Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    Any word on what size crowd they are expecting. Surely Donegal will have a massive crowd down and the senior tie is helped that the minor match is also Dubs v Donegal.
    I'm sure this semi will be close to a sell out 75'000 +

Won't be huge numbers coming down from donegal, not a huge interest this year for some reason, flags and bunting are sparse compared to previous years.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

dog_pig wrote: »
    You holier than thou Dublin types are hilarious.

Makes me laugh that ye maintain to be such pure football fans, despite the fact that apparently ye're only able to appreciate one style of football (coincidentally the style that Dublin are playing at the minute :D)

I take your point and I do largely support other Leinster counties, but to be honest that might be partly because my old man insisted on it and told me to do it and its in my DNA.

All that said Westmeath 1995 their minor teams support is the only time that I've seen a non Dublin support largely support Dublin. Plenty of non Dubs support Dublin but 1995 is the only time I experienced a significant bunch of fans doing it.

I actually think that's just the way it is, I understand it. Plenty of non Dubs have told me it too in a nice way. Its not personal its the GAA.

Tell you who do annoy me though, holier than thou non Dubs who pretend that they took Dublin at face value but now for some reason or another no longer like Dublin. I don't think they ever did, its in their DNA too. They just want to have a pop coming from a seemingly neutral point of view.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 DunedinOg

bohsboy wrote: »
    Won't be huge numbers coming down from donegal, not a huge interest this year for some reason, flags and bunting are sparse compared to previous years.

This game will definitely sell out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

And your expertise on this is?

I live in Donegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I live in Donegal.

Things will start going into overdrive now in the next week or so.

I'd have said there's a decent interest in the match. I've been at 4 club games and two weddings in the past while (Busy week!) and it's been a major talk of all those events. One was pre Armagh but the collision course was on the agenda.

I do think that people appreciate that it's a semi final against that Dublin side so there's not the same wide eyed gidyness as happened in 2011 or confidence in 2012. And it's not as much of a 'grudge match' or built up as much as the Ulster Final (sell out, Donegal majority) but it's still bubbling away there.

I am confident that there will be a big Donegal support, in excess of 30k, at this given the two teams are playing.

Regarding the bunting, to be perfectly honest It's not something I've even picked up on. I'll notice it now mind you. I wouldn't be that type. I was away for a week last year and our front hall was painted in my absence. I didn't notice.:o

Nah, don't agree, its very muted here compared to previous years.

A lot of people who normally go to every game opted to give the Armagh game a miss and an almost equal amount aren't going to bother with the semi. A lot of kids back to school the next morning and parents don't fancy getting back very late is the main reason I'm hearing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,311 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin have used 25 players in 4 Championship games.Appearances+Subs for 2014 Championship Games

Brogan, Alan 4
    Cluxton, Stephen 4
    Connolly, Diarmuid 4
    Devereux, Nicky 4
    Flynn, Paul 4
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 4
    McCarthy, James 4
    McMahon, Philip 4
    O'Carroll, Rory 4
    O'Sullivan, Cian 4
    McManamon, Kevin 3+1
    Mannion, Paul 2+2
    O'Gara, Eoghan 2+2
    McCaffrey, Jack 1+3
    Rock, Dean 1+3
    Costello, Cormac 0+4
    Brogan, Bernard 3
    Cooper, Jonny 3
    Fitzsimons, Michael 2+1
    Daly, Darren 1+2
    Andrews, Paddy 1+1
    Brady, Tomas 0+2
    Cullen, Bryan 0+2
    Nolan, Kevin 1
    Bastic Denis 0+1

Dublin have scored 9-88(115) and conceded 2-49(55) in 4 Championship games. Scorers 2014 Championship Game

Brogan, Bernard 2-14
    Costello, Cormac 1-10
    Connolly, Diarmuid 2-6
    Flynn, Paul 1-8
    McManamon, Kevin 1-8
    Rock, Dean 0-10
    O'Gara, Eoghan 1-6
    Brogan, Alan 0-6
    Cluxton, Stephen 0-5
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 1-1
    Mannion, Paul 0-3
    Brady, Tomas 0-2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0-2
    Andrews, Paddy 0-1
    Cooper, Jonny 0-1
    Cullen, Bryan 0-1
    Devereux, Nicky 0-1
    McCaffrey, Jack 0-1
    McCarthy, James 0-1
    McMahon, Philip 0-1

Dublin have used 36 players in 9 league games.Appearances+Subs for 2014 League Games

