Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Garda Trainees (Templemore)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

PCplod2014 wrote: »
    Can anyone that's in the college shed some light on what the food is like up there??. What options do you have?? Is is healthy food? Also what time do you eat at?? I would like to hope it's healthy bit have no clue whatsoever.

Thanks in advance

I hope you like spuds....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭PCplod2014

rocky911 wrote: »
    I hope you like spuds....

I do. Guess the options are limited so..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Lc201395

Whats the story with the accomodation there? Bit of a generic question I know but I honestly have no idea haha. Can you bring a telly/ps4 etc ?

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Turbo T

Lc201395 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the accomodation there? Bit of a generic question I know but I honestly have no idea haha. Can you bring a telly/ps4 etc ?

Of course you can bring them but you're not allowed. You'd be hiding them when there's room inspection. It's not worth the effort man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Lc201395

Turbo T wrote: »
    Of course you can bring them but you're not allowed. You'd be hiding them when there's room inspection. It's not worth the effort man

Oh really? Thats surprising enough, i'd imagine the majority of people do it and just throw them out to the car before inspections or whatever yeah?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭pah

Interesting. I had a fully fledged 17" desktop computer in my room 10 years ago. So you can have a ps4 in a prison cell but not in Templemore?
    Tell me is this first hand info or something you've heard?

Turbo T are you recently out of the college? Could you shed some light on what the food is like?? Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭Wannabegarda

We'll it won't be a 5 star hotel anyway...

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Turbo T

pah wrote: »
    Interesting. I had a fully fledged 17" desktop computer in my room 10 years ago. So you can have a ps4 in a prison cell but not in Templemore?
    Tell me is this first hand info or something you've heard?

I said you could have them if you wanted to but you're not supposed to.
    Bring what you want. You'll figure it out.

Food is ok down there some days. I found it grand but the lads still went down the town for grub when they didn't fancy tea.

Does anyone know if students in the college are in on bank holidays or are they off and allowed go up the Monday night / Tuesday morning.???

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Yep - off Bank Hols and can arrive up Tuesday morning if you want.

Great. Thanks for replying. If you have been in the college can you say what the range of food is like down there? Nobody seems to be able to give an answer. Cheers

Breakfast - Porridge (not great), boiled eggs, cereals, toast, tea/coffee.

Lunch/Dinner - Soup with a choice of two main courses and usually some kind of desert. Could be anything from meat/2 veg, curries, bolognese etc. Also gallons and gallons of lumpy mash day in, day out. I'll never eat mash again after 8 months of their stuff.

Tea - fairly poor offerings at tea time. Usally chips with nuggets or a small slice of pizza. Sometimes they take dinner leftovers and make these horrific burritos out of them.

At lunchtime and tea time the salad bar is open though if the cooked options don't suit. Need to get early though or the cold meats will be long gone.

Breakfast - Porridge (not great), boiled eggs, cereals, toast, tea/coffee.

Lunch/Dinner - Soup with a choice of two main courses and usually some kind of desert. Could be anything from meat/2 veg, curries, bolognese etc. Also gallons and gallons of lumpy mash day in, day out. I'll never eat mash again after 8 months of their stuff.

Tea - fairly poor offerings at tea time. Usally chips with nuggets or a small slice of pizza. Sometimes they take dinner leftovers and make these horrific burritos out of them.

At lunchtime and tea time the salad bar is open though if the cooked options don't suit. Need to get early though or the cold meats will be long gone.

Thanks for the detailed post. Sounds awful enough ha.

It's grand. You certainly won't go hungry and many of the main courses are very nice - roast chicken, homemade beef burgers etc.

But I'm fairly sure 8 months of that mash is in violation of the Geneva convention. Shudder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭azure

What is the policy in relation to social media? Are Gardai allowed to have a Facebook account?

There's nothing stopping you from having every social media account going. But you'll question soon enough whether or not it's wise to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

azure wrote: »
    What is the policy in relation to social media? Are Gardai allowed to have a Facebook account?

7/8 years ago we were told delete all of the social media accounts completely....

