Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭shansey

Not sure what to do now.. do I buy a ****ty old bike for €150 and a lock for €60?

On bike to work I could prob get a new bike for near that money..

What a ****ty world we live in where I can't have a half decent bike locked outside work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

. Disgusted, 3 bikes in 18 months.

Maybe it's your own fault so???????

No victim blaming just pointing out the blatantly obvious to avoid it being 4 bikes in 20 months. ......

nc19 wrote: »
    Maybe it's your own fault so???????

No victim blaming just pointing out the blatantly obvious to avoid it being 4 bikes in 20 months. ......

How do you avoid? Kryptonite locks as good as they say?

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/ras-yellow-jerseys-bike-and-team-bikes-kit-stolen-overnight/

Don't know if its on here. But KTM out there somewhere that needs returning also.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,239 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/ras-yellow-jerseys-bike-and-team-bikes-kit-stolen-overnight/

Don't know if its on here. But KTM out there somewhere that needs returning also.

FFS.

:mad:

Where are all these bikes going? I checked a few second hand places and they had nothing but scrap!

I can't imagine they're selling them to fellow scumbags who want to shave a few seconds off their PB..

• Registered Users Posts: 33,724 ✭✭✭✭listermint

shansey wrote: »
    Where are all these bikes going? I checked a few second hand places and they had nothing but scrap!

I can't imagine they're selling them to fellow scumbags who want to shave a few seconds off their PB..

Containers. - UK market or continental.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭surball

surball wrote: »
    Two bikes stolen overnight from the glasnevin area. one a black specialized langster with 105 brake calipers and the other a ridgeback genesis satin grey colour. I have no picture of the ridgeback but its similar to this one, except mine had a rear rack. A picture of the Langster is attached.

s640ridgebackgenesisday01grey.jpg
    surball wrote: »
    Two bikes stolen overnight from the glasnevin area. one a black specialized langster with 105 brake calipers and the other a ridgeback genesis satin grey colour. I have no picture of the ridgeback but its similar to this one, except mine had a rear rack. A picture of the Langster is attached.

s640ridgebackgenesisday01grey.jpg

Found my langster battered and bruised bike locked up at Stephens green Luas stop a couple of weeks ago.

Gardai were kind enough to facilitate a bolt cutters to allow me steal it back.

Coincidentally I was due to give evidence against one the guys who stole it the day before. He didn't show up. Other guy got 6 weeks prison last year for it

• Registered Users Posts: 36 LugsB

Apparently, they get shipped out of the country in containers to be sold in various European countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

LugsB wrote: »
    Apparently, they get shipped out of the country in containers to be sold in various European countries.

Is there any real evidence of this or is it just speculation? I do note the word "apparently" at the start :)

• Registered Users Posts: 36 LugsB

Is there any real evidence of this or is it just speculation? I do note the word "apparently" at the start :)

Yes I said apparently because I'm not aware of anyone being convicted but I was informed of this practice being common by two separate bicycle shop owners. Come to think of it, I did read something about this recently too. I'll see if I can dig it up again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I think some of these thieves do it to be miserable pr!cks. Some of the markets etc, apparently have people flogging, specialist bikes for silly money. Anyone who knew anything about bikes would something was right, with an €800 bike selling for €50.
    Saw a brazen example last week at the parnell street entrance to the ilac centre in Dublin. They were three of them pulling on a bike clearly trying to snap the flimsy wire lock. Chance are they would do the exact same thing tomorrow or next week even after they are caught for the nth time.

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭darconio

Here
    darconio wrote: »
    I've recently seen a documentary about several shops that were victims of a break-in and had their bikes stolen. Apparently these bikes were recognized by the owners as advertised and sold for less than half price in a well known Ukranian website.

Have a look and judge for yourself

The local police couldn't care less, I wouldn't be surprised if our beloved bikes ended up in a similar way

• Registered Users Posts: 17,883 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

darconio wrote: »
    I've recently seen a documentary about several shops that were victims of a break-in and had their bikes stolen. Apparently these bikes were recognized by the owners as advertised and sold for less than half price in a well known Ukranian website.

