Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is Emigrating the Only way to Find Work and have a Better life These days?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Some people have to go....but not all. A large percentage are mercenary and selfish and ultimately (whatever way YOU want to look at that) it is a form of treason imo.
    Tatty parcels of secondhand clothes and a few gubby dollars is not gonna solve our longterm problems, it is only going to change when enough people want it to change. Slamming the door in a huff is no answer, which is what a lot of the posters on this thread are doing.

Treason? Are you serious? Leaving your family to try and make a living somewhere else is now comparable to attempting to overthrow the government by violent means or sell Donegal to the UK? Surely treason is only treason if your intent is to destabilise your country; what if you're leaving to further your career? That's not treason - it's ambition. And those "few gubby dollars" don't solve the long-term problems, but they alleviate them, unlike simply staying at home, earning nothing and claiming the dole.

What if you're well-trained in a particular specialised field that offers no jobs in Ireland? Would you prefer that a nuclear physicist go to work in McDonalds for the rest of his life rather than spend thirty years at CERN and then retire to Ireland with a pile of money to be spent in the Irish economy? Should, say, John O'Shea be ordered to either give up his Irish passport or come home and play for Bohs? Your point of view makes no sense - you seem to prefer the idea of more people claiming the dole, less money being sent home and a less happy population, all for the sake of some warped idea of Irishness that you and you alone seem to subscribe to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Treason? Are you serious? Leaving your family to try and make a living somewhere else is now comparable to attempting to overthrow the government by violent means or sell Donegal to the UK? Surely treason is only treason if your intent is to destabilise your country; what if you're leaving to further your career? That's not treason - it's ambition. And those "few gubby dollars" don't solve the long-term problems, but they alleviate them, unlike simply staying at home, earning nothing and claiming the dole.

What if you're well-trained in a particular specialised field that offers no jobs in Ireland? Would you prefer that a nuclear physicist go to work in McDonalds for the rest of his life rather than spend thirty years at CERN and then retire to Ireland with a pile of money to be spent in the Irish economy? Should, say, John O'Shea be ordered to either give up his Irish passport or come home and play for Bohs? Your point of view makes no sense - you seem to prefer the idea of more people claiming the dole, less money being sent home and a less happy population, all for the sake of some warped idea of Irishness that you and you alone seem to subscribe to.

Do try and read what I am actually saying and stop interpreting to suit your own argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Certainly not-- Yes the economy is not conducive to providing everyone with jobs and the rich soil of the celtic tiger is not longer here.

However, Ireland still has many opportunities (Check any recruitment site, agency etc), jobs are still there but competition for same is intense.

Some will leave as their qualifications are best suited abroad or to start afresh and be the better for it no doubt...others will stay and build a career.

Swings and roundabouts sums it up in my opinion.

We will come out of this but it will be a long road and will not be easy!

This country has and will continue to breed enterprising, intelligent, entrepreneurial and talented individuals.

We are punching above our weight in terms of our size, scale and competitive advantage. Amid the turmoil there is light however fleeting it may appea
    r.

I'm Brian Lenihan and I approve this party political broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Lets be honest here, who in their right mind wants to stay and work and fork out in taxes and cut backs for the next 10-15 years if they don't have to? Life is ****ing short enough, why spend a good chunk of it working for **** for other people's **** ups???

I've tried to figure out what your argument is, but I honestly can't see one beyond what I've presented it as. I don't see how emigration is even vaguely comparable to treason, I don't see how it damages Irish society, I don't understand your hatred for people who've emigrated, I don't understand how you can profess to understand the motivations of the majority of people who do emigrate.

The one actual idea you've put forward - that when people leave, change is less likely - isn't borne out by the rotating governments of the 1980s or FF's run since 1997. It also fails to take into account the possibility that returning emigrants change their original home when they come back by bringing a different perspective.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,334 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

The grass is not greener across the pond.
    And yet the US is one of the most financially successful countries in the world and their recession ended a good while ago.
    The USA is still in the greatest recession since the Great Depression.

