Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 3 seanies_show

ted1 wrote:
    It wasn't take from the oval was it?

No ted1. It was Simmonscourt Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭ted1

No ted1. It was Simmonscourt Road.

Thanks, thought it might have been our car park, nine the less I'll give our security a heads up

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Chris -cage

This happened way back in September of last year but it's worth a try...

My bike was stolen from the McDonald's in the north side of Cork on common's road. The bike is a Giant Yukon 2007 Mountain bike, XL frame, 22" I think.

I can't post an image of the bike because I'm a new user :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I can't post an image of the bike because I'm a new user :(

Ta dah:

E0vUl9C.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Chris -cage

As I was saying, it's a long shot, especially since it's been 8 months. The bike has a rusty fork as seen in the picture. It also had slick brown tires at the time and it's a rather large bike, quite tall so it stands out.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 conradk

Embassy House, Ballsbridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Dublin Cycling Campaign research on bike theft - the surprise for me was the high percentages of bikes stolen from home;

http://www.dublincycling.ie/cycling/bike-theft-survey-results

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

A Charcoal Focus Arriba 3.0 was stolen over the weekend from Lower Mount St.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Seems there's a spate of this in the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

The trend of theft from employers cages in underground car-parks is pretty worrying...... They are just using power tools!

• Registered Users Posts: 6 bgav

Giant defy 3 Bike stolen from Bedfield office underground car park today.. The bike cage had been cut into.. Again another spat if underground car park robberies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

bgav wrote: »

Giant defy 3 Bike stolen from Bedfield office underground car park today.. The bike cage had been cut into.. Again another spat if underground car park robberies..

Belfield Office Park I assume?
    I used to work there. You wouldn't believe the amount of bikes that have been stolen from there over the years. This thread alone, has several instances of it.
    What the security people are doing there is a mystery to me. This could be stopped, but the will clearly isn't there. Not in your location nor city wide.
    It's pathetic and depressing; it really is.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Allabaah

bgav wrote: »

Was that Belfield Office Park?

• Registered Users Posts: 6 bgav

Allabaah wrote: »
    Was that Belfield Office Park?

Yes it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Good to see the Gardai being proactive, at last.
    FATHER-of-one was caught trying to steal a bicycle that had been planted on a city street by gardai mounting a sting operation, a court heard.

http://http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/garda-sting-caught-wouldbe-bike-thief-31224642.html

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭granty1987

A friend had his bike stolen back in town back in January - was taped up a lot to hide its caliber / make it look like a banger.

Anyways he stumbled across it locked up on Grafton St - tape job still on it.

He called the guards and waited, they didn't show. The new "owner" did though and my mate told him that it was his bike, he has photos on his phone etc to prove it and that the guards were on their way.

He cycled home a happy chappy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

Slap on the wrist, back out stealing bikes a day later. Regardless, good to see them being proactive as you said

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭CyrilFiggis

If anyone sees this ancient red Raleigh three speed around they might PM me. The gears are fooked so whoever nicked it didn't cycle away on it and I full expect it to be dumped somewhere when they realise it's in need of some major repair.

http://imgur.com/Ehe7sCQ

Cheers

But it was a pointless excerise as the judge did nothing to discourage further thefts

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭granty1987

Was getting the mop chopped in Ranelagh on Sunday and was locking my bike up to a pole with another one there when two lads walked past and laughed to them selves saying that they were going to steal my bike! I told them to jog on and left it at that as I presumed they were joking in a d*ckish way - that and I have a solid lump of a lock. The other bike had a wire style lock about as thick as tooth floss.

Anyways, when I was finished my bike was still there but the other was gone, lock as well. It could have been just have been coincidence that the owner cycled off, but maybe they did actually steal the bike. Can't remember what it was, something blue and white.

If someone does own that bike and it was stolen (around 2.30) on Sunday, then let me know as I know what the lads look like and they went to the ATM just before so they would have them on camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

granty1987 wrote: »
    A friend had his bike stolen back in town back in January - was taped up a lot to hide its caliber / make it look like a banger.

Anyways he stumbled across it locked up on Grafton St - tape job still on it.

He called the guards and waited, they didn't show. The new "owner" did though and my mate told him that it was his bike, he has photos on his phone etc to prove it and that the guards were on their way.

