Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

24 days since the first identified case in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Great to see people talk about antigen tests.

the rest of the EU had these conversations last Christmas, why are the Irish so thick that we couldn’t use testing last Christmas??

it’s a bit like how the rest of the world got condoms, but we couldn’t be trusted with them, and even when we got condoms we had to endure years of eduction on how they weren’t 100% effective.

grow up ireland, stop putting people on pedestals and make your own decisions based on science and facts not dogma or ideology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,455 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The people were way ahead of NPHET on antigens .. The tests were selling out in the summer in Lidl and Circle K

I know so many using antigens months before NPHET mentioned them

The numbers are meaningless now, even in the UK, with loads of testing capacity, they reckon the rest number is 4x the reported number (so half a million or so per day). Here the multiple is likely higher.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,709 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - @Phishnet Don't say you weren't warned. CT posts belong in the CT forum.

Take a holiday from the forum. You are also threadbanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Because our 'experts' were telling people not to use them and they don't work properly. They are also very expensive while our neighbours get them for free.

It's not that we're thick as you put it but when we are being told by those who are meant to be experts in their field plus quite expensive (€30 for a pack of 5), not everyone will buy in.

I like many others have gone against this advice and have routinely began using them for an extra layer of security.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been using antigen tests since they’ve been a available. They weren’t widely available last Xmas though anywhere.

Last year I got a private PCR so that I could safely spend Christmas with a vulnerable relative of mine who’d have been on her own otherwise. I’m about to do the same again this year, albeit with multiple antigen tests over last few days, double vaccine and boosters and I’ve been very careful about what I’ve been doing in terms of socialising, so we should be grand!

The key thing is to keep this away from the most vulnerable and the ability to test be strategic makes a huge difference to that.

I don’t particularly care if it’s a quiet Xmas. I’m not that bothered either way, but there’s absolutely no way I’m leaving her to have a miserable Xmas in her mid 80s. She’s afraid to travel, got very justifiable reasons but I’m going to make sure it’s fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

I brought a load of contraband in from Portugal at the start of the year. 5 for €10 there. €3 for one individual test.

it’s like years ago people bringing condoms on the boat from wales.

Yeah there was an element of that as Tony and the lads seemed to think we’d shove them into our ear holes or something…

I am seeing the same debate in the USA btw. One of my cousins asked if I could post them antigen tests as they’re about $35 for 2 and regularly out of stock.

The FDA seems to have gone into total paranoia about approving them, so very few are available and what is available is extremely expensive.

I’m not sure if they’ll be confiscated in the mail as they’re regulated medial devices etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭obi604

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If someone was tested today will they get the result back tomorrow or will it be St Stephens day does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

11182 cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

If you couldn’t get a hold of a pcr or antigen test, would you leave her on her own for Christmas?

The risk is she’s immune compromised and in her 80s so it would be a strong possibility of accidentally causing her death. So it would be an extremely hard call. We’d come up with something, even if it meant the rest of us having dinner in the yard through the window.

Putting her at risk of catching covid wouldn’t really be an option, but there were ways of doing things safely.

She’s getting very regular visits, but just with precautions - and she insists on them. She’s got no plans to make any early departures and is in otherwise good health, mobile, sharp as a tack & enjoying herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

89 in ICU, a nice drop from 98 yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,216 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Hopefully we'll get to hear someone tell the bould Phil what to do with his modelling soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Thank god for antigen tests. 2 families going to see our 90 year old grandmother at home. All antigen tested before going, member of other family tested positive and immediately gone for PCR. We’d have had a very different Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭brickster69

The old world is dying, and the new world struggles to be born: now is the time of monsters. — Antonio Gramsci

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Same here. The other half's son tested positive today on antigen so we have postponed celebrations.

We will do a drop to his door of food and gifts tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

How many in hospital? ICU encouraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,455 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

same here . Dinner will be plated and dropped to the door . Thank goodness for antigen because getting a PCR is nearly impossible

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

It’s fooking everywhere! All I’m hearing is people testing positive, hopefully this omicron is milder and we are done with this sh1te.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 14,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I bought two antigen kits from Tesco last week, but they were sold out yesterday. Will be using one before calling to my parents tomorrow. It's not perfect, but an additional layer of protection.

Tesco were selling them at €3 each if I remember correctly? @Father Hernandez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,709 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

My local Applegreen in D5 were selling 3 antigen tests for tenner.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

They have them in Dunnes for 2:90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Ll31

2.50 in Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Ll31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,991 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Is it possible for an child to get a digital covid certificate if they have tested positive on a PCR test?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

I'd imagine the goalposts will end up in Ireland.