Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prince Phillip is coming over tomorrow

• 25-04-2006 4:58pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632
    ✭✭✭

'RTÉ News has learnt that Prince Philip, the husband of Britain's Queen, is to visit Ireland tomorrow for an awards ceremony in Dublin.

President Mary McAleese is also guest of honour at the special ceremony at the National Concert Hall.

The ceremony is being held to mark the 21st anniversary of Gaisce or the President's Award and the 50th anniversary of the Duke of Edinburgh's Award.

President McAleese and Prince Philip will present Gaisce awards to 91 young people from throughout Ireland.

Following the ceremony, President McAleese will host a private lunch in honour of the Duke of Edinburgh at Iveagh House.

It is understood the prince will also pay a courtesy call on the Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern, at Government Buildings.'

Rite now I want to see yis outside government buildings waving your union jacks in preperation for her Majesty soon to pop over:D

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 county
    ✭✭✭

i am ironing my union flag atm in anticipation for the visit:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 biko
    ✭✭✭✭

Mr Windsor can of course visit if he likes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 robinph
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

biko wrote:
    Mr Windsor can of course visit if he likes.

Thats her surname though. Hes a Mountbatten I think, at least thats what he changed it to after he ran away from Greece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 IrishAirCorps
    ✭✭

Excellent news! About time they started visiting, shows how far we have really gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 WhiteWashMan
    ✭✭✭✭

i have no doubt that prince philip will be afford the usual warm irish welcome.

'here mister, have got a euro on ya?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 fightin irish
    ✭✭✭

Howya philo!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 Hagar
    ✭✭✭✭

Her name isn't Windsor either, it's Saxe Gotheburg.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 robinph
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hagar wrote:

But it's probably not even that either as that was Alberts name I think, and the monarch does not take her husbands name aparently. They then just started picking different names depending on who they are at war with at the time.

Not sure what that means seeing as they now have an officer going by the name of Wales though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 Hagar
    ✭✭✭✭

robinph wrote:
    They then just started picking different names depending on who they are at war with at the time.
    She could end up with more aliases than Bubbles pbuh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 Hermione*
    ✭✭✭✭

Technically she's Windsor and he's Mountbatten. After a hard-won fight with whatever Council decides these things, she got them to change the name to Mountbatten-Windsor so the name of the house is still House of Windsor, but their grandchildren are Mountbatten-Windsor ;) I read on this type of stuff, I find it strangely interesting :rolleyes:

William's and Harry's surname is actually Wales, since their title is Prince ____ of Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 DMC
    ✭✭✭✭

Wikipedia tells you some stuff... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mountbatten-Windsor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 Ruu_Old
    ✭✭✭✭

Booo down with the British, keep them off our soil!*

*I really dont mind him coming over, hes more than welcome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 Princess Consuela Bananahammock
    ✭✭✭✭

I'll assume the riot squad has been alerted...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 Sizzler
    ✭✭✭

Has anybody else had a sneaky laugh at the title of the thread or is it just me and Finbarr Saunders ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 Dave!
    ✭✭✭✭

Hagar wrote:

That's just the name she used in her days doing porn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 lostexpectation
    ✭✭✭

along as he doesn't go boating :)

I rather he not come, he is a overprivileged idiot and archaic vestige of tyranny

ohh big words spelt wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 funk-you
    ✭✭✭

DaveMcG wrote:
    That's just the name she used in her days doing porn

</Queens Voice/> Ooooooh, would one like to insert it in here. We would derive much enjoyment from such a bold act. Thats it, call me queenie. </Queens Voice/>

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 blu_sonic
    ✭✭✭

Odds on his crazy gaffs? "so wheres all the potatoe fields?" etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 lostexpectation
    ✭✭✭

blu_sonic wrote:
    Odds on his crazy gaffs? "so wheres all the potatoe fields?" etc.

yeah "you peasents still owe me some rent"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 Pal
    ✭✭✭

FROM THE BBC WEBSITE..................
    PRICELESS

The Duke of Edinburgh gave another foot-in-mouth display when he asked a Tamil priest about any links to the militant fighters the Tamil Tigers, during a visit to a Hindu temple with the Queen on her Golden Jubilee tour.

During a state visit to China in 1986, he famously told a group of British students: "If you stay here much longer, you'll all be slitty-eyed".

And speaking to a driving instructor in Oban, Scotland, he asked: "How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to get them through the test?".

