Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trouble's brewing for Spy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

WHat a ****ing knob. One for hot chicks with douche bags. Email sent

25621_374505708086_20410398086_3848942_8026526_n.jpg

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

LOL what a shower.

25621_374505563086_20410398086_3848916_6022368_n.jpg

He's like a fckin umpa lumpa or that bloke out of one of the Bond films.

What's with all the dwarfed looking heads or is it just the camera shot?

Dwarf.jpg

That oddball on the left looks like he is in his finaly weeks.

Is that Johnny Moy in photo 53? He looks old and wrecked.

Moy.jpg

So is the below article a scenester?

Gimp.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

jaysus Johnny Moy does look extremly old in that photo, i think he's been burning the candle at both ends for too long and needs an extented break.

Moy.jpg

mother of jaysus thats a horror story:eek:
    So is the below article a scenester?

Gimp.jpg

He's like a fckin umpa lumpa or that bloke out of one of the Bond films.

What's with all the dwarfed looking heads or is it just the camera shot?

Dwarf.jpg

extremly tragic dress sense:eek:

jonnny68 wrote: »
    jaysus Johnny Moy does look extremly old in that photo, i think he's been burning the candle at both ends for too long and needs an extented break.

Yeah I've heard he's still at it alright. Think I'd be well and truly buried by now had I kept it up at the rate of over 15 years ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

i hope the place goes under and i really couldent give a sh1t about any of the dj's, promoters,owners, scenesters that frequent the place. I would however feel sorry for the staff that would lose there job. That place is an Abomination and an embarrassment to dublin clubbing. Great news that the place has pressed the self distruction button. Best news in a long time.

I-F rightly said it:
    ''abortionisim that is the name of there game, exploiting music for the sake of there fame. there fashion vision completely missis the point, no respect for music at all''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 joshjoshjosh

C.U.N.T is run by a Fashion student in NCAD, who's also a pretty respected designer, and a photographer/blogger also in NCAD, so it's not really unusual for it to get that crowd. It's still one of the most popular nights in Dublin, and the two of them are also great DJs, even if they don't only play dance. They can mix pop and hip-hop better than 90% of club DJs in Dublin.

**** and war arent popular because there good nights with good music, they're popular because there in good locations and the trendys always follow the trendys, and i wouldnt say great djs now in all fairness, they are ok djs but playing ironic tunes moderately well dosent constitute as being a great dj (that is not directed at anyone in particular before someone has a hissy fit, but i've attended both of those nights and that is the fact of the matter).
    And the reason spy is gone is because new management have come in, they want to turn spy into a coppers/diceys type of club, i assume that is why there not paying the old promoters as they dont want to continue running those sort of night.
    I dont know if this has been said already but im not bothered reading through the entire thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 joshjoshjosh

Yeah I've heard he's still at it alright. Think I'd be well and truly buried by now had I kept it up at the rate of over 15 years ago!

Johnnys a hero! Great guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 semr

Thanks<<<<<<<<:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    I don't go there for the same reasons that I don't go to say... Lillie's Bordello or... Tomangoes or Barcode - because the musics going to be bland and thoughtless and the people unfriendly and maintaing pretensions of exclusivity.

You hit the nail on the head there :rolleyes: jimi.........this is exactly my view on Clubs & Bars that have bought into the 'in vogue' mentality which is by its very nature fickle & has no real lovers of music attracted to their establishments........they simlpy attract attention seekers who usually have some levels of this disorder

But all that said people are free to do as they wish wherever they wish & i hope they are enjoying themselves doing it in my book as long as it does no harm or hurt to anyone, just wont be my bag or choice or venue.
    jimi_t2 wrote: »

...and good ****ing riddance. I firmly believe that Neutronyx should stay in the woods in portlaoise and that LIFE and festivals with a completely different ethos like NPLD are about to have their day.

Taking music back from the machines that unapolagetically turn it into a excercise in outright capatalism.........the bands do be good but you cant help feel that the festival spirit that should be all enveloping is distinctly absent at the big events when every vendor whatever they are selling have a cold 'next please' manner about them (not their fault as they have to make back the huge fee that is imposed by the organisers for the privelidge of being on site) & the security outside the fences are all equipped with alsations!

Any info you can give on Neutronyx mentioned above???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Mr.S wrote: »
    Its a bit sad that some of yous are abusing the crowd that would frequent Spy/War, especially picking out specific photos from events... :rolleyes:

Its a bit sad how some people treat nightclubs as beauty pageants...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

25621_374505708086_20410398086_3848942_8026526_n.jpg

I reckon she wishes she was at woodstock

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Its a bit sad how some people treat nightclubs as beauty pageants...

