Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 2016 *NO NUMBER SWAPS/SALES/TRANSFERS*

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭AAD

Just replying now, long day in work yesterday.

It was my first DCM and only my second ever, 18 months after running for the first time. Big congrats to all the organisers and volunteers who make this happen. I stuck with the 4.30 pacers until I went over on my ankle going over a ramp around the 18 mile mark and knew I would struggle to finish if I kept the pace up. All three pacers were excellent and kept everyone moving.

Came across a girl who was also struggling and stayed with her and helped her get over a rough patch before we finished. I had heard that Castleknock was one of the best things about this route and I must say as soon as I went through the gates of the park until Castleknock college was absolutely mental. Well done Castleknock.

If I had one issue with the race it was with the people who were placed in wave four after the lottery. Yes some of you are faster than a lot ahead of you but in at least four accessions I was hit from behind and from the side by people trying to barge their way through the tight crowds, one of them nearly put a women on her arse in the Phoenix park, next year just enter in time.

Sorry rant over,

Overall a great experience and will look to getting another PB next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭echancrure

Race report on my 8th Marathon and the bettering of my 2:59:17 PB in Cork 2015.

I was aiming for a sub 2:50 (6:30 pace) possibly better depending on the circumstances since I trained for 6:15 pace. My training (P&D up to 70m) had been going very well since the start of August with no injuries (although I was limit on some the crazier LT and VO2 max sessions). I only missed 4 sessions in 12 weeks of training 6 days a week.

I had a half marathon PB of 1:23:06 in Phoenix Park five weeks ago and a 10k PB of 37:10 two weeks ago both achieved without tapering. So I was all set in the final week, with the only wobble being my willpower to resist chocolate and biscuits gave up completely with 3 days to go before race day. So I did overeat bad stuff (why oh why did I open that Nutella jar and those m&ms ?) in the last few days. Anyhow it could have been worse.

I managed to position myself about 4th deep on the start line of Wave 1 (beside Gerry Duffy actually, though I was too shy to say hi). Uneventful start followed by a hi-five to my son at mile 2.

I was a bit fast at the start according to the first mile sign I saw (I only have a stopwatch to pace myself so I run quite a bit by feel) at mile 3 (yes I missed the first 2 mile signs, so I had no clue how fast I was going for the first 19 minutes) going at about 6:20 pace. I tried to slow down a bit after that but without much success: I relaxed and tried to focus on my form but that actually only made me go faster…
    Took a sip of my gel at mile 6 or so: all good, enjoying the park.

10k in 38:57 (6:16 average pace) I really felt good (obviously) and with the descent that followed, my pace increased slightly again even though I did not need to. I actually gave up trying to slow down and stopped worrying about my pace; I just focused on form and being nice and relaxed. High fiving kids and enjoying the amazing crowd.

Approaching half way, my tummy started to complain with some cramps and wind. I had the same experience five weeks ago in my half PB and again a bit after my 10k PB: it’s a new issue for me as my pace has increased lately. Yes I now know this is called ‘runner’s trot’ which is not a nice issue as you really feel you are gonna explode in the middle of the road…

Anyway I passed halfway in 1:21:40 (new half PB! does it count? thank god I don’t have a coach as he’d kill me for doing that) (6:14 average pace) and at that stage I knew I had to go for a pit stop. Unfortunately I didn’t see any portaloos around (I am sure there was some: I checked the map since, I just missed them). Forced myself to take on a full gel.

I carried on for the next three miles until the next water station at about 6:15 pace with my stomach cramping (not great for the form) and with the dread of not making it on time (thinking of Diniz at the 50k Rio Olympics walk helped. Or maybe not…).
    Mile 16 and the portaloo of deliverance. I spent a minute and a half in there thinking I may as well try to get my breathing down. Restarting was not easy: my legs, which felt fine up to then, were a bit slow to get back into motion.

By mile 17 I was down 2 minutes on a 6:15 pace and my stomach was still cramping and giving me pain. I knew I was slower and basically decided to get home safely and preserving a sub 2:50. According to my mental arithmetic I had a margin.
    30k in 1:58:42 (6:22 pace average). Tummy in bits and calves starting to tighten. I was probably running low on electrolytes since I could not take any more of my homemade gel which contains salt tablets (perhaps next time I should carry spare tablets separately…). Anyhow the calves were manageable and I was in ‘take her home mode’ until the finish.