"The national unemployment rate in August was 9.5 percent, not seasonally adjusted, compared with 9.6 percent a year earlier."

And these government figures are understated, because when you exhaust your unemployment benefits, you statistically disappear off the roles of unemployed. During non-recessionary times, America normally averages just over 5 percent reported unemployment.

Source: http://www.bls.gov/news.release/metro.nr0.htm

"When will the recession end? recovery start? Part 89 US CEO's predict flat or lackluster growth in next 6 months

The Business Roundtable Index for Q2 2010 was just released. Even though the index increased marginally by 5%, if the look deeper into the Q by Q comparisons, they point to a sluggish, lackluster and practically no growth economy for the next 6 months and it doesn't include the possible negative consequences of the Gulf of Mexico Oil spill."

Source: http://smarteconomy.typepad.com/smart_economy/2010/06/when-will-the-recession-end-recovery-start-part-89-us-ceos-predict-flat-or-lackluster-growth-in-next-5.html

Millions of Americans are expected to lose their homes in record numbers during 2010:

"Their vision of foreclosures in 2010? As many as four million homes will receive a foreclosure notice next year, which would make it the peak of this foreclosure cycle."

Source: http://moneywatch.bnet.com/saving-money/blog/home-equity/4-million-foreclosures-in-2010-its-a-real-possibility/1390/

The one actual idea you've put forward - that when people leave, change is less likely - isn't borne out by the rotating governments of the 1980s or FF's run since 1997. It also fails to take into account the possibility that returning emigrants change their original home when they come back by bringing a different perspective.

Yes it is. If you see emigration as ultimately selfish, and it is, in terms of those who return in better times (imo 'The Rats') They aren't going to rock any boats are they, they are after all, back to capitilise. That is why nothing changed after the eighties, that is why we will never learn.

And no I don't hate those that emigate, I feel sorry for them, because they will always be the nomadic homeless in search of something that will never be found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

in reply to OP

seems to be the case for the people I meet throughout the day
    at the deli counter
    in the video shop
    at the coffee counter
    collecting my bin
    babysitting my handicapped neighbouring child
    etc
    etc
    etc
    etc
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Rats will always abandon a sinking ship. What is annoying is that they return when the ship is refloated. A huge percentage of 80's emigrants returned here to take advantage of the Celtic Tiger and imho (based on local observation) that these returnees where largely responsible for driving the property boom, with ridiculous lifestyles and no responsibility.( I'd love if there was a way to come up with figures to support that) If the dis-affected would for once STAY then maybe we could change the way we are governed once and for all.

You call me a Rat. I call you a troll. Can this thread be locked before this tit spews out any more drivel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Noffles wrote: »
    Lets be honest here, who in their right mind wants to stay and work and fork out in taxes and cut backs for the next 10-15 years if they don't have to? Life is ****ing short enough, why spend a good chunk of it working for **** for other people's **** ups???
    Personally I wouldnt mind forking out tax if I had a job that im qualified for. I really dont mind doing my bit. The problem is that there are no jobs in my field in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Geansai Rua

Yes it is. If you see emigration as ultimately selfish, and it is, in terms of those who return in better times (imo 'The Rats') They aren't going to rock any boats are they, they are after all, back to capitilise. That is why nothing changed after the eighties, that is why we will never learn.

And no I don't hate those that emigate, I feel sorry for them, because they will always be the nomadic homeless in search of something that will never be found.
    So everyone should just sit here doing nothing, claiming the dole..?
    Hey but at least we are not nomads?:confused:

So according to you, when they leave, there's no impetus for change because they're not here. When they come back, there's no impetus for change because they are here. Exactly what change were you hoping for, and how do you think it's going to come about?

