Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone Any Battle Stories??

• 30-12-2010 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

I realized a while ago, although I'm only 19, I've never been in a REAl fight with a stranger.

Don't get me wrong. My friends and I have been started on etc... but it was never anything that we couldn't get out of with words.

Anyone any battle tales like standing up for someone on a bus or repelling a mugger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭killerking

I was out one night last April in Temple Bar and was heading for the Ha'penny Bridge when I got chatting to a bunch of college girls. They were pretty friendly but they told me there was a pair of scumbags following them so they asked me to stick with them. I thought they were joking but then just as we stepped onto the bridge, a pair of gougers came up who started screaming and cursing at one of the girls. I told the girls to keep moving and ignore them and they would go away.
    The two guys turned their attention onto me but I kept moving and didn't look at them. That's when one of them got behind me and reached around me clasping his hands over my chest and tried to pin my arms.
    The other guy gave me a punch right into the solar plexus and another across the right jaw.
    I know a little Krav Maga and I was sharp enough to step to one side and just squeeze his balls in my right hand. He doubled up released his grip and I caught him in the side of the head with my right elbow.
    I caught the other guy with two palm strikes into the face and followed them up with a left and right elbow, brought my right knee into his balls and caught him in the nose with my left knee.
    He went down and the first guy was coming at me again. He caught me on the nose with a right but I caught his wrist in my right hand, twisted it clockwise and locked his elbow by pressing down with my left hand. I spun him around and throw him head first on the ground.
    I told the girls to run and we ran all the way to O'Connell Street.
    We went into Burger King and everyone was laughing.
    My nose was bleeding and my face was bruised so I went into the toilet to get cleaned up.
    When I came out all the girls were clapping so we were talking for a while and I got a lot of phone numbers and before I went for a taxi they all kissed me good night. I felt right chuffed so I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Josh_Calvert

best story ever!

The last fight I was in was when I was chilling with 3 guy friends and one of their girl friends on the grass in tcd during the summer. anyway there was a lot of shouting and interference with people coming from this guy in his early 20's...he was normal sized and not obviously a scanger but he was well pissed and had obviously taken a ****ing bowl of powder cos he was all arrogant and aggressive and oblivious and out of his head...

Anyway he targeted my group next and we tried to engage him in a way such that he'd calm down or move on...anyway he wouldn't leave and he started pushing my mates and being threatening to the girlfriend...after a few minutes of us trying to talk him down he grabbed my mate's can of beer...

So in split second I had lept up from a seated position,kicked him full force in the chest so he fell onto his back on the grassy verge, punched him in the head, landed on top of him with my left knee on his throat, my right hand in his mouth and my left fist landing some solid digs to his face...after about 10 seconds I came too and my mates were trying to haul me off him...he staggered off quietly with a swollen face and blood pouring out of his mouth.

I was still livid so I kicked the **** out of a big metal bin.What really got me was the disrespect I got from the group of girls behind us...they would have been next on his list and I got no thanks or respect for saving them from the hassle/danger :(

Sometimes you have to fight, but I hate it...always better to avoid all potential danger than to have to get physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

killerking wrote: »
    I was out one night last April in Temple Bar and was heading for the Ha'penny Bridge when I got chatting to a bunch of college girls. They were pretty friendly but they told me there was a pair of scumbags following them so they asked me to stick with them. I thought they were joking but then just as we stepped onto the bridge, a pair of gougers came up who started screaming and cursing at one of the girls. I told the girls to keep moving and ignore them and they would go away.
    The two guys turned their attention onto me but I kept moving and didn't look at them. That's when one of them got behind me and reached around me clasping his hands over my chest and tried to pin my arms.
    The other guy gave me a punch right into the solar plexus and another across the right jaw.
    I know a little Krav Maga and I was sharp enough to step to one side and just squeeze his balls in my right hand. He doubled up released his grip and I caught him in the side of the head with my right elbow.
    I caught the other guy with two palm strikes into the face and followed them up with a left and right elbow, brought my right knee into his balls and caught him in the nose with my left knee.
    He went down and the first guy was coming at me again. He caught me on the nose with a right but I caught his wrist in my right hand, twisted it clockwise and locked his elbow by pressing down with my left hand. I spun him around and throw him head first on the ground.
    I told the girls to run and we ran all the way to O'Connell Street.
    We went into Burger King and everyone was laughing.
    My nose was bleeding and my face was bruised so I went into the toilet to get cleaned up.
    When I came out all the girls were clapping so we were talking for a while and I got a lot of phone numbers and before I went for a taxi they all kissed me good night. I felt right chuffed so I did.

