Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Due June 2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

No, I'm home - was in there for about 3/4 hours. I was just admitted to the day ward, thank god. Wouldn't fancy not being in my own bed tonight! They really were excellent, we went into the outpatients department and it was heaving but I was called straight away to see the doctor. Got a scan as well and the baby is looking well, so I guess that's one advantage to being so sick, getting some extra scans! The staff were very sympathetic anyway which is always nice when you feel a bit rubbish!

Feeling better anyway, hospital told me I have to eat something as there was ketones in my urine. Had to talk to them for ages about suggestions of what to eat that will stay down etc Just had dinner and it has stayed down so far so fingers crossed!I feel a lot better after the drip anyway, my head is much clearer which helps.

Hope work was ok ladies, it's depressing being back after time off. I'm dreading going in on Monday!

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

That's good you're home. Hope it improves soon. Although I 'm sure you 're sick of hearing that at this stage. At least baby is doing well in there.

I ended up falling asleep for 30 mins at my desk this afternoon!!! Lucky I don't share an office. I nearly went home at lunchtime the back pain was so bad. Then I threw up and got all dizzy. But it improved a bit after my snooze. I think I'll just have to go to bed earlier at night.

Thanks Blueskye, it is some consolation that the baby is doing so well but just fed up at this stage - it's supposed to be over!

I hear you on the tiredness, I'm still off work and sleeping in until 11ish, then having a 2 hour nap at 3 and going to be sleep about 11 at night. This is what life would be like if I didn't have to work! How are you feeling today? Did you get an early night last night?

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭DoubleB

Hi everyone, I hope everyone feels good today. Oh Murdy you poor thing. I can't imagine still feeling sick. I really hope it eases for you.
    I have had a busy week. Think I over did it to be honest. I'm shattered now and my back is killing me. I went shopping and bought lots of baby things. I couldn't resist when there was such great value. I mainly bought clothes and blankets etc, nothing big yet. I'm going to start looking out for nappies on special offer and stuff too. No harm to stock up!

I have to say the comments I've been getting about my bump are really annoying me. I am fully aware that my bump is big for 17 weeks but every single person I meet tells me. I've been told 'oh my God you're huge' , 'Are you sure there arent twins in there', 'Are you sure you're not further along', You must be further than 17 weeks', 'Has the doctor told you this is normal to be so big already'.

I'm really starting to worry that I'm carrying too much fluid or something. I'm trying to find pics online of bumps at 17 weeks to compare. I'm normally about a size 10 but I've moved up to a size 12 in maternity wear. I don;t feel i've put much weight on anywhere but on my belly nut theres no mistaking that I'm pregnant. How big are your bumps??

I was talking to somebody who has a friend who is pregnant and is also 17 weeks and she said you wouldnt even know she was pregnant. She said I look ready to give birth compared to her!!!!

Anyway rant over. Hope you all have a nice day today. x

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

DoubleB I'm exactly the same!! I'm huge and I'm only 16 weeks. I met a friend who's due the day after me and she's still tiny - and it is her 3rd pregnancy also. I wouldn't worry about too much fluid - they'll monitor it in the hospital. I was certain at my first scan they were going to move my dates or tell me twins (my sister has twins) but it's all on track. The only thing I can say is that it all evens out at the end. I reckon I'm going to park at this size now for a month or two. I was also much bigger much faster on my 2nd than my 1st, but by the end of my 2nd pregnancy, that much was actually smaller.

All good here. Tired (what's new) but well - sickness has eased and the weeks are flying in. Glad Christmas is over in one way (second Christmas in a row being pregnant!) and no major social outings coming up so looking forward to just chilling at the weekends with my boys and taking it easy.

hope everyone has a lovely weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭sunshiner

yup i feel big,though mr sunshiner says im not :rolleyes: I think it entirely depends on your frame,shape and height how you show. I wouldnt worry about it, people can be kind of tactless alright.

Yeah, people can be tactless. I keep getting told I have no bump (I do have a little one) - it's not really my fault, I'm losing weight every day! Every woman is different and in the end we'll all be similar sizes! Don't listen to them, it's a sign that you're healthy anyway.

Still getting sick but also keeping some food down so it could be worse - my husband is being my bitch because the midwife scared him with her talk of admitting me! It has it's benefits :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

It's gas, people would never dare comment on your body (to your face anyway) when not pregnant, but once you are it's OK to say you're very big/very small/very whatever! I'm hoping the stories you hear about randomers touching the bump are a myth though :eek:

I was worrying about having a small bump only last week and was comparing mine to other pics online, but this week things seem to have got a bit bigger, especially at night. I could pass as not pregnant (just a bit thicker round the middle) during the day but at night it's unmistakeable. I'm well built to begin with so it's probably not as noticeable as if you're small and slim to start. Am still in my normal clothes mostly but am tending to go for the more stretchy stuff...

Has anyone tried those "bump band" things that you can use to disguise open trousers? I don't feel like buying new work trousers. Not sure if you can buy them in normal shops or only online..