Have a look and judge for yourself

The local police couldn't care less, I wouldn't be surprised if our beloved bikes ended up in a similar way
    Are those US dollars or does the Ukrainian currency use the $ symbol? If the latter all those bikes are going for less than 50 Euro!

https://www.google.ie/search?q=870+ukranian+dollars&gws_rd=cr&ei=QTFmVbL_FaKv7AaKyoCoCA#q=870+ukrainian+hryvnia+in+euro&spell=1

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭darconio

Thargor wrote: »
    Are those US dollars or does the Ukrainian currency use the $ symbol? If the latter all those bikes are going for less than 50 Euro!

https://www.google.ie/search?q=870+ukranian+dollars&gws_rd=cr&ei=QTFmVbL_FaKv7AaKyoCoCA#q=870+ukrainian+hryvnia+in+euro&spell=1

They are us dollars.
    Pick any of them and do a search in any website for their effective average price :eek:

I must admit that these are brand new high end bikes, not sure if the standard bike stolen from the street will end up in the same way

there needs to be a deterrent.

Those scumbags laugh at an adult caution and they never end up before the District Court.

Cops don't want the hassle a lot of the time.. easier to fob you off.

They balked when I told them I didn't know the precise hour my bike was stolen and as much as said we won't be watching through 6 hours of cctv.

there needs to be a deterrent.

Those scumbags laugh at an adult caution and they never end up before the District Court.

They balked when I told them I didn't know the precise hour my bike was stolen and as much as said we won't be watching through 6 hours of cctv.

I expect, they assumed cyclist sit watching their bikes all day waiting for them to be stolen; you so they know exactly when it happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I expect, they assumed cyclist sit watching their bikes all day waiting for them to be stolen; you so they know exactly when it happens.

Sure if the cyclist can't even be bothered to provide the perp's description, name, known aliases, blood/hair/urine sample, home address, the current location of the bike, half a dozen witnesses (including at least one member of the clergy of a major world religion), and a high definition video of the crime taking place, why even bother reporting it?

It's not like it's the same few lads doing most of the thieving over and over again, is it???

check_six wrote: »
    Sure if the cyclist can't even be bothered to provide the perp's description, name, known aliases, blood/hair/urine sample, home address, the current location of the bike, half a dozen witnesses (including at least one member of the clergy of a major world religion), and a high definition video of the crime taking place, why even bother reporting it?

It's not like it's the same few lads doing most of the thieving over and over again, is it???

Not exactly the same, but when I had a motorbike stolen, the only communication I ever heard from the garda was a phone call asking if I had found my bike. Why yes officer I have an army of bike hunter who I keep under my bed for just such an occasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 splasc

Hi guys. I know its a long shot but I went to the garden shed this morning to find it broken into and my fairly new Canyon Al 7.0 (grey with green text) stolen..

Its only a few months old so in great condition. If you happen t see it on the trails or elsewhere, please let me or Black Rock Garda station know (they have the serial #).

Gutted!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

splasc wrote: »
    Hi guys. I know its a long shot but I went to the garden shed this morning to find it broken into and my fairly new Canyon Al 7.0 (grey with green text) stolen..

Its only a few months old so in great condition. If you happen t see it on the trails or elsewhere, please let me or Black Rock Garda station know (they have the serial #).

Gutted!

Sorry to hear about your bike there's a thread for stolen bikes man.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056226324&page=174

Hope it turns up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 splasc

Thanks man.

Sorry didn't see the other thread - a bit frazzled! (Not helped by looking at pics from a great spin in the Wicklow mountains last weekend..)

I can't see how to move the thread, maybe a mod can on my behalf?

splasc wrote: »
    Thanks man.

Sorry didn't see the other thread - a bit frazzled! (Not helped by looking at pics from a great spin in the Wicklow mountains last weekend..)

I can't see how to move the thread, maybe a mod can on my behalf?

I'll report it and they'll move it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 30 speedbird184

Bike stolen in Killarney area between 2am and noon. Only had the bike for 3 days, so it's brand new.