Cooper, Jonny 9
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 8+1
    O'Gara, Eoghan 6+3
    Cluxton, Stephen 8
    McMahon, Philip 8
    McManamon, Kevin 7+1
    Byrne, Davy(Ballymun) 2+6
    Nelson, Darragh 2+6
    O'Sullivan, Cian 7
    Brogan, Alan 6+1
    Reddin, Ciaran 5+2
    Nolan, Kevin 4+3
    McCarthy, James 6
    Andrews, Paddy 5+1
    Fitzsimons, Michael 5+1
    Brady, Tomas 2+4
    McCaffrey, Jack 2+4
    Devereux, Nicky 2+3
    Connolly, Diarmuid 4
    Cullen, Bryan 4
    Flynn, Paul 4
    George, Sean 4
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 4
    O'Carroll, Rory 4
    Costello, Cormac 3+1
    Carty, Shane 2+2
    Whelan, Jason 2+2
    Lowndes, Eric 3
    Daly, Darren 2+1
    O'Mahony, Declan 2+1
    Hudson, Paul 1+2
    Brogan, Bernard 1+1
    Currie, Sean 1+1
    Mannion, Paul 0+2
    O'Brien, Kevin 0+1
    Watson, Daniel 0+1

Dublin have scored 14-138(180) and conceded 11-117(150) in 9 league games. Scorers 2014 League Games

McManamon, Kevin 3-17
    Connolly, Diarmuid 2-11
    O'Gara, Eoghan 3-7
    Brogan, Bernard 1-11
    Brogan, Alan 0-12
    Andrews, Paddy 1-8
    Costello, Cormac 0-10
    Cluxton, Stephen 0-10
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2-2
    Hudson, Paul 0-7
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-6
    Reddin, Ciaran 0-6
    Whelan, Jason 1-3
    Flynn, Paul 0-5
    Cooper, Jonny 0-4
    McCarthy, James 1-1
    Byrne, Davy(Ballymun) 0-3
    Carty, Shane 0-3
    Cullen, Bryan 0-2
    Mannion, Paul 0-2
    McMahon, Philip 0-2
    Nelson, Darragh 0-2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0-2
    Brady, Tomas 0-1
    McCaffrey, Jack 0-1

Dublin have used 30 players in 3 O'Byrne Cup games.Appearances+Subs for 2014 O'Byrne Cup Games

Carthy, Shane 3
    Fitzsimons, Michael 3
    George, Sean 3
    Hudson, Paul 3
    O'Mahony, Declan 3
    Whelan, Jason 3
    Dawson, Harry 2+1
    Nelson, Darragh 2+1
    Walsh, Conor 2+1
    Cullen, Bryan 2
    Currie, Sean 2
    Daly, Darren 2
    Lowndes, Eric 2
    McMahon, Philip 2
    McManamon, Kevin 2
    Mullins, Cian 2
    Nolan, Kevin 2
    Guckian, Chris 1+1
    Cooper, Jonny 0+2
    Fanning, Eoin 0+2
    McGovern, Niall 0+2
    Watson, Daniel 0+2
    Costello, Cormac 1
    Cluxton, Stephen 1
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 1
    O'Carroll, Rory 1
    Ryan, Philip 1
    Sweeney, Gary 1
    Fletcher, Luke 0+1
    Flynn, Paul 0+1

Dublin have scored 2-34(40) and conceded 3-26(35) in 3 O'Byrne Cup games. Scorers 2014 O'Byrne Cup Games

Hudson, Paul 0-12
    Watson, Daniel 2-2
    Costello, Cormac 0-5
    Whelan, Jason 0-4
    Carty, Shane 0-2
    Fanning, Eoin 0-2
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-2
    McManamon, Kevin 0-2
    Dawson, Harry 0-1
    Lowndes, Eric 0-1
    Walsh, Conor 0-1

Jim Gavin managerial championship/league record played 28 won 23 drawn 2 lost 3 scored 46-464(602) conceded 23-343(412)

2014 Championship Played 4 Won-4 Drawn-0 Lost-0 Scored 9-88(115) Conceded 2-49(55)
    2013 Championship Played 6 Won-6 Drawn-0 Lost-0 Scored 13-99(138) Conceded 5-71(86)
    2014 League Played 9 Won-6 Drawn-1 Lost-2 Scored 14-138(180) Conceded 11-117(150)
    2013 League Played 9 Won-7 Drawn-1 Lost-1 Scored 10-139(169) Conceded 5-106(121)
    28 23 2 3 46-464(602) 23-343(412)