3some opportunity missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

best story ever!

The last fight I was in was when I was chilling with 3 guy friends and one of their girl friends on the grass in tcd during the summer. anyway there was a lot of shouting and interference with people coming from this guy in his early 20's...he was normal sized and not obviously a scanger but he was well pissed and had obviously taken a ****ing bowl of powder cos he was all arrogant and aggressive and oblivious and out of his head...

Anyway he targeted my group next and we tried to engage him in a way such that he'd calm down or move on...anyway he wouldn't leave and he started pushing my mates and being threatening to the girlfriend...after a few minutes of us trying to talk him down he grabbed my mate's can of beer...

So in split second I had lept up from a seated position,kicked him full force in the chest so he fell onto his back on the grassy verge, punched him in the head, landed on top of him with my left knee on his throat, my right hand in his mouth and my left fist landing some solid digs to his face...after about 10 seconds I came too and my mates were trying to haul me off him...he staggered off quietly with a swollen face and blood pouring out of his mouth.

I was still livid so I kicked the **** out of a big metal bin.What really got me was the disrespect I got from the group of girls behind us...they would have been next on his list and I got no thanks or respect for saving them from the hassle/danger :(

Sometimes you have to fight, but I hate it...always better to avoid all potential danger than to have to get physical.
    In all fairness, I'd be like what the fuck did he do that for? All he did was try and steal a drink, let him off, he was clearly off his head and all that did was make you look bad. Technically, he could have brought assault charges against you.

Anyways, my heroic story.. Some woman was being mugged on O'Connell St. Went over pushed the mugger away, he stabbed me with what I'd imagine was a little flick knife, didn't go too far in but still needed a good few stitches. He ran off, she picked her bag up, said thanks, I said no problem, didn't even realise I'd been poked(Wasn't deep enough for me to call it a stab wound :p) until my friend pointed it out. Just walked up to the Mater I think? and got it checked out. My scars faded so now I can't really tell the story without people doubting me..

Been in a few proper fights, not really proud of them though :P

ScareGilly wrote: »
    In all fairness, I'd be like what the fuck did he do that for? All he did was try and steal a drink, let him off, he was clearly off his head and all that did was make you look bad. Technically, he could have brought assault charges against you.

Anyways, my heroic story.. Some woman was being mugged on O'Connell St. Went over pushed the mugger away, he stabbed me with what I'd imagine was a little flick knife, didn't go too far in but still needed a good few stitches. He ran off, she picked her bag up, said thanks, I said no problem, didn't even realise I'd been poked(Wasn't deep enough for me to call it a stab wound :p) until my friend pointed it out. Just walked up to the Mater I think? and got it checked out. My scars faded so now I can't really tell the story without people doubting me..

Been in a few proper fights, not really proud of them though :P

There's lots of martial instructors who teach students how to block knife attacks. But it's just completely bogus and irresponsible because there's no way anybody can anticipate a knife attack because a person could get a fatal wound before they even know where they are.
    You weren't to know the scumbag had a knife and you are very lucky to be alive.
    It only takes one stab and a scrawny guy could kill a guy built like a brick sh1t-house.
    A person should only get in a fight unless they risk serious injury or death if they don't do something about it.
    The best defence is to run like hell.
    Going out looking for a fight is garanteed to make an individual dead or in the hospital.
    Better to be alive or able bodied rather than to dead or seriously injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Was out in our local night club in Tullamore, just standing a few feet away from the bar chatting with a couple mates and anotother girl. A few mates at the bar too so we were just waiting for them. Out of nothing 2 lads and a girl go up to que at the bar and all of a sudden the girl smashes her glass over the back of my mates head at the bar and then the 2 lads with the girl pretty much stand there looking for a fight.