Also: denial of hatred is a bit late when you've repeatedly characterised people as "rats".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

So everyone should just sit here doing nothing, claiming the dole..?
    Hey but at least we are not nomads?:confused:

To be fair, that implies that anyone not emigrating is destined to end up relying on the dole, and that simply isn't true. I don't know the stats, but it's safe to say that a hefty number of people have or will emigrate despite already having a job. I know a few people who declined jobs here and decided to settle abroad instead recently. There's nothing wrong with that at all. One thing I'd have a problem with is those same people availing of free education here with no intent of staying after graduating, whether jobs are available or not. It's a double edged sword.. not only are we losing those highly qualified people, but also the college placements for people who would be interested in working here after graduation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

It could be worse, at least the Irish people are welcome to emigrate to a lot of countries.

So according to you, when they leave, there's no impetus for change because they're not here. When they come back, there's no impetus for change because they are here. /QUOTE]

There you have it. Why would they want it to change? They have the best of both worlds, leave and exploit another country and then return and exploit their own country, no reponsibilities either way.
    It happened before in the 80's, the emigration, then the return during the Tiger, that you can't deny or can you?.....you can be dammed sure they won't be jumping ship during the good times crying 'this boom is wrong', why is that do you think?:rolleyes:

If they make no difference by leaving or by returning, why on earth would they make a difference by staying??

Had you read my post way back on page 2 you might know my answer to that.

This country could be changed if all those who say F*** It and Leave would get involved in a useful way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Sadly I'm pretty sure I can't infract for someone disagreeing although i should really check the mod hand book first :P

I have seen people infracted for less...

I would like to see polling stations put in these countries for the Irish people that emigrated there. Remember the polish people got to vote from here to decide who governs Poland? If this was an option it might be a sure way to get FF out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Ye all come back, ye hear now:D

So it's nothing to do with them leaving or coming back and everything to do with them not getting involved?

If you're angry about people not getting involved, then get angry about that. Getting angry about people who left to find jobs and then came back when it became an option is weirdly irrelevant. Staying wouldn't have turned them into activists, and what about all the people still here who aren't involved? And what do you mean by involvement? What is it that people who stayed do and people who've come back don't do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

So it's nothing to do with them leaving or coming back and everything to do with them not getting involved?

If you're angry about people not getting involved, then get angry about that. Getting angry about people who left to find jobs and then came back when it became an option is weirdly irrelevant. Staying wouldn't have turned them into activists, and what about all the people still here who aren't involved? And what do you mean by involvement? What is it that people who stayed do and people who've come back don't do?

I left. After leaving, I joined a political party. When a general election is called, Ill be booking my flights and asking for time off for election day. I don't know what else I can do, from where I now live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,107 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There you have it. Why would they want it to change? They have the best of both worlds, leave and exploit another country and then return and exploit their own country, no reponsibilities either way.
    It happened before in the 80's, the emigration, then the return during the Tiger, that you can't deny or can you?.....you can be dammed sure they won't be jumping ship during the good times crying 'this boom is wrong', why is that do you think?:rolleyes:

That's complete rubbish.

Many emigrants send money back to their families over the years, so are supporting two economies.

The ones who do return to live here, usually come back with a cash surplus, which is also injected into the Irish economy.

The ones who come back home to retire, as well as the obligatory cash surplus, are also in receipt of foreign pensions, so pump even more money into the Irish economy.

Then there are ones who only come back for holidays, and they get fleeced as tourists.

Don't blame them for leaving the country, blame successive governments, since 1922, for doing feck all to stop them leaving in the first place. Of all the emigrants that I've spoken with on this, only a handful actually wanted to leave Ireland, but the rest had no choice, and had to go for the sake of their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Aprilmay

We are leaving early next year - We got a greencard and myself and the husband and two kids are going we both have jobs here but we are going and we are doing it for the kids. We applied two years ago for the green card and are now happy we did.I really feel sorry for the younger generation, I left school in the 80s and people we leaving the country then -it seems to be a cycle thats repeating itself and we are not waiting for our children to be educated so they can leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

What about the 300,000 jobs FF are creating:pac:

Predator_ wrote: »

In the small print it says they're all overseas.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    That's complete rubbish.

