Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kildare GAA General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Neil Flynn with a great goal at the start of the second half.

Meath not going away. Kildare by 4 with about fifteen minutes to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,161 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Kildare 2-15 Meath 0-13 FT. Cein McMonagle with injury time goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Fantastic result, and much needed after last Sunday.

Final is on Thursday, April 2nd, 7:30pm. Hopefully it'll be in Portlaoise.

Good spread of scorers again tonight:

Neil Flynn (1-6, 4fs), Niall Kelly (0-4), Cein McMonagle (1-0), Chris Healy (0-2), Chris Fenner (0-2), David Fitzpatrick (0-1)

Chris Healy was dangerous particularly in the first half while Neil Flynn really grabbed hold of the game in the second half. Niall Kelly oozed class all the way through.

David Duke had a fine game and Brian Byrne did a good marking job on Eamon Wallace. Colin Heeney just like the Offaly game made a great stop from the impressive Meath centre forward at a crucial stage. It would have been a different second half had that chance gone in.

u21 final scheduled for Navan two weeks tonight. Pity it's not in Portlaoise.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

you wonder why they would bring kildare and Dublin to navan, wouldn't portlaoise be better view for both sides.

Leinster Minor Football League result:

Áth Cliath 2-10 Kildare 2-5

Áth Cliath were clearly the stronger of the two Dublin teams entered in the competition this year.

Kildare SH (v Donegal):

1. Jack Sheridan - Nás na Riogh
    2. Conor Gordan - Coill Dubh
    3. Mark Grace - Coill Dubh
    4. John Doran - Léim an Bhradáin
    5. Dinny Stapleton - Sean Traceys
    6. Mark Moloney - Cill Droichid
    7. Eanna Ó Neill (capt) - Coill Dubh
    8. Mark Delaney - Coill Dubh
    9. Paul Divilly - Confaí
    10. Bernard Deay - Claonadh
    11. Leo Quinn - Cill Droichid
    12. Johnny Byrne - Coill Dubh
    13. Ryan Casey - Coill Dubh
    14. Niall Kenny - Cill Droichid
    15. Evan Dempsey - Éire Óg Corrachoill

NHL 2B:

Donegal 3-11 Kildare 1-19

Kildare go through the round robin with a 100% record. I doubt they will be pleased with the match today but it might be no harm ahead of the league final. The first choice 15 should be back on the field for that.

Team to play Laois

Mark Donnellan
    Ciaran Fitzpatrick
    Mick O'Grady
    Ollie Lyons
    Keith Cribbin
    Fergal Conway
    Emmet Bolton
    Gary White
    Tommy Moolick
    Daniel Flynn
    Eoghan O'Flaherty
    Paul Cribbin
    Fionn Dowling
    Podge Fogarty
    Alan Smith

Good to have Moolick back. He has been sorely missed.

Peter Kelly must be injured still. I'd imagine Fitzpatrick will mark Donal Kingston.

We're very likely to be relegated from division 2 at this stage. If we do go down please let it be at the hands of Galway and not Laois!

Peter Kelly for Moolick
    Niall Kelly for Flynn

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭cantwbr1

What's the score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

7 5 to kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Kildare were 10 5 up and have fallen apart 1 8 to 10 to loais now, goal for kildare brilliant 1 11 to 1 9 now

Brilliantly worked goal and terrific finish. Nice to do it to another team for a change.

There's two scenarios that will see Kildare stay up:

(A) Beat Galway by 6 points next week

(B) Beat Galway and hope Down beat Laois

B probably the most realistic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

paulie21 wrote: »
    There's two scenarios that will see Kildare stay up:

(A) Beat Galway by 6 points next week

(B) Beat Galway and hope Down beat Laois

B probably the most realistic

Wins for Kildare, Roscommon, Cavan and Laois next week. Whats the chance?

Kildare only need 4 points on Galway.

Galway's gander will be up after their comeback today. Kildare are going to really have to dig in next Sunday.

We seem to go to sleep in games for long spells and it's killing us. When we went five up last night with that gale behind us we really should have been kicking on and putting Laois to the sword. The same thing happened us when we won up in Cavan. We left the door ajar when that game should have been killed off long before it was. When teams get a run on us they seem to get a good run of consecutive scores. That doesn't happen to the better teams who instinctively know when to slow things down, funnel men back, win a soft scoreable free etc. Kildare just seem to panic. Credit to them for having the bottle to come back last night when we looked dead but it shouldn't have come to that.