I gave a shout of encouragement to Pauline Curley as she passed me just after the UCD fly over. In the last couple of miles, and working backward on my sub 2:50 target, I knew I was gonna be ok. Tried to relax and enjoy, words of encouragement to Spanish competitor near the end.

Crossed the line in 2:49:20 (6:28 average pace) which meant I ran at 6:42 pace from 30k (18.75 miles) to 26.2 miles which is not too bad considering my stomach issue. Predicted Boards target achieved!

Overall I am delighted with the day. I got a 10 minutes marathon PB (and an unofficial 1 minute 26 seconds half marathon PB…), I finished 12th the M45 age category and I learned quite a lot about myself.

I can run at 6:15. I can improve my PB by another 5 minutes at least: I just have to practice more running at that pace and sort out my stomach because my legs and my breathing are there already. Let’s call it a ‘technical’ issue!

I think if I focus on a few half-marathons early next year and find a solution that works for me I can get this sorted and come back next year with another big improvement. I am also tempted by a 39.3 ultra (Connemara? Achill Island?) but I must learn to slow down first and I am signed up for the Derry marathon in June…

Also, I should probably stop trying to get 10' minutes PB all the time as it is too much of a journey into the unknown: 5' at a time is ample enough.

Roll on next season!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

The goody bags were great this year! Unfortunately though my headlamp doesn't work. I wonder if there is a possibility of getting a replacement as I do a lot of running on dark unlit country roads during the winter months.

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭echancrure

Bahanaman wrote: »
    The goody bags were great this year! Unfortunately though my headlamp doesn't work. I wonder if there is a possibility of getting a replacement as I do a lot of running on dark unlit country roads during the winter months.

Open up the battery pack: there is a little plastic film to remove...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

LOL....the paperwork says that they're guaranteed for 30 years!

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2710|echancrure|2:59:17|2:49:59|2:49:20
    11815|diego_b|4:12:54|3:59:59|3:57:34
    |schqually|4:09:50|3:49:59|3:47:20
    519|Singer|3:32:04|3:09:59|DNF
    10938|Derco|4:22:53|4:12:59|4:16:04
    836|hot buttered scones|3:38:39|3:21:59|3:21:45
    5051|Run and Jump|3:26:14|3:19:59|
    10456|glacial_pace71|4:16:37|3:53:53|4:11:02|
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|3:49:01|
    |ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|
    |CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|
    938|Paddybarry|2:55:28|2:58:XX|3:09:03
    4445|Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|2.43.03
    |dna_leri|n/a|2:59:00|2:58:58|
    |chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|4:27:22
    3099|Sandwell|n/a|2:57:30|2:57:38
    1023|Murph_D|3:29:16|3:19:59|3:28:28
    |Averagejoe123|3:18:20|3:09:59|3.07.53
    4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|3.18.39
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|3:19:07
    |boydkev|n/a|3:39:59|4:00:54|
    |Spaceylou|n/a|4:29:59|
    16111|Budhistmonk|5:07:45|4:29:59|4:45:03
    |Fieldsman|4:48:XX|4:29:59|
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|3:49:38 :D
    |pink11|4:04:00|5:00:00|4:53:00|
    4602|donnacha|3:57:11|3:29:59|3:29:51|
    18577|wookiesleep|3:33:00|3:29:30|3:24:46|
    1538|jake1970|3:18:30|3:09:59|3:11:58|
    |Classic21|N/A|3:29:59|3:37:40|
    3574|overthebridge|3:50:43|3:29:59|3:38:38|
    2459|Djemba Djemba|N/A|2:59:59|2.57.58
    2771|psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|3:39:19
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|3:09:XX
    |BeepBeep67|2:55:51|3:19:29|Pacing
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|
    |Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|
    |Clearlier|3:24:00|DNS|DNS|
    |FBOT01|3:00:59|3:29:30|Pacing
    |Airtel31|4:20:59|4:45:00|4:30:41
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25|3:07:33
    4310|Martyboy48|3:19??|3:19:59|tale of 2 halves3:46:24
    9523|Chickey2|4:33:5x|3:59:59|3:58:42

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

echancrure wrote: »

What echancrure said.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭CR 7

|CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|3:03:55:(
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|

My planned sub 3 hour attempt didn't work out, was on track at halfway (1:29:51), but the time and the pace group started to fade away into the distance from mile 18 on. Can't blame anything but myself, I just wasn't really in shape to do it on the day. I'll (hopefully) go for 3 hours again earlier in 2017, and be back to enjoy DCM with less pressure and probably no overly ambitious target.:P

On another note, having never ran this before, and never done a race with quite as many runners, I found certain aspects of it to be a little over crowded. Some corners were just too narrow for the volume of people going through, and the earlier water stops especially seemed to just appear without any signage and forced the mass of people down to a walk. Again, these are really fairly minor issues, I'm just wondering if it's always been this way.