Many emigrants send money back to their families over the years, so are supporting two economies.

The ones who do return to live here, usually come back with a cash surplus, which is also injected into the Irish economy.

The ones who come back home to retire, as well as the obligatory cash surplus, are also in receipt of foreign pensions, so pump even more money into the Irish economy.

Then there are ones who only come back for holidays, and they get fleeced as tourists.

Don't blame them for leaving the country, blame successive governments, since 1922, for doing feck all to stop them leaving in the first place. Of all the emigrants that I've spoken with on this, only a handful actually wanted to leave Ireland, but the rest had no choice, and had to go for the sake of their families.

Spare me the 'woe is me' ballad fodder.
    The people I am talking about are the very people who partook at the table of the Celtic Tiger, who were educated here, grew up in the most affluent times this country has ever seen and are now the ones skipping off (and being encouraged to skip off} when the going gets tough.
    These aren't the sons and daughters of sack clothed subsistence farmers. So what, if you don't get to use your degree for a few years? Most of them are happy and have been happy with menial jobs when they go away, anyway. But no, that's somehow beneath them when it comes to the society they are indebted to.
    But because they are young, unemployed, they somehow are absolved of 'responsibility', gimme a break.
    There is a guy here, regales anybody idiotic enough to listen to him about how he lived on the 'system' in England for yrs as if it was his bit for Irish Freedom and then he was the very guy trying to get a petition signed to stop a housing development because 'You would have no idea who might move in beside you' (and we all know what that nugget of Facisim means!) He is indicitave of the pariah culture this country seems to foster and facilitate.There has to be a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

The people I am talking about are the very people who partook at the table of the Celtic Tiger, who were educated here, grew up in the most affluent times this country has ever seen and are now the ones skipping off (and being encouraged to skip off} when the going gets tough.
    These aren't the sons and daughters of sack clothed subsistence farmers. So what, if you don't get to use your degree for a few years? Most of them are happy and have been happy with menial jobs when they go away, anyway. But no, that's somehow beneath them when it comes to the society they are indebted to.
    But because they are young, unemployed, they somehow are absolved of 'responsibility', gimme a break.

There is a guy here, regales anybody idiotic enough to listen to him about how he lived on the 'system' in England for yrs as if it was his bit for Irish Freedom and then he was the very guy trying to get a petition signed to stop a housing development because 'You would have no idea who might move in beside you' (and we all know what that nugget of Facisim means!) He is indicitave of the pariah culture this country seems to foster and facilitate.There has to be a change.
    what the **** are you talking about?

What really gets your goat is that these people probably managed to buy themselves big houses, and you're still living under the bridge.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    What really gets your goat is that these people probably managed to buy themselves big houses,

Don't you mean nearly? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Predator_ wrote: »

How many Quangoes <spelling?> can they make up?

Don't you mean nearly? :D

I said probably, if they're like me and bought their house outright, with a big wad of imported cash.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

kilburn wrote: »
    I think most of the jobs being advertised by recruitment agencies are phantom jobs. I am going to give it until the new year, no job by then adios.

this isn't true. the problem is that companies are being extremely fussy when telling agencies what candidates to find for them. the recruitment agencies aren't being picky, they're just doing what they're told by the people who pay them. there are a large number of unscrupulous cnuts in that industry though, but to be honest i've dealt a fair bit with them and think they get unfair stick - i couldn't look at cvs all day from unrealistic saps talking about their hugely important degree in film and their "transferable skills" that make them suitable for a scientific consultancy job.

the problem with emigration is that it's only the talented ones who leave. We should set up a labour camp in Taiwan for all the heroin addicts, and everyone fairly fired from a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

A large percentage are mercenary and selfish and ultimately (whatever way YOU want to look at that) it is a form of treason imo.
    There's only one shower who can be described in these terms and it's not the emigrants.