He cycled home a happy chappy

I saw the Garda cutting a lock on a bike near Stillorgan Shopping Centre a couple of weeks ago, a young woman was waiting for them to cut it off, hard to tell if she'd just forgotten her key or had persuaded the Garda that it was her "stolen" bike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

So...I left my bike outside the coachman's inn since Thursday last.no, bother wasn't touched.
    Picked it up tonight, cycled down to the swiss cottage....and 20 mins later,gone.
    Lock snipped,bolt cropper left on the deck along with his ****ty piece of ****in crap dirtbox of a bike......
    Disgusted, 3 bikes in 18 months.

Free bolt crops and a crap bike is all I've got now.....

Anything similar happen?I know roughly were it is.but I can't go there like a bull.
    So ****ing frustrating.
    Arrrgh!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Swiss Cottage in Santry? Some people wouldn't leave a car there. Not being smart but maybe pick better spots to leave a bike?

What type of lock are you using?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭shansey

Had my bike robbed from the IFSC on Monday, wasn't a great bike but will run me €300 to get one of similar standard now. Lock cut. They did it in broad daylight in front of loads of people..

• Site Banned Posts: 20,686 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Swiss Cottage in Santry? Some people wouldn't leave a car there. Not being smart but maybe pick better spots to leave a bike?
    classic victim blaming.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

So...I left my bike outside the coachman's inn since Thursday last.no, bother wasn't touched.
    Merged with main thread
    shansey wrote: »
    Had my bike robbed from the IFSC on Monday, wasn't a great bike but will run me €300 to get one of similar standard now. Lock cut. They did it in broad daylight in front of loads of people..

Had mine destroyed there when they couldn't break the lock, the IFSC is notorious for this, which is surprising considering they have an additional security crowd on top of the gardai who seem to do regular enough spins around.

Have a walk around the houses behind the apartment blocks, around Sheriff St. Lower and Guild St. and the adjoining roads.You might get lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

classic victim blaming.

You read what you want into it but it's simple common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Courtesy of Waterford Whispers

acid_picdump_54.jpg

Not sure what to do now.. do I buy a ****ty old bike for €150 and a lock for €60?

On bike to work I could prob get a new bike for near that money..

What a ****ty world we live in where I can't have a half decent bike locked outside work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

. Disgusted, 3 bikes in 18 months.

Maybe it's your own fault so???????

No victim blaming just pointing out the blatantly obvious to avoid it being 4 bikes in 20 months. ......

nc19 wrote: »
    Maybe it's your own fault so???????

No victim blaming just pointing out the blatantly obvious to avoid it being 4 bikes in 20 months. ......

How do you avoid? Kryptonite locks as good as they say?

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/ras-yellow-jerseys-bike-and-team-bikes-kit-stolen-overnight/

Don't know if its on here. But KTM out there somewhere that needs returning also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/ras-yellow-jerseys-bike-and-team-bikes-kit-stolen-overnight/

Don't know if its on here. But KTM out there somewhere that needs returning also.

FFS.

:mad:

Where are all these bikes going? I checked a few second hand places and they had nothing but scrap!

I can't imagine they're selling them to fellow scumbags who want to shave a few seconds off their PB..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,104 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Where are all these bikes going? I checked a few second hand places and they had nothing but scrap!

I can't imagine they're selling them to fellow scumbags who want to shave a few seconds off their PB..

Containers. - UK market or continental.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭surball

surball wrote: »
    Two bikes stolen overnight from the glasnevin area. one a black specialized langster with 105 brake calipers and the other a ridgeback genesis satin grey colour. I have no picture of the ridgeback but its similar to this one, except mine had a rear rack. A picture of the Langster is attached.

s640ridgebackgenesisday01grey.jpg
    surball wrote: »
    Two bikes stolen overnight from the glasnevin area. one a black specialized langster with 105 brake calipers and the other a ridgeback genesis satin grey colour. I have no picture of the ridgeback but its similar to this one, except mine had a rear rack. A picture of the Langster is attached.

s640ridgebackgenesisday01grey.jpg

Found my langster battered and bruised bike locked up at Stephens green Luas stop a couple of weeks ago.

Gardai were kind enough to facilitate a bolt cutters to allow me steal it back.

Coincidentally I was due to give evidence against one the guys who stole it the day before. He didn't show up. Other guy got 6 weeks prison last year for it

• Registered Users Posts: 36 LugsB

Apparently, they get shipped out of the country in containers to be sold in various European countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

LugsB wrote: »
    Apparently, they get shipped out of the country in containers to be sold in various European countries.