Edit:
    I started writing this report for the sub 3 support thread but it got a bit too long, so might fit better here instead.

My sub 3 attempt ended at mile 18. Finished in 3:03:55. Now to try to list all the excuses as to why it happened.:pac:

Really, it was never going to be guaranteed, as much as I tried telling myself that going 3:08 in Achill 9 weeks ago meant Sunday was just going to be a stroll in the park. It's possible that if I had skipped Achill, or even just gone and ran it at less than race effort, maybe I could have gone under 3 on Sunday. But, considering that at the start of March I had ran a grand total of about 130 miles so far for the year and no intention of running a marathon, to now, having run my first 3 marathons, all in the space of 7 months it hasn't been a bad year.

But anyway, I made it to Sunday without injury, and had gotten in some recovery, a few weeks of decent training, and a sort of week-long mini taper during the 9 weeks. I noticed that my legs weren't feeling as fresh in the days leading up to this race as they were before Achill, but I figured that was to be expected and trusted the plan. I followed the P&D 8 weeks multiple marathoning schedule, and hit every prescribed pace and workout, apart from replacing a 6 mile recovery run with a day off completely.

I had a nice relaxed walk to the baggage area, arriving at 8:30, dropped the bag off and then made a sort of half-hearted attempt at a warmup, which was a huge mistake, as I tried to make my way towards the 3:00 pacers at around 8:45.:eek: Ended up around 20 rows back, even though I knew it was way too far, but I planned to just gradually rope them back in as the crowd thinned out.

Miles 1-6
    I almost immediately abandoned my plan to gently reel in the pace group and got a bit caught up in the crowd. Spent at least the first 3 miles dodging and overtaking slower runners and just generally going way too fast for so early in the race. By 3 miles I got to within 100m of the pacers and relaxed for a minute to try to catch my breath. But a minute or two later I noticed I was suddenly 200m behind again. Sped up again and caught the group in the space of half a mile or so, but this time I didn't relax, and tried to stick with the group. When I say tried to stick with the group, I mean that I seemed to be in an endless cycle of catching up to the group, then finding myself getting boxed in to a group of runners that were dropping off the pace, and I'd have to go around them, and then make up 100m to catch the group. But still, I got to 6 miles within sight of the pace group, and still felt reasonably comfortable.

Miles 6-13.1 [1:29:51]
    From here, things started to get harder, I stayed within touching distance of the pacers all the way along, but I could feel that something didn't feel right, I had wasted so much energy in dropping off the pace and catching up repeatedly that I was now having to work hard just to keep at a pace that had felt comfortable during all the training sessions. This kept up, until the straight section leading to halfway. I looked up to see I was suddenly 200m behind the pacers, but without the same energy I had earlier to quickly catch up.

Miles 13.1-18
    Seeing that I was actually right on track at halfway gave me a chance to relax for a minute and think. I knew I wasn't going to be able to make a mad dash to catch the pace group so I decided to just up the pace by a few seconds and catch them over a few miles, like I had originally planned by the start. I was now far enough behind the group that I had some clear air in front of me, and I eventually caught them just before mile 18. Instead of feeling reasonably comfortable after the effort, when I reached the group I knew straight away that there was no way I could maintain the pace for much longer. I tried to run through it for a half mile to see if it would pass, but it didn't and I had to make a decision between risking blowing up, or just dropping the pace back a small bit and still making 3:05.

Miles 18-21
    This was where it really started to hurt, there was a few points where I wanted to stop. I had to remind myself that I had no idea where I was, and would be too ashamed to have to ask spectators for directions, and even worse, that I didn't actually need to stop; I wasn't injured, just off pace. The water station with the gels came just at the right time, and I took 30 seconds or so to walk through it, take the gel and some water, catch my breath and start again.

Miles 21-26.2 [3:03:55]
    Surprisingly, I managed to get back into a comfortable rhythm, and kept a steady pace of around 7:05/mile all the way to the end. For the last mile I was passing a constant stream of runners, but my own pace didn't change. I got to the line, disappointed to miss the target, but exhausted enough to know I didn't have much more in me on the day.