Most teams will have a period of dominance against you but it's about limiting the damage they do when they're in the ascendancy. It happens too often to this Kildare team to be a coincidence. If we go to sleep against Galway for 15-20 minutes, they have the forwards to do a lot more damage on the scoreboard than Laois or Cavan did.

Kildare u21 (v Dublin)

Colin Heeney Celbridge
    Brian Byrne Naas
    Darren Maguire Maynooth
    Paul Mescal Maynooth
    Ryan Houlihan Moorefield
    David Hyland Athy
    David Duke Kilcock
    Ryan Moore Moorefield
    Pascal Connell Athy
    Chris Fenner St Laurences
    David Fitzpatrick Raheens
    Niall Kelly Athy
    Neil Flynn Maynooth
    Mark Sherry Two Mile House
    Chris Healy Two Mile House

Best of luck to the lads in Navan tonight.

Ht: Dublin 2-5 Kildare 1-6. Mark Sherry with the goal just before half time

Dublin by 2. 10 mins left

FT: Dublin 3-10 Kildare 1-12. Unlucky lads

Third goal was a killer. Kildare showed great heart throughout. Neil Flynn was excellent. Pity about Niall Kelly's injury. Big blow to the seniors' chances if he's missing on Sunday.

Neil Flynn is eligible again next year!

On the other hand, it's a little worrying that one player scored 11 of our 13 scores.

Yeah it's a shame we didn't have Paddy Brophy last night. He could have made the difference when we were struggling around the middle.

That's a very good Dublin team who should win another All Ireland. I would not expect them to be as strong next year while a lot of that Kildare team will be eligible again. I wonder will Murph be there again or will he be over the seniors?

Kildare SH (v Meath)

1. Paul Dermody - Éire Óg Corrachoill
    2. Niall Ó Muineacháin - Cill Droichid
    3. Mark Grace - Coill Dubh
    4. John Doran – Léim an Bhradáin
    5. Dinny Stapleton – Seán Uí Treasaigh
    6. Martin Fitzgerald – Árd Cloch
    7. Eanna O’Neill (capt) – Coill Dubh
    8. Mark Moloney - Cill Droichid
    9. Paul Divilly - Confaí
    10. Mark Delaney – Coill Dubh
    11. Leo Quinn - Cill Droichid
    12. Johnny Byrne – Coill Dubh
    13. Evan Dempsey – Éire Óg Corrachoill
    14. Niall Kenny - Cill Droichid
    15. Bernard Deay - Claonadh

16. Paddy McKenna - Claonadh
    17. Ryan Casey – Coill Dubh
    18. Sean Gainey – Nás na Rí
    19. Fiachra Ó Muineacháin - Cill Droichid
    20. Conor Gordan – Coill Dubh
    21. Colm Chan - Confaí
    22. David Young – Tuaim Uí Mheara
    23. Mick Purcell - Nás na Rí
    24. Richie Whelan – Naomh Lorcan
    25. Willie Greene – Muine Gal
    26. Gary Johnson – Éire Óg Corrachoill

No Gerry Keegan? :(

Kildare SF (v Galway)

1 Mark Donnellan - Maigh Nuad
    2 Ollie Lyons - Cill Droichid
    3 Mick O Grady - Cill Droichid
    4 Ciarán Fitzpatrick - Cill Cocha
    5 Peter Kelly - Teach Dha Mhíle
    6 Fergal Conway - Cill Droichid
    7 Emmet Bolton - Baile Éide
    8 Gary White - Na Sairséalaigh
    9 Paul Cribbin - Baile Sheáin
    10 Keith Cribbin - Baile Sheáin
    11 Eoghan O'Flaherty - Cairbre
    12 Fionn Dowling - Crochta na Gréine
    13 Éamonn Callaghan - Nás na Ríogh
    14 Pádraig Fogarty - Naomh Lorcan
    15 Alan Smith - Na Sairséalaigh

Bit surprised not to see Eoin Doyle back in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,721 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Bit surprised not to see Eoin Doyle back in there.

He might bring him on with thirty seconds to go if we need a game changer!

• Registered Users Posts: 46 KildareBlue

The hurlers beat Meath 0-22 to 0-17.

Galway 1-10 Kildare 0-7 at HT.

FT: Galway 3-12 Kildare 1-12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

What a dreadful performance today and through the league. They didn't even put up a fight today. Ryan should do us a favour and throw the towel in. Second year in a row to finish in the drop zone it's just not good enough.

Very poor display. Hard to be anyway hopeful of a decent summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,226 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

So angry at league results...