Won't let me post a pic on here because I am too "new".

postimg dot org / image / q8smbtpph /

Bike stolen in Killarney area between 2am and noon. Only had the bike for 3 days, so it's brand new.

Won't let me post a pic on here because I am too "new".

postimg dot org / image / q8smbtpph /

challenge_emulator_rigid_26_inch_mountain_bike.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1 lizmadigan

Ladies & gents Merida T100 bikes stolen in Artane between Thursday 4th June and Sunday 7th June, locked outside our apartment, the ladies front wheel was left behind. If anyone sees them please reply here, we're devastated!!
    Gents bike is black with yellow accents and ladies is grey with mint green and white accents. Also has a silver rack on the bike. The k's in advance for any help!!
    Both bikes only 6 weeks old. Can't post photos - any help appreciated!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

lizmadigan wrote: »
    Ladies & gents Merida T100 bikes stolen in Artane between Thursday 4th June and Sunday 7th June, locked outside our apartment, the ladies front wheel was left behind. If anyone sees them please reply here, we're devastated!!
    Gents bike is black with yellow accents and ladies is grey with mint green and white accents. Also has a silver rack on the bike. The k's in advance for any help!!

If you can upload the photos to something like picasa and PM the links I will put them up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

lizmadigan wrote: »

Donogh%2527s%2Bbike.jpg

Liz%2527s%2Bbike.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

I found the Gardai in Pearse St incredibly helpful in getting my bike back to me. They were very proactive in putting it up on Flickr (how I spotted it) and they are now in the process of prosecuting the guy who stole my bike in January as I can confirm when/where it was stolen.

I was also in a bike shop in town with my freshly returned bike and the owner asked when/where did I get the bike etc - I told him what happened and he said a Guard was in with him showing photos of stolen bikes and he recognised my bike as a stolen one.

I've gained a serious respect for the effort put in by the guards as I've seen it first hand.

S.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Have a story to share about a guy I suspected was a bike thief but couldn't be sure.

Saw him on the corner of D'Olier st that faces the quays, nearest the pub that used to be called "Q-bar" etc

Basically I saw him once pulling at a bike for a weird length of time. I'm all too ready for the day I finally catch a thief in the act and ruin his miserable life, so it wasn't long before I was just standing feet away from him and staring, then filming with my phone out too. He notices and then turns to me with some story about how someone locked his bike to this railing. I replied with emphatic talk about what worthless pieces of dog**** bike thieves are. Anyway I hang around for another minute and lo and behold he has brought cutters of his own to free the bike and uses them. That might be just what you'd do after discovering your bike locked up on you though, if you can go get cutters that is. I commented on this to him and all.
    The story he told about his bike having been locked there by someone else had me just unsure enough to do something though.

Couple of months later I see him locking up a different bike frame (and possibly wheels along with it but both were detached, can't be sure they weren't just there already) and leaving it there. I recognised him from before so I followed him around town for a while to see did he immediately go up to another bike, which would confirm for sure he's up to something sketchy. I think he noticed me though and he just got on the luas toward the IFSC, which I guess I wasn't arsed with.

So this latest bike frame he locked to the railing was left there for like a week or more untouched then. I should mention actually, it was locked right next to this other wheel-less old bike frame that's been locked there months. Maybe he knew I was onto him and was afraid to come back? I dunno. None of those bikes I've seen him with even look worth more than 300€. After nearly a week I saw that the bike frame had gained wheels. It stayed there again for days. It's gone now. The old bike frame that's always been locked there is still locked there.

What is this lad's deal? I can't figure out how assembling parts of a bike locked to a railing in the city all the while could work for a thief. My experience with the cops so far has always been that they did nothing good but I guess I could just call them next time. I should still have a video and photo or two of this guy for them. Lazy jobsworth dickheads won't watch through the CCTV the street surely has, by the sounds of it.

The guy is somewhere between 40-60 I'd say. Extremely short in height, medium build. Dressed shabby. Carries a single-strap sorta messenger bag from what I could see. Don't suppose anyone ever noticed this weird lil guy at large?

I should have a pic or two of the bikes I saw him with, I'll root them out. One was Giant brand, think it was brown.