Player Championship Games Played Scored
    Andrews, Paddy 13 1-9
    Bastic, Denis 23 1-6
    Brady, Tomas 2 0-2
    Brennan, Ger 27 0-5
    Brogan, Alan 62 11-127
    Brogan, Bernard 38 14-155
    Cluxton, Stephen 70 0-47 -41 Clean Sheets Conceded 40 goals
    Connolly, Diarmuid 30 6-37
    Cooper, Jonny 10 0-1
    Costello, Cormac 5 1-10
    Cullen, Bryan 55 0-36
    Daly, Darren 7
    Devereux, Nicky 6 0-1
    Fitzsimons, Michael 21
    Flynn, Paul 33 3-29
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 9 0-14
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 26 2-6
    Mannion, Paul 10 3-9
    McCaffrey, Jack 11 1-2
    McCarthy, James 21 1-2
    McMahon, Philip 24 0-5
    McManamon, Kevin 24 4-21
    Nolan, Kevin 22 0-5
    O'Brien, Kevin 5
    O'Carroll, Rory 29
    O'Gara, Eoghan 26 6-15
    O'Mahony, Declan 5 0-1
    O'Sullivan, Cian 21 0-5
    Rock, Dean 10 0-20

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Gael85 wrote: »
    Jim Gavin managerial championship/league record played 27 won 23 drawn 2 lost 3 scored 46-464(602) conceded 23-343(412)

2014 Championship Played 3 Won-4 Drawn-0 Lost-0 Scored 9-88(115) Conceded 2-49(55)
    2013 Championship Played 6 Won-6 Drawn-0 Lost-0 Scored 13-99(138) Conceded 5-71(86)
    2014 League Played 9 Won-6 Drawn-1 Lost-2 Scored 14-138(180) Conceded 11-117(150)
    2013 League Played 9 Won-7 Drawn-1 Lost-1 Scored 10-139(169) Conceded 5-106(121)
    27 23 2 3 46-464(602) 23-343(412)

Serious record.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

in 2014 he's played 3 championship games and won 4 of them? Thats pretty impressive alright

• Registered Users Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Bambi wrote: »
    in 2014 he's played 3 championship games and won 4 of them? Thats pretty impressive alright

:-)

This team won't be stopped. They will have Donegal with them for 45 minutes (longer than any other team) but will destroy them as they empty the bench. Kerry should beat mayo, and that could be interesting. I'd still see Dublin coasting to victory over any of the 3 remaining teams with the bench strength being the decisive factor.

Only 2 things can beat Dublin. Themselves or a string of serious injuries to key personnel (Cluxton, O'Carroll or Flynn/Bernard Brogan)

Watching county football for over 4 decades now, I'm struggling to remember a team so strong, with depth added. That could be just my old age though! The thing so impressive though, is that they are winning big games, while there are really good Mayo, Kerry and Donegal teams on the scene. Could be a golden era for Dublin GAA fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

I know we have been hammering teams alright, maybe he knows something we dont :):p

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    I know we have been hammering teams alright, maybe he knows something we dont :):p

He gave meath such a hiding that it counts twice :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

He gave meath such a hiding that it counts twice :pac:

Didn't Heffo (Lord bless him and keep him) him say that beating Kerry once in an All Ireland, counted as good as twice?

With all due respect to Meath, they are not quite in that category yet. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Looks like I've been roped into heading down to Brendans Park in Birr on Saturday for the Jackies quarter final clash with da Kingdom (weather permitting if I'm honest :o) - mirroring the lads, this will be the ladies 1st match in the championship against a blanket defence ! .. the earth is spinning off its axis yup Kerry/blanket defence in the one sentence.

It's been a complete stroll for the girls so far with emphatic wins over Kildare/Westmeath & Laois so a test of any kind would be more than welcome

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Looks like I've been roped into heading down to Brendans Park in Birr on Saturday for the Jackies quarter final clash with da Kingdom (weather permitting if I'm honest :o) - mirroring the lads, this will be the ladies 1st match in the championship against a blanket defence ! .. the earth is spinning off its axis yup Kerry/blanket defence in the one sentence.

It's been a complete stroll for the girls so far with emphatic wins over Kildare/Westmeath & Laois so a test of any kind would be more than welcome

Dublin should have more than enough for Kerry - I watched Kerry's previous match and they were only starting to work on that blanket defense, yet were easily opened up at times by Donegal, running directly and moving that ball very fast.

Grand stand in Birr, so you have no excuse :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Dublin should have more than enough for Kerry - I watched Kerry's previous match and they were only starting to work on that blanket defense, yet were easily opened up at times by Donegal, running directly and moving that ball very fast.

Grand stand in Birr, so you have no excuse :D

LOL... I'll take that under advisement .. thanks :P

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Past30Now

11 Days to go. Can't wait.

Same 15 to start as with the Monaghan match. Level five minutes into the second half. 5 point win.