Oh in case anyone is interested, I started a thread in the Newborns section to ask people to recommend what books they thought were good, for tips for when the baby arrives.

Thread about baby books

It's gas, people would never dare comment on your body (to your face anyway) when not pregnant, but once you are it's OK to say you're very big/very small/very whatever! I'm hoping the stories you hear about randomers touching the bump are a myth though :eek:

I was worrying about having a small bump only last week and was comparing mine to other pics online, but this week things seem to have got a bit bigger, especially at night. I could pass as not pregnant (just a bit thicker round the middle) during the day but at night it's unmistakeable. I'm well built to begin with so it's probably not as noticeable as if you're small and slim to start. Am still in my normal clothes mostly but am tending to go for the more stretchy stuff...

Has anyone tried those "bump band" things that you can use to disguise open trousers? I don't feel like buying new work trousers. Not sure if you can buy them in normal shops or only online..

They have them in mothercare - I saw them the other day :) I haven't been back to work yet but I did buy maternity work trousers, not sure if I'll get in to my other ones anymore. I also bought two pairs of maternity jeans which I'm living in - one pair is black and I reckon I'll get away with them at work as well if I wear a dressy enough top and heels.

My body is such a weird shape now, I've lost about 15/16lbs over the last 2 months so I'm skinny in weird places (thighs and shoulders mainly) but look fat on my belly. I just don't feel like myself anymore. I'm the same at night though - it's definitely a bump then but during the day it looks like I'm a bit porky round my middle!

Good call on the book suggesions as well - I just read the thread, I think I'll get the what to expect first year one because I really like the pregnancy book. There's some chapters at the end of that on the first 6 weeks and I like the way they're written, very matter of fact.

Gosh people can be so rude! I am huge and my work colleagues commented on Thursday when I was back at work how big my bump was. But I figure I 'm supposed to be big, there 's 2 in there. But you 're right, they wouldn't dare say that if I had just put on weight.

I'm in hospital, a bit unnecessary I think...didn't feel well this morn with cramps and low back pain so rang my OB and she said to go in. Urine, bp all fine. Then I threw up so the nurses were convinced I've the vomiting bug. But I don't! Have had it before and you know when you have it!!! OB stuck in theatre so havent seen her yet. so she had me admitted for observation. Not allowed to leave room as they 're convinced I'm contagious.... Just had scan all fine. I would just like to go home :( I''m wrecked tired is all. Cramps not so bad now.

Just waiting on OB and going to see if she 'll let me go home. Don't fancy spending the night.

I've heard a couple of people in real life recommend that book as well Murdy so it's probably a good one to go for..

Thanks for the tip on Mothercare, I always forget that shop has maternity stuff, just associate it with gear for the baby..

I'm using stretch jeggings and soft skinny jeans (from Penneys), they are grand as well as cheap. I got the next size up. And leggings and yoga bottoms for when sitting at home. A lot of my tops I think will be usable for a while as I would go for longer ones anyway. All keeps the costs down, though I am planning to buy those maternity stretch jeans with the lovely elastic waistband, I must confess I had a hankering for those pre pregnancy. imagine the comfort of going for a big meal and no sticky in waistband!

And hope you get to go home soon Murdy, hurry up consultant!

I've been in maternity pants a while now...and I can highly recommend the over the bump jeans. Sooo comfy. H&m are good and I got a few pairs in next online.
    I've heard a couple of people in real life recommend that book as well Murdy so it's probably a good one to go for..

Thanks for the tip on Mothercare, I always forget that shop has maternity stuff, just associate it with gear for the baby..

I'm using stretch jeggings and soft skinny jeans (from Penneys), they are grand as well as cheap. I got the next size up. And leggings and yoga bottoms for when sitting at home. A lot of my tops I think will be usable for a while as I would go for longer ones anyway. All keeps the costs down, though I am planning to buy those maternity stretch jeans with the lovely elastic waistband, I must confess I had a hankering for those pre pregnancy. imagine the comfort of going for a big meal and no sticky in waistband!

Blueskye, hope you get to go home soon! I know it's not fun waiting around in the hospital :) Glad everything is ok

I saw this on Reddit and thought of you actually

KPLI5.jpg?1

It's a timeline of bump photos of a girl who had twins. First thing my hubby said was why aren't you that big at 17 weeks - had to point out to him there was two babies in there and only one in me!!

sorry, it's a bit big!

Thanks girls. Here's hoping.

That's great Murdy :) I'm definitely on track so!

Starving and not allowed to leave room. Sent OH home as he has flu and is wrecked himself.

Anyway at least all is fine.

From my vast puking experience, if you are hungry after getting sick then you're probably ok! If I could bring you some food I would :)

Aw thanks Murdy :)

I know I'm definitely fine so frustrating lying here preferring to be at home. My mum is in bed with flu too or she'd bring me something. i'll call OH once I've seen consultant and he'll bring me something or preferably bring me home...take out pizza sounds good :)

Sorry Blueskye n Murdy, got the posts confused there, Blue that message about getting home was for you. Prego brain or what.... Just saw the post you didn't get out, that sucks.