If your sole purpose of posting in this thread isn't to be an antagonistic troll, then I must say that your attitude stinks and is typical of the 'little Irelander' syndrome.

The young people who are being forced to emigrate weren't responsible for the current ****storm and are free to find a better life for themselves and their families, if that's the case.

Would you describe the young Eastern Europeans who came here a few years ago to work as 'rats fleeing the sinking ship' aswell??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

when it comes to the society they are indebted to.
    Fvck me, does Kim Jung-Il have an Irish cousin??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

me and my girlfriend are trying to move to the UK. we are sick of this corrupt overpriced craphole of a country. she is out of work 2 years and its not because she wont apply for the **** jobs. the likes of pennys and dunnes keep turning her away cos they wont hire anyone with management experience. **** this **** we are off.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

So what, if you don't get to use your degree for a few years? Most of them are happy and have been happy with menial jobs when they go away, anyway. But no, that's somehow beneath them when it comes to the society they are indebted to.

Nobody is indebted to a society that has screwed them over time and again, that has failed them.

The young and unemployed are hardly "skipping" out of this country! If anything, they are being forced out for lack of any hope here. People who have studied or trained for years to make a decent career for themselves should not be bullied by people like you who believe that they should remain in this country miserable with no prospects. You would have people who are able-bodied and willing to work stay here in menial positions or drawing the dole rather than out in the world making a life for themselves?! Life is too damn short to ascribe to such foolish notions of patriotism like that :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

So, all you who find my point of view unpalatable....you tell me how it is going to change then?
    Everytime we face a crisis those of us who stay look around and there is nobody there to effect change. Why? Because they have all left. And do they come back when times improve? Too right they do, in their droves!
    So spare me insults for seeing them as pariahs....because I see a fair percentage upping sticks again.
    But will they vote? Will they get involved? Will they f***. I am begining to despair that this society will never change, we find it very easy to turn a blind eye and blame somebody else or entrust somebody else to sort it out. The Church, the Government etc etc etc.
    What I am talking about is a sense pf nationhood, a sense of belonging, responsibility and belief in the future.

Your talk of "nationhood" and patriotism is all very grand, but at the end of the day it's each to their own. Sometimes you just have to put yourself and your loved one's need first, and fcuk everyone else, and this grander sense of belonging to a nation. We're in the 21st century now, and people are free to make their lives where they see fit. Just because someone's born on this God forsaken isle, doesn't mean they're chained to it indefinitely.

Sure, it'd be great if all the intelligent people stayed and eventually got the country back on its feet but that's not realistic is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I'm emigrating, but then again I've always wanted to build planes for a living, so I'd've had to emigrate in boom or bust.

Aw yeah, look at yer man, turning his back on the country, he wouldn't stick around and set up a company here. We're an island and he reckons he has to move off to make planes like he couldn't do something here.

(Couldn't leave the OP go without some good old fashioned begrudgery, the likes of which can only be got here in the fair ol' emerald isle.)

On a serious note, best of luck, hope all goes well for ya.

Your talk of "nationhood" and patriotism is all very grand, but at the end of the day it's each to their own. Sometimes you just have to put yourself and your loved one's need first, and fcuk everyone else, and this grander sense of belonging to a nation.

And there you have it....another generation thinking they are unique. It's cyclical in this country and the reason for that is that the same thing happens everytime. Who loses ultimately?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I don't want to leave the country, but unfortunately after 5 years of working for excellent grades at university, and 7 years of reliable on-and-off part time work in several different industries (and in respected roles too, not "student jobs"), I am now back in the same supermarket job that I got when I was 17 and looking for work during my summer holidays. I have always worked for my education, never mooched off parents, and I saved my money when times were good so I still had enough to get by when work wasn't to be found.

