Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've just punched a child

• 09-11-2012 9:52am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭

Heading into work, headphones on, head down. A kid about 10 or 12 stepped in front of me @ said something. Took off the headphones & he pulled a knife out & said "gimme yet f**ken' money & phone or F**ken' I'll stick ya".

I've never hit anyone before, don't know where it came from but I just lashed out, punched him straight in the face & he ended up on his back. I legged it & am sitting here, feeling like I'm gonna puke with a very sore hand & legs like jelly.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Nicely done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

You've just punched a miniature scumbag, congrats.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

OU812 wrote: »
    Heading into work, headphones on, head down. A kid about 10 or 12 stepped in front of me @ said something. Took off the headphones & he pulled a knife out & said "gimme yet f**ken' money & phone or F**ken' I'll stick ya".

I've never hit anyone before, don't know where it came from but I just lashed out, punched him straight in the face & he ended up on his back. I legged it & am sitting here, feeling like I'm gonna puke with a very sore hand & legs like jelly.

So you came out of mugging unhurt, well done.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,649 ✭✭✭elefant

nice

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Should have kicked the little cunt too

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭postitnote

Self defence, perfectly justified. Maybe he'll change his ways. I think i'd have done the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭listermint

If true, well played sir!

you should have sat on him and called the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Didn't think the robbers be out this time of the morning, Well done OP and may your hand get better.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭sheikhnguyen

Don't feel bad in the slightest. You did the correct thing. A knife is a weapon in anyone's hand be it a fully grown adult or a child. Have a cup of tea with a few spoons of sugar in it and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Musefan

You did what you needed to protect yourself!

On a serious note: keep warm & have some sugary tea and a bite to eat. Sounds like you are in shock!

• Registered Users Posts: 990 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

What you actually did was maybe teach a potential career criminal the error of his ways. Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭dilapidating

Bit early for a mugging.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

cowzerp wrote: »

So you came out of mugging unhurt, well done.

Knowing how some scumbag families work - I would report this to the Garda ASAP

The little scrot will probably report you for attacking him / gbh

So get your report in first. Any witnesses or CCTV in the area?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I once kicked a sleeping dog.
    Is this a confession thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Nice work OP.

If a few more of them were on the receiving end at a young age like that they might rethink their ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭ftlnn

Natural feeling that....

Alternative was to be nursing a stab wound with no phone or money.

Don't feel guilt anyone who threatens you in that way deserves a good slap!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Where did this happen? Fairplay

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Bit early for a mugging.

Nah never to early - it's AH after all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I'd report the incident to the guards asap, if you haven't already.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Well done OP, but you should have kicked him in the face.

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Tips hat to OP;)

• Registered Users Posts: 27 blurch

Well done sir, Now treat yourself to a hearty breakfast for a job well done

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

FearDark wrote: »
    I once kicked a sleeping dog.
    Is this a confession thread?
    Monster!

OP, punch FearDark next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users Posts: 10,254 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

What way you gonna vote tomorrow OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

OU812 wrote: »

that's the best news I've heard all week. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭maameeo

hopefully you thought him a lesson and he'll think twice before he does that again!

oh i wish there was cctv, be awesome to watch that! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

You felt threatened so you lashed out. Well done to you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

phasers wrote: »
    Monster!

OP, punch FearDark next

In my defence the dog was dyeing anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

postitnote wrote: »
    Maybe he'll change his ways.

The cynical me thinks "yeah, he'll go for softer targets in future."