Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ollie Boyce Interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Big up to Ollie Boyce with this interview. Even throws in Boards.ie for good measure which is where I found this board! That is some rate of poker progress...

http://uk.pokernews.com/news/2006/3/oliver-boyce-interview.htm

I believe Ollie is a regular here.

Yeah he's a regular. He gives us all kinds of erroneous advice:D .
    Im going to listen to it when i get home later so i can verbally destroy him if he sounds like he's acting the hotshot or makes any mistakes!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Yeah he's a regular. He gives us all kinds of erroneous advice:D .
    Im going to listen to it when i get home later so i can verbally destroy him if he sounds like he's acting the hotshot or makes any mistakes!.

1. Its a written interview
    2. Shouls be in main forum....mods???
    3. How did a big fish like him get on so well???

;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Moved to main forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I happened to catch him on the speed championship last night on CNBC, the other Irish guy to his left in the heat admitted that he was such a noob that he was still mixing up the hand rankings up to 2 weeks previously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

very good interview, Ollie. I'm curious about this quote:

"I've played sports at a high level in Ireland before and had been involved in sporting events on television before"

Well, you gonna tell us?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You'll here more from Ollie and I on the Turbirdy (?) radio show on Thursday morning. :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

very good interview, Ollie. I'm curious about this quote:

"I've played sports at a high level in Ireland before and had been involved in sporting events on television before"

Well, you gonna tell us?

Sorry Lenny, I use to play co football & hurling and have a couple of Ulster medals, so thats what I meant there.

Was hoping nobody would find this interview, you cant do anything around here.

Ryan Turbidy is planning to do a discussion on his radio show on Thursday about Internet poker, dont have the full details yet, but will let you guys know more before hand. I might to be on the guest lists....? Not a defo yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Can someone record that Ryan Tubridy thingy in MP3 format (BigDragon, I'm looking at you). Wont be around next week.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Yea and see if you can cut Tubridy out....he does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

Dub13 wrote:
    Yea and see if you can cut Tubridy out....he does my head in.
    Wurd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 HookOrCrook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Good stuff! You come across very well Ollie, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Can someone record that Ryan Tubridy thingy in MP3 format (BigDragon, I'm looking at you). Wont be around next week.

Lenny. Im down in Limerick working but..... RTE put the show up on their site for a week after so you can listen when you get home and I'll record it it form that for posterity (*read - take the p1ss*)

thanks Paul, I was really hoping nobody would find it...lol

Just a heads up, Tom and I will be on the Ryan Tubridy Show tomorrow morning to discuss online poker. I’m there to give my experience of online poker, so I’ll try to be positive about you guys. It should be on after 9, but I’m not 100% sure about that.

Ollie

What station is the Ryan Tubridy show on...?I don't listen to RTE.

me either, but its RTE 1 or Radio 1

Dub13 wrote:
    What station is the Ryan Tubridy show on...?I don't listen to RTE.

Tubridy's slot is 9am - 10am i think. Its Radio1

Not just a movie buff you are also a Radio buff.....is there any end to your talents ;)

lol been listening to radio1 in the mornings for about 11 years. Its driven me to poker!

Radio1....your are full of surprise's,you look more like a Adrian Kennedy listener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

So whats the craic you two on this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

well done lads, I was listening to it.
    nice one by tom offering a game for 1k and when they wouldn't it was because of the level of skill.
    BYTW whats wrong with listening to R1 , I do all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Link.

Starts at 24:50 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

jem wrote:
    nice one by tom offering a game for 1k and when they wouldn't it was because of the level of skill.

Say what now?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

impr0v wrote:
    Link.

Starts at 24:50 or so.

Thanks for the link. Did anyone catch the comment Ryan read out towards the end of the programme which essentially wound up as the last word on the matter. It was a comment stating that the online poker sites fix hands to increase the rake. Anyone not in the know would have taken this statement as fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

I know it was desperate one of the two lads should contact ryan to correct this asap.
    the fact that they were on would give them more authority

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I popped off an email to them and made my identity known as one of Tom's lackeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Well done lads - great interview. You did some good work in promoting the game and addressing the fears of Joe public while coming across very relaxed in a tight time frame and not getting too bogged down in details that people just wouldn't get. WP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 HookOrCrook

Third and final part of Ollie's interview:

http://uk.pokernews.com/news/2006/3/oliver-boyce-interview-part3.htm

Mostly about on-line play is this one. Nice going Ollie - good luck in the WSOP :)