Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Irishism Does Your Head In?

• 04-07-2015 9:50am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭

OK, in the 21st century with political correctness and all it would seem wrong to have a pop at the Brits and the Americans without having a laugh at ourselves, so...

You can pick things from other counties or your own...

From my own county... referring to both girls and boys as lads. Lads are boys.

Those witty bards who when you say "well" to them reply "well water"... oh my sides are splitting.

The inability in this county to pronounce a t which comes anywhere other than the start of a word. Can I have a glass of wa-er, where is the toileh...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Can I get tree pints please and tirty Carrols?

House=Houze
    Us=Uz

Ya know, Like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Scoops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Confusing "been" and "being" and "taught" with "thought".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

'would of, could of' and the likes. I mean one thing saying it as its hard to tell the difference when speaking fast, but in writing? Seriously?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭blackcard

I should of instead of I should have

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

three - tree
    loike/like (or any variant thereof)
    BOI - argh, enough with "boi", boi.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭s8n

U ok Hun ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I'm with Boskowski and blackcard. The whole would/of thing really makes my blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

"It has to be done cos it has to be done".
    The valley of squinting windows.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

"Happy out" annoys the crap out of me. It makes no sense!

And as for the idiots that say "troath" and "modren" and "heighth" the less said the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

"'it'll do"

Usually uttered by the 5 gormless fat ****es leaning on their shovels watching one guy **** some tarmac at a pothole and calling it "good work".

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

"Gurl! Fab photo sexy woman so jealousy hun xxx"

"No Katie stop! Ur the princess I look like a dog :( xxx"

Deranged96 wrote: »
    "Gurl! Fab photo sexy woman so jealousy hun xxx"

"No Katie stop! Ur the princess I look like a dog :( xxx"

Awwww..Babez!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

The whole "Ah shure" thing.

"This is wrong"
    "Ah sure"

"This is broken"
    "Ah sure"

"This is the wrong order"
    "Ah sure"

Sure, sometimes I do be fierce hungry for a hang sangich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

"Ah here"

"Shure look it"

*House burns down*
    "Ah shure it'll be grand"

Three immediate bugbears that come to mind :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Moghead

On the beer.

It'll be grand.

Crips.

Pacific instead of specific.

putting an s after you everytime you use the word.

Overuse of literally.

jaymcg91 wrote: »
    "Sure look it"

That one annoys me too.

Moghead wrote: »
    That one annoys me too.

argh ah sure, look it. You'll have that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

"Highly"

Why the hell is this used so much?

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Grammar nazi's are in every county. Pretentious w**kbags that have to abide by what the old English gentry pushed on our country hundreds of years ago and want to correct others on how they talk or write to make themselves feel relevant.
    Its buying into the old prejudice that still exists since they invaded and raped our beautiful country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Is it yourself?

No, it's my fooking doppelganger you ludraman :rolleyes:

idnkph wrote: »
    Grammar nazi's are in every county. Pretentious w**kbags that have to abide by what the old English gentry pushed on our country hundreds of years ago and want to correct others on how they talk or write to make themselves feel relevant.
    Its buying into the old prejudice that still exists since they invaded and raped our beautiful country.

It'll be grand, we're not pacifically talking about yous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

"look-it"

The rhyming slang used by some people in Dublin. Brown Bread, Cream Cracker.

Don't like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

'Well lad?'
    Jesus, I hate that phrase!!
    It only seems to have crept in over the last few years.

'Hon {generic sports team}'
    A phrase that didn't exist 5 years ago and now everyone uses it.

'Well lad?'
    Jesus, I hate that phrase!!
    It only seems to have crept in over the last few years.

'Hon {generic sports team}'
    A phrase that didn't exist 5 years ago and now everyone uses it.

Hon is really annoying alright.

Hon team!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,631 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

People from north of Dublin saying they're going "up" to Dublin.
    They're going "down" to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Rabo Karabekian

Boskowski wrote: »
    'would of, could of' and the likes. I mean one thing saying it as its hard to tell the difference when speaking fast, but in writing? Seriously?

That's not unique to Ireland, though. It used to annoy me, but there are plenty of (non-Irish) writers (Cormac McCarthy & Margaret Atwood) that use it to convey the natural way in speech of contracting 'would' and 'have' (instead of using would've, for example).

Lots of things in this thread that are not unique to Ireland.