Don't be an ass on your own account, depending where you get stationed you may more than likely end up changing your name into Irish or an alternative spelling of your name..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Enda Kenny: Looking for 1800 new Gardaí, Gave no timescale on that. Well, That's if he's voted back in..;):rolleyes:

How big are they on irish up there is there a lot expected?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Does anybody think in light of recent events it is a good time to be looking to join AGS?

all this talk of accelerated recruitment surely a positive sign for us?

Maybe its only election talk ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Does anybody think in light of recent events it is a good time to be looking to join AGS?

all this talk of accelerated recruitment surely a positive sign for us?

Maybe its only election talk ;)

The normal Guard on the street will have nothing much to do with recent events. Specialist units and detective units will be dealing with most of that side of things. A student Guard defo won't be asked to chase any armed criminals that's for sure.

It'll all soon be forgotten about in the next few weeks with the election and that. Accelerated recruitment has been asked for since the embargo began. I think something will be done though as the current recruitment is taking too long to get guards on the streets...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Id like to ask how are the new recruits coping with the poor pay on offer by AGS?

Is it realistic to be able to survive on 23,171 Gross after graduation?

I presume after tax/other deductions you d be left with near 20,341 roughly according to pWc budget calculator, this would not include AGS specific deductions,

Any thoughts or past experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Mods:If in the wrong thread please move,

regards

Canyon86

Can i clarify something lads. and this is the anyone who is in the 152 or 153 intakes, was there 100 people taken into the college for the 152 class in august 2015.
    Following this for the 153 class in November, was there 150 people taken in 2 groups of 75? Thus bringing the current order of merit as it stands to 550 recruits? Not including the people who where put back?

If this is the case, i predict based on my own research that the last of band 1 and the start of band 2/3 will start in october 2016.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 pp1401

Can i clarify something lads. and this is the anyone who is in the 152 or 153 intakes, was there 100 people taken into the college for the 152 class in august 2015. Following this for the 153 class in November, was there 150 people taken in 2 groups of 75? Thus bringing the current order of merit as it stands to 550 recruits? Not including the people who where put back?

There was a 153 intake of 75 and 154 intake of another 75

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

How big are they on irish up there is there a lot expected?

You get thought enough to get you through the exams down there, dont worry about it!!

Lads were there not knowing a single word of Irish and they passed....

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Errigal14

Does anyone know if you can stay over at the weekends at templemore or do you have to go home every weekend. It's just that I live quite far away from the college and wouldn't fancy having to do the round trip every weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

Errigal14 wrote: »
    Does anyone know if you can stay over at the weekends at templemore or do you have to go home every weekend. It's just that I live quite far away from the college and wouldn't fancy having to do the round trip every weekend.

I'm talking about 11 years ago now but back then students from Donegal and surrounding areas were allowed stay during the weekends. It made sense given the length of the journey involved. Hopefully it's still the same. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭eraj

HI lads, very new to page, I did Stage 1 part B online test, Just wondering in next stage Is it same style test but under supervision or its theoretical, like I heard alot about writing Report and all.

Also PLease provide correct information how long is the training in college , its 3 months or 5 months and weekends off.

eraj wrote: »
    HI lads, very new to page, I did Stage 1 part B online test, Just wondering in next stage Is it same style test but under supervision or its theoretical, like I heard alot about writing Report and all.

It's a repeat of the online tests you did in supervised circumstances. The idea is that you get a similar score to your online tests already done and rule out someone else having done them for you.

Also involved is a report writing test that sees you view a quick video clip, taking down all the information and then writing a quick report about the occurence. Emphasis is more toward spelling/grammar/structure than accuracy of information collected.
    eraj wrote: »
    Also PLease provide correct information how long is the training in college , its 3 months or 5 months and weekends off.

It's 32 weeks with weekends and bank holidays off. Of those 32 weeks, two are allocated as 'reading weeks' which means a week off at home but you'll have work to do.

You'll have two weeks off between completing your training and your first day in your new station. Stations are confirmed about 3 to 5 weeks prior to completion of your training but that's not at all set in stone.