I bet McGeeney is laughing his arse off right now and rightly so

Kildare hurlers will be in a higher division than the footballers in 2016. I can't recall when that last happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭kencoo

They voted mcgeeney out as the clubs wanted their senior players to be more available for the club games rather than county during the summer. Looks like that plan will bear fruit.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Is he gone yet?

Fair play to the hurlers...

Alot of hard work put in and the team deserve all credit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Sad to see Kildare dropping down. With a decent underage crop it should not have happened.
    Ryan got a lot of credit for a couple of decent displays against Dublin a few years ago in the championship, might have made him look like a tactician to some. A long way back now, I can't see the current set up reversing this, could easily be something else going wrong that's out of Ryan's control.

A lot can happen in a couple of years. Hopefully it goes the other way now and the guys in the clubs recognise the importance of their role in the process.

There is certainly more wrong with Kildare that Jason Ryan's shortcomings. We don't know what's happening behind the scenes, but there is something amiss. Ryan took the job at a very difficult time - budget constraints, players leaving for AFL, JD retiring, etc.

The players have no respect for Ryan, I know this as a fact. They feel he betrayed the previous manager for taking over while he was a selector. They don't want to put their bodies on the line for him like they did for the previous manager.

Kildare need a huge clean out for 2016. Players like Callaghan, Mikey Conway, Connolly, Lynch and Daryl Flynn need to retire. They're simply not good enough at this level anymore. People like Morgan O'Callaghan need to be removed from the set up too. Appointing him as a selector was the strangest thing I've heard in a while.

Give the likes of Neil Flynn, Ryan Houlihan and Paul Mescal a chance.

Morgan O'Callaghan is a selector?

I saw he was the runner yesterday. I thought that was usually Ronan Quinn's role?

Nib wrote: »
    There is certainly more wrong with Kildare that Jason Ryan's shortcomings. We don't know what's happening behind the scenes, but there is something amiss. Ryan took the job at a very difficult time - budget constraints, players leaving for AFL, JD retiring, etc.

The players have no respect for Ryan, I know this as a fact. They feel he betrayed the previous manager for taking over while he was a selector. They don't want to put their bodies on the line for him like they did for the previous manager.

Kildare need a huge clean out for 2016. Players like Callaghan, Mikey Conway, Connolly, Lynch and Daryl Flynn need to retire. They're simply not good enough at this level anymore. People like Morgan O'Callaghan need to be removed from the set up too. Appointing him as a selector was the strangest thing I've heard in a while.

Give the likes of Neil Flynn, Ryan Houlihan and Paul Mescal a chance.

The goalie?

Stoner wrote: »
    Sad to see Kildare dropping down. With a decent underage crop it should not have happened.
    Ryan got a lot of credit for a couple of decent displays against Dublin a few years ago in the championship, might have made him look like a tactician to some. A long way back now, I can't see the current set up reversing this, could easily be something else going wrong that's out of Ryan's control.

A lot can happen in a couple of years. Hopefully it goes the other way now and the guys in the clubs recognise the importance of their role in the process.
    Cheers stoner sad times for us in football terms what a fall from grace. We were holding our own in div 1 to then relegation back to back and now div 3.

Can't even remember times as bad as they are now. Great to see hurlers showing true heart and determination

Morgan O'Callaghan is a selector?

I saw he was the runner yesterday. I thought that was usually Ronan Quinn's role?
    He was appointed selector before the league started. I was amazed there was nothing more said about it.
    The goalie?
    Yes, he removed himself from the panel a few weeks ago so he probably won't play again anyway.

When did we stop producing proper ball winning midfielders as a county? Most teams cop onto the fact that we are afraid to kick the ball long within ten minutes of the start of every game, they push up on Donnellan and panic ensues. It has been this way since 2011 when we were without Earley and Lynch and Flynn declined after their injury problems.

We always produced fine midfielders as a county even when we were useless in the 80s. Think Shay Fahy, Martin Lynch, Sean McGovern, Niall Buckley, Willie McCreery, Dermot Earley, Killian Brennan and Ronan Sweeney. Some of those had their limitations as footballers but we were never dominated by teams on kickouts like we have been in the last few years. Losing Feely and Hurley was a double blow as they were both excellent in the air. With Tommy Moolick out of action, the only Kildare player that has looked capable of catching a kickout during this league campaign is Fionn Dowling.

All Ireland PP Senior C Football Final:

Ardscoil Rath Iomhgháin 0-19 Coláiste Ghobnatan 2-12

Well done Rathangan.

Great result for rathangan