Still throwing spears? (Question put to an Australian Aborigine during a visit in March 2002)

"British women can't cook." (1966)

"Everybody was saying we must have more leisure. Now they are complaining they are unemployed." (during the 1981 recession)

"We didn't have counsellors rushing around every time somebody let off a gun, asking 'Are you all right? Are you sure you don't have a ghastly problem?' You just got on with it." (commenting in 1995 on modern stress counselling for servicemen)

"If a cricketer, for instance, suddenly decided to go into a school and batter a lot of people to death with a cricket bat, which he could do very easily, I mean, are you going to ban cricket bats?" (in 1996, amid calls to ban firearms after the Dunblane shooting)

"Bloody silly fool!" (in 1997, referring to a Cambridge University car park attendant who failed to recognise him)

"It looks as if it was put in by an Indian." (in 1999, referring to an old-fashioned fuse box in a factory near Edinburgh)

"Deaf? If you are near there, no wonder you are deaf." (in 1999, to young deaf people in Cardiff, referring to a school's steel band)

"They must be out of their minds." (in 1982, in the Solomon Islands, after being told that the annual population growth was only 5%)

"You are a woman, aren't you?" (in 1984, in Kenya, to a native woman who had presented him with a small gift)

"Your country is one of the most notorious centres of trading in endangered species in the world." (in 1991, in Thailand, after accepting a conservation award)

"Oh no, I might catch some ghastly disease." (in 1992 in Australia, when asked to stroke a Koala bear)

"You can't have been here that long - you haven't got a pot belly." (in 1993, to a Briton in Budapest, Hungary)

"Aren't most of you descended from pirates?" (in 1994, to an islander in the Cayman Islands)

"You managed not to get eaten, then?" (in 1998, to a student who had been trekking in Papua New Guinea)

"If it has got four legs and it is not a chair, if it has got two wings and it flies but is not an aeroplane, and if it swims and it is not a submarine, the Cantonese will eat it." (at a 1986 World Wildlife Fund meeting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 county
    ✭✭✭

along as he doesn't go boating :)

you think you are funny but your not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 Katykaboom
    ✭✭

he sounds like a right old twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 Peace
    ✭✭✭

Pal wrote:
    FROM THE BBC WEBSITE..................
    PRICELESS

The Duke of Edinburgh gave another foot-in-mouth display when he asked a Tamil priest about any links to the militant fighters the Tamil Tigers, during a visit to a Hindu temple with the Queen on her Golden Jubilee tour.

During a state visit to China in 1986, he famously told a group of British students: "If you stay here much longer, you'll all be slitty-eyed".

And speaking to a driving instructor in Oban, Scotland, he asked: "How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to get them through the test?".

Still throwing spears? (Question put to an Australian Aborigine during a visit in March 2002)

"British women can't cook." (1966)

"Everybody was saying we must have more leisure. Now they are complaining they are unemployed." (during the 1981 recession)

"We didn't have counsellors rushing around every time somebody let off a gun, asking 'Are you all right? Are you sure you don't have a ghastly problem?' You just got on with it." (commenting in 1995 on modern stress counselling for servicemen)

"If a cricketer, for instance, suddenly decided to go into a school and batter a lot of people to death with a cricket bat, which he could do very easily, I mean, are you going to ban cricket bats?" (in 1996, amid calls to ban firearms after the Dunblane shooting)

"Bloody silly fool!" (in 1997, referring to a Cambridge University car park attendant who failed to recognise him)

"It looks as if it was put in by an Indian." (in 1999, referring to an old-fashioned fuse box in a factory near Edinburgh)

"Deaf? If you are near there, no wonder you are deaf." (in 1999, to young deaf people in Cardiff, referring to a school's steel band)

"They must be out of their minds." (in 1982, in the Solomon Islands, after being told that the annual population growth was only 5%)

"You are a woman, aren't you?" (in 1984, in Kenya, to a native woman who had presented him with a small gift)

"Your country is one of the most notorious centres of trading in endangered species in the world." (in 1991, in Thailand, after accepting a conservation award)

"Oh no, I might catch some ghastly disease." (in 1992 in Australia, when asked to stroke a Koala bear)

"You can't have been here that long - you haven't got a pot belly." (in 1993, to a Briton in Budapest, Hungary)

"Aren't most of you descended from pirates?" (in 1994, to an islander in the Cayman Islands)

"You managed not to get eaten, then?" (in 1998, to a student who had been trekking in Papua New Guinea)

"If it has got four legs and it is not a chair, if it has got two wings and it flies but is not an aeroplane, and if it swims and it is not a submarine, the Cantonese will eat it." (at a 1986 World Wildlife Fund meeting)

The guy who said all those things is welcome to visit anytime... lets make sure we get a few jars in him and a microphone nearby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 Pigman II
    ✭✭✭✭

Peace wrote:
    The guy who said all those things is welcome to visit anytime... lets make sure we get a few jars in him and a microphone nearby.

"blah blah blah .... something about potatos .... blah blah blah" (Prince Philip 2006?)

It'd be an honour to be added to that increasingly notorious list of his.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.