At the same time without even looking at any of my mates i ran about 5 feet and caught one of the lads on his left cheek with a nice punch, as i caught him with the punch my mate hit him at the very same time on the other side of his face. I quickly fell to the ground and before i could even think a bouncer had me off the ground and had me kicked out the door. I was then outside on my own, the door quickly opened and 2 more of my mates were kicked out too. We were then quickly followed by the 2 lads and the girl who started the whole thing.

When on the street, a small sttreet beside the club punches were swapped for about 5-10 minutes, along with the girl throwing in a few slaps and scratches, both my mates ended up with there tops tore off them just before the guards arrived to break things up. My mate who was hit with the glass had to be taken to hospital but was ok. Absolutley scum on there part so i didn't feel bad about hitting them at all, that was about the only fight i was ever in too.

I was kicked out of the que to a night club in Athlone when we started singing "My Lovely Horse" at the ginger lad Joe McCaul or whatever his name was, it was only a bit of a laugh but it really pissed of him and his mates so the bouncer sent us away. We came back 10 minutes later and were allowed in, smae thing happened again inside the club and we were kicked out again... Oh god i miss college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

A while back I was waiting for a taxi when a couple walked past screaming at each other. The bf started to get more aggressive and ended up shoving the girl against the wall and she fell to the ground. Few people around me looked shocked, so I told him to knock it off and go home. He looked dumbfounded and started to walk towards me...
    Then it got rough.
    GF got up, pushed her way past the bf and lunged at me. She was swingin the handbag as hard as she could at my head and throwing a few digs and kicks out when she could while shouting "YOU F**K OFF AND LEAVE HIM ALONE HES MINE!!". Not wanting to hit anyone, I start backing off only for her to then try and tackle me to the ground. She misses, lands on her face.BF comes over, picks her up and tells her to leave me alone and stop startin fights. She storms off up the road and I don't know who I felt more sorry for.

Check out this series of videos featuring Bas Rutten, a serious hardcase who shows basic techniques for bar and street fights. The tone is light-hearted but this stuff might save your life. Don't try any of this stuff unless you really are in danger of serious injury or death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Gerry Manderer

A while back I was waiting for a taxi when a couple walked past screaming at each other. The bf started to get more aggressive and ended up shoving the girl against the wall and she fell to the ground. Few people around me looked shocked, so I told him to knock it off and go home. He looked dumbfounded and started to walk towards me...
    Then it got rough.
    GF got up, pushed her way past the bf and lunged at me. She was swingin the handbag as hard as she could at my head and throwing a few digs and kicks out when she could while shouting "YOU F**K OFF AND LEAVE HIM ALONE HES MINE!!". Not wanting to hit anyone, I start backing off only for her to then try and tackle me to the ground. She misses, lands on her face.BF comes over, picks her up and tells her to leave me alone and stop startin fights. She storms off up the road and I don't know who I felt more sorry for.

I would NEVER get involved in a couple having a fight no matter how bad it was getting. I've seen it happen so many times where a good samaritan tries to step in and defend the girl being attacked, invariably the good samaritan is the one who ends up getting attacked- by both of them. Pathethic and hard to understand but unfortunately couples like this are best left to beat the crap out of eachother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Josh_Calvert

No it's not like that.It was a situation where something had to be done.I guess if you weren't there or haven't experienced it it's hard to understand.Bad vibes and unpredictable guys on drugs are odd situations....not as immediately threatening as some scummer with a knife or some drunk guy starting a fight...but still bad situations.

I was once also attacked in the toilets of the ifc by a crazy homeless guy...thank god the bouncers were quick off the mark.Mentally unstable people are impossible to cope with...I dunno....don't go to Dublin any more is the lesson there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

There's lots of martial instructors who teach students how to block knife attacks.
    I know, I train one of them :rolleyes: Needless to say I told a few of the local women I was attacked and managed to fight off one of them, while one of them had a knife, used a few moves, took it and scared them off. Got me a few brownie points with them :pac:
    Check out this series of videos featuring Bas Rutten, a serious hardcase who shows basic techniques for bar and street fights. The tone is light-hearted but this stuff might save your life. Don't try any of this stuff unless you really are in danger of serious injury or death.
    Bas Rutten is a hero, but after you watch them, you should watch this..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

