Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Thanks for the reply.

Our hospitals are always overloaded though, what has been done to improve that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

SF killing themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Spoofers and **** charlatans, if NPHET is to remain then everyone attached now needs the boot - especially Tony. Enough is enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

That is absolutely a fair point and something I seriously hope many countries address after this pandemic. Unfortunately with manufacturing shortages etc, it is very difficult to, for example, double your hospital capacity overnight. It takes a while to build new hospitals and source the needed equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

We could be in for an extremely serious few weeks if the Gulf Stream does a wobble,or a Volcano in North Wales erupts...that's about the logic of this Fear peddling.

This viewpoint would really be best-served by making up a sandwich board,painting the front message "HERE COMES COVID" and the rear facing one "THERE GOES COVID" and cycling around one's parish ringing a bell. (Apologies to Oliver J Flanagan Supporters everywhere)

If Countries and their peoples are to ever regain the right to freely exist,which has so easily been taken from them under the guise of various pieces of "Emergency Legislation",then NOW is the time to push back against the lunatic fringe !

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Offies will have queues outside at 8.30 that'd be the envy of Coppers. They'll probably be closing at 8 in a week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭robfowler78

Anyone know What time is the usual media questioning of the 3 “leader” on at? It’s usually on RTE NEWS channel after the announcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Of course albeit to be honest I never have ,never will watch that Shyte 😁

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭noraos

That's his ego talking ...he's hardly gonna admit..he wanted 5pm and lost ...its like watching Mean Girls..rule our lives..

"To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all."-Oscar Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,894 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

It's official, the conspiracy theorists were right! I hate saying it but that's a fact... The Christmas of super spreading house parties is among us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭mightyreds

I spend all day and night in the same 4 walls mainly as there is very little open or to do and the WFH mandate so I like getting out and having somewhat of a social life. I don't like it being me and my wife forever in the house with nothing else to do cause its all cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭dragonkin

Yes this is what is so worrying about those who are talking about not getting their booster shot. Their immunity is declining and they are putting themselves and others at risk.

I think many are downplaying the potential severity of this next wave, it’s spreading rapidly. I don’t think we did enough tonight but I hope I’m wrong,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Yep, fair point. We're nearly 2 years into this though, has there been ANYTHING to increase capacity for future pandemics or simply so current staff are not being overloaded. This is not at you btw, I keep hearing it takes time, etc to do it. But have we actually done anything to future proof we can be in a better shape when a pandemic inevitably happens again?

When it comes to third world countries and getting jabs in arms, there doesn't appear to be a concerted world effort in place to get out of this and I totally get variants will happen. Until then, we have no answers really to getting out of this.

That's why I'm asking, what's the point of it all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

House parties galore over the next month.. If they ae closing hospitality at 8pm to cut down on people meeting up and stopping the spread of the virus, then they have made a huge mistake, this will increase case numbers and give them a reason for a full lockdown come the end of January..

Would like to get the opinion of fully vaccinated people about the latest news.

Bet you thought the goalposts wouldn't be moved again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭mightyreds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭celt262

Fair play to the lads for standing up to Tony and getting us 3 hours extra in the pub.

The 2 two young girls in the background while a woman being interviewed in Templebar were gas. Glad to see young people haven't lost their sense of fun 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭dragonkin

46% of ICU is unvaccinated with a new strain arriving…. I’d be very careful if I was unvaccinated….

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I got the booster yesterday and my OH last week

Feeling like there was no point tbh

I believe the vaccines saved lives, though life itself isn’t looking that palatable atm.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Same here both when then walk the dog.

It's nice to get out of the house and see people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Fully vaccinated x3. Love a social pint, have been doing lots of 14 hour days for the last 3 months with a break at Christmas a welcome prospect.

Agree with tonight's decision however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,652 ✭✭✭✭km79

None of it makes any sense whatsoever

This is going to seriously harm the booster campaign as well

People have been given no hope. Sure it doesn’t work anyways .......I got mine Tuesday and have felt like **** for 3 days now

If I could go back in time I wouldn’t bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,215 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Well I won't be getting a booster now anyway. I'm done with it all.

O very very cosy, this must be the first time I've ever seen CMO at one of these press conferences, and they seriously want us to believe this wasn't planned 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Lads sorry, missed this. Are residents impacted in hotels?

The Gag didn't last to long did it Leo 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

There'll be No Bodies piling high in January.

No more than usual,as humans die naturally from a variety of ailments,INCLUDING a wide variety of Virus types.

The Taoiseach,had he wanted to live up to that "Chief" title could have thanked NPHET for it's opinions and left things exactly as they are,remembering that the current Restriction Based situation is FAR from normal anyway.

Humanity,and it's Humans are far more robust than we are now told to believe.

Take back your self-belief,your self-confidence and the ability to freely make decisions based upon YOUR situation.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)