Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,894 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Obviously it needs to be better than the Italian and British ones as well then doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Nyero

Firstly they don't have to go to the shop, click and collect, home delivery etc.

Masks will be required in flower shops, birthday card shops etc., non essential retail.

I never said studies don't hold up.

But we are 90% vaccinated now.

If people are concerned about covid after Oct 22nd get home delivery, nobody has to go to the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

To be fair, the lockdowns themselves were not useful in their entirety.

What percentage of covid infections needed hospitalisation?

From a public health perspective, isolating at home creates additional problems.

I wouldn't fully blame it on the HSE, as shite as they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

So, no benefits to wearing face masks in essential retail outlets, public transport or in any health care setting. Have you considered sending your research findings to the Irish Medical Council ?

You would become famous overnight with your research showing that worldwide medical authorities for over 100 years have been wrong on the need for them in many situations. Not the least being for surgeons and theater staff. I imagine they would be thrilled as they also find them as uncomfortable and meaningless as you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,040 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Click and collect or home delivery for a bottle of water like your previous example? Are you mad?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Levellers, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn, Fat Dog

To be honest I find it quite amusing how you get so uptight about defending mask wearing hour after hour, year after year.

So there are benefits to wearing a mask in a shop, I agree that is great, fantastic even, but you go home from the shop to a house where the younger ones will have been in school for hours all day with no masks, the older ones will be home from college up the country after being away all week in nightclubs and raves, mixing with people all over the country.

Daddy works in the airport where a mask is not mandatory, dealing with people all over the world who will not be required to wear masks either.

Like the little bit of wearing a mask in a shop is really going to matter.

You honestly believe this little bit of mask wearing is going to make the slightest bit of difference, really?

We had 18,791 cases reported and 305 cases admired to hospital in the 2 weeks to yesterday so that would be about 1.6% at the moment... Locking down is a very blunt instrument to use but it does help when there are no vaccines as a similar figure in January was closer to 3%

Why would somebody do home delivery on a single bottle of water? Why you even think that?

How is the parallel universe where anything that is not 100% effective is 100% useless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,081 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Denmark seem to be doing fine without them in retail or transport settings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Healio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Pretty big difference between mask wearing in a health setting by medical professionals compared to someone pulling a cloth mask out of there pocket that they haven't washed in a month. 

Western medicine hasn't been recommending mask wearing in the general community in the past 100 years, even during bad flu seasons. And as a matter of fact at the beginning of this pandemic they didn't seem overly keen on it either for a number of reasons.

It was you that compared going into a shop to buy a bottle of water with going to a gig *shrugs*

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Levellers, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn, Fat Dog

So is your point that face masks are of absolutely no benefit in dealing with Covid, (something the research I mentioned showed as incorrect), or is it that some are wearing them incorrectly or using the wrong type ?

It`s difficult to know which from your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

It helps as a short term measure, but this is then coupled with a massive economic and social impact. Neither can be ignorned.

3% of all covid related incidents in January required hospitalisations? Not a figure I'd necessarily agree would merit a lockdown.

Hungary are not using them either or any restrictions but that doesn`t get much mention here. Hungary having the highest death rate per capita in the European Economic Area and the fourth highest in the world has probably got a lot to do with that, but either way it shows how foolish blindly following the example of another country that you have very little in common with can be.

How many Covid related incidents in January would have required hospitalisation had there not been a lockdown? That's an unfair question as no one knows. I'd imagine it would have been higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

we are not 90% vaccinated, I don't think there is any country that has reached that level of vaccinated people.

it's around 70% for most countries in Europe

Adults, eligible population, you knew what I was referring to didn't you?

Do people really have to clarify this every time they mention our vaccination rate is in reference to eligible persons.

Look, its like this, masks in shops have been left in place so as to be seen to be acting "responsible"

A few lads on here are clinging onto these token restrictions and will proudly wear masks around shops knowing full their effectiveness in the grand scheme of things is about zero.

Have you any research there to show us how effective they are with 90% vaccinated and everything else wide open.

What is it that you are failing to understand ?

I have been continually telling you that I will wear a face mask where there is a high probability of coming in contact with those that are either unable to avail of a vaccine or are immunosuppressed in essential retail settings, on public transport,and in health care settings. I have even post research from the University of California that shows just how effective the are in preventing the spread as just one example.

You on the other hand from other than your own belief, have shown nothing to back up this belief of how completely useless the are and are now resorting to running down evermore obscure rabbit holes hoping I will follow. If it`s all the same to you I`m quite content here above ground.

If you are happy not to wear a face mask where it is mandatory and pay the penalties that is up to you. Can I presume considering your viewpoint that is what you have been doing all along ?

As a temporary measure they are very effective (albeit blunt) but yeah long term they bring about other issues

Apologies I meant the first half of January

1st-15th 73,000 cases and 2,300 hositalised (3%)

The second half of January was worse, we had 25,500 and 1,500 cases so the rate was closer to 6% which for one disease an average of 4.5% probably warranted a lockdown back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Yep, they will be wearing their mask with pride, freshly washed and ironed with #maskedandproud emblazoned across the front.

Like the way war vets polish their medals ahead of D-Day memorials.

You can wear your mask with pride on October 22nd believing you are flattening the curve and that the next 2 weeks are crucial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,919 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

And we will be in it together, down the pub getting sloshed.

It’s funny, I was just thinking this thread reminded me of those Japanese soldiers on Palau still fighting the war two years after everyone else had moved on.