I don't want to leave this country in the dumpster, but I'm not running a damn charity here. There are other countries that will pay for my skills and years upon years of hard work, and if I haven't been rewarded here within the next 12 or 18 months, I will be gone, and I won't be made to feel guilty for that.

So for me personally, yes, emigration currently seems to be the only way to get what (I feel) I deserve.

You patronising ass, when did I ever say I (or the generation to which I belong) was unique? It's human nature to look out for oneself and one's kin - that transcends time. Anyway, whatever happens in this country in the future, it's no skin off my nose if I'm living elsewhere, having a good life and being happy.

Why is it so damn important to you that everyone else throw away a chance at future happiness, just so they can stay and wade through the shít that other people set up for them?

I've said it before and I'll say it again - life's too short. I certainly won't waste mine here if I feel there's nothing for me. I don't see why you're begrudging other people their endeavors for happiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

RobitTV wrote: »
    Do you think Emigrating from Ireland is probaly the only way To find work? and also have a better quality of life?

About 100,000 people of working age are expected to have left Ireland by the end of this year

Theft has always worked for me.

You patronising ass, when did I ever say I (or the generation to which I belong) was unique?

It was a guess.
    Why is it so damn important to you that everyone else throw away a chance at future happiness, just so they can stay and wade through the shít that other people set up for them?

I used to think like that and said the same thing to my dad who stayed here during the 50's and then I seen the flood back into the country of the 80's emigrants and I figured....these people will never be happy.

I've said it before and I'll say it again - life's too short. I certainly won't waste mine here if I feel there's nothing for me. I don't see why you're begrudging other people their endeavors for happiness.

Well, if all the leaders, we agree where 'great' (and more importantly the ordinary people who suppoted them)and the people who effected change had attitudes like that then the world would be a very different place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

And there you have it....another generation thinking they are unique. It's cyclical in this country and the reason for that is that the same thing happens everytime. Who loses ultimately?

Hi Happyman42, do you have a job? If so please tell me what you do for a living and how long you've had that job for.

Sheeps wrote: »
    Hi Happyman42, do you have a job? If so please tell me what you do for a living and how long you've had that job for.

I have been self employed for 26 yrs. 1 person business, badly affected by the recession, in fact a type of business that gets hit first in a recession.
    I am not gloating in any way, I just think that we as a people have to decide are we always going to be migrants. I stayed in the 80's for that reason. This country has changed in my lifetime in ways that I never thought possible..I think I was part of that..but the baby is about to be thrown out with the bathwater .....AGAIN.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

Im going to be a qualified mechanical engineer this time next year, as my degree is recognised internationally I will be leaving here. Why? well firstly because I haven't a hope of getting work, then theres the fact that if I touch the dole im no longer attractive to anyone(employers) as im a "lazy bastard". Then theres the fact that due to the lads in charge here helping out themselves and their sponsors, beneficiaries etc. I will be paying for fitzys **** up for the most of my working life, thus making my quality of life less than it should be. Id rather pay property tax etc in the states as its all more up front and honest, the lads running this place are no better than the lads at the end of the bar talking crap.

Theres too many old skoolers without boards accounts who will still vote for them and they will probably get the vote for the next 20 years.

Why the hell should I spend my life paying over the odds for second class transport, medical system, roads, schools, broadband, etc etc etc funk that im going places, im not guna let this place hold me back.

**** the government, if they want the likes of me to stay, GIVE ME A REASON!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i think anyone who has no ties and little hope of getting what they would like here, which is the reality at this moment, should travel outside this country and get themselves a decent job, with a decent wage, as anyone on a half decent wage here are paying for the borrowers who broke the country and the high wages of our heads, and it is going to get worse, i would to leave, but my spouse will not, so go on, have a great life, here we have not bottomed out yet, god help us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I'm going to call you Happymeal42 from now on because thats how seriously I take your opinion.

So, because you stayed and suffered the ill effects of the recession in the 80s, you think people today should also suck it up and stay? "For the good of the country" blah blah blah.