Mate I don't see why you's are directing this at War and **** singly, 90% of nightclubs in the world are 'beauty pageants', go to any nightclub in Dublin and you'll see nearly everyone dressed up. Some dress up in black shoes from Jack Jones, and a stripey shirt, and some dress like they do in War/****. Same for the girls. It doesn't mean there's a despicable ethos towards music in War and ****. There's a despicable ethos towards music in most nightclubs. If people cared about the music in 21s then they'd complain that Umbrella is played 3 times every night. War/**** don't market themselves as dance nights, house nights or whatever, they're just normal nights for a crowd that don't want to go to 21s.

@Josh, how much of the management has changed? Is Anthony Remedy still involved do ye know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Any info you can give on Neutronyx mentioned above???

The crusties that do the psy-trance stage in the woods at the picnic. Also set up LIFE festival.

http://www.ptconnection.org/PTConnection/neutronyx.html

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Mr.S wrote: »

Look outside ANY nightclub. People will be dressed up in some shape or form :rolleyes:
    Its a bit pathetic that your judging and commenting/slagging the dress sense of people. Whats it to you?
    So sorry that people don't like the run of the mill clubs that play chart music on loop.
    If you don't like it, fair enough, but its a bit sad to abuse others over it.

Exactly. And taking pictures from facebook and slagging the people off for no reason is just acting the prick like, especially slagging of a dwarf ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Mate I don't see why you's are directing this at War and **** singly, 90% of nightclubs in the world are 'beauty pageants', go to any nightclub in Dublin and you'll see nearly everyone dressed up.

There's 'dressing up' as in going out dressing up, then there's the 'someone gave this emaciated fella a dopey haircut and kicked him through topshop' vogue which South William street specialises in.

It's designed to conform to a particular standard in the exact same way as the black shoes, levis and ben sherman shirt brigade - and I'm really stating the ****ing obvious here. There's nothing 'alternative' about it. With their VVIP and other assorted mockeries they've gone the route that Coyote Lounge went when it turned into XXI - basically a way of making non-entities feel 'exclusive'.

While its like shooting fish in a barrel, I'll go back to that VVIP night one last time to make a point.

Between the 50-60 or so casual posters and readers on this forum, I'd say we probably know every largish DJ, promoter and person of note in the (tiny) Irish clubbing community either directly or indirectly. Me myself, I'm a whore for dropping names to try and blag past a queue or get free-in and I didn't recognise the name of a single person up for any of those ''awards''.

Now that said, one of the lads pictured a page back I know through another fella I've played with and he's a pretty damn decent DJ/Producer who's playing Oxegen this year and has a fair few remixes out on iTunes and the like. While I'm not hammering the old idiom about judging books by their covers, I do tend to make allowances for people - but jesus, WAR and the crowd it attracts infuriates me no end.
    they're just normal nights for a crowd that don't want to go to 21s.

Well in fairness, they sure as hell don't market it that way, and they tend to play a fair amount of chart in there.

Exactly. And taking pictures from facebook and slagging the people off for no reason is just acting the prick like, especially slagging of a dwarf ffs.

Nah I think they are wide open for slagging dressed like that, if I went out like that I would expect a right aul slagging!

I agree however on the dwarf bit, a bit below the belt alright and I take my comment back on that one.

You would have to swing pretty low to hit below a dwarf belt though in fairness:D

I retract that :rolleyes: post immediatley so as not to pi.ss anyone off just had to be said:D

You would have to swing pretty low to hit below a dwarf belt though in fairness:D

I retract that :rolleyes: post immediatley so as not to pi.ss anyone off just had to be said:D

Aha - was wondering how quickly that one would be hit!

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

I for one personally despise this scenester style fashion that in vogue electro music has brought to the dance music scene in general.

It makes me actually feel quite saddened that people are there for other reasons besides the music.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

i blame ''skins'' the tv show.

No need to fret about the scenesters all will come good in time according to the first definition offered by the urban dictionary & the Rave will be returned to the faithfull;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

theres not enough rolleye icon for the post above

No need to fret about the scenesters all will come good in time according to the first definition offered by the urban dictionary & the Rave will be returned to the faithfull;)

You probably have Aids from sharing needles in the 90s.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

You probably have Aids from sharing needles in the 90s.

:pac::pac::pac:awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

What was this thread about again?