So it's back to the drawing board sort-of. I'll be having another go at 3 hours, probably in Cork in June. Will probably skip Achill next year, and go to Dublin without the same pressure of a time target hanging over me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

echancrure wrote:

Did that Sunday! The little switch inside I broken.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Did that Sunday! The little switch inside I broken.

Same here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

dna_leri wrote:
    Same here

19500 registered, roughly 17000 took part maybe they have a few left over and could swap.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Airtel31

You can already get your spot for 2017 already just seen it on there FB page

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

Looks like they have increased the entries to 22,000 for 2017.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Airtel31 wrote:
    You can already get your spot for 2017 already just seen it on there FB page

Fast forward 10 months and you'll still have people whingeing they didn't get in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭ooter

If they allowed you to defer I'd imagine a lot of people would sign up very early.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Healium

8602|Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|4:10:14

I was only planning to walk it due to a slow recovery from Lisbon marathon 4 weeks ago, but felt strong on the day and managed to run the whole thing. My slowest marathon of the three I've done, but loved the atmosphere. I ran the whole route with a few of my mates and carried a speaker around, good craic :)

If anyone would like to add my time to the table I got 4:09:11, don't want to attempt it myself in case I mess it up. Thought I might've been able to just sneak under 4 hours but knew I'd need to go slow in the first half of the race to have any chance, went through halfway in 2:05 and hoped to kick on from there but pretty soon i knew there was nothing extra in the legs. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Adding ooter.

|ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|4:09:11|

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

Out of interest only , was there anyone in Wave 4 who ran a quick time ( ie sub 3 ) Just curious to see if it was possible

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

PVincent wrote: »
    Out of interest only , was there anyone in Wave 4 who ran a quick time ( ie sub 3 ) Just curious to see if it was possible
    Know one lad that did sub 3 from celbridge

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭shane1981

Mr. 19839 had a pretty good second half.

My bib number was in the high 17,000's and I was in wave 4 so I'm assuming higher numbers were in wave 4?
    If so there are about 20 people with high bib numbers that went sub 3 but I'd be amazed if any of them started in wave 4, I'd say they somehow managed to blag their way in to wave 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

UM1 wrote: »
    Know one lad that did sub 3 from celbridge

Celbridge ? Pretty far back to be starting ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

shane1981 wrote: »
    Mr. 19839 had a pretty good second half.

Chip didn't register a 30k split.
    Coincidence, right? :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

One change they should make for next year (in my opinion) is instead of people selecting a wave they would like to run in they should enter their expected finish time or even better a link to their best marathon time and organise the waves based off that.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

maybe require a qualifying time for wave 1!

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Johnners1878

Clearlier wrote: »
    Adding ooter.

|ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|4:09:11|
    2912|Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|3.33.27

My 4th Dublin in a row and one I was both happy and disappointed with, if that doesn't sound too confused. I felt I wasn't in as good a shape as last year and had resolved to run a little easier. On the day I felt good, despite being stung by a wasp on my right quad that morning which was not what I needed. I was on sub-3.30 pace for the first 23 miles and felt fine most of the way around. At the top of Heartbreak Hill I hit the wall - the quads were like slabs of concrete. Made it all the way to the bottom of Nutley Avenue before being overtaken by the 3.30 pacers. Tried briefly to lift it to tag onto them but just couldn't do it. Realising the sub 3.30 was gone, I eased up over the last couple of miles to try and spare the body, which cost me a couple of minutes. Didn't work though, as after a couple of celebratory pints in Tobers, (a tradition) I felt quite ill and had a bad night as the body rebelled. Had to come down the stairs backwards on Monday morning. I think I did the first 23 miles on muscle memory - my 4 Dublins now read - 3.30.30, 3.31.08, 3.29.04 and 3.33.27 - at least I'm consistent!

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭shane1981

adrian522 wrote: »
    One change they should make for next year (in my opinion) is instead of people selecting a wave they would like to run in they should enter their expected finish time or even better a link to their best marathon time and organise the waves based off that.

+1 but people will just make up a time to get into the wave they want.

I just signed up for Berlin lottery today and I had to state if was my first marathon, then enter place and date of my best time.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yeah, but it is still better than saying 3:34 and faster will be in wave 1. They shouldn't announce the timings for the waves until they see how many are targeting those times. They could have 40% or more targeting faster than that but they have now seemingly locked themselves into that time for wave 1.