No worries I knew you meant me :)

Some concerns it's early labour so here another little while til consultant checks all ok. Nurses wouldn't contact her so rang her myself. I have zero patience!!

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭DoubleB

Blueskye I'm so sorry to hear you are stuck in hospital but hopefully its all just precautionary. We can keep you busy chatting here!! Please let us know how you are.

Wow Murdy that timeline is great!! I'm beginning to wonder could there be two babies on the way for me!!! I'd say I'm almost as big as that girl is at 20 wks! Ah wel I feel healthy except for the sore back.

Yes I've tried the belly belt. A friend gave me a lend. I found my pants were falling down when I wore it last week with my own jeans and at one stage the whole zip of my jeans had opened!!!! Think it will be better later in my pregnancy although I must try it on a different pants to see if it was

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭sunshiner

im with you double b from those pics now i feel too big :P but then again ive a completely different figure.

blueskye i hope everything is ok and they let you out soon :D on the plus side at least theyre being vigilant :D

Ive been doing research into cloth nappies and eco nappies. Im that eager i even bought so eco ones for the start. I want to use the cloth nappies eventually.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmacash

Hope you get to leave soon blueskye, I'm sure you Just really want your own bed at this stage. Keep us posted on how you're keeping.

Double b, don't worry about what anyone else is saying...I'm the exact same as you and I carried quite big on my 1st pregnancy too. I had to prepare myself for the comments that I knew would be coming my way when I started back in work this week!

Finally we get to go home. All fine. Doc thinks I have a bug but babies are fine. Just rest and fluids. So glad. Thanks everyone for your kind thoughts :)

And I second Emma. Don't worry a bit about others comments. We're carrying precious cargo and we have all different bumps and are different sizes.

Night all x

Glad you're home Blueskye - must have been a long day for you! Just rest up and take care of yourself!

I'm feeling quite good this evening, my friend came over with a huge pile of baking and a lasagne she'd made me for me and had a nice girly night with eating and even better no vomiting! :) We had a good laugh going through the pregnancy books too - pregnancy is really gross sometimes!

Hey bump buddies hope ye are all feeling good this morning...

I'm getting sick of the old back/hip pain. Some nights the pillow helps a bit but other nights like last night, it was the same either way. Think I will go to a physio, but not sure if you can go to a random one or do they have to be specialised. Might ring mw tomorrow else go to gp and see what they suggest. I haven't missed drink too much so far but I certainly miss a few nurofen plus!

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmacash

I'm with you on the nurofen plus kranky kitty. Coulda done with a few over the Christmas holidays with that bug.

Feeling in need of a bit of a rant unfortunately...just doing the shopping in Tesco there. I was about to turn the corner from the frozen aisle and I crashed the trolley straight into the bumper thing they have on the bottom of the corners...the trolley went smack bang into my bump and knocked me for 6. There was no way I could've seen it beyond the trolley, meanwhile 2 workers just stood there Gawping at me and said nothing.
    So watch out for those bumper things if you're shopping in Tescos ladies!
    Still feeling a bit sick from it :( hope bubs is okay x x

Emmacash wrote: »
    I'm with you on the nurofen plus kranky kitty. Coulda done with a few over the Christmas holidays with that bug.

Feeling in need of a bit of a rant unfortunately...just doing the shopping in Tesco there. I was about to turn the corner from the frozen aisle and I crashed the trolley straight into the bumper thing they have on the bottom of the corners...the trolley went smack bang into my bump and knocked me for 6. There was no way I could've seen it beyond the trolley, meanwhile 2 workers just stood there Gawping at me and said nothing.
    So watch out for those bumper things if you're shopping in Tescos ladies!
    Still feeling a bit sick from it :( hope bubs is okay x x

Oh god, you must have got an awful fright. Hope you are feeling a bit better. Baby is pretty well cushioned, according to the doc the other day when they were checking the fluid around mine in the scan so I'm sure he/she will be ok!

KK - no hip or any other pain here for me, but I think that's only because I'm carrying less weight than before I got pregnant and I'm really inactive due to the sickness, I'm sure it will come to me in time. It does suck that you can't take nurofen, I found that when I had my cold last week, couldn't take anything for it but vicks rub!

Hi girls

Hope you managed to see someone re your back/hip Kk. And hope all is ok after your bump Emma?

I spent most of yesterday on the sofa. Totally wrecked. But no more cramps or vomiting which is good.

We had anomaly scan this morn so met OB again. It took ages but all looks good. They're 9oz and 10 oz at the moment so right on track. So back to work now....here's hoping I can survive the week. Feeling huge, I guess it's just all an adjustment with all the body changes. And I hate feeling I can't do as much as I usually do. But it's temporary. Looking forward to starting Pilates tomorrow eve.