I was parked up in a market type area in Mogadishu a couple of years back (I work as a contractor, lots of international travel to ME, africa, latin america). I was in an SUV with a buddy and coleague and 3 security guards. Private security out there always have SMGs, afaik they had MP5s anwyays a guy comes up to the darkened window and starts banging on it. We ignore him for like 20 seconds. Then we hear "tap tap tap" metal on glass sound. He had a 9mm pistol... we were like WTF! The SUV was armoured to level 2 with bulletproof windows and basically a bomb proof bottom and sides.
    He starts shouting at us in arabic or something, he was trying to jack the car!

We just sit waiting, then the ****er SHOOTS one of the rear doors. One of the goons lets down the window and points his gun at him. He looks in, and sees the truck half full of armoured heavily armed guys, he actually DROPPED his gun and ran away.

When my boss got back from where he was he said "why the **** is there a pistol lying on the ground outside my door??!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

No it's not like that.It was a situation where something had to be done.I guess if you weren't there or haven't experienced it it's hard to understand.Bad vibes and unpredictable guys on drugs are odd situations....not as immediately threatening as some scummer with a knife or some drunk guy starting a fight...but still bad situations.

I was once also attacked in the toilets of the ifc by a crazy homeless guy...thank god the bouncers were quick off the mark.Mentally unstable people are impossible to cope with...I dunno....don't go to Dublin any more is the lesson there.

Seems like it would have been easy to restrain him and call security rather than sit on his chest and punch him repeatedly in the face.

In 10 years of going out drinking and partying in Dublin and other places, I've never been in a fight. I guess 10% luck and 90% ability to calm a situation down or walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Eyre Sq Galway a few years back.

If you know Eyre Square it was full of winos. Well to be polite we'll say homeless people who spend their days drinking cans.
    The homeless shelter is just up the road in Fairgreen.

I was hanging around on my Bus Éireann to Limerick to go home for the weekend. Sat in Eyre Sq with a salad roll and then strolled over to the bin.

"Any coppers buddy?" said the wino.
    Anyone who calls you buddy is usually trouble.

I said nothing, strolled on and wham, got a sucker punch to the back of my head. Was dizzy and couldn't see well
    That wino outweighted me by at least 5 stone and I got a few shots to the head, I'll admit I couldn't realy block anything, rubbish fighter. Pushed him back twice and then a fist to the face and he went down.

Some passerby called the gardai and a sergeant took our details and I made a statement the next week. Of course nothing came of it :rolleyes:
    I asked the garda seargeant in Galway three times for an update, got one callback, he was in the Fairgreen Hostel and in the end nothing came of it.
    Waste of time going to the gardai and this was a sergeant, not just a new hire.

Only fight I've been in and I was useless :o
    Started training after that, I'm a lot more confident these days.
    I told lads in college what happened and they said I was a fool to turn my back to a threat. Maybe, I just didn't expect it. At 4pm in Eyre Square, the very centre of a city? THis wasn't some back alley!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Then it got rough.

Always the way.
    You see some lad being rough to his girlfriend, you step in and they both turn on you. :mad:

No wonder many are reluctant to be the Good Samaritan and get involved. Would that girl rather get shoved against walls???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

I always get in a fight on the pitch, only once in "real life" and it wasnt much, i punched some lad after he grabbed my birds boobs.... embarrassing when i think of it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Been in two fights in my life and I've been knocked the **** out of both times. Haven't had one in four years since. Running away is my tactic :D. I'm always afraid I'll be out with a girl and some creep gropes her and she'll expect me to hit them....I'd be utterly useless:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Been in two fights in my life and I've been knocked the **** out of both times. Haven't had one in four years since. Running away is my tactic :D. I'm always afraid I'll be out with a girl and some creep gropes her and she'll expect me to hit them....I'd be utterly useless:pac:
    Very few people are good at fighting. You only get good after having a lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Haven't had a fight since I was a teenager but lots of gangs in my area meant we regularly had fights.