Anyone expect Rock or Andrews to get a start?

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Past30Now

Slattsy wrote: »

You can make an argument for starting either. Rock for the long range points. Andrews for winning and keeping dirty ball against two/three Donegal men,but I think the six who started are our best forwards to start the match. Cullen (in particular), Rock, Andrews, Mannion and Costello will all get a chance to make an impact in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Both of them? Nope. I can see Andrews & O'Gara both starting for their ability to win dirty ball. Then the other 6 spots will be the two Brogans, Flynn & Connolly. Rock and McMenamon will be the first two lads to come on if Alan gets tired (a good possibility) and/or one of the other lads just isn't firing. Dean Rock is a definite banker for some long range points, but he actually has to be in the game and getting on the ball from the get go, for that to happen. It didn't happen for him in the last game he started, so that's why I think Gavin will want to spring him from the bench instead. He doesn't seem to have a problem hitting the ground running then.

I don't think we will see all of our back up forwards come on. I can see most of the subs coming on to shore up things at the back and in midfield & quite possibly to replace someone who is being targeted and is in danger of picking up a second yellow. We all know who they are. :(

Btw, was out in the O'Neills shop on the Long Mile Rd yesterday. Their range of branded Dubs gear has been expanded massively. There are even Dubs rig outs for the golf course & spandex yokes for when ye are out on yer bikes. The sale section upstairs used to just have the older stuff with the Vodafone logo. They now have some of the first run of AIG stuff from last year on sale too.

No, just one. Preferably Rock as he can kick long with accuracy.
    Get a few points up early and watch Donegal panic and force them to come at us. Then they'll fall apart.
    I'd drop Alan to be perfectly honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭corny

I wouldn't change any of the forwards but just a mention for Dean Rock.

Lots made of his ability from distance but imo thats not where you score against Donegal. They screen that area very effectively and next day when they go all out defence, you'll have massive numbers in that area. I doubt they'll give up many chances on the 40 in front of goal.

I see it going 3 ways! One, we work the ball (quick, incisive passing) through them and create chances. Two, we work runners through them and overwhelm their structure. Three, they force us wide (which is what they do and want) and our scores will come from pot shots under pressure on the angle. If they succeed Rock really comes into his own. He is excellent at shooting at a narrow target and i'd have him on early in the game if that happens.

Prediction though? I think Dublin, admittedly after a settling in period, are going to go for the jugular with option 2 above. I hope they succeed, not only for Dublins sake but to show you don't have to accept the game on their terms.

Well what did we make of the match yesterday?

Didn't see anything from either side that would make us lose any sleep. Mayo looked good in the second half but really think that was down to Kerry coming in after the break with negative tactics. Completely backfired.

Expect Mayo to win the replay, Kerry had a big chance yesterday and blew it. Big time. Fair play to them for getting back in at the end though.

Can't wait for Sunday now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Well what did we make of the match yesterday?

Didn't see anything from either side that would make us lose any sleep. Mayo looked good in the second half but really think that was down to Kerry coming in after the break with negative tactics. Completely backfired.

Expect Mayo to win the replay, Kerry had a big chance yesterday and blew it. Big time. Fair play to them for getting back in at the end though.

Can't wait for Sunday now.

Agreed.

Dublin have been going from strength to strength and with the panel we have it's far hard to imagine any team beating us.

What other could boast that while the Brogans, Connolly et al dominate the pitch we have the likes of O'Gara, McMenamon, McCaffrey, Bastick etc waiting in the wings if subs are required.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,569 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Replay will be good for the confidence of whoever wins, can't buy game time of that intensity. Especially if Mayo come through in the end having come back from 5 behind with 14 men.

On the other hand , probably good that this week will have at least half the media attention on that replay, letting us focus on our game a bit easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,320 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Anyone know if the game is on Sky this weekend? I'll be away so unfortunately will be trying to find the nearest Irish pub. Would imagine there'll be a better chance of seeing it in Barcelona on Sky than on RTE.

Also, if anyone has any pointers on decent Irish pubs within walking distance of La Sagrada Familia will be much appreciated.

EDIT: I know I can Google it but I'm in work and anything alcohol related is blocked

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Collie D wrote: »
    Anyone know if the game is on Sky this weekend? I'll be away so unfortunately will be trying to find the nearest Irish pub. Would imagine there'll be a better chance of seeing it in Barcelona on Sky than on RTE.

Also, if anyone has any pointers on decent Irish pubs within walking distance of La Sagrada Familia will be much appreciated.

EDIT: I know I can Google it but I'm in work and anything alcohol related is blocked

Yeah, its on both RTE and Sky