Is there any real evidence of this or is it just speculation? I do note the word "apparently" at the start :)

• Registered Users Posts: 36 LugsB

Is there any real evidence of this or is it just speculation? I do note the word "apparently" at the start :)

Yes I said apparently because I'm not aware of anyone being convicted but I was informed of this practice being common by two separate bicycle shop owners. Come to think of it, I did read something about this recently too. I'll see if I can dig it up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I think some of these thieves do it to be miserable pr!cks. Some of the markets etc, apparently have people flogging, specialist bikes for silly money. Anyone who knew anything about bikes would something was right, with an €800 bike selling for €50.
    Saw a brazen example last week at the parnell street entrance to the ilac centre in Dublin. They were three of them pulling on a bike clearly trying to snap the flimsy wire lock. Chance are they would do the exact same thing tomorrow or next week even after they are caught for the nth time.

• Registered Users Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

Here
    darconio wrote: »
    I've recently seen a documentary about several shops that were victims of a break-in and had their bikes stolen. Apparently these bikes were recognized by the owners as advertised and sold for less than half price in a well known Ukranian website.

Have a look and judge for yourself

The local police couldn't care less, I wouldn't be surprised if our beloved bikes ended up in a similar way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

darconio wrote: »
    I've recently seen a documentary about several shops that were victims of a break-in and had their bikes stolen. Apparently these bikes were recognized by the owners as advertised and sold for less than half price in a well known Ukranian website.

Have a look and judge for yourself

The local police couldn't care less, I wouldn't be surprised if our beloved bikes ended up in a similar way
    Are those US dollars or does the Ukrainian currency use the $ symbol? If the latter all those bikes are going for less than 50 Euro!

https://www.google.ie/search?q=870+ukranian+dollars&gws_rd=cr&ei=QTFmVbL_FaKv7AaKyoCoCA#q=870+ukrainian+hryvnia+in+euro&spell=1

• Registered Users Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

Thargor wrote: »
    Are those US dollars or does the Ukrainian currency use the $ symbol? If the latter all those bikes are going for less than 50 Euro!

https://www.google.ie/search?q=870+ukranian+dollars&gws_rd=cr&ei=QTFmVbL_FaKv7AaKyoCoCA#q=870+ukrainian+hryvnia+in+euro&spell=1

They are us dollars.
    Pick any of them and do a search in any website for their effective average price :eek:

I must admit that these are brand new high end bikes, not sure if the standard bike stolen from the street will end up in the same way

there needs to be a deterrent.

Those scumbags laugh at an adult caution and they never end up before the District Court.

Cops don't want the hassle a lot of the time.. easier to fob you off.

They balked when I told them I didn't know the precise hour my bike was stolen and as much as said we won't be watching through 6 hours of cctv.

there needs to be a deterrent.

Those scumbags laugh at an adult caution and they never end up before the District Court.

Cops don't want the hassle a lot of the time.. easier to fob you off.

They balked when I told them I didn't know the precise hour my bike was stolen and as much as said we won't be watching through 6 hours of cctv.

I expect, they assumed cyclist sit watching their bikes all day waiting for them to be stolen; you so they know exactly when it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I expect, they assumed cyclist sit watching their bikes all day waiting for them to be stolen; you so they know exactly when it happens.

Sure if the cyclist can't even be bothered to provide the perp's description, name, known aliases, blood/hair/urine sample, home address, the current location of the bike, half a dozen witnesses (including at least one member of the clergy of a major world religion), and a high definition video of the crime taking place, why even bother reporting it?

It's not like it's the same few lads doing most of the thieving over and over again, is it???

check_six wrote: »
    Sure if the cyclist can't even be bothered to provide the perp's description, name, known aliases, blood/hair/urine sample, home address, the current location of the bike, half a dozen witnesses (including at least one member of the clergy of a major world religion), and a high definition video of the crime taking place, why even bother reporting it?

It's not like it's the same few lads doing most of the thieving over and over again, is it???

Not exactly the same, but when I had a motorbike stolen, the only communication I ever heard from the garda was a phone call asking if I had found my bike. Why yes officer I have an army of bike hunter who I keep under my bed for just such an occasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 splasc

Hi guys. I know its a long shot but I went to the garden shed this morning to find it broken into and my fairly new Canyon Al 7.0 (grey with green text) stolen..

Its only a few months old so in great condition. If you happen t see it on the trails or elsewhere, please let me or Black Rock Garda station know (they have the serial #).

Gutted!