Learned a few things:
    1. Fights are a lot less dramatic then the fear you build up in your mind of them and tend to be quite 'scrappy'. Punches dont do as much damage as you think they do (unless you hit a sweet spot) and actually end up doing damage to your hands/wrists.
    2. Apart from a couple of opening shots fights tend to include a lot of grappling and throwing. (notice this is very prevalent in MMA which is consistent with my experience).
    3. You get very tired, very fast in a fight- with adrenaline flowing its extremely physically draining so if you're not fit and/or your opening shots dont do significant damage then you will be running out of luck fast..
    4. Training tends to go out the window- I did karate for years- I would say only a small % of moves are actually useful in a real fight- I've seen boxers lose in street fights- its just a completely different dynamic. Something like Judo might be useful though.
    5. Its not worth it, walk away- one punch can kill a man and just for the sake of saving face you could end up in prison regardless of 'who started it'.
    6. NEVER leave a mate behind if its a gang type fight.

Worst fight I had was when a guy pulled out a knife and went for my face, managed to block it with my hand and got a nice scar for it- grabbed his hands but his mate was punching me in the face then. Luckily for me my mate had a bottle a bounced it off his head- freed me up and we managed to get away as a hoard of their mates started running down the lane.

Ah good times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

My mate was mugged. He had to give up his phone but they let him take his SIM card out first. Ya don't get classy criminals anymore these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Battle stories? Well there was a mad few months after I inherited a mystical ring from my uncle on his eleventy-first birthday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Very few people are good at fighting. You only get good after having a lot of them.

In my experience this is largely true. Even then, most fights are just a couple of slaps and that's about it, or one guy hits another out of the blue with no warning so it's more assault than fight.

I once had a guy tell me he wanted to fight ( dude was huge and scary as **** and i was about 15 ) so i said cool, lets fight, but you'll beat my ass so how's about we play a game of chess afterwards so i can feel better about myself. He broke his hole laughing and we are still mates to this day.

Not a fight story, but prevention is better than cure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭namelessguy

About 4 years ago twas in a chipper with about 5 friends after a night out on the tear. The guy behind me, his phone rings so steps out of the queue and heads outside to take it. A few minutes later (it's a slow moving queue) he comes back in and steps in front me in the queue. I of course go "Sorry, I was in front of you" so he grabs me, left hand holding my shirt and right elbow up to my throat saying he was in front of me. The manager (I'm assuming, the only guy behind the counter in a shirt and tie) tells us all to relax that we're all going to get served which calms your man down, he lets me go and we all go back to queueing.

Another guy comes in the door and walks up to your man and starts chatting away to him. I'm doing my best to keep occupied, reading the menu (it's a really slow moving queue) when I overhear your man say to his mate "If I get in to a fight tonight will you have my back" to which he says "of course". If I'd been the slightest bit sober then warning bells may have gone off but I wasn't and it didn't. He didn't even turn around, just threw his left elbow up and back right square in to my face. Right in to the nose. Blood ensues. Of course his mate grabs him so the I do my thing... which turns out to be grabbing my news and shouting "you CNUT, I'm bleeding. You hit me and I'm bleeding! You CNUT!" Hitting him back doesn't even occur to me. My mates didn't see what happened so they aren't exactly much use. The manager hands me some tissues and every one's calmed down. A few minutes later we all have our orders and head outside.

As pissed as I am your man is worse. Outside he comes up to me, says something incomprehensible along the lines of "bit of craic" and puts me in a headlock. He lets me ago after a few seconds but again hitting him doesn't even occur to me. My mates of course see this and there are words. One of the lads, Paddy, hands his chips to a random person "Here, hold these" then goes in swinging. Again there's me and 5 friends and your man and his mate. And 4 of your man's friends across the road who see my mate go in swinging and then come running. Everyone gets involved, bar me. I'm standing there with a bag of chips in my hands, getting involved not even entering my head, watching what's going on. I turn to the random guy holding the chips to say something only to see Paddy standing there. He'd extricated himself from the situation, retrieved his chips and was watching the fracas with me. It only lasted a minuted or two but there was some burst lips on both sides.

My first and last fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Jonah42 wrote: »
    My mate was mugged. He had to give up his phone but they let him take his SIM card out first. Ya don't get classy criminals anymore these days.

Heh, same happened a mate of mine 5 or 6 years ago.