason he was pulled, given the quote from garda.ie linked above? i.e.

Agreed, NGAs explanation doesn't stack up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

It is correct, that's why the system is in the process of being changed! Ireland doesnt (yet) have a central insurance database that can be checked so we're forced to rely on information provided by the motor tax office.

What a crazy system, I pay 12 months motor tax every December and renew my insurance each June. It suits to have them spread out over the year. Based on the half-arsed system in operation my car will flag up on any ANPR for 6 out of every 12 months as without insurance. Total madness.

I am the same only the other way around. If this is true the ANPR will flag nearly every car. If that is the case the system is a waste of time. I hope NGA can clarify this..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I heard the same story as IronClaw, the system has to be manually updated for each car & has to be done every day if they are to be sure it is accurate.
    There is a system option to update via 3G but this was rejected as an option. I've heard that Traffic Corps are wary if the system as a few of them got it badly wrong by assuming that it was correct but was actually out of date.

If it worked well then it's a good investment, especially if there is a "black list" of criminals' cars.

I heard the same story as IronClaw, the system has to be manually updated for each car & has to be done every day if they are to be sure it is accurate.
    There is a system option to update via 3G but this was rejected as an option. I've heard that Traffic Corps are wary if the system as a few of them got it badly wrong by assuming that it was correct but was actually out of date.

If it worked well then it's a good investment, especially if there is a "black list" of criminals' cars.

I suppose it is like everything else in this country. Pity for the TC though as they should have better resources.